DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higuchi et al (2010/0254059).
In re Claims 1, 12, and 13, Higuchi teaches an electrical component as seen in Figure 2 comprising: a switching element (35); and a control circuit (10) coupled to the switching element, wherein the control circuit includes: at least one processor (paragraph 34); and at least one memory (paragraph 34) storing program code that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to: provide a time series of current strength values of an electrical current (I(n) sampled every sampling interval Δt) flowing in the electrical component registered in time steps that are consecutive (paragraphs 44-54), the electrical current being led through the switching element (paragraphs 42-54); operate a thermal model of the electrical component, wherein the thermal model is a first order recursive filter (inclusion of (n-1) as seen in Formula (1)) that filters squared current strength values of the time series (I(n-1)2 as seen in Formula (1)) and generates, as a respective output value in each of the time steps, a presently estimated temperature value that is compared to a limit value (paragraphs 54-57); determine a temperature of the electrical component from the current strength values using the thermal model (paragraphs 54-57); and in response to determining that the temperature is greater than the limit value, switch the switching element to an electrically blocking state in which the electrical current is interrupted (paragraph 57).
In re Claim 2, Higuchi teaches the filter contains a term for a power input that quantifies electrical power produced by a present squared current strength value of a present time step (I(n-1)2 as seen in Formula (1)).
In re Claim 3, Higuchi teaches the filter contains a term for heat dissipation from the electrical component, and the heat dissipation results from a characteristic for a thermal resistance (paragraph 50) of a material of the electrical component (as seen in Formula (1)).
In re Claim 4, Higuchi teaches the filter contains a mathematical term with an ambient temperature (“reference temperature”) at a present time step n, and a value of the mathematical term is provided from measured values of the ambient temperature (paragraphs 40, 54, and 78).
In re Claim 5, Higuchi teaches a sampling interval of Δt (paragraph 53), which results in a sampling rate of 1/ Δt.
In re Claim 6, Higuchi teaches the filter models a temperature-dependent material property of a material of the electrical component (paragraph 52) and uses an output value of a preceding time step as a present temperature of the material (ΔTw(n-1) as seen in Formula (1), paragraph 55).
In re Claim 10, Higuchi teaches the electrical component is a cable (i.e., wire harness) [paragraph 31].
In re Claim 11, Higuchi teaches the switching element 35 is a semiconductor switch (paragraph 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al (2010/0254059) in view of Maruyama et al (2011/0080681).
In re Claim 7, Higuchi teaches utilizing various parameters in the filter (paragraphs 48-53) related to the wire harness being measured, but does not specifically teach that the parameters are length related.
Maruyama teaches that when estimating a temperature of a wire utilizing similar parameters, that the parameters per length (paragraphs 33-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insure that the aforementioned parameters relied on in the filter of Higuchi are per length as taught by Maruyama to insure that the temperature estimated is applicable to wire harnesses of various lengths.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claims 8 and 9, Higuchi fails to teach the filter implements the specific formula as claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838