DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/30/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 10048530 B1) (Kim, hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (1-37 and corresponding text) )(Figures (4-7)a display apparatus comprising: a substrate(BS2); a plurality of barrier layers (112) on the substrate(BS2) and spaced apart from each other the plurality of barrier layers(112) being transparent(;column 2, lines 1-25) a light-absorbing layer (210, light-shielding layer) contacting sides of each of the barrier layer (110)(111-112)(Figure 5); and a highly refractive index layer (610, column 19, lines 5-20) on the light-absorbing (210).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses (Figure 5) wherein each of the barrier layers(112) has a shape of a trapezoid.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses grooves (10h) that are empty spaces between the barrier layers (112) (Column 11, lines 17-25); and an organic film filled in the groove (column 18, lines 15-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 10048530 B1) (Kim, hereafter).
Regarding claims 3-5,7, and 10, Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the barrier layers comprises a transparent inorganic material or transparent (claim 3);wherein each of the barrier layers comprises silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2) which is a transparent inorganic material (claim4);, wherein the light-absorbing layer comprises amorphous silicon (a-Si) or silicon carbide (SiC); wherein the highly refractive index layer comprises at least one of niobium pentoxide (Nb.sub.2O.sub.5), titanium dioxide (TiO.sub.2), or tantalum pentoxide (Ta.sub.2O.sub.5) (claim 7); wherein the organic film comprises transparent photosensitive polyimide (PSPI)(claim 10).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the display device of Kim wherein each of the barrier layers comprises a transparent inorganic material or transparent; wherein each of the barrier layers comprises silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2) which is a transparent inorganic material;, wherein the light-absorbing layer comprises amorphous silicon (a-Si) or silicon carbide (SiC); wherein the highly refractive index layer comprises at least one of niobium pentoxide (Nb.sub.2O.sub.5), titanium dioxide (TiO.sub.2), or tantalum pentoxide (Ta.sub.2O.sub.5) ; wherein the organic film comprises transparent photosensitive polyimide to ensure improved display quality and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein a refractive index of the highly refractive index layer greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 2.3 (claim 6); , wherein a refractive index of the organic film is greater than or equal to 1.5 and less than or equal to 1.6 (claim 9).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the display device of Kim disclose wherein a refractive index of the highly refractive index layer greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 2.3 ; wherein a refractive index of the organic film is greater than or equal to 1.5 and less than or equal to 1.6 in order to insure desired light characteristics and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
8 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the 892 and below:
US 20230200183 A1- organic light emitting display device having a limited viewing angle, reduced cost and a simple structure.
US 20200201033 A1- General state of the art- a light path control member and an electronic device including the same- transparent barrier layer
US 20180031910 A1-General state of the art- manufacturing a quantum dot color filter substrate- transparent barrier film
9 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACIE Y GREEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3104. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thursday, 10am-8pm.
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875