DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the election filed 4 June 2026. Claims 1-15 are currently pending; claims 1-3, 11, and 14 have been withdrawn by Applicant.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Species I, claims 4-10, 12-13, and 15, in the reply filed on 4 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden on Examiner to consider all claims in the single application. This is not found persuasive because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification, and the inventions require a different field of search at least including searching different classes/subclasses and employing different keyword search strategies, thus presenting undue burden if restriction were not required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “is existed” should be replaced with --exists-- for . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 8, 9, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0318815 A1 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding independent claim 4, Chen (Fig. 5) discloses a display device, comprising:
an array substrate 200 (¶ 0031);
a plurality of light emitting elements 310 (¶ 0031), disposed on the array substrate and electrically connected (through pads 220, ¶ 0033) to the array substrate 200, wherein each of the light emitting elements 310 has a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom of layer 312) opposite to the first surface, the second surfaces face the array substrate (Fig. 5); and
a plurality of light shielding units (portions of 320 between 310; ¶ 0031 - disclosing materials that shield light, in common with those disclosed in the instant specification), disposed on the array substrate 200 and arranged alternately with the light emitting elements 310 (Fig. 2), wherein the light shielding units expose the first surfaces (top of 310), each of the light shielding units has a top (top of 320) and a bottom (bottom of 320) opposite to the top, the bottoms face the array substrate 200, and a cavity (between the bottom of 320 and top of 200) is existed between the bottoms and the array substrate (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Chen (Fig. 5) discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein each of the light emitting elements 310 further has a side surface (side of 312) connecting the first surface (top of 310) and the second surface (bottom of layer 312), wherein the light shielding units 320 are in contact with the side surfaces and extend to a portion of the second surfaces (Fig. 5 - 320 extends on side surface of 312 and over bottom surface of 312).
Regarding claim 9, Chen (Fig. 5) discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the bottom (bottom of 320) comprises a curved surface (Fig. 5).
Regarding independent claim 12, Chen (Fig. 5) discloses a display device, comprising:
an array substrate 200 (¶ 0031);
a plurality of light emitting elements 310 (¶ 0031), disposed on the array substrate and electrically connected (through pads 220, ¶ 0033) to the array substrate 200, wherein each of the light emitting elements 310 has a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom of layer 312) opposite to the first surface, the second surfaces face the array substrate (Fig. 2); and
a plurality of light shielding units (portions of 320 between 310; ¶ 0031 - disclosing materials that shield light, in common with those disclosed in the instant specification), disposed on the array substrate 200 and arranged alternately with the light emitting elements 310 (Fig. 2), wherein the light shielding units expose the first surfaces (top of 310), each of the light shielding units has a top (top of 320) and a bottom (bottom of 320) opposite to the top, the bottoms face the array substrate 200, and the bottom comprises a curved surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Chen (Fig. 5) discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein each of the light emitting elements 310 further has a side surface (side of 312) connecting the first surface (top of 310) and the second surface (bottom of layer 312), wherein the light shielding units 320 are in contact with the side surfaces and extend to a portion of the second surfaces (Fig. 5 - 320 extends on side surface of 312 and over bottom surface of 312).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 2014/0346477 A1 to Chao et al. (hereinafter “Chao”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen (Fig. 2) discloses the display device of claim 4, further comprising one or multiple spacers disposed on the array substrate, wherein a thickness of each of the one or multiple spacers is greater than a thickness of each of the light shielding units, and each of the one or multiple spacers has a bottom surface and a top surface opposite to the bottom surface, wherein the top surface is larger than the bottom surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Chao (Fig. 4) discloses a display device including one or multiple spacers 24 (¶ 0036) disposed on the array substrate (in contact with dotted line substrate below in Fig. 4), and each of the one or multiple spacers 24 has a bottom surface (bottom) and a top surface (top, surface closest to 22) opposite to the bottom surface, wherein the top surface is larger than the bottom surface (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spacers as taught by Chao in the device of Chen, wherein a thickness of each of the one or multiple spacers is greater than a thickness of each of the light shielding units, for the purpose of providing support when substrates are brought together during the manufacturing process (see, Chen, Figs. 3A-3C, ¶¶ 0039-40) and ensuring a predetermined distance therebetween (Chao, ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 6, Chen (Fig. 2) discloses the display device of claim 4, however fails to expressly disclose: further comprising one or multiple spacers disposed on the array substrate, wherein each of the one or multiple spacers has a bottom surface and a top surface opposite to the bottom surface, and the bottom surface is larger than the top surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Chao (Fig. 4) discloses a display device including one or multiple spacers 24 (¶ 0036) disposed on the array substrate (in contact with dotted line substrate below in Fig. 4), and each of the one or multiple spacers 24 has a bottom surface (bottom) and a top surface (top, surface closest to 22) opposite to the bottom surface (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spacers as taught by Chao in the device of Chen for the purpose of providing support when substrates are brought together during the manufacturing process (see, Chen, Figs. 3A-3C, ¶¶ 0039-40) and ensuring a predetermined distance therebetween (Chao, ¶ 0036). Chao fails to expressly disclose: the top surface is larger than the bottom surface, however, where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, the particular arrangement is deemed to have been a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Here, the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to the claimed shape requiring the top surface is larger than the bottom surface (and claim 5 recites a different, reversed shape) thus for this reason and in view of the disclosure of Chao, the recited particular shape is deemed to have been a design consideration within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Chao disclose the display device of claim 6, Chao (Figs. 1, 4) furth*er discloses having a display area AR (¶ 0020; Fig. 1)and a peripheral area NR (¶ 0020; Fig. 1) around the display area (Fig. 1), wherein the spacers 24 comprise one or multiple first spacers (Fig. 4 - 24/23, right side) disposed in the peripheral area and one or multiple second spacers 24 (disposed directly on 21W) disposed in the display area, and a thickness of each of the one or multiple first spacers 24/23 (thickness as measured from top to bottom, consistent with the instant specification) is greater than a thickness of each of the one or multiple second spacers 24 (Fig. 4).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 9 and 12 above, and further in view of US 2020/0185453 A1 to Cho et al. (hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Chen discloses the display device of claims 9 and 12, however fails to expressly disclose: wherein the curved surface is a convex surface, and the convex surface protrudes from the light emitting elements. In the same field of endeavor, Cho (Fig. 5) discloses a display device including a light shielding unit 100’ (¶ 0124) with a convex surface 100’e (¶ 0126) which protrudes from light emitting elements 51/52 (¶ 0125; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the light shielding unit shape as taught by Cho in the device of Chen for the purpose of absorbing external light and improving a contrast ratio of the display device (Cho, ¶ 0130).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2023/0268472 A1 to Yu disclosing a display device including spacers.
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
24 June 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813