DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 20 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a conditioning device” in claim 4, “a sensing device” in claim 6, and “an eddy current monitoring device” and “an optical sensing device” in claim 9.
For purposes of prior art examination, the limitations directed at a first proportion and a second proportion of a component in the respective first and second polishing liquids, the examiner is interpreting the limitations in view of the examples disclosed in the original specification ¶33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the component comprises abrasive, a corrosion inhibitor for reducing a corrosion rate of the material, a corrosion promoter for increasing a corrosion rate of the material”, it is not clear if the claim requires the component to comprise all the listed materials (i.e., listing the materials with an “and” prior to “a corrosion promoter …”) or if the claim requires the component to comprise one or more of the listed materials (i.e., listing the materials with an “or” prior to “a corrosion promoter …”). For purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted as reciting an “or” prior to “a corrosion promoter …”.
Claim 5 further recites “a corrosion rate” in line 2 and “a corrosion rate” in line 3; it is not clear if a corrosion rate recited in line 3 refers to the same corrosion rate recited in line 2 or to an additional and different corrosion rate. For purposes of examination, the recitation of a corrosion rate in line 3 is being interpreted as referring to the same corrosion rate recited in line 2.
Claim 11 recites “a first polishing liquid … and a second polishing liquid” and depends from claim 10 which recites “first polishing liquid … and second polishing liquid”, it is not clear if a first polishing liquid and a second polishing liquid recited in claim 11 refer to the same first polishing liquid and second polishing liquid recited in claim 10 or to additional and different first polishing liquid and second polishing liquid. For purposes of examination, the recitation of first and second polishing liquids in claim 11 is being interpreted as referring to the same first and second polishing liquids in claim 10.
Claims 12-13 depend from claim 11 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Clarification and/or amendment is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 14 and 16-18 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al – hereafter Chen – (US 20180281152 A1; US 10,875,149 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a polishing apparatus (Fig.1-11), comprising:
a platen (12) comprising a polishing pad (14) having a polishing surface (Fig.1) for polishing a substrate (W);
a polishing head (16) disposed over the platen and configured to hold the substrate (¶28, note polishing head causes rotation of the wafer W);
a first liquid source (S1) configured to provide first polishing liquid (F1) containing a first proportion of a component reacting with a material on the substrate (¶52);
a second liquid source (S2) configured to provide second polishing liquid (F2) containing a second proportion of the component less than the first proportion (¶52, note at least the example provided for F1 including abrasive particles, pH buffer solutions, oxidants, and surfactants, and F2 including polishing rate inhibitors; said configuration meets the claimed limitations);
a mixed liquid feeder (40/41) coupled to the first liquid source and the second liquid source, wherein the mixed liquid feeder is configured to mix the first polishing liquid and the second polishing liquid into a mixed polishing liquid and feed the mixed polishing liquid to the polishing surface of the polishing pad (¶50-51).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further teaches the mixed liquid feeder comprises a mixing chamber coupled to the first liquid source and the second liquid source for mixing the first polishing liquid and the second polishing liquid therein (¶53; 50/51) and comprising an outlet (41) from which the mixed polishing liquid is discharged.
Regarding claim 3, Chen further teaches the mixing chamber further comprises a first inlet coupled the first liquid source for introducing the first polishing liquid into the mixing chamber (43/P1) and a second inlet coupled to the second liquid source for introducing the second polishing liquid into the mixing chamber (45/P2).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further teaches a conditioning device disposed over the platen and configured for conditioning the polishing pad (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a conditioning head 160 mounted to one end of a pivot arm 162, and a pad conditioner 164, such as a pad embedded with diamond crystals to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Chen teaches ¶29, note diamond disk comprises embedded or encapsulated cut diamond particles on a substrate, in accordance with some embodiments. Also, the diamond disk comes into contact with the surface of the polishing pad 14 when the polishing pad 14 is to be conditioned).
Regarding claim 5, Chen further teaches the component comprises abrasive, a corrosion inhibitor for reducing a corrosion rate of the material, [or] a corrosion promoter for increasing a corrosion rate of the material (¶52).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further teaches a sensing device configured to detect a presence of the material on the substrate (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an eddy current monitoring device with a magnetic core, a drive coil, a detection coil, an oscillator and a capacitor, a dielectric motor, or an optical sensing device including a light source and a detector, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Chen teaches 24’, see ¶43; 24’’, see ¶45).
Regarding claim 9, Chen further teaches the sensing device comprises an eddy current monitoring device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a magnetic core, a drive coil, a detection coil, an oscillator and a capacitor, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Chen teaches 24’, see ¶43), a dielectric motor, or an optical sensing device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a light source and a detector, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Chen teaches 24’’, see ¶45).
