DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/12/2025. Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. Claims 9 and 19 are canceled. This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1 and 11 are corresponding to one of four statutory categories including method, system, and method respectively under step 1. The claims 1 and 11 similarly recite “a job builder system, comprising: a management system comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one computer storage device; and a template building computer program code executable by the at least one processor and configured to generate a set of user interactive computer screens on a display that enable a user to define a trigger and one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate, at a first system, a reusable job template comprising the defined trigger, the defined one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger, and for each behavior, a defined location field with an unspecified location, and store the job template as a downloadable and customizable job template for use by one or more autonomous system and a transfer system comprising at least one processor configured to export the job template from the first system and import the job template to a second system, wherein the second system comprises at least one processor configured to define specific locations for each location field in the reusable job template at the second system and configured to generate a job for execution by one or more autonomous systems at the second system, wherein the one or more autonomous systems of the second system comprises a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMRs)”.
The limitation of the claims 1 and 11 of “define a trigger;” as a drafted is a mental process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind such as “defining”. For example, a human may define a trigger (i.e. condition or event, which causes a certain behavior or action for a robot) with a pen and paper or in a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong I.
The limitation of the claims 1 and 11 of “define one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger;” as a drafted is a mental process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind such as “defining”. For example, a human may define one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger with a pen and paper or in a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong I.
The limitation of the claims 1 and 11 of “wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate, at a first system, a reusable job template comprising the defined trigger, the defined one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger, and for each behavior, a defined location field with an unspecified location” as a drafted is a mental process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind such as “generating template”. For example, a human may generate a reusable job template comprising the defined trigger, the defined one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger, and for each behavior, a defined location field with an unspecified location with a pen and paper or in a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong I.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 1 and 11 recite additional elements such as “at least one processor coupled to at least one computer storage device; and a template building computer program code executable by the at least one processor and configured to generate a set of user interactive computer screens on a display that enable a user to generate and store a reusable job template, including rendering mechanisms that enable the user to:”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element
amounts to field of use under MPEP § 2106.05(h): Field of Use and Technological Environment, which
does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process. Accordingly, this additional
element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any
meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 1 and 11 recite additional elements such as “store the job template as a downloadable and customizable job template for use by one or more autonomous systems”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to mere data storing under MPEP § 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 1 and 11 recite additional elements such as “wherein the one or more autonomous systems comprises a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMRs)”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element
amounts to field of use under MPEP § 2106.05(h): Field of Use and Technological Environment, which
does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process. Accordingly, this additional
element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any
meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 1 and 11 recite additional elements such as “a transfer system comprising at least one processor configured to export the job template from the first system and import the job template to a second system, wherein the second system comprises at least one processor configured to define specific locations for each location field in the reusable job template at the second system and configured to generate a job for execution by one or more autonomous systems at the second system”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to mere data outputting under MPEP § 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 2 and 12 recite additional elements such as “at least one database of behaviors that are user selectable”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element
amounts to field of use under MPEP § 2106.05(h): Field of Use and Technological Environment, which
does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process. Accordingly, this additional
element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any
meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 3 and 13 recite additional elements such as “export the job template to a job template storage system configured to store a plurality of job templates.”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to mere data storing under MPEP § 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 4 and 14 recite additional elements such as “the job template storage system is accessible by plurality of remote systems for export and/or import of job templates”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to mere data gathering/storing under MPEP § 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 5 and 15 recite additional elements such as “the job template storage system is configured to enable a first system to upload a job template for use by a first set of autonomous systems in a first environment and a second system to download the job template for use by a second set of autonomous system in a second environment”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to apply it under MPEP § 2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 6 and 16 recite additional elements such as “the job template storage system is configured to store the job template in a job template library configured to store a plurality of job templates, wherein the job template storage system is configured to organize or logically relate job templates in the job template library based on tasks type, customer, or facility”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to apply it under MPEP § 2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
The limitation of the claims 7 and 17 of “generate a user interactive display that enables a user to select the job template and to define locations for each location field to generate a job for execution by the autonomous system” as a drafted is a mental process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind such as “selecting” and “define”. For example, a human may select the job template and define locations for each location field to generate a job for execution by the autonomous system with a pen and paper or in a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong I.
