DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the terms Wi-Fi Direct®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Zigbee®, uWave®, Smart Energy Protocol®, and Open Connectivity Foundation®, which are trade names or a marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application (see at least the paragraph bridging pages 20-21 of the specification). The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Applicant is requested to check for any other instances of the use of trade marks or trade names throughout the specification and make appropriate corrections.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 12, --built-in-- should be inserted before “battery”, in order to be consistent with “built-in battery” in line 7.
In claim 15, line 17, --built-in-- should be inserted before “battery”, in order to be consistent with “built-in battery” in line 10.
In claim 15, line 18, the period should be replaced with a semicolon.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al (US 2015/0375395 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon et al teaches an electronic device (robot 100) configured to provide a charging service, the electronic device comprising: a driving module (driving unit 110); a battery (power unit 190); a discharging interface (charging unit 130 includes a discharging interface) configured to supply power to at least one charging service use device (one of mobile terminals 200a-200e) by discharging power stored in the battery (190); a communication interface (communication unit 180) configured to perform data transmission and reception with the at least one charging service use device (200a-200e) by using a short-range communication network (see para. 0037); a memory (storage unit 195) storing at least one instruction; and at least one processor (control unit 150) configured to execute the at least one instruction to: control the communication interface (180) to receive, from at least one charging service use device (200a-200e), charging state information including at least one of device identification information, charging specifications, a current remaining battery capacity, and an expected discharge time (a remaining amount of the battery of mobile terminal 200, see para. 0043); generate a charging schedule (using priority determination module 154) for supplying charging power to the at least one charging service use device based on a remaining capacity of the battery (power unit 190) and the received charging state information (the priority determination module 154 sets a charging priority of the mobile devices 200 according to time, remaining amount of the battery of the mobile device and remaining amount of battery of the robot 100, see para. 0043) of the at least one charging service use device, determine a charging target device (one of the devices 200) from among the at least one charging service use device based on the charging schedule, control the driving module to move towards a location of the determined charging target device (using driving unit 110); and charge (using charging unit 130) the charging target device by supplying power stored in the battery to the charging target device through connection with a charging terminal of the charging target device (see figs. 1-5A, 6-8, paras. 0027-0054 and 0067-0084).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: through the communication interface (180), receive (see steps S110 and S130, fig. 6) a signal for requesting charging power supply from at least one charging service request device (200a-200e); in response to the signal for requesting charging power supply being received, transmit a signal for requesting current battery charging state information and charging specifications information to the at least one charging service request device (see para. 0067); and receive at least one of device identification information, current battery charging state information, and charging specifications information from the at least one charging service request device (see para. 0068).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a data storage (a portion of storage 195) storing a charging service use device list including information related to at least one of device identification information, battery capacity, and charging specifications information of the at least one charging service use device (for example, a list in the charging priority determination module 154, see paras. 0041 and 0043), wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to store information received from the at least one charging service request device in the charging service use device list (the received information would be stored as part of the priority determination, see paras. 0041 and 0043).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: receive use history information including at least one of a use start time, a use end time, a constant use state, and use time from the at least one charging service use device through the communication interface (a remaining amount of the battery of mobile terminal 200, see para. 0043), and determine a charging order (using priority determination module 154) of the at least one charging service use device based on the expected discharge time estimated according to the use history information of each of the at least one charging service use device (see para. 0043, describing the function of the priority determination module 154).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: an infrared sensor configured to receive an infrared signal transmitted by the charging target device (the communication unit 180 may use infrared ray communication (IrDA), see para. 0037), wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: identify a location of the charging target device (using position search module 153) based on an infrared signal received through the infrared sensor (communication unit 180) and determine a travel route to move towards the identified location, and control the driving module (110) to move along the determined travel route (see Fig. 6, steps S110 and S120 include identifying a location of the terminal 200, determining a travel route by the controller 150 and controlling the driving unit 110 to move along the route).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instructions to: determine whether a first charging target device is charged to a preset target value (see paras. 0043-0044), control the driving module (110) to move towards a location of a second charging target device (another one of 200a-200e) according to a charging order determined by the charging schedule (determined by the priority determination module 154), and control the discharging interface (130) to charge the second charging target device by discharging the battery (190) (see paras. 0043-0044).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a converter configured to convert charging power (for example, when the charging unit 130 transmits wireless power, the charging unit necessarily includes a converter to convert the power from the power unit 190 to a wireless power signal, see paras. 0029-0030), wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: control the converter (the wireless power converter) to convert power supplied from the battery (190) based on a rated voltage, a maximum allowable current, and a frequency included in charging specifications information received from the charging target device (200a-200e), and control the discharging interface (130) to supply the converted power to the charging target device (200a-200e).