CTNF 18/526,966 CTNF 89200 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Election/Restrictions 08-05 AIA Claim s 15-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 . 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-14 and 20) in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation "nonzero combined thickness…" in line 1. Claim 3 recites the limitation "nonzero spacing…" in line 1. Claim 6 recites the limitation "nonzero thickness…" in line 1. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 11 recites the limitation " the substrate … " in line 1 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note: all dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 2. Claim (s) 1-8, 10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tao et al. (PG Pub 2020/0235085; hereinafter Tao) . PNG media_image1.png 352 540 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches a light-emitting device 500 (comprising an array of multiple semiconductor light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (annotated “LED” in Fig. 10), (a) each of the LEDs including (i) a corresponding n-doped semiconductor layer 102, (ii) a corresponding p-doped semiconductor layer 104, (iii) a corresponding active region 106 therebetween (see Fig. 10), (iv) one or more corresponding electrically conductive n-contacts 108 in electrical contact with the n-doped layer (see Fig. 10), and (v) one or more electrically conductive p-contacts 110 in electrical contact with the p-doped layer (see Fig. 10), the active region being arranged for emitting light at a corresponding LED wavelength as a result of radiative recombination of charge carriers at the active region (see Fig. 10); (b) for at least a subset of two or more LEDs of the array (e.g. the three depicted in Fig. 10 above), the corresponding n-doped layers of the LEDs of the subset forming a continuous n-doped layer spanning the LEDs of the subset (see Fig. 10); (c) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more p-contacts being localized on the corresponding p-doped layer to only a central region of that LED (center of) and being electrically isolated from the p-contacts of adjacent LEDs of the subset (isolated via 802); and (d) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more n-contacts (i) being localized to only peripheral regions of the corresponding LEDs (defining the boundary between adjacent LEDs of the subset) (see Fig. 10), (ii) extending through the p-doped layers and the active regions, but not through the continuous n-doped layer, of adjacent LEDs of the subset to make contact with the continuous n-doped layer (see Fig. 10), and (iii) being electrically isolated (via 204) from those p-doped layers and active regions (see Fig. 10). Regarding claim 2 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches nonzero combined thickness of the n-doped layer, p-doped layer, and the active region being less than 5 µm (para [0031]; teaches “the total thickness of the p-GaN 104 layer and the MQW 106 layer is approximately 2 μm” By noting the size of the n-GaN 102 layer thickness is less than the combined thickness of the p-GaN layer and the MQW layer; one could deduce the thickness of the n-GaN layer to be less than 2 μm. From this deduction, Tao teaches the combined thickness of all three layers is less than 4 μm. Regarding claim 3 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches nonzero spacing of the LEDs of the array being less than 200 µm, less than 100 µm, or less than 50 µm (para [0035]). Regarding claim 4 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches each of the n-doped layer 102, the p-doped layer 104, and the active region 104 including one or more Ill-V semiconductor materials (e.g. GaN), or alloys or mixtures thereof (see Fig. 10). Regarding claim 5 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches a wavelength- converting layer 1004 on the continuous n-doped layer and spanning the LEDs of the subset (para [0047]), the wavelength-converting layer being arranged (above 102) to absorb at least a portion of light emitted from the active region and emitting converted light at a converted wavelength that is longer than the LED wavelength. The recited “to absorb at least a portion of light emitted from the active region and emitting converted light at a converted wavelength that is longer than the LED wavelength.” (i.e., function) does not structurally distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus see In re Danly , 263 F.2d 844, 838 (CCPA 1959) (apparatus claims must distinguish in terms of structure rather than function). The only structural limitation that appears to be required for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the aforementioned function is providing a wavelength-converting layer on the continuous n-doped layer, which Tao clearly shows or in other words, the prior art appears to inherently possess the capability of performing the recited functions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc ., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best , 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See In re Swinehart , 439 F.2d 210 (CCPA 1971) to emphasize that “where the Patent [and