DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second structure body of the UAV not inside of the first structure body of the UAV (of claims 1 and 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1: “ariel” should be amended to recite “aerial”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 1 and 16 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recite the negative limitation: “wherein the second structure body of the UAV is not inside of the first structure body of the UAV” which constitutes impermissible new matter.
The scope of “not inside” encompasses the second structure body completely outside of the first structure body. However, the scope further encompasses a portion of the second structure body disposed outside of the first structure body, which the original disclosure provides no support (e.g., the specification is silent in regard to how the second structure body is disposed not inside of the first structure body considering the second structure body is disposed in the heat dissipation channel, which is disposed within the first structure body and an ordinary person in the art would not consider Applicant had possession of the second structure body disposed outside the first structure body).
Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original
disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be
explicitly excluded in the claims. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196
(CCPA 1977) ("[the] specification, having described the whole, necessarily described the part
remaining."). See also Ex parte Grasselli, 231 USPQ 393 (Bd. App. 1983), aff ’d mem., 738
F.2d 453 (Fed. Cir. 1984). The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. Claims 1 and 16 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recite the limitation: “wherein the second structure body of the UAV is not inside of the first structure body of the UAV” which is not described in the specification nor depicted in the drawings. If the heat dissipation channel is provided in the first structure body, and the second structure body is arranged in the heat dissipation channel, how can the second structure body not be inside of the first structure body? If the heat dissipation channel is provided in the first structure body and the second structure body divides the heat dissipation channel into at least two channel branches, how can the second structure body not be inside of the first structure body? If the second structure body is not inside the first structure body, how can it divide the heat dissipation channel into two branches?
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: Claims 1 and 16 recite the limitation “wherein the second structure body of the UAV is not inside of the first structure body of the UAV” and therefore it is unclear how the second structure body is disposed “not inside” of the first structure body while arranged in, and dividing the heat dissipation channel. A structural relationship between the second structure body and the heat dissipation channel is essential to understanding how the second structure body is “not inside” of the first structure body yet divides the heat dissipation channel into two channel branches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haastert (US 4952925 A) in view of Ku (US 20190033932 A1), Saido (US 10624234 B2) and Montesano (US 5459923 A).
As to Claim 1 (as best understood), Haastert discloses:
A heat dissipation structure (cubic housing with walls 24, 26, 28 and 30; see Fig. 1), comprising:
a first structure body (cubic housing), wherein a heat dissipation channel is provided in the first structure body for a cooling medium to flow through (air flows through internal space of cubic housing); and
a second structure body (display unit 50/control unit 52), wherein the second structure body is arranged in the heat dissipation channel (50/52 is within internal space of cubic housing), and configured to divide the heat dissipation channel to form at least two channel branches (col. 4, Lines 53-55 “This air flows through the canal-like spaces above and below the flat screen (50)”; see Fig. 1, air travels on either side of 50/52).
Haastert does not disclose:
A heat dissipation structure for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV):
a first structure body of the UAV,
at least one heat dissipation component, the heat dissipation component being arranged on a surface of the first structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel;
a second structure body of the UAV,
wherein the second structure body of the UAV is not inside of the first structure body of the UAV (particular limitation not considered by Examiner, see 112 rejections above),
a sealed cavity is configured to accommodate a heating device is provided in the second structure body of the UAV.
However, Ku discloses:
A heat dissipation structure for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (UAV 100; see Fig. 1A):
a first structure body of the UAV 100,
a second structure body of the UAV 100 (UAV 100 comprises housing 106 containing thermal management system 112; Par. 0034 “To remove or dissipate heat generated by one or more of the electrical component(s) positioned in the housing 106, the UAV 100 of the illustrated example employs a thermal management system 112 (e.g., a cooling system, a forced air convection system, etc.). The thermal management system 112 of the illustrated example is formed (e.g., integrated) with the housing 106 of the UAV 100”);
in order to provide cooling to components within a UAV 100 (Par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert as further suggested by Ku e.g., providing:
A heat dissipation structure for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV):
a first structure body of the UAV,
a second structure body of the UAV;
in order to provide cooling to components within a UAV.
