DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “…wherein the first through fifth focal lengths and the effective focal length satisfy Equation 1…” and then recites five seperate conditional expressions. It is unclear if applicant intends to claim a lens system in which all five conditional expressions are satisfied or a lens system wherein any one of the expressions is satisfied.
For the purpose of examination this limitation was interpreted as, “…wherein the first through fifth focal lengths and the effective focal length satisfy the follow expressions…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (US 20130076852 A1) in view of Theriault (US 20140008549 A1) and Elliot (US 20090323739 A1).
Re Claim 1, Bai discloses, on Fig. 2 and 5, an apparatus for manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising: a light source (laser module 120) for generating a first beam; a a relay lens (collimating lens 130) for converting the second beam into a third beam; a scanner comprising a first mirror ( approach mirror 140) for reflecting the third beam in a first direction and a second mirror (polygon mirror 150) for reflecting the third beam in a second direction different from the first direction (reflection beam directions are different); and a scan lens (scan optics 160) having an effective focal length and being for converting the third beam output from the scanner into a fourth beam, the scan lens (See Fig. 5) comprising a first lens (lens 501) having a first focal length, a second lens (lens 502) having a second focal length, a third lens (lens 503) having a third focal length, a fourth lens (lens 504) having a fourth focal length, a fifth lens (lens 505) having a fifth focal length, wherein an absolute value of the first focal length is smaller than an absolute value of each of the second through fifth focal lengths (See Table 1 where the calculated absolute value of the focal lengths are as follows; f1=86.37, f2=90.983, f3=126.75, f4=98.79, f5=299.04 mm).
But Bai does not explicitly disclose: a beam converter comprising an axicon lens for converting the first beam into a second beam, scan lens including a cover window.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Theriault teaches, on Fig. 5a, that it is desirable in image display systems to include wherein a beam converter comprising an axicon (axicon lens 44) [Par 76] lens for converting the first beam into a second beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bai with Theriault in order to convert the input beam into an intermediate non-diffracting beam as taught by Theriault [Par 76].
But Bai in view of Theriault does not explicitly disclose, a scan lens including a cover window.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Elliot teaches, on Fig. 2, that it is desirable in image displays to include, a scan lens including a cover window (window 90 for scan lens 88) [Par 62].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bai in view of Theriault with Elliot in order to provide change the incident angle of the beam, as taught by Elliot [Par 77].
Re claim 2, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, and Bai further discloses on Fig. 5, wherein the first through fifth lenses (lenses 501-505) are in sequence and Elliot further discloses, on Fig. 2, the cover window is sequentially arranged with the lens (window 90 is on image side of lens 88) [Par 77].
Re Claim 3, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, and Theriault further discloses on Fig. 5a, wherein the first beam is a Gaussian beam (laser 28 outputs a Gaussian beam)[Par 70] , the second beam is a raw Bessel beam (axicon 44 transforms incident beam into Bessel beam) [Par 77-78], the third beam is a ring-shaped beam (transform lens 48 turns Bessel beam into annular beam) [Par 91], and the fourth beam is a final Bessel beam (objective 50 transforms annular beam into a Bessel beam) [Par 102].
Re Claim 5, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, and Bai further discloses on Fig. 2, wherein the first mirror is configured to deflect the third beam in the first direction by a first angle (Fig. 2 shows: mirror 140 deflects third beam in a direction), and wherein the second mirror is configured to deflect the third beam in the second direction by a second angle (Fig. 2: polygon mirror 150 deflects third beam in a second direction by another angle).
Re Claim 9, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 5, and Elliot discloses on Fig. 5a and 8, wherein an effective length of the second beam is longer than an effective length of the fourth beam (See Fig. 8, focal length of lens 48 and thus distance from axicon to lens 48 is 60 mm and focal length of objective lens 50 is the distance from lens 50 to the image plane for similar reasons is 8.25 mm) [Par 151].
Re Claim 10, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, and Theriault further discloses on Fig. 5a, wherein a distance between the relay lens (lens 48) and the axicon lens (lens 44) is equal to a distance between the relay lens and an entrance pupil of the scanner (Fig. 5a: both distances are
f
α
).
Re Claim 11, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 10, and Theriault further discloses, wherein the distance between the relay lens and the axicon lens and the distance between the relay lens and the entrance pupil of the scanner are equal to a sixth focal length, the sixth focal length being a focal length of the relay lens (this distance is
f
α
) [Par 93].
Re Claim 14, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, and Bai further discloses on Fig. 2, wherein a distance between an entrance pupil of the scanner and the first lens (pupil distance 159 is 35 mm) [Par 45] is greater than a distance between the first lens and the second lens (See Table 1, rear thickness of first lens is 12.8 mm).
Re Claim 15, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 14, and Bai further discloses on Fig. 2, wherein the distance between the entrance pupil of the scanner and the first lens is in a range of 15 mm to 50 mm (pupil distance is 35 mm) [Par 45].
Re Claim 16, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 14, and Bai discloses on Fig. 5, wherein the distance between the first lens and the second lens is greater than a distance between the second lens and the third lens (Table 1: distance between first and second lens is 12.8 mm and thickness between second and third lens is 0, See Fig. 5 where the second and third lens are touching).
Re Claim 17, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, the apparatus of claim 16, and Bai discloses on Fig. 5 and Table 1, wherein the distance between the second lens and the third lens is equal to a distance between the third lens and the fourth lens and a distance between the fourth lens and the fifth lens (Table 1: Distance between second and third, third and further, and fourth and fifth lens is 0).
Re Claim 20, Bai in view of Theriault and Elliot discloses, a display device manufactured by using the apparatus of claim 1, and Bai furher discloses on Fig. 2, the display device comprising: a glass substrate having a first surface, a second surface facing the first surface, a side surface connected to the first surface, and a first inclined surface extending between the side surface and the second surface; and a display area having a plurality of emission areas on the first surface of the glass substrate, wherein the side surface and the first inclined surface are formed by irradiating a laser beam to form first laser irradiation areas and then separating the glass substrate from a mother substrate along the first laser irradiation areas through an etching process, and wherein the laser beam is the fourth beam of the apparatus for manufacturing the display device of claim 1 (final scanning beam of Bai scans imaging surface 110 with a laser)[Par 23-28].
In regards to the limitation, “…a glass substrate having a first surface, a second surface facing the first surface, a side surface connected to the first surface, and a first inclined surface extending between the side surface and the second surface; and a display area having a plurality of emission areas on the first surface of the glass substrate, wherein the side surface and the first inclined surface are formed by irradiating a laser beam to form first laser irradiation areas and then separating the glass substrate from a mother substrate along the first laser irradiation areas through an etching process,”, the court has held that claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 12-13, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Maeda (US 20080144152 A1) also teaches an optical scanning system.
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872