DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and are under examination
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 are indefinite in the recitation of amino acid substitutions M428L, N434S, L234A, L235A, and S131C. Since different Fc numbering systems have different amino acids, the scope of the specific amino acid positions cannot be established. It is noted that human IgG1 Fc has M428, N434, L234, L235 and S131, using EU numbering. However, other human IgGs differ in position L234 and S131. For example, human IgG4 has F234 and C131, using EU numbering. For the purposes of examination, the claims are being interpreted as referring to the EU numbering system for IgG1, and would encompass any human IgG Fc, such as an IgG4 Fc, wherein position 428 is L, 434 is S, 234 and 235 are A and 131 is C, using said EU numbering.
Claims 1 and 4 recite the limitation "the following human IgG Fc amino acid substitutions" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 is indefinite since it is not clear if the claim encompass variants of any of the recited AAV, i.e. a variant of AAV1, or whether the limitation of “variants thereof” applies only to AAVrh10
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the percentage of CCR5 receptors" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the period of time" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-14 are indefinite since they refer to the method of claim 1, however, claim 1 is directed to a product not a method. Furthermore, the claims recite the limitation "the period of time" and “the blood” or “the mesenteric lymph node” or “the spleen” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claims 15-20 recites the limitation "the period of time" and “the blood” “or “the mesenteric lymph node” or “the spleen” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by WO2021/262632, as evidenced by Vidarsson, 2014 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2021/262632, in view of Vidarsson, 2014.
WO2021/262632 teaches a humanized IgG4 antibody that binds CCR5 having a VH and VL in Fig1A and 1B, which has CDRs identical to SEQ ID NO: 9-13 of the instant application. WO2021/262632 teaches that the antibody is human IgG4 Fc with M428L/N434S terminal half-life extending mutations (using EU index numbering), and has F234A, L235A (see page 18-20 and 23, in particular). WO2021/262632 teaches a recombinant AAV vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding said antibody (i.e. a heterologous nucleic acid, See page 25, in particular). WO2021/262632 teaches a method of treating HIV comprising administering to a subject said recombinant AAV vector (see page 26, in particular). WO2021/262632 teaches administration of the AAV in amounts 5 x 1912 or 1 x1013 viral genomes per kg (see page 14 and 18, in particular). WO2021/262632 teaches that the AAV has a capsid and has a serotype that can be AAV1 ((see page 26, in particular).
Regarding the limitation of S131C, human IgG4 has S131C mutation as compared to IgG1, using EU numbering (see Vidarsson, Fig. 3, IgG1 has S at position 131, while IgG4 has C at position 131). Thus, the IgG4 antibody of WO2021/262632 inherently has S131C substition. Alternatively., it would be obvious that an antibody with human IgG4 would have S131C as taught by Vidarsson.
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that this would be an inherent or latent property of performing the method of WO2021/262632 which employs an antibody with increased half-life. Furthermore, it would also be obvious, since WO2021/262632 teaches that the antibody has an increased half-life, and that the antibody binds to CCR5 on CD4+ T cells. It would thus be recognized that this would result in extended or increased occupancy of CCR5, due to the increased and extended half-life of the antibody in vivo.
Regarding claims 9-10, WO2021/262632 teaches administration of the same AAV particles/antibody in the same doses, and it would inherently result in the claimed levels of CCR5 occupancy. Alternatively, WO2021/262632 teaches administration of the AAV in two or more doses over a period of years, (See page10, in particular). It would be obvious to optimize the administered multiple doses over periods of years with the extended half-life antibody of WO2021/262632 such that CCR5 is fully occupied during the treatment period, i.e. for at least 38 weeks.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/527,061, in view of WO2020223279 and WO2021/262632.
The ‘061 application claims a method of preventing HIV infection and a method of conferring long-term CCR5 occupancy in a subject comprising administering to the subject a CCR5 antibody having the same IgG Fc substitutions and the same CDRs as the antibody of the instant claims. The ‘061 application claims that the half-life of the antibody is extended, and that CCR5 receptors are fully occupied on CCR5+CD4+ T cells in the blood.
The ’061 application does not claim that the antibody is encoded in an AAV vector.
WO2020223279 teaches that antibodies can be administered as a nucleic acid encoded in an AAV vector to provide for longer lasting efficacy and more consistent levels of the antibody throughout the treatment period (See paragraph 6, in particular). Additionally, WO2021/262632 (see above) teaches administration of the same antibody claimed in the ‘061 publication, as a nucleic acid in an AAV vector for treating HIV.
Therefore, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to administer the antibody in the method of the ’061 application, as a nucleic acid encoded by AAV as taught by WO2020223279 and WO2021/262632 to achieve longer lasting efficacy and more consistent levels of the antibody throughout the treatment period. It would be obvious to use AAV1, IgG4 and to achieve the claimed levels of CCR5 occupancy based on the teachings of WO2021/262632 for the same reasons set forth above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claim is allowed.
Amy E. Juedes
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644