Trademark] Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on."). Regarding claim 6 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches nonzero thickness of the wavelength-converting layer being less than 20 µm. (para [0031]; teaches “the total thickness of the p-GaN 104 layer and the MQW 106 layer is approximately 2 μm” By noting the size of the wavelength-converting layer 1004 is about the same combined thickness of 104/106 one of ordinary skill in the art could deduce the thickness of the wavelength-converting layer is less than 20 µm (see Fig. 10). Regarding claim 7 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches for each of the LEDs of the subset (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), the corresponding one or more p-contacts 110 including one or more metals or metal alloys (para [0024]). Regarding claim 8 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches for each of the LEDs of the subset (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), a corresponding electrically insulating layer 204 on the p-doped layer 104, the corresponding one or more p-contacts 110 extending through the electrically insulating layer to make contact with the p-doped layer (see Fig. 10). Regarding claim 10 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches for each of the LEDs of the subset (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), the corresponding one or more n-contacts 102 entirely circumscribe the p-doped layer 104 and the active region of the LED 106 (see Fig. 10). Regarding claim 12 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches for each of the LEDs of the subset (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), the corresponding one or more n-contacts 108 including one or more metals or metal alloys (para [0024]). Regarding claim 13 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches for each of the LEDs of the subset (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), electrically insulating material 204 separating the one or more n-contacts 108 from the corresponding p-doped layer 104 and the corresponding active region 106 (see Fig. 10). Regarding claim 14 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches (i) a power and control module including electronic circuitry structured and connected so as to enable selective activation of one or more LEDs of the array or one or more groups of LEDs of the array, and (ii) a circuit board or an electronic backplane, the array of LEDs being mounted onto the board or backplane so as to connect the electronic circuitry to the n-contacts and to the p-contacts (para [0041-0047]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim 11 and claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (PG Pub 2020/0235085; hereinafter Tao) and Anderson et al. (PG Pub 2011/0156616; hereinafter Anderson) . Regarding claim 11 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches the light-emitting device structure 500 (see claim 1); including for each of the LEDs of the substrate (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), the corresponding one or more p-contacts being arranged as one or more discrete, circumscribed p-contacts, so that (i) the corresponding n-doped semiconductor layers of the LEDs of the subset form a continuous n-doped layer spanning the LEDs of the subset, and (ii) the corresponding active regions of the LEDs of the subset form a continuous active region spanning the LEDs of the subset (see claim 1 and Fig. 10). He does not explicitly teach flipping the n-type configuration for the p-type configuration and vice versa, such that “for each of the LEDs of the substrate (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), the corresponding one or more n-contacts being arranged as one or more discrete, circumscribed n-contacts, so that (i) the corresponding p-doped semiconductor layers of the LEDs of the subset form a continuous p-doped layer spanning the LEDs of the subset, and (ii) the corresponding active regions of the LEDs of the subset form a continuous active region spanning the LEDs of the subset.” PNG media_image2.png 364 872 media_image2.png Greyscale In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1 and Fig. 2-provided above, Anderson teaches an LED device 100/200 respectively, wherein the doping profiles of the n-doped layer, p-doped layer, n-contacts and p-contacts- can be alternatively switches to provide a reverse biased LED in place of a forward biased LED. In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the forward bias configuration of Tao with the reverse bias configuration of Anderson, to add greater resistance to the device (para [0031]). Thus, teaching the claimed limitation one or more n-contacts 240 being arranged as one or more discrete, circumscribed n-contacts (see Fig. 2), so that (i) the corresponding p-doped semiconductor layers 210 of the LED form a continuous p-doped layer spanning the LED (see Fig. 2), and (ii) the corresponding active regions 220 of the LED form a continuous active region spanning the LEDs of the subset (see Fig. 2) Regarding claim 20 , refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Tao teaches a light-emitting device 500 comprising an array of multiple semiconductor