Further, Saido discloses:
at least one heat dissipation component (radiator 58a; see Fig. 4), the heat dissipation component 58a being arranged on a surface of the first structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel (58a disposed on substrate 48 and at least indirectly arranged on bottom plate 22b; corresponds to 30 of Haastert; col. 7, Lines 9-11 “The cooling structure (10) further includes the radiator (58a, 58c) disposed inside the first space (39a) so as to contact the air flow”);
in order to release the heat of the components into the first space so the electronic components can be efficiently cooled (col. 7, Lines 12-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku as further suggested by Saido e.g., providing:
at least one heat dissipation component, the heat dissipation component being arranged on a surface of the first structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel;
in order to release the heat of the components into the first space so the electronic components can be efficiently cooled.
Further, Montesano discloses:
a sealed cavity (internal space of 10, 22; see Fig. 5; col. 3, Lines 59-61 “The cover 22 may also be attached to the base plate 10 using any other appropriate method which allows for a hermetic seal therebetween”) is configured to accommodate a heating device (component 20) is provided in the second structure body (10/22 containing component 20 corresponds to 50/52 of Haastert, as in combination, 10/22 surrounds components of Haastert);
in order to provide a hermetically sealed enclosure for the electrical components to protect the components from environmental conditions such as moisture and dust (col. 1, Lines 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku and Saido as further suggested by Montesano e.g., providing:
a sealed cavity is configured to accommodate a heating device is provided in the second structure body of the UAV;
in order to provide a hermetically sealed enclosure for the electrical components/heating elements to protect the components/heating elements from environmental conditions such as moisture and dust.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation channel (internal space of Haastert) has at least one medium inlet (apertures 56 of Haastert) and at least one medium outlet (exhaust ports 66 of Haastert), wherein
the at least two channel branches are connected to a same medium inlet 56 (top and bottom of 50/52 are connected to inlets 56);
the at least two channel branches are connected to a same medium outlet (top and bottom of 50/52 are connected to exhausts 66; Haastert).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation channel (internal space of Haastert) has at least two medium inlets (apertures 56, 60, 76) and at least two medium outlets (exhaust ports 66),
the first medium inlets (56 and 60; see Fig. 1 of Haastert) and the first medium outlets (highlighted first outlets in attached Fig. below) corresponds to a first channel branch (top side of 50/52);
the second medium inlets (56 and 76; see Fig. 1 of Haastert) and the second medium outlets (highlighted second outlets in attached Fig. below) corresponds to a second channel branch (bottom side of 50/52; Haastert).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation component (58a of Saido) is configured to transfer heat from the heating device 48 to the heat dissipation channel (airflow in first space 39a; col. 7, Lines 12-15 “heat generated from each of the electronic components (42a, 42b) is released in the first space (39a) via the radiator (58a, 58b), so that the electronic components (42a, 42b) can be efficiently cooled”; Saido).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano does not explicitly disclose:
However, Saido further discloses:
further comprising:
at least one heat dissipation component (radiator 58c; see Fig. 4), the heat dissipation component 58c being arranged on a surface of the second structure body (partition 38; corresponds to combination of 50/52 of Haastert and housing of Montesano; col. 5, Lines 19-21 “a radiator 58c that is penetrated through the partition 38 and exposed to the first space 39a”) facing toward the heat dissipation channel 39a, wherein
the heat dissipation component 58c is configured to transfer heat from the heating device 42b to the heat dissipation channel 39a (col. 6, Lines 13-14 “the heat generated by the control board 42b is released to the first space 39a via the radiator 58c”);
in order to contact the air flow and radiate heat from the electronic component (col. 7, Lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Saido e.g., providing:
further comprising:
at least one heat dissipation component, the heat dissipation component being arranged on a surface of the second structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel, wherein
the heat dissipation component is configured to transfer heat from the heating device to the heat dissipation channel;
in order to contact the air flow and radiate heat from the electronic component/heating device.
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation component (58a of Saido) is a heat sink (radiator 58a is a heat sink, see Fig. 2 of Saido).
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
further comprising:
a medium driving component (fan 68 of Haastert), fixed on the first structure body (cubic housing; fan is at least indirectly fixed on cubic housing as it is situated within housing) wherein
the medium driving component 68 is configured to apply a driving force to increase a flow speed of the cooling medium (col. 5, Lines 1-2 “Directly in front of them is the fan (68) of a blower which generates the air currents described”; Haastert).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the two channel branches is cascaded, and arranged along a height direction y (channel above 50/52 and below 50/52 of Haastert are arranged in a stacked/cascaded direction).