The limitation of the claims 8 and 18 of “assign the job to one or more autonomous systems” as a drafted is a mental process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind such as “assigning”. For example, a human may assign (map) the job to one or more autonomous systems with a pen and paper or in a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong I.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 9 and 19 recite additional elements such as “the one or more autonomous system comprises one or more autonomous mobile robots (AMRs)”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element
amounts to field of use under MPEP § 2106.05(h): Field of Use and Technological Environment, which
does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process. Accordingly, this additional
element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any
meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B.
The limitation of the claims 10 and 20 of “the template building program code is further executable to extract a job template from a job defined for performance of a task; and the template building program code is further executable to extract a sequence of triggers and associated behaviors with unspecified locations to extract the job template” as a drafted is a mental process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind such as “extracting (parsing/reading)”. For example, a human may extract a job template from a job defined for performance of a task and extract a sequence of triggers and associated behaviors with unspecified locations to extract the job template with a pen and paper or in a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong I.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims 10 and 20 recite additional elements such as “store the extracted job template as a new downloadable and customizable job template for use by one or more autonomous systems”.
Examiner would like to point out that with the broad reasonable interpretation, this element amounts to mere data storing under MPEP § 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the mental process (insignificant additional element). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to insignificant additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10 and 12-18 are also similar rejected under same rationale as cited above wherein these claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. These claims are merely further elaborate the mental process itself or providing additional definition of process which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 2-8, 10 and 12-18 are also rejected for incorporating the deficiency of their independent claims 1 and 11 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezgui (US PGPub 20200167631) in view of Myeong (US PGPub 20090149990), and further in view of Ruxton (US PGPub 20220043455).
As per Claim 1, Rezgui teaches of a job builder system, comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one computer storage device; and (Par 19, An HR [human robot] is autonomous, independent, connected, highly-communicative, versatile, mobile, relentless and highly efficient without being overly consuming, needing maintenance or special planning. It may take the shape of an HB, an animal, a vegetation, a machine (smart-device, computer, fridge, bicycle, etc.) that acts autonomously and reliably. An HR may fulfill most of the HBs' jobs or a combination of them simultaneously or orderly.)
a template building computer program code executable by the at least one processor and configured to (Par 115, Flexible, easily marketable and sellable so customers can build and design their DHR(s) [distributed human robot] per their specifications using our HR(s) [human robot] and/or DHR [distributed human robot] template-configurations, module/IP/API libraries & databases, and the SDK tool to build their communication platforms using a template GUI and back-end IP cores that may be encrypted. Par 102, The commercially-available DHR may be shared with other developers, partners and customers for additional customization through its SDK and GUI. PAr 61, The conscious layer is the customization layer that developers can use to design their own HRs. Developers can customize the standard HR platform to their needs, for instance to improve its behavior, teach an HR a particular job or prepare it for a particular task, etc. This layer can accommodate infinite number of tasks and applications and is mainly distributed into two layers.)
generate a set of user interactive computer screens on a display that enable a user to generate and store a reusable job template, including rendering mechanisms that enable the user to: wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate, at a first system, a reusable job template comprising, (Par 102, The commercially-available DHR may be shared with other developers, partners and customers for additional customization through its SDK and GUI. Par 109, Other actions may be added to allow the commercial business and the customer to have a great interactive experience. Par 182, GUI: that allows the user interactions with the DHR main building blocks (modules & HRs), as well as the control and the monitoring of the DHR. Par 525, 17. An HR can interact with touch-screens the same way HBs do. To use touch-screens, an HR may wear gloves with special fingers that have conductive fingertips to provide universal touch screen compatibility or simply replace his index with one that has a conductive fingertip. Par 158, The SW template source-code that integrates and demonstrates the use of the SW IPs/APIs and that can allow easy design-customizations for other applications.)
the defined trigger, the defined one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger; (Par 551, An action [behavior] is like a process for a computer, it can run simultaneously with other processes, in a multithread manner, sequentially or at predefined times or upon a trigger or per certain conditions [triggers].)
