DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
“attachment/detachment mechanism” recited in Claim 6 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) and is being interpreted as item “1904” or “137” in the specification and drawings.
“transfer mechanism” recited in Claims 7 and 12 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) and is being interpreted as an “OHT” item “30” as described in Lines 19-24 of Page 24 of specification and drawings, or as item “18” which includes a guide rail and crane as described in Lines 21-24 of the specification.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “attachment/detachment mechanism in claim 6 and “transfer mechanism” in Claims 7 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 initially recites the limitation “the object” in Line 19. It is not clear if the object is singular as recited in Line 19 and subsequent recitations or if “the object” is plural per the recitation of “a plurality of objects” in Line 12 of the claim. For examination purposes, “the object” in Line 19 and subsequent recitation is being interpreted as “an object of said plurality of objects”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the stage” in Line 9. It is not clear if the object is singular as recited in Line 9 or if “the stage” is plural per the recitation of “a plurality of stages” in Line 2 of the claim. For examination purposes, “the stage” in Line 9 is being interpreted as “a stage of said plurality of stages”.
Claims 11 and 12 recite the limitation “the stage” in Line 6. It is not clear if the object is singular as recited in Line 6 or if “the stage” is plural per the recitation of “a plurality of stages” in Line 2 of the claim. For examination purposes, “the stage” in Line 6 is being interpreted as “a stage of said plurality of stages”.
Claim 15 initially recites the limitation “the object” in Line 6 of Page 51. It is not clear if the object is singular as recited in Line 6 of Page 51 and subsequent recitations or if “the object” is plural per the recitation of “a plurality of objects” in Line 25 of Page 50 of the Claims. For examination purposes, “the object” in Line 6 of Page 51 and subsequent recitation is being interpreted as “an object of said plurality of objects”.
The remaining claims are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamura 2006/0207680 and in view of Van Der Meulen 8,197,177.
In Re Claim 1, as best understood, Takamura teaches a transfer module, comprising: a first transfer chamber (7) connected to a vacuum transfer (10) module and configured to be maintained at a low pressure lower than atmospheric pressure; (Paragraph 30) a second transfer chamber (2A) provided on a second sidewall other than a sidewall opposite to a first sidewall to which the vacuum transfer module is connected in the first transfer chamber or in an upper portion of the first transfer chamber, (Fig. 3) the second transfer chamber capable of accommodating a container (4a) accommodating a plurality of objects (wafers, Paragraph 41) to be transferred and being configured to be able to switch an internal pressure between the atmospheric pressure and the low pressure; (Paragraph 30) and an opening/closing door (3a) configured to partition the first transfer chamber and the second transfer chamber, wherein the first transfer chamber has an accommodation portion (6) configured to accommodate the object to be transferred, and the container accommodating the plurality of objects to be transferred is carried into the second transfer chamber, (Paragraph 41) the opening/closing door is controlled to communicate a space in the first transfer chamber and a space in the second transfer chamber after a pressure in the second transfer chamber is switched from the atmospheric pressure to the low pressure, (Paragraph 41-42) the plurality of objects to be transferred are transferred from the container to the accommodation portion in the first transfer chamber, the object to be transferred is transferred from the accommodation portion into the vacuum transfer module, (Paragraph 41-42)
Takamura does not teach the object to be transferred carried out from the vacuum transfer module is transferred into the container without passing through the accommodation portion.
However, Van der Meulen teaches the object (wafers, Paragraph 135) to be transferred carried out from the vacuum transfer module (14010, Fig. 14) is transferred into the container without passing through the accommodation portion (4002). (Fig. 14 and 14a)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to transfer the object to the container from the vacuum transfer chamber without passing through the accommodation portion in the transfer module of Takamura as taught by Van der Meulen with a reasonable expectation for success in order to increase the capacity of the system.
In Re Claim 13, Takamura teaches wherein, in the second transfer chamber, the container is accommodated in the second transfer chamber, and after the pressure in the second transfer chamber is switched from the atmospheric pressure to the low pressure, the pressure inside the container is able to be switched from the atmospheric pressure to the low pressure. (Paragraph 42)
In Re Claim 14, Takamura teaches wherein an inert gas (Nitrogen gas, Paragraph 32) is supplied into the container while the pressure in the second transfer chamber is switched from the atmospheric pressure to the low pressure in a state where the container is accommodated in the second transfer chamber. (Paragraph 32)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamura 2006/0207680 and in view of Van Der Meulen 8,197,177.
In Re Claim 15, as best understood, Takamura teaches a transfer method performed in a transfer module, comprising: a first transfer chamber (7) connected to a vacuum transfer module (10) and configured to be maintained at a low pressure lower than atmospheric pressure; (Paragraph 30) a second transfer chamber (2a) provided on a second sidewall other than a sidewall opposite to a first sidewall to which the vacuum transfer module is connected in the first transfer chamber or in an upper portion of the first transfer chamber, (See Fig. 1) the second transfer chamber capable of accommodating a container (4a) accommodating a plurality of objects (wafers, Paragraph 41) to be transferred and being configured to be able to switch an internal pressure between the atmospheric pressure and the low pressure; (Paragraph 41) and an opening/closing door (3a) configured to partition the first transfer chamber and the second transfer chamber, wherein the first transfer chamber has an accommodation portion (6) configured to accommodate the object to be transferred, the method comprising: a) a process of carrying the container accommodating the plurality of objects to be transferred into the second transfer chamber; (Paragraph 41) b) a process of switching a pressure in the second transfer chamber from the atmospheric pressure to the low pressure; (Paragraph 41) c) a process of controlling the opening/closing door to communicate a space within the first transfer chamber and a space within the second transfer chamber; (Paragraph 41-42) d) a process of transferring the plurality of objects to be transferred from the container to the accommodation portion in the first transfer chamber; (Paragraph 41-52) e) a process of transferring the object to be transferred from the accommodation portion into the vacuum transfer module; (Paragraph 41-42)
Takamura does not teach a process of transferring the object to be transferred, which has been carried out from the vacuum transfer module, into the container without passing through the accommodation portion.
However, Van der Meulen teaches transferring the object (wafers, Paragraph 135) to be transferred carried out from the vacuum transfer module (14010, Fig. 14) into the container without passing through the accommodation portion (4002). (Fig. 14 and 14a)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to transfer the object to the container from the vacuum transfer chamber without passing through the accommodation portion in the method of Takamura as taught by Van der Meulen with a reasonable expectation for success in order to increase the capacity of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7, 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yonemitsu et al., Kawamura et al. and Sieradzki teach a second chamber and a vacuum transfer chamber and wherein the second chamber holds a container.
GLENN F. MYERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/GLENN F MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3652