Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)-(2) as being anticipated by NPL Yi Hu et al. (Title “MICROELECTRONIC DEVICES INCLUDING CONTACT STRUCTURES…”) (hereinafter Yi Hu).
Re claim 1, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches a method of forming an electronic device, comprising:
forming a stack structure ([SS], FIGS. 1N/1M [as shown above]) comprising vertically alternating insulative structures (upper 106) and conductive structures (104) arranged in tiers;
forming a barrier material (125+108) vertically overlying and horizontally extending across the stack structure;
forming at least one opening (144/150) through the barrier material and into an upper tier portion of the stack structure;
recessing sacrificial portions (upper 106) of the conductive structures in the upper tier portion adjacent to the at least one opening, recessed regions of the conductive structures in direct vertical alignment with the barrier material (125+108); and
forming an insulative material (158/upper 152 of FIG. 1N) in the recessed regions of the conductive structures (104) and the at least one opening.
Re claim 2, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 1, wherein recessing the sacrificial portions (upper 106) of the conductive structures comprises recessing the conductive structures in the upper tier portion relative to an opening-facing sidewall of a neighboring one of the insulative structures (104).
Re claim 3, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 1, wherein recessing the sacrificial portions (128) of the conductive structures (146) comprises recessing the conductive structures in the upper tier portion without recessing additional conductive structures (146, FIG. 1I → 1K) in a lower tier portion of the stack structure [SS].
Re claim 4, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the insulative material comprises forming the insulative material in the at least one opening (150 of FIG. 1M) after conformally forming the insulative material (148 of FIG. 1K) in the recessed regions of the conductive structures.
Re claim 5, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the insulative material (148/158) comprises substantially completely filling the recessed regions and the at least one opening using a single, continuous ALD process or a single, continuous CVD process [0012].
Re claim 6, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the insulative material (148/158) in the recessed regions comprises electrically isolating the conductive structures from one another in a region vertically underlying the barrier material and proximate to the at least one opening (14/142/150 & [the opening occupied by 134/136/139/132/130], FIG. 1I).
Re claim 14, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches a method of forming an electronic device, comprising:
forming a stack comprising tiers of alternating insulative structures (104) and conductive structures (upper 152/146) over a source tier, the stack comprising pillars [P] extending from the source tier to an upper boundary of the stack;
forming conductive plugs (246/upper 152) adjacent to the pillars;
forming a barrier material (125+108) over the conductive plugs;
forming openings (150) through the barrier material and into an upper tier portion of the stack;
forming an insulative material (158) within the openings and laterally adjacent to the conductive structures of upper select gates of the stack; and
forming an additional insulative material (130/132/122) between subblocks of the stack.
Re claim 15, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: forming additional openings (the opening which later on are filled with 138 of FIG. 1G) over the conductive plugs (152); and forming contacts (138) in the additional openings, portions of the barrier material directly intervening between laterally adjacent contacts.
Re claim 16, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 14, wherein forming the insulative material (148) laterally adjacent to the conductive structures comprises aligning upper boundaries of the insulative material with upper boundaries of the conductive structures of the upper select gates (the topmost 146) and aligning lower boundaries of the insulative material with lower boundaries of the conductive structures (lower 146 & 152) of the upper select gates.
Re claim 17, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the pillars comprise a channel (124, FIG. 1C, [0037]) vertically extending from the source tier to the upper boundary of the stack and at least one dielectric material (114) substantially surrounding the channel, the at least one dielectric material of the pillars vertically aligned with portions of the barrier material (125+108).
Re claim 18, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 14, wherein forming the insulative material (148/158, FIG. 1L → 1N) within the openings comprises forming multiple portions of the insulative material vertically separated from one another by individual insulative structures of the stack (104), the multiple portions of the insulative material vertically underlying the barrier material (125+108).
Re claim 19, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising removing portions of the conductive structures of the stack adjacent to the openings to form recessed regions and forming the insulative material (148/158, FIG. 1L → 1N) within the recessed regions.
Re claim 20, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N teaches the method of claim 19, wherein removing portions of the conductive structures of the stack (146 of FIG. 1M) comprises removing a conductive material of the conductive structures beyond lateral side surfaces of the barrier material adjacent to the openings (150).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Yi Hu failed to teach recessing sacrificial portions of the conductive structures in the upper tier portion adjacent to the at least one opening, recessed regions of the conductive structures in direct vertical alignment with the barrier material; and forming an insulative material in the recessed regions of the conductive structures and the at least one opening.
The Examiner respectfully submits that because Applicant is broadly claim forming at least one opening, therefore, Yi Hu, FIG. 1N still reads on:
forming a stack structure ([SS], FIGS. 1N/1M [as shown above]) comprising vertically alternating insulative structures (upper 106) and conductive structures (104) arranged in tiers;
forming a barrier material (125+108) vertically overlying and horizontally extending across the stack structure;
forming at least one opening (144/150) through the barrier material and into an upper tier portion of the stack structure;
recessing sacrificial portions (upper 106) of the conductive structures in the upper tier portion adjacent to the at least one opening, recessed regions of the conductive structures in direct vertical alignment with the barrier material (125+108); and
forming an insulative material (15/upper 152 of FIG. 1N) in the recessed regions of the conductive structures (104) and the at least one opening.
For the above reasons, it is believed that the rejections should be sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893