define one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger; (Par 546, Actions [behavior] can be executed by a simple command [trigger] that summarizes the wholesome of an action such as “prepare the food”. The HR will then ask if the HBs would prepare a certain receipt and propose a few given what it is available at home. The HBs may pick one or simply say “surprise me”. The HR [human robot/autonomous system] will then act autonomously and take all the necessary actions to prepare the food, purchase what is missing, set/clean the table and wash the dishes even that it was not specifically asked to do so. Par 547, An action may then intrinsically provoke another single or multiple consecutive actions or cause the HR to multitask. The mind of an HR will operate as an (in)finite state machine (FSM) that will take inputs, take in account previous states and transition to other states if all the right conditions are in place.)
and store the job template as a downloadable and customizable job template for use by one or more autonomous systems, (Par 89, Other tasks may be added by the user, similarly to the way Application Programming Interface (API(s)) are implemented, added and regulated. The HR SW and HW platforms, APIs and frameworks are optimizable and upgradable at every stage locally and/or remotely from the computers/servers/data-centers (clouds) that may be private or public, in or off-premise. Par 163, Various SW SDKs, for the implementation of the network of computers SW IPs/APIs. Template source code to demonstrate the use of the various IPs/APIs for graphic visualization, management, monitoring, control, command for positioning, orientation, navigation, actions and configuration may be provided. Par 120, Able to provide a template source code to demonstrate the use of the various IPs/APIs for graphic visualization, management, monitoring, control, command for positioning, orientation, navigation, actions and configuration; the code may be provided with the HR/DHR. Thus, the job template for HR [human robot] can be downloaded and customizable.)
wherein the one or more autonomous systems comprises a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMRs). (Par 744, A mobile DHR (distributed HR [human robot]) can move from one location to another autonomously to inspect entire hospital with multiple rounds for contaminants. It can periodically run environmental testers, driven by HBs or autonomously. Par 794, in other words, there will be no need for parking meters, the mobile-HRs will handle all transactions and will circulate around to charge drivers for their parking time; Par 828, HRs [human robots] may follow an object/HB and/or the like from point A to point B by means of connected, distributed and mobile HRs. Par 19, An HR is autonomous, independent, connected, highly-communicative, versatile, mobile, relentless and highly efficient without being overly consuming, needing maintenance or special planning.)
Rezgui does not specifically teach, however Myeong teaches of the defined one or more behaviors executable by an autonomous system in response to the trigger, and for each behavior, a defined location field with an unspecified location (Par 7, In order for a mobile robot to perform a specified work such as cleaning in a robot movement space [behavior], it is required to prepare a map, and for this, separate algorithms for exploring an unknown area [unspecified location] are required in addition to a SLAM (Simultaneous Localization And Mapping). Such algorithms correspond to a simple method of locating the whole configuration of the robot movement space through a wall-following and a complicated method of performing path planning by using an active SLAM [without inputting specific locations in the location field by a user]. Also, even after the map is prepared through the above-described methods, a separate coverage path planning for the mobile robot to thoroughly cover the whole area included in the map is additionally required.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add for each behavior, define a location field with an unspecified location, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Myeong, into that of Rezgui because this modification can help operate the robots or autonomous systems in GPS-denied, unstructured and dynamic environment by increasing autonomy and resilience/adaptability.