Regarding claim 10, Chen further teaches a method for polishing (Fig.1-11) a substrate (W), comprising:
providing the substrate over a platen (12) of a polishing apparatus (10), wherein the substrate comprises a material over a semiconductor substrate (Fig.2);
pressing the substrate against a polishing pad (14) of the platen (¶28);
performing a polishing process by the polishing pad (¶28) while providing a mixed polishing liquid (20) to remove a portion of the material (¶31), wherein the mixed polishing liquid is a mixture of first polishing liquid (F1) containing a first proportion of a component reacting with the material (¶52) and second polishing liquid (F2) containing a second proportion of the component less than the first proportion (¶52, note at least the example provided for F1 including abrasive particles, pH buffer solutions, oxidants, and surfactants, and F2 including polishing rate inhibitors; said configuration meets the claimed limitations).
Regarding claim 14, Chen further teaches the component comprises abrasive or corrosion inhibitor when the material comprises dielectric material (¶34).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 10, see above, however, does not explicitly teach the first proportion of the component is at least ten times more than the second proportion of the component (¶52, note at least the example provided for F1 including abrasive particles, pH buffer solutions, oxidants, and surfactants, and F2 including polishing rate inhibitors; said configuration meets the claimed limitations since by having different liquids components, the first proportion in the first polishing liquid will be more than ten times the second proportion in the second polishing liquid).
Regarding claim 17, Chen further teaches a method for polishing (Fig.1-11) a substrate (W), comprising:
providing the substrate over a polishing pad (14) of a polishing apparatus (10), wherein the substrate comprises a material (Fig.2);
pressing the substrate against the polishing pad (¶28) by a polishing head (16);
performing a polishing process by the polishing pad (¶28) while providing a mixed polishing liquid (20) to remove a portion of the material (¶31), wherein the mixed polishing liquid is a mixture of first polishing liquid (F1) containing a first proportion of corrosion inhibitor (¶52, note store and provide multiple liquids including different slurry components of the slurry, such as different sizes of abrasive particles, pH buffer solutions, oxidants, surfactants, polishing rate inhibitors, corrosion inhibitor, hydrophilic material, or combinations thereof) and second polishing liquid (F2) containing a second proportion of the corrosion inhibitor less than the first proportion (¶52, note store and provide multiple liquids including different slurry components of the slurry, such as different sizes of abrasive particles, pH buffer solutions, oxidants, surfactants, polishing rate inhibitors, corrosion inhibitor, hydrophilic material, or combinations thereof; furthermore, in an example provided for liquids F1 and F2, the liquids are disclosed to be different from one another and said configuration meets the claimed limitations).
Regarding claim 18, Chen further teaches detecting a presence of the material before the mixed polishing liquid is provided (¶42);
mixing the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount, wherein the first amount and the second amount is determined according to the presence of the material (¶42, note determination of end points by detection unit which detects presence of material; and, mixing and selectively dispensing of different slurry components based on the stage of CMP process which is based on presence of material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 11-13 and 19-20 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 6 and 10, above, and further in view of Wang et al – hereafter Wang – (US 20100130101 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 6, see above, however, does not explicitly teach a controller coupled to the sensing device and the mixed liquid feeder, wherein the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount less than the first amount when the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is less than a predetermined amount.
Wang teaches a polishing apparatus (Fig.1) including a controller (108), a sensing device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an eddy current monitoring device with a magnetic core, a drive coil, a detection coil, an oscillator and a capacitor, a dielectric motor, or an optical sensing device including a light source and a detector, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Wang teaches 190, see ¶32) coupled to the controller, and a mixed liquid feeder (Fig.2/3A-C). Wang further teaches the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount (¶49-51) and the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is a predetermined amount (¶32); note that this configuration allows the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus (¶30) while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively (¶49).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the polishing apparatus of Chen by having the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount and the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is a predetermined amount based on the teachings of Wang because this would allow the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively.
Furthermore, Wang recognizes how adjusting the flow rate (amount) of one or more of the processing components (polishing liquids) can affect the removal rate of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶59) and how flow rates of the processing components are adjusted in response to a measurement of the thickness or uniformity of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the polishing apparatus of Chen and Wang by having the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount less than the first amount when the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is less than a predetermined amount based on the further teachings of Wang because the amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence.
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Wang further teach the component comprises a corrosion inhibitor for reducing a corrosion rate of the material (Chen ¶37, note surface treatment material may be a corrosion inhibitor, such as benzotriazole (BTA), which can prevent rust).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 10, see above, however, does not explicitly teach detecting a presence of the material before the mixed polishing liquid is provided; mixing a first polishing liquid with a first amount and a second polishing liquid with a second amount, wherein the first amount and the second amount is determined according to the presence of the material.
Wang teaches a polishing apparatus (Fig.1) including a controller (108), a sensing device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an eddy current monitoring device with a magnetic core, a drive coil, a detection coil, an oscillator and a capacitor, a dielectric motor, or an optical sensing device including a light source and a detector, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Wang teaches 190, see ¶32) coupled to the controller, and a mixed liquid feeder (Fig.2/3A-C). Wang further teaches the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount (¶49-51) and the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is a predetermined amount (¶32); note that this configuration allows the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus (¶30) while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively (¶49).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the polishing apparatus of Chen by having the controller detecting a presence of the material; mixing a first polishing liquid with a first amount and a second polishing liquid with a second amount based on the teachings of Wang because this would allow the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively.
