DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18, 20-22, and 24 are currently pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 were amended in the reply filed November 18, 2025. Claim 23 was cancelled.
Response to Arguments
101:
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant first argues that the claims do not recite any method of organizing human activity as they “recite an improved travel booking system that enables users to add travel bookings from a variety or separate sources to a single booking in an integrated and standardized system” (Remarks p. 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Travel booking is an abstract idea under “certain methods of organizing human activity” as described in the 101 rejection below. The system that performs the travel booking is analyzed as an “additional element” under Prong 2. The presence of additional elements does not negate the recitation of an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04 (II)(A) – “If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea enumerated in MPEP § 2106.04(a), a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two”).
Applicant next argues that the claim limitations do not recite a mental process because they include processes that “the human mind is not equipped to perform” similar to the analysis of network packets in SRI Int’l (Remarks p. 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer (see MPEP - 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). Applicant’s claims recite generic computer components at a high-level of detail (e.g., a communication interface, a memory, one or more processors) performing generic computer functions (e.g., receiving data, performing calculations, formatting data, and storing data). As such, the claims amount to performing a mental process on a generic computer and/or u sing a computer as a tool to perform a mental process.
Applicant further argues that any abstract idea is integrated into a practical application similar to USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Example 42. Particularly that the “present claims are patent eligible for similar reasons, as they provide a system for acquiring and aggregating booking information from multiple sources regardless of the format in which that booking information is received” (Remarks p. 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s claims have been amended to add a “uniform data storage scheme” (Amended Claims 1, 8, and 15). However, the data storage scheme is described at a very high level of detail in Applicant’s specification and appears to refer to “transforming and/or organizing disparate data formats” (see paragraph [0046]). Per paragraphs [0042, 0046, 0051, and 0061] of Applicant’s specification, “transforming” refers to formatting data in order to be “read by the appropriate provider" and "de-transforming" refers to an "inverse transformation" for "generating the display to the user" or "storing in the user's itinerary data structure". The transformation and de-transformation are also described at a very high level of detail and appear to refer to basic, generic data formatting techniques in a computer system. As such, the “uniform data storage scheme” recited by Applicant’s claims is different than the standardized formatting and automatic sharing of updated information in Example 42. Additionally, the “uniform data storage scheme” does not provide an improvement to the computer itself. Rather it improves the abstract idea of facilitating travel bookings between customers and suppliers. Examiner also notes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the transformation and de-transformation of data in the claims is a mental process. As such, it does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(a) - "It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement").
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
103:
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18, 20-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent Claims
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 1:
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 recite, receiving a search request from a customer, the search request including search criteria relating to travel accommodations;
identifying a supplier from among a plurality of suppliers based on a plurality of routing rules, a user profile associated with the customer, and the search criteria, the plurality of routing rules being based on past user behavior and current supplier offers;
transforming the search request into a first format readable by the identified supplier;
routing the transformed request to the identified supplier and to an aggregator;
receiving a first search result from the identified supplier and a second search result from the aggregator;
de-transforming the received first search result and the second search result into a uniform scheme for viewing;
and generating an itinerary data structure that stores the de-transformed first and second search results in an itinerary with a corresponding booking state identifier, the itinerary data structure including a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments corresponding to different trip components,
wherein each of the plurality of segments includes source data identifying a particular supplier that provided the corresponding information contained therein.
The limitations above are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation cover “certain methods of organizing human activity” (including sales activities or behaviors, or business relations). Specifically, facilitating travel bookings between customers and suppliers is establishing business relationships and performing sales activities. Examiner particularly notes that the claims specifically recite steps that are designed for “travel searching”, which clarifies such business relationship. As such, the limitations fall into certain methods of organizing human activity.
Additionally, each of the limitations are mental processes (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion) because they can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. Specifically, claims to receive a search request, identify a supplier and aggregator, send and receive information to/from a supplier and aggregator, and store results in an itinerary can all be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. With respect to the transformation of requests and de-transformation of results, Examiner notes that paragraphs [0042, 0046, 0051, and 0061] of Applicant’s specification describe “transformation” and “de-transformation” as formatting data. As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, transforming and de-transforming data includes mental processes (e.g., converting travel dates from mm/dd/yy format to dd/mm/yyyy format or a passenger name from “last, first” to “FIRST LAST”).
