DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11-12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US US 2022/0068677; Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022) (“Newman”) in view of Kitahara et al. (US 2016/0211160) (“Kitahara”) and Reuter et al. (US 2020/0135521) (“Reuter”). Newman discloses:
Claim 1: a housing (housing of 106);
a load port disposed on a sidewall of the housing (para. [0034], “For example, four or six load ports 124 can be located at or near the factory interface base on the front side of factory interface 106. In some other embodiments, one or more load ports 124 can be loaded on a side wall of factory interface 106.”), the load port being capable of placing a container accommodating multiple objects to be transferred (112X);
a transfer device disposed in the housing and configured to transfer the objects to be transferred (126X); and
a storage module disposed in the housing and configured to temporarily accommodate the objects to be transferred (para. [0048], “Referring to FIGS. 1B-D, factory interface 106 can include one or more auxiliary components 150 that are accessible by the factory interface robots and are part of the factory interface mini-environment. The auxiliary components 150 can include substrate wafer storage stations, metrology stations, cooldown stations, servers, etc. A substrate storage container can store substrates and/or substrate carriers (e.g., FOUPs), for example.”),
wherein the housing includes:
a first sidewall to which a load-lock module is connected (120X); and
a second sidewall other than a sidewall facing the first sidewall, to which the load port is connected,
wherein the transfer device has a first arm having multiple forks on which the objects to be transferred are placed (“In embodiments, factory interface robot 126A may orient one or more end effectors in a second direction that may be approximately perpendicular to the first direction when retrieving substrates from and/or placing substrates in load lock 120A.” forks are construed to be “one or more end effectors”), and
the transfer device transfers the objects (FIG. 1B-1D; para. [0034]/[0048]/etc.);
a second arm having one fork on which one object to be transferred is placed (“Factory interface robots 126A-B can include one or more robot arms and can each be or include a SCARA robot.”; “one or more end effectors” have at least more than one arm including a second arm);
the storage module including
a first accommodating chamber (FIG. 1B, one 150); and
a second accommodating chamber (FIG. 1B, another 150),
multiple unprocessed and processed objects (para. [0048]/etc.; processing also includes transferring objects; therefore, some objects are transferred from an accommodating chamber, some objects are not);
Claim 8: wherein the housing is maintained at an airtight state (for different housings/chambers), and an inert gas circulates in the housing (para. [0031]);
Claim 11. A transfer method comprising:
a) using a first arm of a transfer device, the first arm having multiple forks (“In embodiments, factory interface robot 126A may orient one or more end effectors in a second direction that may be approximately perpendicular to the first direction when retrieving substrates from and/or placing substrates in load lock 120A.” forks are construed to be “one or more end effectors”; FIG. 1B-1D; para. [0034]/[0048]/etc.), to collectively transfer multiple unprocessed objects (para. [0048]/etc.; processing also includes transferring objects; therefore, some objects are transferred from an accommodating chamber, some objects are not)
b) using a second arm of the transfer device (“Factory interface robots 126A-B can include one or more robot arms and can each be or include a SCARA robot.”; “one or more end effectors” have at least more than one arm including a second arm), the second arm having a single fork (one or more end effectors),
transferring one
c) using the second arm of the transfer device to transfer one
d) using the first arm to collectively transfer the
Claim 12: wherein the first accommodating chamber is disposed vertically above the second accommodating chamber (different portions/subsets of 150 are construed under BRI to be disposed vertically one above the other, construed as being different accommodating chambers under BRI);
Claim 18: wherein the transfer device is configured to move in a vertical direction within the housing (para. [0037], “robots 126A-B [ ] reach carriers connected to load ports at different elevations” implies this).
Newman does not directly show:
Claim 1: wherein the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber include multiple substrate supports arranged vertically to accommodate the objects to be transferred;
the transfer device is configured to:
(i) collectively transfer the unprocessed objects in the container into the first accommodating chamber using the first arm,
(ii) use the second arm to transfer a single unprocessed object to the load-lock module using the second arm,
(iii) use the second arm to transfer a single processed object from the load- lock module to the second accommodating chamber, and
(iv) use the first arm to transfer processed objects from the second accommodating chamber to the container;
Claim 11: collectively transfer[ing] multiple unprocessed objects from a container into a first accommodating chamber of a storage module the objects to be transferred; transferring processed and unprocessed objects as claimed;
wherein the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber include multiple substrate supports arranged vertically to accommodate the objects to be transferred.
Kitahara shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: the transfer device is configured to:
(i) collectively transfer the unprocessed objects in the container into the first accommodating chamber using the first arm,
(ii) use the second arm to transfer a single unprocessed object to the load-lock module using the second arm,
(iii) use the second arm to transfer a single processed object from the load- lock module to the second accommodating chamber, and
(iv) use the first arm to transfer processed objects from the second accommodating chamber to the container (para. [0046]-[0057] suggest transferring different objects of different processing status (“pre-processed wafers”/”processed wafers”) with different number of arms/forks (arm/hand));
Claim 11: collectively transfer[ing] multiple unprocessed objects from a container into a first accommodating chamber of a storage module that temporarily stores the objects to be transferred; transferring processed and unprocessed objects as claimed (para. [0046]-[0057] suggest transferring different objects of different processing status (“pre-processed wafers”/”processed wafers”) with different number of arms/forks (arm/hand));
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of simplifying the configuration of the transfer device for providing a transfer device of reduced cost and increased versatility/productivity (para. [0005]/[0007]/[0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newman as taught by Kitahara and include Kitahara’s similar device having:
Claim 1: the transfer device is configured to:
(i) collectively transfer the unprocessed objects in the container into the first accommodating chamber using the first arm,
(ii) use the second arm to transfer a single unprocessed object to the load-lock module using the second arm,
(iii) use the second arm to transfer a single processed object from the load- lock module to the second accommodating chamber, and
(iv) use the first arm to transfer processed objects from the second accommodating chamber to the container;
Claim 11: collectively transfer[ing] multiple unprocessed objects from a container into a first accommodating chamber of a storage module that temporarily stores the objects to be transferred; transferring processed and unprocessed objects as claimed;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of simplifying the configuration of the transfer device for providing a transfer device of reduced cost and increased versatility/productivity.