Ruxton teaches of a transfer system comprising at least one processor configured to export the job template from the first system and import the job template to a second system, wherein the second system comprises at least one processor configured to define specific locations for each location field in the reusable job template at the second system and configured to generate a job for execution by one or more autonomous systems at the second system (Par 24, The planner 170 can then generate one or more candidate robotic control plans corresponding to each candidate initial configuration. Each candidate robotic control plan includes instructions for each robotic component 160a-n to execute movements in order to complete the one or more tasks. Par 25, As a particular example, for a particular task, the planner 170 might obtain a template robotic control plan that, independent of the robotic operating environment 102, will enable the robotic components 160a-n to complete the one or more tasks. The template robotic control plan includes a template initial configuration that defines an initial position for each robotic component 160a-n and each assembly component according to a second coordinate system. The planner 170 can then use the template robotic control plan to generate one or more candidate robotic control plans specific to the robotic operating environment 102. For example, the planner 170 might determine a particular three-dimensional volume in the second coordinate system that defines every location that the robotic components 160a-n would occupy if the robotic components 160a-n executed the template robotic control plan. The planner 170 might then determine, using the sensor data 122, one or more volumes of the same size and shape as the particular volume in the robotic operating environment 102. That is, the planner 170 might determine one or more translations of the particular volume to project the particular volume from the second coordinate system to the common coordinate system of the robotic operating environment 102. Each of these translations would define the initial configuration for a respective candidate robotic control plan, with the instructions for the robotic components 160a-n of the robotic control plan being defined by the template robotic control plan. Par 26, The planner 170 can select the final robotic control plan 174 from the set of candidate robotic control plans. For example, the planner 170 might assign each candidate robotic control plan a score based on the time required to complete the candidate robotic control plan. In some implementations, the planner 170 considers other factors in addition to time to complete the plan, e.g., a risk of collision during execution of the plan.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a transfer system comprising at least one processor configured to export the job template from the first system and import the job template to a second system, wherein the second system comprises at least one processor configured to define specific locations for each location field in the reusable job template at the second system and configured to generate a job for execution by one or more autonomous systems at the second system, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Ruxton, into that of Rezgui and Myeong because this modification can help operate the robots or autonomous systems to complete the job template by exporting and transferring a template robotic control plan that, independent of the robotic operating environment.
As per Claim 2, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one database of behaviors that are user selectable. (Par 776, Each of the previous actions can also be dissociated into basic tasks, such as lift hand, twist faucet, etc. Each of these actions can initially be programmed and/or taught. So, the HB may say, “learn how to twist faucet” and demonstrate how to do it; the HR would then learn and store it for future use. The HR can then build and continuously update its database and library of actions [behaviors].)
As per Claim 3, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to export the job template to a job template storage system configured to store a plurality of job templates. (Par 110, For instance, the storage modules may reside on a single or multiple and dedicated HR repository that may serve as a data-center for a private and secure HR-cloud. The latter may communicate and coordinate tasks with various data-centers (private and public, local or remote clouds) and servers. The modularity feature offers great flexibility for the design of key standardized pick-plug-and-use modules that can be used as needed in any of the HRs. Par 113, Additionally, each HR may be a redundant, auxiliary or a secondary HR to another. Additionally, and unlike current computers and smart-phones, each HR may be replaced with another autonomously and without human intervention for backup or physical swap. Simple configuration would mean that an HR will transfer all of its data and code to another HR, store itself for later use or simply for recycling, or let the master-HR re-assign him for other tasks.)
As per Claim 4, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 3, wherein the job template storage system is accessible by plurality of remote systems for export and/or import of job templates. (Par 120, 13. Able to provide a template source code to demonstrate the use of the various IPs/APIs for graphic visualization, management, monitoring, control, command for positioning, orientation, navigation, actions and configuration; the code may be provided with the HR/DHR. Par 158, The SW template source-code that integrates and demonstrates the use of the SW IPs/APIs and that can allow easy design-customizations for other applications. Par 115, Flexible, easily marketable and sellable so customers can build and design their DHR(s) per their specifications using our HR(s) and/or DHR template-configurations, module/IP/API libraries & databases, and the SDK tool to build their communication platforms using a template GUI and back-end IP cores that may be encrypted. Various HR-parts such as an arm, a leg, a finger or a brain may be commercialized individually or collectively. Par 100, The term DHR (distributed HRs) refers to a group of cooperatively distributed HR force, scalable up to a given number of HRs, in a specific configuration, which has three distinct characteristics. First, a DHR is comprised of multiple HRs that may be operating within ranges that are relatively close to one another on the local network or distributed on the wide network. Par 113, Additionally, each HR may be a redundant, auxiliary or a secondary HR to another. Additionally, and unlike current computers and smart-phones, each HR may be replaced with another autonomously and without human intervention for backup or physical swap. Par 102, The prototype DHR communication-system will be using parts of the remote technology (big-data processing protocols (BDP) & network processing protocols (NPP). Thus, it’s obvious that the job template can be shared from one HR (human robot) to another remote HR via Distributed HR (human robot) network by exporting from one and importing to another.)
