DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 01/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 9-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, a comma should apparently be added immediately after the phrase “or a track” in line 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: light scattering detection system in claim 1, image processing system in claim 1, and cleaning system in claim 1.
Based on a review of the specification, a light scattering detection system is interpreted to include a light and a sensor, or equivalents thereof; an image processing system is interpreted to include a camera, or equivalents thereof; and a cleaning system is interpreted to include an air blower, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the rack mechanism is configured to couple the inspection and cleaning tool to a rack, and position the inspection and cleaning tool to align with an optical cable interconnect” in lines 4-5 renders the claim indefinite because the recited rack and optical cable interconnect are not positively claimed and it is not clear whether or not they are required structural features of the claimed apparatus. It appears the intended meaning may be that they are not required structural features, and this meaning will be used for purposes of examination.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “wherein the rack mechanism is configured to reposition the inspection and cleaning tool to align with a second optical cable interconnect” renders the claim indefinite because the recited second optical cable interconnect is not positively claimed and it is not clear whether or not it is a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus. It appears the intended meaning may be that it is not a required structural feature, and this meaning will be used for purposes of examination.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase “wherein the rack mechanism controls the position of the inspection and cleaning tool based on visual recognition software” renders the claim indefinite because the recited software is not positively claimed and it is not clear whether or not it is a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus. It appears the intended meaning may be that it is not a required structural feature, and this meaning will be used for purposes of examination.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase “wherein the rack mechanism is configured to reposition the inspection and cleaning tool to align with a second optical cable interconnect” renders the claim indefinite because the recited second optical cable interconnect is not positively claimed and it is not clear whether or not it is a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus. It appears the intended meaning may be that it is not a required structural feature, and this meaning will be used for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,482,594 to Leigh et al. (“Leigh”) in view of US 2022/0338699 to Wu et al. (“Wu”).
Regarding claim 1, Leigh teaches an apparatus useful for inspecting and cleaning optical interconnects, comprising: a rack mechanism comprising one or more of a motor, a drive belt, or a track (Fig. 2, ref. 216 and 218, col. 4, line 50 – col. 5, line 13, motor); and an inspection and cleaning tool, wherein: the rack mechanism is configured to be useful to couple the inspection and cleaning tool to a rack, and position the inspection and cleaning tool to align with an optical cable interconnect (col. 1, lines 5-12), the rack mechanism is mountable to the rack (note Fig. 2), the rack mechanism is configured to be useful to move the inspection and cleaning tool across a width of the rack and across a height of the rack (note Fig. 2); and the inspection and cleaning tool includes an image processing system (Fig. 2, ref. 220, col. 3, lines 31-60, first camera (not shown) and second camera), and a cleaning system (Fig. 2, ref. 204, col. 3, lines 19-30, col. 3, line 61 – col. 4, line 9), wherein the image processing system is useful to determine whether a surface of the optical cable interconnect is clean and the cleaning system is configured to be useful to clean the optical cable interconnect based on a determination that the surface of the optical cable interconnect is not clean.
Leigh does not explicitly teach that the inspection and cleaning tool includes a light scattering detection system useful to determine whether a surface of the optical cable interconnect is clean. Wu teaches a cleaning apparatus Wu including a light scattering detection system (para [0065], [0124]), which is disclosed as advantageously enhancing positioning and location control (para [0063] – [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Leigh apparatus in view of Wu wherein the inspection and cleaning tool includes a light scattering detection system, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance positioning and location control. Since the Leigh/Wu apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 3, Leigh/Wu disclose an apparatus wherein the image processing system includes a camera (Leigh, Fig. 2, ref. 220, col. 3, lines 31-60, first camera (not shown) and second camera).
Regarding claim 4, Leigh/Wu disclose an apparatus wherein the light scattering detection system includes a light and a sensor (Wu, para [0065], [0124]).
Regarding claim 5, Leigh/Wu disclose an apparatus wherein the cleaning system includes an air blower (Leigh, Fig. 2, ref. 204, col. 3, lines 19-30, col. 3, line 61 – col. 4, line 9, note ref. 208).