As to Claim 16 (as best understood), Haastert discloses:
a heat dissipation structure (cubic housing with walls 24, 26, 28 and 30; see Fig. 1); and
a first structure body (cubic housing) and a second structure body (display unit 50/control unit 52) of the heat dissipation structure; wherein
the heat dissipation structure comprises (cubic housing with walls 24, 26, 28 and 30; see Fig. 1):
the first structure body (cubic housing), wherein a heat dissipation channel is provided in the first structure body for a cooling medium to flow through (air flows through internal space of cubic housing); and
the second structure body (display unit 50/control unit 52), wherein the second structure body is arranged in the heat dissipation channel (50/52 is within internal space of cubic housing), and configured to divide the heat dissipation channel to form at least two channel branches (col. 4, Lines 53-55 “This air flows through the canal-like spaces above and below the flat screen (50)”; see Fig. 1, air travels on either side of 50/52).
Haastert does not disclose:
An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising:
a body of the UAV; and
a first structure body of the UAV and a second structure body of the UAV of the heat dissipation structure comprise internal members of the body;
at least one heat dissipation component, the heat dissipation component being arranged on a surface of the first structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel;
wherein the second structure body of the UAV is not inside of the first structure body of the UAV (particular limitation not considered by Examiner, see 112 rejections above),
a sealed cavity is configured to accommodate a heating device is provided in the second structure body of the UAV.
However, Ku discloses:
An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (UAV 100; see Fig. 1A), comprising:
a body (housing 106) of the UAV 100; and
a first structure body of the UAV 100 and a second structure body of the UAV 100 of the heat dissipation structure (thermal management system 112) comprise internal members of the body 106 (UAV 100 comprises structural components within housing 106 containing thermal management system 112; Par. 0034 “To remove or dissipate heat generated by one or more of the electrical component(s) positioned in the housing 106, the UAV 100 of the illustrated example employs a thermal management system 112 (e.g., a cooling system, a forced air convection system, etc.). The thermal management system 112 of the illustrated example is formed (e.g., integrated) with the housing 106 of the UAV 100”);
in order to provide cooling to components within a UAV 100 (Par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert as further suggested by Ku e.g., providing:
An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising:
a body of the UAV; and
a first structure body of the UAV and a second structure body of the UAV of the heat dissipation structure comprise internal members of the body;
in order to provide cooling to components within a UAV.
Further, Saido discloses:
at least one heat dissipation component (radiator 58a; see Fig. 4), the heat dissipation component 58a being arranged on a surface of the first structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel (58a disposed on substrate 48 and at least indirectly arranged on bottom plate 22b; corresponds to 30 of Haastert; col. 7, Lines 9-11 “The cooling structure (10) further includes the radiator (58a, 58c) disposed inside the first space (39a) so as to contact the air flow”);
in order to release the heat of the components into the first space so the electronic components can be efficiently cooled (col. 7, Lines 12-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku as further suggested by Saido e.g., providing:
at least one heat dissipation component, the heat dissipation component being arranged on a surface of the first structure body facing toward the heat dissipation channel;
in order to release the heat of the components into the first space so the electronic components can be efficiently cooled.
