DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/4/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
The specification refers to numeral 116 as a well. In every figure except figures 14, 15, and 17 numeral 116 points to a well. However, in these figures, 116 is pointing to what appears to be the bottom most semiconductor layer of the metal gate stack.
Figure 21: paragraph 43 of the specification says “a hard mask layer 147 is conformally formed on the HK dielectric layer 180 and the gate electrode layer 182.” However, in the figure, it looks like the hard mask 147 has consumed or otherwise taken the place of gate electrode layer 182. Please demarcate the gate electrode layer 182 from the hard mask layer 147.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2021/03343600).
As to claim 11, Chen teaches a semiconductor device structure (fig. 29C), comprising:
a first dielectric wall (280B) disposed over a substrate (206, [0018] and [0031]);
a first transistor (202A) comprising a first plurality of semiconductor layers (220’) vertically stacked over the substrate (206) and disposed at a first side (left) of the first dielectric wall (280B), wherein a first side (right) of each of the first plurality of semiconductor layers (220’) is connected to the first dielectric wall (280B, [0018] and [0047]);
a first gate electrode layer (384A) disposed between two neighboring semiconductor layers of the first plurality of semiconductor layers ([0053]); and
a second dielectric wall (280A) disposed adjacent to and separated from a second side of each of the first plurality of semiconductor layers ([0053]).
As to claims 13-17, the examiner claims different heights of the different dielectric walls. However, any of the wall 280B and 280A can be considered the first and/or second dielectric walls as claimed and still meet the remaining claim limitations. Furthermore, as it pertains to claim 16, the first gate electrode layer (384) is in further contact with the top surface of the second dielectric wall (280B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are allowed and claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims.
As to claim 1, Chu (US 2022/0320089) teaches a semiconductor device structure (fig. 26A), comprising:
a dielectric wall (218) disposed over a substrate (202);
first and second metal gate structure portions (200A and 200B) respectively disposed at either side of the dielectric wall (218), wherein each first and second metal gate structure portion (200A and 200B) comprises:
a plurality of semiconductor layers (256A/256B) vertically stacked and separated from each other;
a high-K dielectric layer (262) disposed to surround at least three surfaces of each of the semiconductor layers (256A/256B); and
a gate electrode layer (272) disposed between two neighboring semiconductor layers (256A/B); and
a metal layer (282) disposed on two opposing sidewalls of the dielectric wall 218).
Chu only shows a gate electrode layer (272) on the first metal gate structure portion (200a), and not on the second metal gate structure (200B). Layer 272 of Chu is an n-type work function layer for the NMOS device 200A ([0078]). Metal layer 282 functions as the p-type work function layer, thus there would be no motivation to add a gate electrode layer to the second metal gate structure portion as it already has a work function layer.
As to claim 12, Chen teaches the liner (272, [0031]) and the high-k dielectric (382, [0050]) layers but fails to teach the cap layer surrounding the plurality of semiconductor layers and in contact with the liner, wherein each of the first plurality of semiconductor layers is connected to the first dielectric wall through the cap layer and the liner; and a high-K dielectric in contact with the first dielectric wall, the liner, and the cap layer.
As to claim 18, Chu teaches method for forming a semiconductor device structure, comprising: forming a first fin structure, a second fin structure, and a third fin structure from a substrate (200A and 200B, [0021], although only two are shown, many more are anticipated), wherein the second fin structure is disposed between the first and third fin structures, and
each first, second, and third fin structure comprises a plurality of first semiconductor layers (208) and a plurality of second semiconductor layers (206) alternatingly stacked (fig. 4);
forming a first dielectric wall (218) between the second and third fin structures (fig. 6);
removing the second semiconductor layers (206) from the first, second, and third fin structures (200A and 200B and any others) so that the first semiconductor layers (208) of at least first and second fin structures extend outwardly from a first and a second side of the first dielectric wall, respectively (fig. 15A);
filling a space between two neighboring first semiconductor layers of the first, second, and third fin structures with a gate electrode layer (264, fig. 17A);
forming a second dielectric wall between the first and second fin structures (obvious there would be more walls between more fins).
Chu fails to teach recessing the second dielectric wall so that a top surface of the second dielectric wall is at an elevation below a top surface of the first dielectric wall; and forming a metal layer to cover the first and second dielectric walls as well as the first semiconductor layers of the first, second, and third fin structures.
The remaining claims are allowed at least because they depend from allowable independent claims.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
2/18/26