As per Claim 5, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 4, wherein the job template storage system is configured to enable a first system to upload a job template for use by a first set of autonomous systems in a first environment and a second system to download the job template for use by a second set of autonomous system in a second environment. (Par 100, The term DHR (distributed HRs) refers to a group of cooperatively distributed HR force, scalable up to a given number of HRs, in a specific configuration, which has three distinct characteristics. First, a DHR is comprised of multiple HRs that may be operating within ranges that are relatively close to one another on the local network or distributed on the wide network. Par 113, Additionally, each HR may be a redundant, auxiliary or a secondary HR to another. Additionally, and unlike current computers and smart-phones, each HR may be replaced with another autonomously and without human intervention for backup or physical swap. Par 186, HRs may be tested with elaborate test cases, to stimulate their behaviors, environment. Par 207, Private: A private HR-network is designed by the manufacturer using special networking protocols and processing techniques. It is purposely designed for continuous network connection no matter the outside security and environmental conditions in which it is operating. Par 249, 1. Intelligent and Intuitive: know basic behaviors and actions and be capable of learning other routines and from others and adapt to its new environment. It may have different, numerous or a combination of categories and jobs: home-jobs, city-jobs, home/office work, etc. Thus, it’s obvious that the second HR (human robot) can adapt to a new environment using its sensors even if it downloads the job template from the first HR in a different environment.)
As per Claim 6, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 3, wherein the job template storage system is configured to store the job template in a job template library configured to store a plurality of job templates, (Par 120 and 163, Able to provide a template source code to demonstrate the use of the various IPs/APIs for graphic visualization, management, monitoring, control, command for positioning, orientation, navigation, actions and configuration; the code may be provided with the HR/DHR. Par 776, Each of the previous actions can also be dissociated into basic tasks, such as lift hand, twist faucet, etc. Each of these actions can initially be programmed and/or taught. So, the HB may say, “learn how to twist faucet” and demonstrate how to do it; the HR would then learn and store it for future use. The HR can then build and continuously update its database and library of actions.)
wherein the job template storage system is configured to organize or logically relate job templates in the job template library based on tasks type, customer, or facility. (Par 383, Its hearing capabilities are similar to any smart-device, with a microphone that may be able to detect ultra small sounds, such as whispers, differentiate between noises with noise filtering/canceling, calculate distance(s) from speaker(s) (HB(s) or machine(s)), amplification of far-away voices if in their range, attenuation of loud voices, sound intensity and type (male, female, animal) detection and recognition, voice prioritization, type of sound (loud, whisper, urgent, pain, heavy-breathing, screams, giggles, etc.), meaning of message through AI to possibly initiate a dialogue and conversations for more clarifications (Q/A); the HR will insure of the message before proceeding. For instance, in the case of domestic violence that happens far away from the HR but where the victim's voice is still detectable but quite understood (whether it is a struggle or a game), the HR will move towards the scene and once certain of what is truly happening, will act to defend the victim and disable the aggressor. The HR is not a spy but is there to help when possible and will always insure of the certainty of the situation and its own interpretation of the facts before acting. Par 599-601, Actions: 1. Type: Basic, combined/not to be combined/can be combined, elaborate, sequential, sophisticated, optimized, etc. 2. Transition: evolved to (crawl, walk, run, jump, fly), conditional (walk only on clean floors, graze on dirty floors). Par 604, 5. The HR will have spontaneous behavior (SB) deduced from SL learnt from the HB’s [human being/customer] habits, the society customs, etc.: Well-being actions to generate good-smell, to greet, to create good-ambiance, to plan and prepare, to entertain with live-concerts, natural dance-routines, live talks (news or other), live exercise routines, etc. Par 74, The HR may recognize its location [facility], so it may wear a swimsuit on the beach and a suit in a business meeting. Others may choose to overdress them with additional clothing. The HR may have the right to reject indecent clothing if offensive to its adoptive society and the moral code.)