Regarding claim 6, Leigh/Wu do not explicitly teach the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein cleaning the optical cable interconnect includes blowing air on the optical cable interconnect via the air blower of the cleaning system. However, since the Leigh/Wu apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 7, Leigh/Wu do not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the rack mechanism is configured to be useful to reposition the inspection and cleaning tool to align with a second optical cable interconnect. However, since the Leigh/Wu apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 8, Leigh/Wu do not explicitly teach the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the determination that the optical cable interconnect is not clean is based on determining that measurements from the light scattering detection system and the image processing system differ from a known baseline by a threshold amount. However, since the Leigh/Wu apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 16, Leigh teaches a system useful for inspecting and cleaning optical interconnects, the system comprising: a rack including one or more systems, wherein at least one of the one or more systems includes an optical cable and an associated optical cable interconnect (col. 1, lines 5-12, 32-45); and an inspection and cleaning system comprising: a rack mechanism (Fig. 2, ref. 216 and 218, col. 4, line 50 – col. 5, line 13) and an inspection and cleaning tool, wherein the rack mechanism is configured to be useful to couple the inspection and cleaning tool to the rack, and position the inspection and cleaning tool to align with the optical cable interconnect (col. 1, lines 5-12), wherein the rack mechanism comprises one or more of a motor, a drive belt, or a track (Fig. 2, ref. 216 and 218, col. 4, line 50 – col. 5, line 13, motor), wherein the rack mechanism is mounted to the rack (note Fig. 2), the rack mechanism is configured to move the inspection and cleaning tool across a width of the rack and across a height of the rack (note Fig. 2); and the inspection and cleaning tool includes an image processing system (Fig. 2, ref. 220, col. 3, lines 31-60, first camera (not shown) and second camera), and a cleaning system (Fig. 2, ref. 204, col. 3, lines 19-30, col. 3, line 61 – col. 4, line 9), wherein the image processing system is useful to determine whether a surface of the optical cable interconnect is clean and the cleaning system is configured to clean the optical cable interconnect based on a determination that the surface of the optical cable interconnect is not clean.
Leigh does not explicitly teach that the inspection and cleaning tool includes a light scattering detection system useful to determine whether a surface of the optical cable interconnect is clean. Wu teaches a cleaning apparatus Wu including a light scattering detection system (para [0065], [0124]), which is disclosed as advantageously enhancing positioning and location control (para [0063] – [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Leigh apparatus in view of Wu wherein the inspection and cleaning tool includes a light scattering detection system, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance positioning and location control. Since the Leigh/Wu apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 17, Leigh/Wu disclose a system wherein the inspection and cleaning system is mounted to a back side of the rack (Leigh, Fig. 2). Note that the rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 18, Leigh/Wu disclose do not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein the rack mechanism controls the position of the inspection and cleaning tool based on visual recognition software. However, the Leigh/Wu apparatus includes the claimed structural features and appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited (see, e.g., Leigh, col. 3, lines 31-60).
Regarding claim 19, Leigh/Wu do not explicitly teach the system wherein the rack mechanism is configured to be useful to reposition the inspection and cleaning tool to align with a second optical cable interconnect. However, since the Leigh/Wu system includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 20, Leigh/Wu disclose do not explicitly teach the system being operated in a manner wherein the determination that the surface of the optical cable interconnect is not clean is based on determining that measurements from the light scattering detection system and the image processing system differ from a known baseline by a threshold amount. However, since the Leigh/Wu system includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,482,594 to Leigh et al. (“Leigh”) in view of US 2022/0338699 to Wu et al. (“Wu”) and in further view of US 2020/0142136 to Yamada et al. (“Yamada”).
Regarding claim 2, Leigh/Wu do not explicitly teach the apparatus a hook configured to control a position of an optical cable associated with the optical cable interconnect. Cable hooks were known in the art as effective for enhancing the attaching and securing cables (see, e.g., Yamada at, inter alia, Fig. 17, ref. 139, para [0206], [0209]), and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Leigh/Wu apparatus as was known wherein it includes a hook configured to be useful to control a position of an optical cable associated with the optical cable interconnect, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they were known as effective for attaching and securing cables.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the claim interpretations under 35 USC 112(f) should be withdrawn in view of the present amendments and structure recited in claims 2-5 (remarks, page 7, para beginning “Without acquiescing in the comments”), it is initially noted that the relevant recitations are light scattering detection system in claim 1, image processing system in claim 1, and cleaning system in claim 1. Accordingly, any structural features in claims 2-5, which depend from claim 1, do not mean that claim 1 recites sufficient structure. Further, it is not clear how the present amendments involve the recitations that have been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the present amendment cure the indefiniteness issues (remarks, page 7, para beginning “Without acquiescing in the allegation”), it is not clear how the present amendments address the issues.
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the applied art does not teach or suggest the claim 1 features that the rack mechanism is mounted to the rack, and that the rack mechanism is configured to move the inspection cleaning tool across a width of the track and across a height of the track (remarks, page 8, para beginning “LEIGH and WU”), it is initially noted that claim 1 does not positively claim the recited rack and is not interpreted as requiring the recited rack. Further, the Leigh/Wu rack mechanism appears to be fully capable of being mounted to a rack (note Leigh, Fig. 2) and appears to be fully capable of being operated to move the inspection and cleaning tool across a width of the rack and across a height of the rack (note Leigh, Fig. 2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714