light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (annotated “LED” in Fig. 10), (a) each of the LEDs including (i) a corresponding n-doped semiconductor layer 102, (ii) a corresponding p-doped semiconductor layer 104, (iii) a corresponding active region 106 therebetween (see Fig. 10), (iv) one or more corresponding electrically conductive n-contacts 108 in electrical contact with the n-doped layer (see Fig. 10), and (v) one or more electrically conductive p-contacts 110 in electrical contact with the p-doped layer (see Fig. 10), (b) for at least a subset of two or more LEDs of the array (e.g. the three depicted in Fig. 10 above), the corresponding n-doped layers of the LEDs of the subset forming a continuous n-doped layer spanning the LEDs of the subset (see Fig. 10); (c) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more p-contacts being localized on the corresponding p-doped layer to only a central region of that LED (center of) and being electrically isolated from the p-contacts of adjacent LEDs of the subset (isolated via 802); and (d) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more n-contacts (i) being localized to only peripheral regions of the corresponding LEDs (defining the boundary between adjacent LEDs of the subset) (see Fig. 10), (ii) extending through the p-doped layers and the active regions, but not through the continuous n-doped layer, of adjacent LEDs of the subset to make contact with the continuous n-doped layer (see Fig. 10), and (iii) being electrically isolated (via 204) from those p-doped layers and active regions (see Fig. 10). He does not explicitly teach the n and p-doped layers and contacts can be switched such that “ (b) for at least a subset of two or more LEDs of the array, the corresponding p-doped layers of the LEDs of the subset forming a continuous p-doped layer spanning the LEDs of the subset; (c) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more n-contacts being localized on the corresponding n-doped layer to only a central region of that LED and being electrically isolated from the n-contacts of adjacent LEDs of the subset; and (d) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more p-contacts (i) being localized to only peripheral regions of the corresponding LEDs, (ii) extending through the n-doped layers and the active regions, but not through the continuous p-doped layer, of adjacent LEDs of the subset to make contact with the continuous p-doped layer, and (iii) being electrically isolated from those n-doped layers and active regions.” In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1 and Fig. 2-provided above, Anderson teaches an LED device 100/200 respectively, wherein the doping profiles of the n-doped layer, p-doped layer, n-contacts and p-contacts- can be alternatively switches to provide a reverse biased LED in place of a forward biased LED. In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the forward bias configuration of Tao with the reverse bias configuration of Anderson, to add greater resistance to the device (para [0031]). Thus, teaching the claimed limitation of (b) for at least a subset of two or more LEDs of the array, the corresponding p-doped layers of the LEDs of the subset forming a continuous p-doped layer spanning the LEDs of the subset; (c) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more n-contacts being localized on the corresponding n-doped layer to only a central region of that LED and being electrically isolated from the n-contacts of adjacent LEDs of the subset; and (d) for each of the LEDs of the subset, the corresponding one or more p-contacts (i) being localized to only peripheral regions of the corresponding LEDs, (ii) extending through the n-doped layers and the active regions, but not through the continuous p-doped layer, of adjacent LEDs of the subset to make contact with the continuous p-doped layer, and (iii) being electrically isolated from those n-doped layers and active regions (as noted in claim 1 above with all p material flipped for n-type material and vice versa) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 4. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 9 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 9 , for each of the LEDs of the subset (each of the LEDs depicted in Fig. 10), a corresponding transparent conductive layer directly on the p-doped layer and extending laterally from the one or more p-contacts between the p-doped layer and the electrically insulating layer, the transparent conductive layer extending over a circumscribed area of the LED and being separated from corresponding transparent conductive layers of adjacent LEDs of the subset. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Christina A Sylvia whose telephone number is (571)272-7474. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-4pm (M-F). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marlon Fletcher can be reached on 571-272-2063. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 9 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 10 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 11 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 12 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/526,966 Page 13 Art Unit: 2817