As per Claim 7, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 1, further comprising job generation program code configured to generate a user interactive display that enables a user to select the job template and to define locations for each location field to generate a job for execution by the autonomous system. (Par 89, The HR [human robot] building blocks may be selected and pre-ordered by the user per their customer needs. The insertion and/or removal of the HR building blocks or modules may be manual and/or autonomous, through the HRs' SDKs (SW/HW) and the HR autonomy. Par 109, Upon the arrival of a customer(s) to its designated perimeters, it may automatically launch advertisements and announcements of their modified menus or their promotions on the customers' smart-devices or to their HRs. It may recognize all exiting customers through facial recognition or customer-ID (their HRs or their smart-devices), and detect new customers, run their background checks and check their preference lists. Other actions may be added to allow the commercial business and the customer to have a great interactive experience. HBs may select, request and draw their own routes on the map for instance to a commercial business, given their need to stop at various locations in the way or simply because they prefer a certain route over another. Par 105, The HB(s) may select the list of actions to be shared or delegate this choice to the HRs. An HR may seek help from other HRs or its surroundings (HBs, other machinery, etc.) and communicate with them if allowed by the HB(s), the router-HR and its parts, such as its brain.)
As per Claim 8, Rezgui further teaches of the system of claim 7, wherein the job generation program code is further configured to assign the job to one or more autonomous systems. (Par 111, The master-HR within a local-DHR will be the main communication-gate for the entire network, and may assign tasks to various HRs. Autonomous re-organization of the DHR hierarchy given their tasks, their relative proximities and the range of their wireless communication hardware should be carefully studied, planned and optimized. Par 113, Additionally, each HR may be a redundant, auxiliary or a secondary HR to another. Additionally, and unlike current computers and smart-phones, each HR may be replaced with another autonomously and without human intervention for backup or physical swap. Simple configuration would mean that an HR will transfer all of its data and code to another HR, store itself for later use or simply for recycling, or let the master-HR re-assign him for other tasks.)
Re Claim 11, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re Claim 12, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 2. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
Re Claim 13, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 3. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3.
Re Claim 14, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 4. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4.
Re Claim 15, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 5. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5.
Re Claim 16, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 6. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Re Claim 17, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 7. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
Re Claim 18, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 8. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8.
9. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezgui (US PGPub 20200167631) in view of Myeong (US PGPub 20090149990), in view of Ruxton (US PGPub 20220043455), and further in view of Murase (US Patent 11231939).
As per Claim 10, Rezgui teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein: the template building program code is further executable to … template building program code is further configured to store the extracted job template … for use by one or more autonomous systems. (Par 120, 13. Able to provide a template source code to demonstrate the use of the various IPs/APIs for graphic visualization, management, monitoring, control, command for positioning, orientation, navigation, actions and configuration; the code may be provided with the HR/DHR. Par 158, The SW template source-code that integrates and demonstrates the use of the SW IPs/APIs and that can allow easy design-customizations for other applications. Par 115, Flexible, easily marketable and sellable so customers can build and design their DHR(s) per their specifications using our HR(s) and/or DHR template-configurations, module/IP/API libraries & databases, and the SDK tool to build their communication platforms using a template GUI and back-end IP cores that may be encrypted. Various HR-parts such as an arm, a leg, a finger or a brain may be commercialized individually or collectively. Par 100, The term DHR (distributed HRs) refers to a group of cooperatively distributed HR force, scalable up to a given number of HRs, in a specific configuration, which has three distinct characteristics. First, a DHR is comprised of multiple HRs that may be operating within ranges that are relatively close to one another on the local network or distributed on the wide network. Par 113, Additionally, each HR may be a redundant, auxiliary or a secondary HR to another. Additionally, and unlike current computers and smart-phones, each HR may be replaced with another autonomously and without human intervention for backup or physical swap. Par 102, The prototype DHR communication-system will be using parts of the remote technology (big-data processing protocols (BDP) & network processing protocols (NPP). Thus, it’s obvious that the job template can be shared from one HR (human robot) to another remote HR via Distributed HR (human robot) network by exporting from one and importing to another.)
