DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newman [US 2009/0311392A1].
Newman teaches a method for decontamination and detoxification of nuts (title) by applying UV light to the nuts (page 13, claim 1), applying an acid wash (page 13, claim 1), the nuts being almonds, pecans, peanuts, walnuts, and/or pistachios (paragraph 0055), and a reduction or elimination of aflatoxin (paragraph 0055).
Claims 1-2, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dalmasso et al [Pat. No. 5,460,845].
Dalmasso et al teach a method for food decontamination (title) by treating nuts with hydrogen peroxide vapor (abstract), the contaminants including Aspergillus (column 4, line 43), and treatment of walnuts (column 4, line 62).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shuman et al [US 2004,0052702A1].
Shuman et al teach method for food product surface sterilization (title) by treatment with a germicidal such as ozone and/or UV light (page 32, claim 17-18), the food being nuts (page 32, claim 25), and a reduction of Aspergillus flavus (page 16, Table 2).
Claims 1-5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al [Decomposing Aflatoxins in Peanuts Using Advanced Oxidation Process by UV and H2O2].
Shen et al teach a method for Decomposing Aflatoxins in Peanuts Using Advanced Oxidation Process by UV and H2O2 (title) and the combination of known treatments (ie UV and peroxide) providing a synergistic effect on aflatoxin reduction (page 1656, Conclusions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman et al as applied above, and further in view of Shen et al.
Shuman et al teach the abovementioned concepts and components, as well as using up to four treatments including UV light and ozone (page 32, claim 17-18). Shuman et al do not explicitly recite using peroxide (claim 6-9). Shen et al teach a method for Decomposing Aflatoxins in Peanuts Using Advanced Oxidation Process by UV and H2O2 (title) and the combination of known treatments (ie UV and peroxide) providing a synergistic effect on aflatoxin reduction (page 1656, Conclusions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed peroxide treatment into the invention of Shuman et al, in view of Shen et al, since both are directed to methods of decontaminating foods, since Shuman et al already included using up to four germicidal treatments including UV light and ozone (page 32, claim 17-18) but simply did not mention peroxide specifically, since the combination of UV light and peroxide provided a synergistic effect on aflatoxin reduction (page 1656, Conclusions) as shown by Shen et al, since using further treatment modes (ie peroxide) in the method of Shuman et al would have better ensured reduction/elimination of harmful pathogens and/or toxins which might otherwise survive treatment with only UV and ozone, and since a more effective and/or efficient process for decontamination would have enabled a safer product for the consumer of Shuman et al, in view of Shen et al.
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792