DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on January 27, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0011187 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on December 4, 2023 and September 19, 2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “is” should be inserted between “line” and “connected” (line 14). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0212279 A1 (hereinafter “Son”).
Regarding claim 1, Son discloses in Fig. 5 (see annotated figure below) and related text a display device (a light emitting diode display apparatus; [0098]) comprising:
a light-emitting element (ED1; [0098]) disposed in a first area; and
a repair pad (PL2 (in region A), PL2 (at right side of Fig. 5), CCP, BEP3; [0015], [0098] and [0100]) disposed in a second area extending from the first area,
wherein the light-emitting element includes:
one side electrode (T1; [0085]) connected to a 1-1 th electrode (DE; [0102]) via a 1-1 th connection line (BEP1; [0098]); and
another side electrode (T2; [0085]) connected to a second electrode (PL2 (in region A); [0115]) via a second connection line (CCP; [0115]),
wherein the repair pad includes a 1-2 th electrode (PL2 (at right side of Fig. 5); [0100]), the second electrode, the second connection line, and a 1-2 th connection line (BEP3; [0098]),
wherein the 1-2 th electrode and the second electrode of the repair pad are disposed in a same layer in a corresponding manner,
wherein the second connection line and the 1-2 th connection line of the repair pad are disposed in a same layer in a corresponding manner,
wherein the second connection line is connected to the second electrode, and the 1-2 th connection line is connected to the 1-2 th electrode, and
wherein the layer in which the second connection line and the 1-2 th connection line are disposed is different from the layer in which the 1-2 th electrode and the second electrode are disposed.
Regarding claim 2, Son shows the 1-1 th connection line has one side connected to the 1-1 th electrode, and another side connected to the one side electrode of the light-emitting element, wherein the second connection line has: one of two sides connected to the another side electrode of the light-emitting element in the first area; the other of the two sides disposed in the second area; and a middle portion disposed between the two sides and connected to the second electrode, and wherein the 1-2 th connection line has one side connected to the 1-2 th electrode in a same layer, and another side disposed in a different layer from a layer in which the one side thereof is disposed (Fig. 5 with Examiner’s annotations above).
Regarding claim 3, Son discloses the 1-1 th connection line, the 1-2 th connection line, and the second connection line are made of a same material ([0084]).
Regarding claim 4, Son discloses in Fig. 5 the display device comprises:
a substrate (100; Fig. 5 with Examiner’s annotations above; [0099]) including the first area and the second area;
the 1-1 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the first area;
the 1-2 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the second area;
the second electrode disposed on the substrate and in a portion of the first area and a portion of the second area;
a first insulating layer (115; Fig. 5; [0112]) disposed on the 1-1 th electrode, the second electrode, the 1-2 th electrode, and the substrate;
the light-emitting element disposed on the first insulating layer; and
a second insulating layer (170; Fig. 5; [0118]) disposed on the first insulating layer and the light-emitting element.
Regarding claim 5, Son discloses in Fig. 5 the display device further comprises:
the 1-1 th connection line disposed on the second insulating layer and having one side connected to the 1-1 th electrode via a contact-hole (He1; Fig. 5; [0120]), and another side connected to the one side electrode of the light-emitting element via a contact-hole (Ha1; Fig. 5; [0121]);
the second connection line disposed on the second insulating layer and having:
one of two sides connected to the another side electrode of the light-emitting element via a contact-hole (Hc1; Fig. 5; [0122]);
the other of the two sides extending through the second insulating layer so as to be disposed on the first insulating layer; and
a middle portion disposed between the two sides and connected to the second electrode via a contact-hole (GP1; Fig. 5; [0124]);
the 1-2 th connection line disposed on the second insulating layer and having one side connected to the 1-2 th electrode via a through-hole (Hp; Fig. 5; [0123]), and another side extending through the second insulating layer so as to be disposed on the first insulating layer;
a bank (BNK; Fig. 5; [0137]) disposed on the 1-1 th connection line, the second connection line, the 1-2 th connection line, and the second insulating layer; and
a sealing layer (190; Fig. 5; [0139]) disposed on the bank, a portion of the 1-1 th connection line, a portion of the second connection line, and the second insulating layer.
Regarding claim 6, Son discloses the bank includes a black material ([0138]).
Regarding claim 7, Son discloses the light-emitting element includes a micro light-emitting diode chip ([0066]).
