DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the header and wire bond of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Paragraph [0083] of the specification indicates that the header and wire bond should be shown in figure 17, however neither fig. 17 nor the specification indicate which aspect of the figure should be considered the aforementioned features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. US 2023/0282759.
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa discloses an optoelectronic semiconductor device (figs. 1-5 and 8-38), comprising: a semiconductor substrate (#4); an insulating layer (#3a, 3b) comprising a patterned structure provided on a first side of the semiconductor substrate, the patterned structure comprising a plurality of raised areas with at least one channel formed between adjacent raised areas (figs. 1-5 and 8-38 show a variety of configurations of patterned structures of the insulating layer 3a, 3b with a plurality of raised areas and at least one channel. For instance figure 9 shows channels of width g wherein fig. 8 shows the cross-section where the raised portion 2c is raised in part from the insulating layer 3b); a layer of an insulating material provided on a surface of at least one of the channels (fig. 16 #5; para. 0194); a first contact positioned on a surface of one of the raised areas (#2a); at least one 2D material layer (#1; para. 0058) provided on at least portions of each of the insulating layer (#1 is on #3a) and the semiconductor substrate (#1 is on #4), the 2D material layer in contact with the first contact (#1 covers a portion of #2a); and a second contact provided on a second side of the semiconductor substrate (#2b is located on the underside of the substrate).
Regarding claim 2, Ogawa discloses wherein the insulating layer comprises an oxide layer (para. 0098).
Regarding claim 3, Ogawa discloses wherein the layer of insulating material provided on the surface of the at least one channel comprises an oxide layer (para. 0194).
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa discloses wherein the raised areas of the patterned structure have a first thickness (fig. 16 #3a, 3b), and the insulating material provided on the surface of at least one of the channels has a second thickness (fig. 16 #5), and wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness (3a and 3b are thicker than 5).
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa discloses wherein the patterned structure comprises at least one of interdigitated fingers (figs. 36-38 show a interdigitated finger configuration), triangular fingers, at least partially curved fingers (para. 0307 circle and ellipse), or a combination of any of those.
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a n-doped silicon (para. 0105, 0120), and wherein the oxide layer comprises silicon oxide (para. 0108).
Regarding claim 11, Ogawa discloses the optoelectronic semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a package, the package comprising a transparent material configured to allow transmission of light (para. 0151 transparent conductive film).
Regarding claim 12, Ogawa discloses a method of forming an optoelectronic semiconductor device (figs. 1-5 and 8-38), the method comprising: forming a semiconductor substrate (#4); forming an insulating layer (#3a, 3b) comprising a patterned structure provided on a first side of the semiconductor substrate, the patterned structure comprising a plurality of raised areas with at least one channel formed between adjacent raised areas (figs. 1-5 and 8-38 show a variety of configurations of patterned structures of the insulating layer 3a, 3b with a plurality of raised areas and at least one channel. For instance figure 9 shows channels of width g wherein fig. 8 shows the cross-section where the raised portion 2c is raised in part from the insulating layer 3b); forming a layer of an insulating material on a surface of at least one of the channels (fig. 16 #5; para. 0194); forming a first contact positioned on a surface of one of the raised areas (#2a); forming at least one 2D material layer (#1; para. 0058)on at least portions of each of the insulating layer (#1 is on #3a) and the semiconductor substrate (#1 is on #4), the 2D material layer in contact with the first contact (#1 covers a portion of #2a); and forming a second contact provided on a second side of the semiconductor substrate (#2b is located on the underside of the substrate).
Regarding claim 13, Ogawa discloses wherein forming the insulating layer comprises a thermally grown a silicon oxide layer (para. 0108 heat-oxidized silicon oxide).
Regarding claim 14, Ogawa discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising using optical lithography (para. 0110) and wet etching to form the patterned structure (para. 0111).
Regarding claim 15, Ogawa discloses wherein forming the first contact comprises sputtering at least one metal layer on the silicon oxide layer (para. 0108, 0115).
Regarding claim 17, Ogawa discloses, wherein forming the 2D material layer comprises growing a graphene layer on copper by chemical vapor deposition and transferring the graphene layer onto at least portions of each of the semiconductor substrate, the silicon oxide layer and the first contact (para. 0113, using copper as the growing layer is well known in the art).
Regarding claim 18, Ogawa discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising patterning the graphene layer (para. 0302-0307).
Regarding claim 20, Ogawa discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising providing a package enclosing at least a portion of the optoelectronic semiconductor device, the package comprising a transparent material configured to allow transmission of light (para. 0151 transparent conductive film).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8-9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. US 2023/0282759.
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the patterned structure comprises a combination of fingers have a first shape type and having a second shape type different than the first shape type, however, It has been judiciarily determined that changing in shapes has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in shape is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of shape is not of patentable significance
Regarding claim 8, Ogawa discloses the oxide layer being as small as possible (para. 0100) does not explicitly disclose wherein the oxide layer comprises a thermally grown silicon oxide layer having a thickness of about 20 nm, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in size has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in size is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of size is not of patentable significance
Regarding claim 9, Ogawa teaches wherein at least one of the first contact or the second contact comprises a Ti layer (para. 0097 close adherence layer) and a Ni layer (para. 0097).
Ogawa does not explicitly disclose the Ti layer having a thickness of about 20 nm, and the Ni layer having a thickness of about 200 nm, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in size has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in size is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of size is not of patentable significance
Regarding claim 16, Ogawa teaches wherein sputtering at least one metal layer (para. 0108, 0115) comprises sputtering a Ti layer (para. 0097 close adherence layer) and sputtering (para. 0108, 0115) a Ni layer (para. 0097).
Ogawa does not explicitly disclose the Ti layer having a thickness of about 20 nm, and the Ni layer having a thickness of about 200 nm, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in size has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in size is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of size is not of patentable significance
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. US 2023/0282759 in view of Chan US 2020/0075791.
Regarding claim 10, Ogawa fails to teach the optoelectronic semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a header, wherein one of the first contact or the second contact is wire bonded to the header.
Chan teaches a optoelectronic semiconductor device (fig. 10) which has a contact (#48) which is wire bonded (#74) to a header (#80 via pin #84) of a transistor outline package (para. 0066) for the purpose of simplifying the bonding process (para. 0040) and protecting the device in a hermetically sealed package (para. 0069).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optoelectronic semiconductor device further comprising a header, wherein one of the first contact or the second contact is wire bonded to the header as taught by Chan in the optoelectronic semiconductor device of Ogawa for the purpose of simplifying the bonding process and protecting the device in a hermetically sealed package.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. US 2023/0282759 in view of Sultana et al. US 2017/0057827.
Regarding claim 19, Ogawa fails to teach wherein patterning the graphene layer comprises reactive ion etching.
Sultana teaches wherein patterning the graphene layer comprises reactive ion etching (para. 0032) for the purpose of patterning the graphene while it is on the device and simplifying the manufacturing (para. 0032).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein patterning the graphene layer comprises reactive ion etching as taught by Sultana in the method of Ogawa for the purpose of patterning the graphene while it is on the device and simplifying the manufacturing.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884