Furthermore, Wang recognizes how adjusting the flow rate (amount) of one or more of the processing components (polishing liquids) can affect the removal rate of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶59) and how flow rates of the processing components are adjusted in response to a measurement of the thickness or uniformity of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the polishing apparatus of Chen and Wang by having the controller detect a presence of the material before the mixed polishing liquid is provided and the first amount and the second polishing liquid being determined according to the presence of the material based on the further teachings of Wang because the amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence.
Regarding claim 12, Chen and Wang do not explicitly teach when the presence of the material is detected to be less than a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be greater than the second amount, however, as discussed above, Wang discloses how amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Chen and Wang by when the presence of the material is detected to be less than a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be greater than the second amount based on the further teachings of Wang because the amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence.
Regarding claim 13, Chen and Wang do not explicitly teach when the presence of the material is detected to be greater than or substantially equal to a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be less than or substantially equal to the second amount, however, as discussed above, Wang discloses how amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Chen and Wang by when the presence of the material is detected to be greater than or substantially equal to a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be less than or substantially equal to the second amount based on the further teachings of Wang because the amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence.
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 18, see above, however, does not explicitly teach when the presence of the material is detected to be less than a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be greater than the second amount.
Wang teaches a polishing apparatus (Fig.1) including a controller (108), a sensing device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an eddy current monitoring device with a magnetic core, a drive coil, a detection coil, an oscillator and a capacitor, a dielectric motor, or an optical sensing device including a light source and a detector, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Wang teaches 190, see ¶32) coupled to the controller, and a mixed liquid feeder (Fig.2/3A-C). Wang further teaches the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount (¶49-51) and the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is a predetermined amount (¶32); note that this configuration allows the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus (¶30) while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively (¶49).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen by having the controller detecting a presence of the material; mixing a first polishing liquid with a first amount and a second polishing liquid with a second amount based on the teachings of Wang because this would allow the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively.
Furthermore, Wang recognizes how adjusting the flow rate (amount) of one or more of the processing components (polishing liquids) can affect the removal rate of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶59) and how flow rates of the processing components are adjusted in response to a measurement of the thickness or uniformity of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Chen and Wang by when the presence of the material is detected to be less than a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be greater than the second amount based on the further teachings of Wang because the amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence.
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 18, see above, however, does not explicitly teach when the presence of the material is detected to be greater than or substantially equal to a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be less than or substantially equal to the second amount.
Wang teaches a polishing apparatus (Fig.1) including a controller (108), a sensing device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an eddy current monitoring device with a magnetic core, a drive coil, a detection coil, an oscillator and a capacitor, a dielectric motor, or an optical sensing device including a light source and a detector, to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Wang teaches 190, see ¶32) coupled to the controller, and a mixed liquid feeder (Fig.2/3A-C). Wang further teaches the controller controls the mixed liquid feeder to mix the first polishing liquid with a first amount and the second polishing liquid with a second amount (¶49-51) and the sensing device detects that the presence of the material is a predetermined amount (¶32); note that this configuration allows the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus (¶30) while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively (¶49).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen by having the controller detecting a presence of the material; mixing a first polishing liquid with a first amount and a second polishing liquid with a second amount based on the teachings of Wang because this would allow the controller to control planarizing, cleaning, and transfer process of a chemical mechanical polishing process by integration of the different components of the polishing apparatus while controlling automatically in real-time the first and second amounts of the first and second polishing liquids, respectively.
Furthermore, Wang recognizes how adjusting the flow rate (amount) of one or more of the processing components (polishing liquids) can affect the removal rate of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶59) and how flow rates of the processing components are adjusted in response to a measurement of the thickness or uniformity of a material layer disposed on a substrate (¶61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Chen and Wang by when the presence of the material is detected to be greater than or substantially equal to a predetermined amount, the first amount is determined to be less than or substantially equal to the second amount based on the further teachings of Wang because the amounts of the first and second polishing liquids have been recognized as result effective variables which influence the removal rate of a material layer that can be adjusted based on measurements of a thickness of a material presence.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 10, see above, however, does not explicitly teach the component comprises corrosion promoter or corrosion inhibitor when the material comprises tungsten, molybdenum, ruthenium, or copper.
However, Chen further teaches a metallic layer example being a tungsten layer (¶30) and at least one surface treatment material could be applied to the wafer surface (i.e. the surfaces of the metallic layer and dielectric layer) for protecting and/or modifying the polished wafer surface. For example, the surface treatment material may be a corrosion inhibitor, such as benzotriazole (BTA), which can prevent rust in the polished metallic layer (¶37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Chen by having the component comprises corrosion promoter or corrosion inhibitor when the material comprises tungsten, molybdenum, ruthenium, or copper based on the further teachings of Chen because this could prevent rust in the polished metallic layer.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745