Regarding claim 8, Son discloses the light-emitting element includes:
a first semiconductor layer (SL1; Fig. 3; [0086]);
an active layer (ACL; Fig. 3; [0086]) disposed on the first semiconductor layer; and
a second semiconductor layer (SL2; Fig. 3; [0086]) disposed on the active layer,
wherein the one side electrode is disposed on the second semiconductor layer, while the another side electrode is disposed on the first semiconductor layer (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Son discloses in Fig. 5 (see annotated figure at claim 1 above) and related text a display device (a light emitting diode display apparatus; [0098]) comprising:
a substrate (100; [0099]) including a first area and a second area;
a light-emitting element (ED1; [0098]) disposed in the first area;
a 1-1 th electrode (DE; [0102]) disposed on the substrate and in the first area;
a second electrode (PL2 (in region A); [0100]) disposed on the substrate and in a portion of the first area and a portion of the second area;
a 1-2 th electrode (PL2 (at right side of Fig. 5); [0100]) disposed on the substrate and in the second area;
a 1-1 th connection line (BEP1; [0098]) connected to the 1-1 th electrode;
a second connection line (CCP; [0098]) connected to the second electrode; and
a 1-2 th connection line (BEP3; [0098]) connected to the 1-2 th electrode,
wherein one side electrode (T1; [0085]) of the light-emitting element is connected to the 1-1 th electrode, while another side electrode (T2; [0085]) of the light-emitting element is connected to the second electrode.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN114464717A (hereinafter “Cao”).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses in Fig. 1B (see annotated figure below) and related text a display device (10; [n0061] of the attached English machine translation) comprising:
a light-emitting element (120T; [n0072]) disposed in a first area; and
a repair pad (1-2 th electrode, second electrode, second connection line, and 1-2 th connection line; [n0071]) disposed in a second area extending from the first area,
wherein the light-emitting element includes:
one side electrode (122; [n0072]) connected to a 1-1 th electrode via a 1-1 th connection line (as labeled in Fig. 1B below); and
another side electrode (121; [n0072]) connected to a second electrode via a second connection line (as labeled in Fig. 1B below),
wherein the repair pad includes a 1-2 th electrode, the second electrode, the second connection line, and a 1-2 th connection line (as labeled in Fig. 1B below),
wherein the 1-2 th electrode and the second electrode of the repair pad are disposed in a same layer (C2; [n0066]) in a corresponding manner,
wherein the second connection line and the 1-2 th connection line of the repair pad are disposed in a same layer (C3; [n0066]) in a corresponding manner,
wherein the second connection line is connected to the second electrode, and the 1-2 th connection line is connected to the 1-2 th electrode, and
wherein the layer in which the second connection line and the 1-2 th connection line are disposed is different from the layer in which the 1-2 th electrode and the second electrode are disposed.
Regarding claim 2, Cao shows the 1-1 th connection line has one side connected to the 1-1 th electrode, and another side connected to the one side electrode of the light-emitting element, wherein the second connection line has: one of two sides connected to the another side electrode of the light-emitting element in the first area; the other of the two sides disposed in the second area; and a middle portion disposed between the two sides and connected to the second electrode, and wherein the 1-2 th connection line has one side connected to the 1-2 th electrode in a same layer, and another side disposed in a different layer from a layer in which the one side thereof is disposed (Fig. 1B with Examiner’s annotations above).
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses the 1-1 th connection line, the 1-2 th connection line, and the second connection line are made of a same material ([n0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Cao discloses the light-emitting element includes a micro light-emitting diode chip ([n0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Cao discloses in Fig. 1B (see annotated figure below) and related text a display device (10; [n0061]) comprising:
a substrate (112; [n0065]) including a first area and a second area;
a first light-emitting element (120T; [n0072]) disposed in the first area;
a second light-emitting element (120; [n0071]) disposed in the second area;
a 1-1 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the first area;
a second electrode disposed on the substrate and in a portion of the first area and a portion of the second area;
a 1-2 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the second area;
a 1-1 th connection line connecting one side electrode (122; [n0072]) of the first light-emitting element and the 1-1 th electrode to each other;
a second connection line connecting the second electrode to another side electrode (121; [n0072]) of the first light-emitting element, and connecting the second electrode to one side electrode (121; [n0071]) of the second light-emitting element; and
a 1-2 th connection line connecting the 1-2 th electrode and another side electrode (122; [n0071]) of the second light-emitting element.
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses the one side electrode of the second light- emitting element is connected to the second connection line via a first conductive adhesive (N1; [n0071]), and wherein the another side electrode of the second light-emitting element is connected to the 1-2 th connection line via a second conductive adhesive (N2; [n0071]).