Reuter shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: wherein the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber include multiple substrate supports arranged vertically to accommodate the objects to be transferred (228; para. [0041]-[0042]; 228 are part of storage module 120);
Claim 11: wherein the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber include multiple substrate supports arranged vertically to accommodate the objects to be transferred;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing the transfer device to load and remove sufficiently spaced apart objects in the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber in an efficient manner to decrease processing time (para. [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newman and Kitahara as taught by Reuter and include Reuter’s similar device having:
Claim 1: wherein the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber include multiple substrate supports arranged vertically to accommodate the objects to be transferred;
Claim 11: wherein the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber include multiple substrate supports arranged vertically to accommodate the objects to be transferred;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing the transfer device to load and remove sufficiently spaced apart objects in the first accommodating chamber and the second accommodating chamber in an efficient manner to decrease processing time.
Claim(s) 4, 13-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Kitahara and Reuter. Newman discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Newman does not directly show:
Claim 4: wherein the first accommodating chamber includes:
a first opening through which the object to be transferred object is loaded and unloaded; and
a first exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas flowing in from the first opening, and
the second accommodating chamber includes:
a second opening through which the object to be transferred is loaded and unloaded; and
a second exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas flowing in from the second opening;
Claim 13: a partition wall that physically separates the first accommodating chamber from the second accommodating chamber;
Claim 14: wherein the first exhaust port and the second exhaust port are located on sidewalls of the storage module opposite to the first opening and the second opening, respectively;
Claim 17: wherein the second accommodating chamber is provided with an exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas from within the second accommodating chamber, and the first accommodating chamber is not provided with an exhaust port.
Reuter shows a similar device having:
Claim 4: wherein the first accommodating chamber (120a) includes:
a first opening through which the object to be transferred object is loaded and unloaded; and
a first exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas flowing in from the first opening (one 136/structures with one 136), and
the second accommodating chamber (102b) includes:
a second opening through which the object to be transferred is loaded and unloaded; and
a second exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas flowing in from the second opening (another 136/structures with another 136);
Claim 13: a partition wall that physically separates the first accommodating chamber from the second accommodating chamber (FIG. 3A, wall between 120a/120b);
Claim 14: wherein the first exhaust port and the second exhaust port are located on sidewalls of the storage module opposite to the first opening and the second opening, respectively (FIG. 1-2,3A, 136 exits at 234 on the sidewall; para. [0047], 234 may be on the sidewall);
Claim 17: wherein the second accommodating chamber is provided with an exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas from within the second accommodating chamber, and the first accommodating chamber is not provided with an exhaust port (para. [0046] implies that 136 can be disconnected from either chamber 120a/120b, wherein one chamber would have an exhaust port and the other chamber would not have an exhaust port);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the controlling environmental conditions to which the substrates are exposed to when in transit through the storage module (para. [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newman and Kitahara as taught by Reuter and include Reuter’s similar device having:
Claim 4: wherein the first accommodating chamber includes:
a first opening through which the object to be transferred object is loaded and unloaded; and
a first exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas flowing in from the first opening, and
the second accommodating chamber includes:
a second opening through which the object to be transferred is loaded and unloaded; and
a second exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas flowing in from the second opening;
Claim 13: a partition wall that physically separates the first accommodating chamber from the second accommodating chamber;
Claim 14: wherein the first exhaust port and the second exhaust port are located on sidewalls of the storage module opposite to the first opening and the second opening, respectively;
Claim 17: wherein the second accommodating chamber is provided with an exhaust port configured to exhaust a gas from within the second accommodating chamber, and the first accommodating chamber is not provided with an exhaust port;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the controlling environmental conditions to which the substrates are exposed to when in transit through the storage module.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Kitahara, Reuter, and Sugawara (US 20190109031). Newman discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Newman does not directly show:
Claim 15: wherein the objects to be transferred are consumable parts used in a substrate processing module connected to the load-lock module;
Claim 16: wherein the consumable parts include at least one of an electrostatic chuck, an edge ring, or an upper electrode.
Sugawara shows a similar device having:
Claim 15: wherein the objects to be transferred are consumable parts used in a substrate processing module connected to the load-lock module (para. [0006] discloses the well-known configuration as claimed in a layout similar to that of FIG. 1);
Claim 16: wherein the consumable parts include at least one of an electrostatic chuck, an edge ring, or an upper electrode (para. [0006] discloses the well-known configuration as claimed in a layout similar to that of FIG. 1; electrostatic chuck or edge ring in para. [0006]);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of performing a well-known process such as etching (para. [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newman, Reuter, and Kitahara as taught by Sugawara and include Sugawara’s similar device having:
Claim 15: wherein the objects to be transferred are consumable parts used in a substrate processing module connected to the load-lock module;
Claim 16: wherein the consumable parts include at least one of an electrostatic chuck, an edge ring, or an upper electrode;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of performing a well-known process such as etching.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The 103 rejections above have been modified per amendment. Reuter discloses the multiple substrate supports as newly rejected above.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In para. [0035]-[0041], Newman clearly allows for multiple configurations of the transfer device and also contemplates collective transfer or batch transfer in para. [0023], [0031], and [0059].
Conclusion
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652