DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
In response to applicant’s amendment, dated 03/31/2026, the examiner acknowledges the amendment to claims 1-5. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the office action, mailed 01/07/2026, the examiner has considered applicant’s arguments in light of the amended claims and withdraws the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda, et al. (CN 1726696) in view of Baldwin (US 9,057,931).
[AltContent: arrow]
Ueda – Figure 2
Baldwin – Figure 4(b)
Regarding claim 1, Ueda discloses “a first display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 108) including a first EL element, and a first camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 110) including a first lens on a first surface; and a second display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 109) including a second EL element, and a second camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 111) including a second lens on a second surface opposite to the first surface (See Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the first display portion and the second display portion is configured to display an image of a photographic subject taken by the first camera or the second camera before taking the image (page 5 of translation, 4th paragraph)”
Regarding claim 2, Ueda discloses “a first display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 108) including a first EL element, and a first camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 110) including a first lens on a first surface; and a second display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 109) including a second EL element, and a second camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 111) including a second lens on a second surface opposite to the first surface (See Fig. 2), wherein the first display portion is configured to display an image of a photographic subject taken by the first camera before taking the image, and to emit white flash light when taking the image, wherein the second display portion is configured to display an image of a photographic subject taken by the second camera before taking the image, and to emit white flash light when taking the image (page 5 of translation, 4th paragraph)”.
Regarding claim 3, Ueda discloses “a first display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 108) including a first EL element, and a first camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 110) including a first lens on a first surface; and a second display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 109) including a second EL element, and a second camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 111) including a second lens on a second surface opposite to the first surface (See Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the first display portion and the second display portion is configured to display an image of a photographic subject taken by the first camera or the second camera before taking the image, and to emit white flash light when taking the image (page 5 of translation, 4th paragraph)”.
Regarding claim 4, Ueda discloses “a first display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 108) including a first EL element, and a first camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 110) including a first lens on a first surface; and a second display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 109) including a second EL element, and a second camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 110) including a second lens on a second surface opposite to the first surface (See Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the first display portion and the second display portion is configured to display an image of a photographic subject taken by the first camera or the second camera before taking the image, and to emit white flash light when taking the image (page 5 of translation, 4th paragraph”.,
Regarding claim 5, Ueda discloses “a first display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 108) including a first EL element, and a first camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 110) including a first lens on a first surface; and a second display portion (Fig. 2, ref.# 109) including a second EL element, and a second camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 111) including a second lens on a second surface opposite to the first surface (See Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the first display portion and the second display portion is configured to display an image of a photographic subject taken by the first camera or the second camera before taking the image, and to emit white flash light when taking the image (page 5 of translation, 4th paragraph)”
Regarding claims 1-5, Ueda does not teach “wherein the second lens is surrounded by the second display portion, and is located away from a center of the second display portion”. However, a display integrated camera wherein a lens is surrounded by a display portion and wherein the lens is located away form a center of the display was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Baldwin (See Figure 4(b); column 5, lines 37-43) (Note: Reference numbers 420, 422 and 424 in Figure 4(b) correspond with the reference numbers 520, 522 and 524 respectively in column 5 with an obvious typographical error.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda wherein the second lens is surrounded by the second display portion, and is located away from a center of the second display portion in order so that the user can focus on an appropriate region of the screen as taught by Baldwin.
Further, regarding claim 3, modified Ueda does not teach wherein the white flash light is emitted for more than or equal to 1 millisecond”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the flash time wherein the white flash light is emitted for more than or equal to 1 millisecond, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, regarding claim 5, modified Ueda does not teach wherein the second lens has a larger diameter than the first lens”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second lens with a large diameter than the first lens, since choosing the size of each lens would involve discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable which involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Min (US 9,640,681), Son, et al. (US 2013/0182062), Rappoport, et al. (US 2013/0094126), Maglaque (US 2011/0279689), Nakamura, et al. (US 2011/0181587), Cok, et al. (US 7,714,923), Hartkop (US 2007/0002130), Yamazaki, et al. (US 2005/0052558), Choi, et al. (DE 10152905) and Terasaka (JP 2002335432) teach a camera surrounded by a display.
Nilsson, et a. (US 2008/0122821), Miyashita, et al. (US 2006/0044396), Sawahara, et al. (JP 2004274777) teaches a front camera, back camera, front display and rear display.
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
April 27, 2026