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 2:
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 8, and 15 as a whole amount to: merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, or “apply it”; or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 recite the following additional elements to perform the above recited steps: a customer terminal (claims 1, 8, and 15), a plurality of supplier systems (claims 1, 8, and 15), an aggregator system (claims 1, 8, and 15), a communication interface (claims 1, 8, and 15), data storage (claims 1, 8, and 15), a memory (claim 8), one or more processors (claims 8 and 15), and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 15). These additional elements are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality, and are recited at a high level of generality (see paragraphs [0022] of Applicant's PG Publication disclosing “customer terminal”, [0021] disclosing “supplier system” and “aggregator systems”, [0027] disclosing “communication interface”, [0069-0072] disclosing “memory”, [0066-0068] disclosing “processors”, and [0077] disclosing “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”). These additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Furthermore, claims 1, 8, and 15 recite the additional element of an itinerary data structure (claims 1, 8, and 15). This additional element is described at high level of generality (see paragraph [0046] of Applicant's PG Publication disclosing “itinerary data structure”) such that, when viewed as a whole, the additional element does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., organizing travel information).
Individually and as a whole, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because the claims do not: improve the functioning of the computer itself or any other technology or technical field; apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; add meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter; amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer.
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Alone or in combination, the additional elements do not contribute significantly more than the judicial exception and as a result, the claims are ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20-22, and 24, recite additional details that merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations, without adding any additional elements for analysis. Thus, claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20-22, and 24 are also ineligible for the reasons stated above with respect to independent claim 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18, 20-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0134372 to Lopez Ruiz et al. (Lopez Ruiz) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2003/0023463 to Dombroski et al. (Dombroski) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0225257 to Tilden et al. (Tilden).
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, Lopez Ruiz teaches:
(Claim 8) a communication interface configured to provide input and output with a customer terminal; a memory that stores a user profile associated with a customer; and one or more processors configured to (“… The computer system 22 may include a processor 24, a memory 26, a mass storage memory device 28, an input/output (I/O) interface 30, and a user interface 32 …” and “… To this end, the profile module 64 may include a user profile engine 72, a corporate profile engine 74, and a travel policies engine 76. The user profile engine 72 may centralize user profile and travel preference data, thereby enabling search results to be tailored to the specific user requesting the search …” [0029-0033 and 0036]):
(Claim 15) a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform functions, comprising (“Persons having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the program code embodying any of the embodiments of the invention described herein is capable of being individually or collectively distributed as a program product in a variety of different forms. In particular, the program code may be distributed using a computer readable media, which may include computer readable storage media and communication media …” [0068-0069]):
receiving a search request from a customer terminal, the search request including search criteria relating to travel accommodations (“A search launched in the online self-booking tool may produce travel offerings that contain one or more travel products that are preferably purchased through an online channel …” and “… The data entered by the user may define one or more search parameters, such as an origin/destination city pair, a desired date of travel, and any other parameter that could be used to identify a travel offering which satisfies the itinerary …” [0024 and 0056-0058]);
identifying a supplier system from among a plurality of supplier systems based on a plurality of routing rules, a user profile associated with the customer terminal, and the search criteria (“The third party systems 14 may host a website for an online travel agency, meta-search engine, airline, hotel, or any other third party provider of travel products …” and “… The user profile engine 72 may centralize user profile and travel preference data, thereby enabling search results to be tailored to the specific user requesting the search. By way of example, the user profile engine 72 may provide user data indicating whether the user prefers a particular hotel chain, or participates in a particular frequent flyer rewards program. Search queries and/or search results may be adjusted based on this user preference data …” [0027 and 0034-0036]),
the plurality of routing rules being based on past user behavior and current supplier offers (“… The third party provider database 56 may be searchable based on the characteristics of the travel offerings stored therein … By way of example, the user profile engine 72 may provide user data indicating whether the user prefers a particular hotel chain, or participates in a particular frequent flyer rewards program. Search queries and/or search results may be adjusted based on this user preference data …” [0034-0036] Examiner notes that participation in a frequent flyer rewards program is a “past user behavior” as it indicates a history of flying with a particular carrier);
routing, via a communication interface, the transformed request to the identified supplier system and to an aggregator system (“Embodiments of the invention are directed to systems and methods for providing users with travel-related search results that include products and services from multiple sources, such as a Global Distribution System (GDS) and a website of a third party provider …” and “In block 100, the travel booking system 50 may search one or more of the corporate travel offerings database 58 and global travel offerings database 60 of GDS 12 …” and “… In response to receiving the captured search parameters, the online self-booking tool 52 may launch a parallel search in the GDS 12. This parallel search may identify travel offerings in the corporate travel offerings database 58 and global travel offerings database 60 that satisfy the search parameters …” [0022-0023 and 0049 and 0056-0058]);
