DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 10/31/25 is acknowledged.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/25.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 6, 8, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 7128854. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
7128854 recites the contents of claim 1 are recited in claims 5, 6, 10
7128854 recites the contents of claim 2 are recited in claims 5, 6, 10
7128854 recites the contents of claim 3 are recited in claims 5, 6, 10
7128854 recites the contents of claim 5 are recited in claims 8, 10
7128854 recites the contents of claim 6 are recited in claims 8, 10
7128854 recites the contents of claim 7 are recited in claims 8, 10
Claims 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 6, 8, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 7128854 in view of Watanabe (US 2004/0091567). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
7128854 does not explicitly recite the content claim 4
Watanabe teaches a controller for an injection molding device [Abstract] wherein the input device also includes display means (CRT or LCD) for displaying and inputting various parameters and set values [0051]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and included a display screen used to set the first condition, as suggested by Watanabe, as this configuration had demonstrated success in molding applications and was a known technique for input/output of measured/set parameters.
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 14, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 7485247. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
7485247 recites the contents of claim 1 are recited in claims 1-3, 14
7485247 recites the contents of claim 2 are recited in claims 1-3, 14, 17
7485247 recites the contents of claim 3 are recited in claims 1-3, 14, 17
7485247 recites the contents of claim 5 are recited in claims 1-3, 14
7485247 recites the contents of claim 6 are recited in claims 1-3, 14, 17
7485247 recites the contents of claim 7 are recited in claims 1-3, 14
Claim 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 14, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 7485247 in view of Watanabe (US 2004/0091567). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
7485247 does not explicitly recite the content claim 4
Watanabe teaches a controller for an injection molding device [Abstract] wherein the input device also includes display means (CRT or LCD) for displaying and inputting various parameters and set values [0051]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and included a display screen used to set the first condition, as suggested by Watanabe, as this configuration had demonstrated success in molding applications and was a known technique for input/output of measured/set parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amano (US 2007/0007683).
As to claim 1, Amano teaches a control device of an injection molding machine including an injection member that is provided in a cylinder (21) heating a molding material and an injection drive source (11) that causes the injection member to advance to fill an inside of a mold unit with the molding material, the control device comprising: an injection control unit (26) that performs a retreat speed limitation to limit an actual speed value of the injection member to a first set value or less during retreat of the injection member [Abstract] in a holding pressure process for controlling a pressure acting on the molding material from the injection member [0010, 0011, 0012, Fig 4], wherein the injection control unit releases the retreat speed limitation in a case where a first set condition is satisfied while the retreat speed limitation is performed (ie when the 2nd amount is greater than the first amount) [0032, 0074, 0075].
Examiner notes that Amano refers to the difference between actual pressure and preset pressure as a “second amount” and the difference between actual speed and the preset speed as a “first amount.”
As to claim 2, Amano teaches the first set condition includes a condition in which the pressure satisfies a preset condition ie when the detected/actual pressure exceeds hold pressure preset value [0079].
As to claim 3, Amano teaches the first set condition includes a condition in which an actual value of the pressure exceeds a preset upper limit [0079].
As to claim 5, Amano teaches the injection control unit releases the retreat speed limitation and controls the actual speed value of the injection member to a second set value larger than the first set value during the retreat of the injection member [0044] as when the 2nd amount is greater than the first amount the limit is released and speed control is performed which implicitly would be higher speed than the limit.
As to claim 6, Amano teaches the injection control unit performs the retreat speed limitation again in a case where a second set condition is satisfied after the release of the retreat speed limitation (ie when the first amount is greater than the 2nd amount) [0032, 0074, 0075].
As to claim 7, Amano teaches the injection member (23); and the injection drive source (11) [Fig 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US 2007/0007683) in view of Watanabe (US 2004/0091567).
As to claim 4, Amano notes a an input device for the controller and measured parameters [0058-0059] further comprising: a display control unit that displays a screen used to set the first set condition on a display unit.
Watanabe teaches a controller for an injection molding device [Abstract] wherein the input device also includes display means (CRT or LCD) for displaying and inputting various parameters and set values [0051]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Amano and included a display screen used to set the first condition, as suggested by Watanabe, as this configuration had demonstrated success in molding applications and was a known technique for input/output of measured/set parameters.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759