Further, Montesano discloses:
a sealed cavity (internal space of 10, 22; see Fig. 5; col. 3, Lines 59-61 “The cover 22 may also be attached to the base plate 10 using any other appropriate method which allows for a hermetic seal therebetween”) is configured to accommodate a heating device (component 20) is provided in the second structure body (10/22 containing component 20 corresponds to 50/52 of Haastert, as in combination, 10/22 surrounds components of Haastert);
in order to provide a hermetically sealed enclosure for the electrical components to protect the components from environmental conditions such as moisture and dust (col. 1, Lines 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku and Saido as further suggested by Montesano e.g., providing:
a sealed cavity is configured to accommodate a heating device is provided in the second structure body of the UAV;
in order to provide a hermetically sealed enclosure for the electrical components/heating elements to protect the components/heating elements from environmental conditions such as moisture and dust.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation channel (internal space of Haastert) has at least one medium inlet (apertures 56 of Haastert) and at least one medium outlet (exhaust ports 66 of Haastert);
the at least two channel branches are connected to a same medium inlet 56 (top and bottom of 50/52 are connected to inlets 56);
the at least two channel branches are connected to a same medium outlet (top and bottom of 50/52 are connected to exhausts 66; Haastert).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation channel (internal space of Haastert) has at least two medium inlets (apertures 56, 60, 76) and at least two medium outlets (exhaust ports 66),
the first medium inlets (56 and 60; see Fig. 1 of Haastert) and the first medium outlets (highlighted first outlets in attached Fig. below) corresponds to a first channel branch (top side of 50/52);
the second medium inlets (56 and 76; see Fig. 1 of Haastert) and the second medium outlets (highlighted second outlets in attached Fig. below) corresponds to a second channel branch (bottom side of 50/52; Haastert).
As to Claim 19, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the two channel branches is cascaded, and arranged along a height direction y (channel above 50/52 and below 50/52 of Haastert are arranged in a stacked/cascaded direction).
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haastert (US 4952925 A) in view of Ku (US 20190033932 A1), Saido (US 10624234 B2) and Montesano (US 5459923 A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chung (US 20240098940 A1).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano does not disclose:
wherein the heat dissipation component is a thermoelectric cooler.
However, Chung discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation component 330 is a thermoelectric cooler (Par. 0100 “the thermal module 330 may be a type of a heat spreading member (e.g., a heat pipe, a vapor chamber, a graphite sheet, a Cu plate, a Cu sheet, or any combination thereof) and may rapidly spread heat generated by a component to the outside of the component. Alternatively, the thermal module 330 may be a fan that directly reduces heat of the component or a water cooling member including a thermoelectric element”);
in order to rapidly spread heat generated by the component to outside of the component (Par. 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Chung e.g., providing:
wherein the heat dissipation component is a thermoelectric cooler.
in order to rapidly spread heat generated by the component to outside of the component/heating device.
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano does not disclose:
wherein the heat dissipation component is a graphite sheet.
However, Chung discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation component 330 is a graphite sheet (Par. 0100 “the thermal module 330 may be a type of a heat spreading member (e.g., a heat pipe, a vapor chamber, a graphite sheet, a Cu plate, a Cu sheet, or any combination thereof) and may rapidly spread heat generated by a component to the outside of the component. Alternatively, the thermal module 330 may be a fan that directly reduces heat of the component or a water cooling member including a thermoelectric element”);
in order to rapidly spread heat generated by the component to outside of the component (Par. 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Chung e.g., providing:
wherein the heat dissipation component is a graphite sheet;
in order to rapidly spread heat generated by the component to outside of the component/heating device.
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano does not disclose:
wherein the heat dissipation component is a vapor chamber.
However, Chung discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation component 330 is a vapor chamber (Par. 0100 “the thermal module 330 may be a type of a heat spreading member (e.g., a heat pipe, a vapor chamber, a graphite sheet, a Cu plate, a Cu sheet, or any combination thereof) and may rapidly spread heat generated by a component to the outside of the component. Alternatively, the thermal module 330 may be a fan that directly reduces heat of the component or a water cooling member including a thermoelectric element”);
in order to rapidly spread heat generated by the component to outside of the component (Par. 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Chung e.g., providing:
wherein the heat dissipation component is a vapor chamber;
in order to rapidly spread heat generated by the component to outside of the component/heating device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haastert (US 4952925 A) in view of Ku (US 20190033932 A1), Saido (US 10624234 B2) and Montesano (US 5459923 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiley (US 6704199 B2).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano does not disclose:
further comprising:
a medium driving component, fixed on the second structure body, wherein
the medium driving component is configured to apply a driving force to increase a flow speed of the cooling medium.