receiving, via the communication interface, a first search result from the identified supplier system and a second search result from the aggregator system (“The travel booking system may receive and combine the search results from the website and the GDS, and filter the combined results to eliminate duplicates …” and “In response to receiving the search results from the corporate travel offerings database 58 and the global travel offerings database 60 at the results processing module 80, the travel booking system 50 may proceed to block 102 …” and “In block 118, the results processing module 80 of data siphon tool 54 may capture the search results received from the GDS 12 and the online channel website …” [0023-0024 and 0050-0052 and 0059-0063]);
While Lopez Ruiz [0063-0064] teaches an itinerary, Lopez Ruiz does not teach, transforming the search request into a first format readable by the identified supplier system; de-transforming the received first search result and the second search result into a uniform data storage scheme for viewing on the customer terminal; and generating an itinerary data structure that stores the de-transformed first and second search results in an itinerary data structure with a corresponding booking state identifier, the itinerary data structure including a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments corresponding to different trip components. However, Dombroski teaches, transforming the search request into a first format readable by the identified supplier system (“… The travel request processor 74 also includes the software to format the results of the application of the business rules into a format that the booking engine 79 can accept …” [0050]);
de-transforming the received first search result and the second search result into a uniform data storage scheme for viewing on the customer terminal (“… XML is a structured method for putting data in a standardized text format designed specifically for transmitting structured data to web applications …” and “… The booking engine receives the availability information and formats it into a file (step 224). This file contains the information include in a suggested itinerary for the traveler …” [0071-0072 and 0088-0090]);
and generating an itinerary data structure that stores the de-transformed first and second search results in an itinerary data structure with a corresponding booking state identifier, the itinerary data structure including a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments corresponding to different trip components (“… The core object 110 creates an instance of the itinerary class 116 using the booking engine translator 118 which splits the confirmed itinerary received from the GDS 82 via the booking engine 79, allowing the creation of an itinerary object. The itinerary class 116 contains the air class 124, the car class 126, the hotel class 128, and the appointment class 130 as public classes. An itinerary object may have multiple instances of each of an appointment object, an air object, a car object, and a hotel object …” and “… The response page displays to the user all air, car and hotel segments that were sold and all air, car and hotel segments that failed and were not resolved during the process … Upon confirmation of an itinerary by the user, the confirmation page is displayed (step 236) in the browser …” [0069 and 0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, transforming the search request into a first format readable by the identified supplier system; de-transforming the received first search result and the second search result into a uniform data storage scheme for viewing on the customer terminal; and generating an itinerary data structure that stores the de-transformed first and second search results in an itinerary data structure with a corresponding booking state identifier, the itinerary data structure including a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments corresponding to different trip components, as taught by Dombroski with the travel planning method and system of Lopez Ruiz. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Dombroski that doing so would dramatically reduce the expenditure of time and resources required in order to book business travel and to perform the booking of the travel in an effective manner, consistent with the user's preferences [0020].
Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski does not teach, wherein each of the plurality of segments includes source data identifying a particular supplier system that provided the corresponding information contained therein. However, Tilden teaches, wherein each of the plurality of segments includes source data identifying a particular supplier system that provided the corresponding information contained therein (“… In the illustrated example embodiment, the segment parameters 300 include a … travel supplier ID 320 for the segment (e.g., a particular airline carrier ID and/or flight number) …” [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, wherein each of the plurality of segments includes source data identifying a particular supplier system that provided the corresponding information contained therein, as taught by Tilden with the travel planning method and system of Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Tilden that doing so would be useful to the traveler [0044].
As to claims 2, 9, and 16, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz further teaches, wherein the user profile includes an identification of customer loyalties and a plurality of customer preferences (“… The user profile engine 72 may centralize user profile and travel preference data, thereby enabling search results to be tailored to the specific user requesting the search. By way of example, the user profile engine 72 may provide user data indicating whether the user prefers a particular hotel chain, or participates in a particular frequent flyer rewards program. Search queries and/or search results may be adjusted based on this user preference data …” [0036]).
As to claims 3, 10, and 17, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz further teaches, wherein the plurality of routing rules includes a strength of supplier rule that routes the request based on prices offered by the plurality of supplier systems or availability of inventory at the plurality of supplier systems (“… The third party provider database 56 may be searchable based on the characteristics of the travel offerings stored therein. These characteristics may include data describing the travel offering, such as the type of travel product, travel product availability, travel product price, destination and origination cities, flight times and dates, hotel star rating, location, or any other characteristic of the travel offering …” [0034-0035]).