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon et al teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (150) is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: determine whether the charging target device (200a-200e) is charged over a preset threshold value (for example, a preset value indicating a complete charge) and control the discharging interface (130) to discontinue charging power supply based on a result of the determination (see paras. 0033 and 0045), and control the driving module (110) to move towards a charging station to charge the battery (see para. 0044).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon et al teaches a method operated by an electronic device (100), the method comprising: receiving (using communication unit 180), from at least one charging service use device (200a-200e), charging state information including at least one from among device identification information, charging specifications, a current remaining battery capacity, and an expected discharge time (a remaining amount of the battery of mobile terminal 200, see para. 0043); generating a charging schedule (using priority determination module 154) to determine a time and a charging order for supplying charging power to the at least one charging service use device based on a remaining capacity of a built-in battery (power unit 190) of the electronic device and the received charging state information (the priority determination module 154 sets a charging priority of the mobile devices 200 according to time, remaining amount of the battery of the mobile device and remaining amount of battery of the robot 100, see para. 0043); determining a charging target device (one of the devices 200) from among the at least one charging service use device based on the charging schedule; moving towards a location of the determined charging target device (using driving unit 110); and charging (using charging unit 130) the charging target device by supplying power stored in the battery to the charging target device through connection with a charging terminal of the charging target device (see figs. 1-5A, 6-8, paras. 0027-0054 and 0067-0084).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon et al teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: by the electronic device (100), receiving (see steps S110 and S130, fig. 6) a signal for requesting charging power supply from at least one charging service request device (200) by using a short-range communication network (see para. 0037); in response to the signal for requesting charging power supply being received, transmitting a signal for requesting current battery charging state information and charging specifications information to the at least one charging service request device (see para. 0067); and receiving at least one of device identification information, current battery charging state information, and charging specifications information from the at least one charging service request device (see para. 0068).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon et al teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: by the electronic device, storing information received from the at least one charging service request device in a charging service use device list (for example, a list in the charging priority determination module 154, see paras. 0041 and 0043).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon et al teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the receiving of the charging state information comprises receiving use history information including at least one of a use start time, a use end time, a constant use state, and use time from the at least one charging service use device, and the generating of the charging schedule comprises determining a charging order of the at least one charging service use device based on the expected discharge time estimated according to the use history information of each of the at least one charging service use device (see para. 0043, describing the function of the priority determination module 154).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon et al teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the moving towards a location of the charging target device comprises: receiving an infrared signal transmitted by the determined charging target device (the communication unit 180 may use infrared ray communication (IrDA), see para. 0037); identifying a location of the charging target device based on the received infrared signal; determining a travel route to move towards the identified location; and controlling a driving module to move along the determined travel route (see Fig. 6, steps S110 and S120 include identifying a location of the terminal 200, determining a travel route by the controller 150 and controlling the driving unit 110 to move along the route).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon et al teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the charging of the charging target device comprises, after charging a first charging target device (for example, 200a) to a preset target value, moving to a location of a second charging target device (for example, 200b) according to a charging order determined by the charging schedule (a priority determined by the priority determination module 154) and charging the second charging target device (see para. 0043)
Regarding claim 15, Kwon et al teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (storage unit 195) storing instructions that are executable by at least one processor (150) to perform a method including: an operation of receiving (using communication unit 180), from at least one charging service use device (200a-200e), charging state information including at least one from among device identification information, charging specifications, a current remaining battery capacity, and an expected discharge time (a remaining amount of the battery of mobile terminal 200, see para. 0043); an operation of generating a charging schedule (using priority determination module 154) to determine a time and a charging order for supplying charging power to the at least one charging service use device based on a remaining capacity of a built-in battery (power unit 190) of an electronic device (100) and the received charging state information (the priority determination module 154 sets a charging priority of the mobile devices 200 according to time, remaining amount of the battery of the mobile device and remaining amount of battery of the robot 100, see para. 0043); an operation of determining a charging target device (one of the devices 200) from among the at least one charging service use device based on the charging schedule (see para. 0043); an operation of controlling a driving module (driving unit 110) of the electronic device to move towards a location of the determined charging target device; and an operation of charging (using charging unit 130) the charging target device by supplying power stored in the built-in battery to the charging target device through connection (via charging unit 130) with a charging terminal of the charging target device, wherein the electronic device includes instructions related to a method of charging the charging service use device (see figs. 1-5A, 6-8, paras. 0027-0054 and 0067-0084).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are directed to robotic or mobile charging devices configured to charge a plurality of charge requesting devices.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859