However, Wiley discloses:
further comprising:
a medium driving component (fan 22; see Figs. 1-2), fixed on the second structure body (within chassis 52, on circuit board; see Figs. 3-4; corresponds to components inside cubic housing of Haastert), wherein
the medium driving component 22 is configured to apply a driving force to increase a flow speed of the cooling medium (col. 3, Lines 60-61 “The cooling element 20 includes a fan 22 for directing airflow”);
in order to redirect air toward or away from a selected component while maintaining, establishing or reinforcing a flow of air toward other components or along a path to the housing exhaust (col. 2, Lines 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Wiley e.g., providing:
further comprising:
a medium driving component, fixed on the second structure body, wherein
the medium driving component is configured to apply a driving force to increase a flow speed of the cooling medium;
in order to redirect air toward or away from a selected component while maintaining, establishing or reinforcing a flow of air toward other components or along a path to the housing exhaust.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haastert (US 4952925 A) in view of Ku (US 20190033932 A1), Saido (US 10624234 B2) and Montesano (US 5459923 A) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yin (US 11073877 B2).
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano discloses:
wherein the cooling medium is air (air flows through housing of Haastert); and the medium driving component is a fan (fan 68), wherein
the fan 68 is configured to drive the air to accelerate and flow through the heat dissipation channel (col. 5, Lines 1-2 “fan (68) of a blower which generates the air currents described”).
Haastert, Ku, Saido and Montesano do not disclose:
the fan is arranged at a medium inlet.
However, Yin discloses:
the fan (first fan module 61; see Figs. 2 and 3A) is arranged at a medium inlet a (col. 10, Lines 37-40 “The first fan module 61 and the second fan module 62 are disposed on an air inlet a and an air outlet b of the heat dissipation channel in a one-to-one correspondence”);
in order to blow cold air from the outside into the heat dissipation channel and improve air flowing speed and heat dissipation efficiency of the air-cooling radiator (col. 10, Lines 45-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Yin e.g., providing:
the fan is arranged at a medium inlet;
in order to blow cold air from the outside into the heat dissipation channel and improve air flowing speed and heat dissipation efficiency of the air-cooling radiator.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haastert (US 4952925 A) in view of Ku (US 20190033932 A1), Saido (US 10624234 B2) and Montesano (US 5459923 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ide (US 20210259131 A1).
As to Claim 14, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano does not disclose:
further comprising:
a heat-conducting layer, arranged between the heating device and the second structure body, wherein
the heat-conducting layer is made of a thermal interface material, and configured to fill a gap between the heating device and the second structure body.
However, Ide discloses:
further comprising:
a heat-conducting layer (TIM 16a; see Fig. 1), arranged between the heating device 12a and the second structure body 15, wherein
the heat-conducting layer is made of a thermal interface material (16a is TIM), and configured to fill a gap between the heating device 12a and the second structure body 15 (Par. 0034 “a space between the 5G modem 12a and the metal shield 15 is filled with the TIM 16a such that no gap is generated therebetween”);
in order to fill a gap between modem 12a and metal shield 15 to reduce the thermal resistance of the heat path (Par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido and Montesano as further suggested by Ide e.g., providing:
further comprising:
a heat-conducting layer, arranged between the heating device and the second structure body, wherein
the heat-conducting layer is made of a thermal interface material, and configured to fill a gap between the heating device and the second structure body;
in order to fill a gap between the heating device and second structure body to reduce the thermal resistance of the heat path.
As to Claim 15, the obvious modification of Haastert in view of Ku, Saido, Montesano and Ide discloses:
wherein the second structure body (metal shield 15 of Ide) is made of a heat conductive metal material (Par. 0019 “Stainless steel is typically used for the metal shield 15”), enabling heat located on a side of a second wall surface to be transferred to a first wall surface (heat transferred through first heat path; Par. 0018 “the TIM 16a, the metal shield 15, and the TIM 16b are provided between the electronic component 12a (certain electronic component) and the heat radiation plate 14, and these members constitute a heat path (first heat path) from the electronic component 12a to the heat radiation plate 14”), wherein
the first wall surface is a surface facing toward the heat dissipation channel (outer side of shield 15; corresponds to side facing channels of Haastert); and the second wall surface is a surface facing toward the sealed cavity (inner side of 15 facing component 12a; Ide).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative suggests that the cited prior art, individually or combines, does not recite the amended feature of amended claim 1 (Remarks, Pg. 8).
In response, Examiner points to the rejection above as there are no clear arguments directed toward the combination of references, rather excerpts from the abstracts of Haastert, Montesano and Saido.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835