DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2, 5-9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0041915 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0077447 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Park (Fig. 8-11) discloses a flexible display device, comprising:
a substrate (100) including a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NDA), the display area (DA) having an optical area (See pixel area) and a main area and the non-display area (NDA) having a bending area (BA) and a non-bending area (“non-bending area” area outside of BA) (Fig. 10);
a first insulating film (110, 120) disposed on the substrate (100);
a wiring line (210, 220) disposed on the first insulating film (110, 120) of the non-bending area (non-bending area);
a second insulating film (131, 132) disposed on the wiring line (210, 220);
a connection line (230a) disposed on the second insulating film (131, 132) of the non-bending area and having a first contact area (contact area of 230a in contact with 210, 220) connected to the wiring line (210, 220);
a first planarization layer (141) disposed on the connection line (230a);
a link line (240) disposed on the first planarization layer (141) to extend to the bending area (BA) and having a second contact area (contact area of 240 in contact with CNT1) connected to the connection line (230a);
a second planarization layer (142) disposed on the link line (142) and including an open area (area open to 152) formed by removing a partial area to expose the second contact area of the link line (152); and
a third insulating film (150) disposed on the second planarization layer (182) and filled in the open area.
Park does not explicitly disclose and an open area and a third insulating film filled in the open area.
Kang (Fig. 6) discloses a second planarization layer (270) disposed on a link line (281) and including an open area (area open to 281) formed by removing a partial area to expose the second contact area of the link line (281); and a third insulating film (300b) disposed on the second planarization layer (270) and filled in the open area (area open to 281).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang such that to have an open area and a third insulating film filled in the open area to completely seal the display unit and thereby protect the display unit against the external moisture or oxygen [0138].
Further, limitation in line 2, “formed by removing a partial area to expose the second contact area of the link line” is considered to be product-by-process.
“Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding Claim 2, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
the first insulating film (131, 132) includes at least one of a multi buffer layer ((131, 132), an active buffer layer, and a gate insulating film, wherein
the multi buffer layer (131, 132), the active buffer layer, and the gate insulating film are different layers (131, 132).
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of Kang and Um discloses the flexible display device according to claim 3, wherein the GIP line is formed by a same metal material as a gate electrode (124) of a transistor in the display area on a same layer as a gate electrode (124) of a transistor in the display area. (120) [0065 Um]
Regarding Claim 6, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
the second insulating film (131) includes a first interlayer insulating film (131) and a second interlayer insulating film. (132).
Regarding Claim 7, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
the connection line (230a) is electrically connected to the second contact area of the link line (240) through at least one first contact hole, and is electrically connected to the wiring line (210) through at least one second contact hole. (See CNT1 and CNT2)
Regarding Claim 8, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1.
Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang as previously combined does not explicitly disclose that the connection line is formed by a same metal material as a source electrode and a drain electrode of a transistor in the display area on a same layer as a source electrode and a drain electrode of a transistor in the display area.
However, Kang discloses a connection line (SD) is formed by a same metal material as a source electrode and a drain electrode (S and D) of a transistor in the display area (TXT) on a same layer as a source electrode and a drain electrode (S and D) of a transistor in the display area (TFT) [0073]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang such that the connection line is formed by a same metal material as a source electrode and a drain electrode of a transistor in the display area on a same layer as a source electrode and a drain electrode of a transistor in the display area in order to improve flexural properties when forming connection line [0073]
Regarding Claim 9, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang as previously combined does not explicitly disclose the first planarization layer includes a polyimide (PI) based material.
However, Kang discloses a first planarization layer (250) includes a polyimide (PI) based material [0075].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang such that the first planarization layer includes a polyimide (PI) based material since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 11, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
the link line (240) is formed by a same metal material as a connection electrode (CM2) in the display area on a same layer as a connection electrode (CM2) in the display area. (DA) (Fig. 10)
Regarding Claim 12, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang does not explicitly disclose the second planarization layer includes a photo-acryl (PAC) based material.
However, Park discloses the second planarization layer includes a photo-acryl (PAC) based material. acryl-based polymer) [0061]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang such the second planarization layer includes a photo-acryl (PAC) based material since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0041915 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0077447 A1) and further in view Um et al (2020/0203653 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Park in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
the wiring line (210, 220) includes a gate-in-panel (GIP) line.
Park in view of Kang does not explicitly disclose that a gate-in-panel (GIP) line.
Um (Fig. 2) discloses a gate-in-panel (GIP) line (GIPa). (Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang and Um such that the wiring line includes a gate-in-panel (GIP) line in order to be supplied with the gate driving voltage through the gate link line of the gate link line [0050]
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Kang and Um discloses the flexible display device according to claim 3, wherein the GIP line includes a first part extending (210) to a driving integrated circuit (IC) (T2) to be applied with a signal, and a second part (220) extending to a pixel in the display area to transmit a signal. [0049-0054 UM]
Regarding Claim 10, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 4, wherein
the link line connects the first part of the GIP line connected to the driving IC to the second part of the GIP line connected to a pixel of the display area. (Fig. 1-3 Um)
Regarding Claim 13, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, wherein
Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang does not explicitly disclose that the third insulating film includes a bank
Um discloses having insulating film (172, 173)) includes a bank (118) [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang and Um such the third insulating film includes a bank in order to cover both ends of an electrode [0084]
Regarding Claim 14, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang and Um discloses the flexible display device according to claim 13, wherein the bank includes polyimide (PI) based material. [0085 Um]
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0041915 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0077447 A1) and further in view Choi et al. (US 2022/0181397 A1)
Regarding Claim 15, Park (Fig. 8-11) in view of Kang discloses the flexible display device according to claim 1, further comprising:
Park in view of Kang does not explicitly disclose an optical electronic device disposed below the substrate to overlap the optical area.
Choi (Fig. 5) discloses an optical electronic device (502) disposed below a substrate to overlap an optical area (See Fig. 5). [0087]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a flexible display device in Park in view of Kang and Choi such that an optical electronic device disposed below the substrate to overlap the optical area. in order to position imaging device behind the display panel. [0004, 0087]
Regarding Claim 16, Park in view of Kang and Choi discloses the flexible display device according to claim 15, wherein
the optical area includes a non-transmission area (are outside of transmission area) and a transmission area (“through-transmissive area”) [0004, Choi], the transmission area is formed by removing an opaque electrode (142A) including a cathode electrode, and the optical electronic device is located in the transmission area (502) (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Park in view of Kang and Choi discloses the flexible display device according to claim 15, wherein
a horizontal line which passes through the optical area avoids the transmission area in the optical area. (Fig. 5)
Regarding Claim 19, Park in view of Kang and Choi discloses the flexible display device according to claim 15, wherein a vertical line which passes through the optical area avoids the transmission area in the optical area. (Fig. 5)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891