As to claims 4, 11, and 18, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz further teaches, wherein the plurality of routing rules includes a customer profile rule that routes the request based on customer preferences, customer loyalty, or customer spend level (“… By way of example, the user profile engine 72 may provide user data indicating whether the user prefers a particular hotel chain, or participates in a particular frequent flyer rewards program. Search queries and/or search results may be adjusted based on this user preference data …” [0036]).
As to claims 7 and 14, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 8 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz does not teach, updating the booking state identifier of the itinerary data structure to indicate the booking confirmation. However, Dombroski teaches, updating the booking state identifier of the itinerary data structure to indicate the booking confirmation (“… Upon confirmation of an itinerary by the user, the confirmation page is displayed (step 236) in the browser. FIG. 12 represents a screen capture of a confirmation page displayed by the presently preferred embodiment of the invention. Referring again to FIG. 5, the itinerary data included in the confirmation is parsed into the itinerary object by the booking engine translator (step 240) …” [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, updating the booking state identifier of the itinerary data structure to indicate the booking confirmation, as taught by Dombroski with the travel planning method and system of Lopez Ruiz. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Dombroski that doing so would dramatically reduce the expenditure of time and resources required in order to book business travel and to perform the booking of the travel in an effective manner, consistent with the user's preferences [0020].
As to claim 20, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz does not teach, receiving a booking confirmation from the supplier; and updating the booking state identifier of the itinerary data structure to indicate the booking confirmation. However, Dombroski teaches, receiving a booking confirmation from the supplier; and updating the booking state identifier of the itinerary data structure to indicate the booking confirmation (“… Once accepted, the itinerary is booked with the GDS and the plug-in automatically generates appointment events from the itinerary and adds or replaces appointment events in the user's calendar application” and “… Upon confirmation of an itinerary by the user, the confirmation page is displayed (step 236) in the browser. FIG. 12 represents a screen capture of a confirmation page displayed by the presently preferred embodiment of the invention. Referring again to FIG. 5, the itinerary data included in the confirmation is parsed into the itinerary object by the booking engine translator (step 240) …” [0016 and 0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, receiving a booking confirmation from the supplier; and updating the booking state identifier of the itinerary data structure to indicate the booking confirmation, as taught by Dombroski with the travel planning method and system of Lopez Ruiz. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Dombroski that doing so would dramatically reduce the expenditure of time and resources required in order to book business travel and to perform the booking of the travel in an effective manner, consistent with the user's preferences [0020].
As to claim 21, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz further teaches, wherein each segment of the plurality of segments includes an identifier corresponding to a booking and/or search result (“… Key attributes may include a unique identifier or a price of a travel product included in the travel offering. Exemplary key attributes may include a flight number and ticket price for a flight between an origination and destination city pair” [0045-0050]).
As to claim 22, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz further teaches, wherein each segment of the plurality of segments includes a type corresponding a travel component (“… These characteristics may include data describing the travel offering, such as the type of travel product …” [035]).
As to claim 24, Lopez Ruiz in view of Dombroski and in further view of Tilden teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Lopez Ruiz does not teach, wherein each segment of the plurality of segments includes a booking state that indicates a status corresponding to data organized in the itinerary data structure. However, Dombroski teaches, wherein each segment of the plurality of segments includes a booking state that indicates a status corresponding to data organized in the itinerary data structure (“… This file contains the information include in a suggested itinerary for the traveler. The travel request processor 74 creates response page (step 226) and sends the response page to the booking engine browser (step 228). The response page displays to the user all air, car and hotel segments that were sold and all air, car and hotel segments that failed and were not resolved during the process …” [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, wherein each segment of the plurality of segments includes a booking state that indicates a status corresponding to data organized in the itinerary data structure, as taught by Dombroski with the travel planning method and system of Lopez Ruiz. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Dombroski that doing so would dramatically reduce the expenditure of time and resources required in order to book business travel and to perform the booking of the travel in an effective manner, consistent with the user's preferences [0020].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0278597 to Wilkinson et al. (Wilkinson) teaches a system for managing corporate travel provides a search module in which a traveler may search travel options and receive travel approval in line with the travel policies of an organization.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0371798 to Ghahramani et al. (Ghahramani) teaches a travel concierge system and several single search query process for building travel itineraries. Tracking history data, including user interactions and selections in relation to the travel itineraries, is used to predict user preferences.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/RUPANGINI SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628