Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (20070120104).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches a device comprising a PCM formed of a mixture comprising:
at least 0.90 parts by mole of a composition of three chemical elements (par. 22 teaches a GeSbTe alloy) comprising:
from 0.15 to 0.70 parts by mole of one or two chemical elements selected from Si, Ge, and Sn (par. 23-30 and Table 1 teaches Ge; looking up the molar masses of elements, e.g. Ge: 72.63 g/mol, Sb: 121.76 g/mol, Te: 127.60 g/mol, S: 32.0650 g/mol, the mass of each of these elements and calculating the total moles, the mole fractions calculated fall within the ranges specified in this limitation), and
from 0.15 to 0.70 parts by mole of S (par. 27 teaches Te can be replaced with S; given the calculations above, the mole fraction calculated fall within the range specified in this limitation),
wherein when one chemical element is selected from Si, Ge, and Sn (par. 22 teaches Ge can be used), from 0.05 to 0.45 parts by mole of one chemical element selected from N, Sb, and P (par. 23-30 and Table 1 teaches Sb; looking up the molar masses of elements, e.g. Ge: 72.63 g/mol, Sb: 121.76 g/mol, Te: 127.60 g/mol, S: 32.0650 g/mol, the mass of each of these elements and calculating the total moles, the mole fraction calculated fall within the range specified in this limitation),
wherein when present, each of the three chemical elements is present in an amount of at least 0.05 parts by mole, and at most 0.10 parts by mole of chemical elements different from the three chemical elements (par. 23-30 and Table 1 teaches Ge, Sb and S, as mentioned above; looking up the molar masses of elements, e.g. Ge: 72.63 g/mol, Sb: 121.76 g/mol, Te: 127.60 g/mol, S: 32.0650 g/mol, the mass of each of these elements and calculating the total moles, the mole fractions calculated fall within the ranges specified in this limitation).
Please note that ranges are expressed in this claim and it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing to utilize these materials in these mole ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn teaches a device according to claim 1, wherein two chemical elements are selected from Si, Ge, and Sn, and none of N, Sb and P is present in the mixture (please see rejection for claim 1 above; further, par. 27 and 29 teach the use of Sn).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn teaches a device according to claim 1, wherein the mixture contains at most 0.02 parts by mole of arsenic and selenium (par. 27 and 28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is objected to based o is dependency on claim 5.
Claims 7 and 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is objected to based o is dependency on claim 8.
Claims 10 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12 and 13 is objected to based o is dependency on claim 11.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818