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses in Fig. 1B (see annotated figure below) and related text a display device (10; [n0061]) comprising:
a substrate (112; [n0065]) including a first area and a second area;
a first light-emitting element (120T; [n0072]) disposed in the first area;
a second light-emitting element (120; [n0071]) disposed in the second area;
a 1-1 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the first area;
a second electrode disposed on the substrate and in a portion of the first area and a portion of the second area;
a 1-2 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the second area;
a 1-1 th connection line connecting one side electrode (122; [n0072]) of the first light-emitting element and the 1-1 th electrode to each other;
a second connection line connecting another side electrode (121; [n0072]) of the first light-emitting element and the second electrode to each other; and
a 1-2 th connection line connected to the 1-2 th electrode,
wherein one side electrode (121; [n0071]) of the second light-emitting element is connected to the second electrode in the second area, and
wherein another side electrode (122; [n0071]) of the second light-emitting element is connected to the 1-2 th electrode in the second area.
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses the one side electrode of the second light- emitting element is connected to the second electrode via a first conductive adhesive (N1; [n0071]), and wherein the another side electrode of the second light-emitting element is connected to the 1-2 th electrode via a second conductive adhesive (N2; [n0071]).
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses in Fig. 1B (see annotated figure below) and related text a display device (10; [n0061]) comprising:
a substrate (112; [n0065]) including a first area and a second area;
a light-emitting element (120T; [n0072]) disposed in the first area;
a 1-1 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the first area;
a second electrode disposed on the substrate and in a portion of the first area and a portion of the second area;
a 1-2 th electrode disposed on the substrate and in the second area;
a 1-1 th connection line connected to the 1-1 th electrode;
a second connection line connected to the second electrode; and
a 1-2 th connection line connected to the 1-2 th electrode,
wherein one side electrode (122; [n0072]) of the light-emitting element is connected to the 1-1 th electrode, while another side electrode (121; [n0072]) of the light-emitting element is connected to the second electrode.
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses the one side electrode of the light-emitting element is connected to the second electrode via a first conductive adhesive (N2; [n0072]), and wherein the another side electrode of the second light-emitting element is connected to the 1-2 th electrode via a second conductive adhesive (N1; [n0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view of US 2018/0175268 A1 (hereinafter “Moon”).
Regarding claim 9, Son discloses the display device of claim 4.
Son does not explicitly disclose the substrate includes: a base substrate; a gate electrode disposed on the base substrate; a gate insulating layer disposed on the base substrate and the gate electrode; an active layer and a common power line disposed on the gate insulating layer; a source electrode and a drain electrode disposed on the gate insulating layer and the active layer; and a planarization layer disposed on the gate insulating layer, the source electrode, the active layer, the drain electrode, and the common power line, wherein the 1-1 th electrode is connected to the source electrode via a source connection line as a contact-hole, and wherein the second electrode is connected to the common power line via a connection line as a contact-hole.
Moon teaches in Fig. 5 and related text the substrate includes:
a base substrate (100; [0089]);
a gate electrode (GE; [0091]) disposed on the base substrate;
a gate insulating layer (103; [0091]) disposed on the base substrate and the gate electrode;
an active layer (SCL; [0093]) and a common power line (CL; [0038]) disposed on the gate insulating layer;
a source electrode (SE; [0095]) and a drain electrode (DE; [0096]) disposed on the gate insulating layer and the active layer; and
a planarization layer (110; [0088]) disposed on the gate insulating layer, the source electrode, the active layer, the drain electrode, and the common power line,
wherein the 1-1 th electrode (E1; [0101]) is connected to the source electrode via a source connection line (AE; [0101]) as a contact-hole (CCH1; [0101]), and
wherein the second electrode (E2; [0103]) is connected to the common power line via a connection line (CE; [0103]) as a contact-hole (CCH2; [0103]).
Son and Moon are analogous art because they both are directed to light emitting diode display apparatus and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Son with the specified features of Moon because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a substrate including: a base substrate; a gate electrode disposed on the base substrate; a gate insulating layer disposed on the base substrate and the gate electrode; an active layer and a common power line disposed on the gate insulating layer; a source electrode and a drain electrode disposed on the gate insulating layer and the active layer; and a planarization layer disposed on the gate insulating layer, the source electrode, the active layer, the drain electrode, and the common power line, wherein the 1-1 th electrode is connected to the source electrode via a source connection line as a contact-hole, and wherein the second electrode is connected to the common power line via a connection line as a contact-hole, as taught by Moon, in order to provide a pixel circuit including a bottom-gate thin film transistor (TFT) instead of a top-gate TFT as in Son. Bottom gate TFTs primarily offer advantages in manufacturing simplicity and performance stability. They simplify fabrication by allowing the gate to act as a light shield for the channel and often require fewer, less complex processing steps compared to top-gate structures.
Conclusion
/PETER M ALBRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811