Neither Rezgui nor Ruxton specifically teaches, however Myeong teaches of the template building program code is further executable to extract a sequence of triggers and associated behaviors with unspecified locations to extract the job template; (Par 7, In order for a mobile robot to perform a specified work such as cleaning in a robot movement space [behavior/job], it is required to prepare a map, and for this, separate algorithms for exploring an unknown area [unspecified location] are required in addition to a SLAM (Simultaneous Localization And Mapping). Such algorithms correspond to a simple method of locating the whole configuration of the robot movement space through a wall-following and a complicated method of performing path planning by using an active SLAM [without inputting specific locations in the location field by a user]. Also, even after the map is prepared through the above-described methods, a separate coverage path planning for the mobile robot to thoroughly cover the whole area included in the map is additionally required.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the template building program code is further executable to extract a sequence of triggers and associated behaviors with unspecified locations to extract the job template, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Myeong, into that of Rezgui and Ruxton because this modification can help operate the robots or autonomous systems in GPS-denied, unstructured and dynamic environment by increasing autonomy and resilience/adaptability.
None of Rezgui, Myeong and Ruxton specifically teaches, however Murase teaches to extract a job template from a job defined for performance of a task; and (Col 1, lines 34-41, The retrieval unit receives a request including indexes of functional requirements and non-functional requirements, extracts one or more first templates providing a function specified by the functional requirements of the request on the basis of the first information, creates a template list including one or more extracted first templates and one or more second templates associated with the first templates. Col 9, lines 38-40, In step 130 of FIG. 10, the reflection unit 34 extracts one relevant task template from the above-described list of relevant task templates.)
the template building program code is further configured to store the extracted job template as a new downloadable and customizable job template (Col 2, lines 24-35, For example, in a case where a plurality of task templates are managed by one service, many task templates are used by being appropriately customized from the original task template for each user in accordance with the user's desire even in a case of the same task. Col 5, lines 24-28, The customization unit 30 according to this exemplary embodiment customizes a reference task template to create an individual task template for each user using a task template creating screen illustrated in FIG. 4 as an example, and changes the customized task template. Col 5, lines 35, A user creates a task template obtained by customizing a reference task template individually for a user using the task template creating screen displayed on the terminal device 10. Col 7, lines 3-25, In addition, each of the plurality of task templates obtained by the customization is a task template created from a reference task template.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add extract a job template from a job defined for performance of a task; and the template building program code is further configured to store the extracted job template as a new downloadable and customizable job template, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Murase, into that of Rezgui, Myeong and Ruxton because this modification can help develop or configure faster and accurately by extracting already existing job template for autonomous robots while cost efficiency.
Re Claim 20, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 10. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 10.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 as well as their dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the first argument of the remark on pages 9-11 about 101 Abstract Idea rejection that the amendment to the claims 1 and 11 would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application, the examiner would like to point out that in order to determine if additional element is integrating the abstract idea into a practical application, 1) The specification should describe the claimed improvement to achieve the desired goal and 2) The claimed improvement should be reflected at least in the additional elements by specifying how the claimed improvement performs the additional element to improve functioning of a computer or existing technical field.
2106.05(a) Improvements to the Functioning of a Computer or To Any Other Technology or Technical Field [R-07.2022]
If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
I. RELEVANT CONSIDERATIONS FOR EVALUATING WHETHER ADDITIONAL ELEMENTS INTEGRATE A JUDICIAL EXCEPTION INTO A PRACTICAL APPLICATION
The Supreme Court and Federal Circuit have identified a number of considerations as relevant to the evaluation of whether the claimed additional elements demonstrate that a claim is directed to patent-eligible subject matter. The list of considerations here is not intended to be exclusive or limiting. Additional elements can often be analyzed based on more than one type of consideration and the type of consideration is of no import to the eligibility analysis. Additional discussion of these considerations, and how they were applied in particular judicial decisions, is provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a) through (c) and MPEP § 2106.05(e) through (h).
Limitations the courts have found indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application include:
• An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
11. Applicant’s another argument regarding 103 rejection with respect to claims 1 and 11 as well as their dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAE UK JEON whose telephone number is (571)270-3649. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/JAE U JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193