DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 12 and 13 and added claim 14.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed November 4, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14, specifically regarding Kamitsuji, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14, specifically regarding Jung, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jung does not disclose providing a service in a monitored task using hardware data obtained by a watchdog task, and does not disclose that a watchdog task is started before a monitored task at processor startup. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The independent claims do not require providing a service using hardware data obtained by a watchdog task, nor do they require a watchdog task to be started before a monitored task at startup. As applied in the present rejection, Jung teaches starting multiple processing units and of a controller, and restarting controlled units and a controller in response to detected abnormalities. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims and do not overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASEGAWA (US 20200005829 A1) in view of Jung (US 20160132378 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, HASEGAWA teaches An in-vehicle device capable of accessing a cloud via a communication unit of a vehicle (See at least paragraph [0023], “The information control GW 10, the basic GW 20, the communication lines 5 and 6, and each of the ECUs 30, 40, and 50 are mounted on the vehicle. The server 60 is placed outside the vehicle. The server 60 is communicable with the information control GW 10 via a communication line 53, an internet network 52, and a base station 51. The base station 51 corresponds to a well-known base station such as a mobile phone, and communicates with the vehicle via a wireless section 15 described later”, paragraph [0028], “The wireless section 15 is configured as a well-known wireless communication module that communicates with the base station 51. The display section 16 is configured as a well-known display that displays an image in accordance with a movie signal”, and paragraph [0148], “The vehicle exterior communication service absorbs the difference between a vehicle exterior protocol and a service bus message to transmit/receive the message with a vehicle exterior service. Specific needs: For the failure diagnosis, the vehicle exterior communication service is utilized when the collected vehicle information is uploaded to the cloud.” The system uses the vehicle exterior communication to upload data to the cloud.), the in-vehicle device comprising: a first controller having at least one physical core configured to execute a first unit to execute processing collecting data of hardware (See at least paragraph [0024], “The information control GW 10, the basic GW 20, and the server 60 mainly include a well-known microcomputer respectively having CPUs 11, 21, and 61, and a semiconductor memory (hereinafter, referred to as memories 12, 22, and 62) such as a RAM, a ROM, or a flash memory”, paragraph [0038], “The basic GW 20 has a function as a gateway apparatus that relays the data, and includes a vehicle information collection section 26A, a vehicle information conversion section 26B, and an in-vehicle software rewrite section 26C, as a configuration of a function implemented by the CPU 21 executing the program. A function of the gateway apparatus relays the data to be relayed between the multiple communication lines 5 and 6 in accordance with a table prepared in advance”, and paragraph [0039], “A function of the vehicle information collection section 26A collects the vehicle information necessary for a failure diagnosis process or the like. The function of the vehicle information collection section 26A may include a function as a vehicle information providing proxy, a diagnosis master, or the like described later.” The system includes the basic GW 20, which corresponds to the first controller implemented by the processor, the basic GW 20 executing the vehicle information collection section 26A corresponding to a first unit that collects vehicle hardware data.), and a second unit to execute processing related to provision of a service using the collected data of the hardware (See at least paragraph [0038], “The basic GW 20 has a function as a gateway apparatus that relays the data, and includes a vehicle information collection section 26A, a vehicle information conversion section 26B, and an in-vehicle software rewrite section 26C, as a configuration of a function implemented by the CPU 21 executing the program. A function of the gateway apparatus relays the data to be relayed between the multiple communication lines 5 and 6 in accordance with a table prepared in advance” and paragraph [0039], “A function of the vehicle information conversion section 26B converts the vehicle information to a data type suitable for a utilized application, and provides the vehicle information. The function of the vehicle information conversion section 26B may include a function as the vehicle information providing proxy or the like described later. That is, the function of the vehicle information conversion section 26B is configured to convert the data stored in the record section to the corresponding preset type in accordance with the type of service or application in a data providing destination. The function of the vehicle information conversion section 26B is configured to output the converted data to the data providing destination.” The system includes the basic GW 20 executing the vehicle information conversion section 26B corresponding to a second unit that executes processing related to provision of a service using the collected vehicle hardware data.), and a second controller configured to start the first controller in response to occurrence of a start trigger (See at least paragraph [0024], “The information control GW 10, the basic GW 20, and the server 60 mainly include a well-known microcomputer respectively having CPUs 11, 21, and 61, and a semiconductor memory (hereinafter, referred to as memories 12, 22, and 62) such as a RAM, a ROM, or a flash memory”, paragraph [0035], “The record condition indicates a condition such as a type of data, a record cycle, a resolution, a collection time, a presence/absence of a signal as a trigger. Details will be described in a vehicle process described later or the like”, and paragraph [0100], “After these processes, the basic GW 20 executes a data transmission process shown in FIG. 8. The data transmission process executed by the basic GW 20 will be described with reference to a flowchart of FIG. 8.” The system includes the information control GW 10 corresponding to a second controller, the information control GW 10 starting the basic GW 20 in response to the occurrence of a start trigger.), (See at least paragraph [0038], “The basic GW 20 has a function as a gateway apparatus that relays the data, and includes a vehicle information collection section 26A, a vehicle information conversion section 26B, and an in-vehicle software rewrite section 26C, as a configuration of a function implemented by the CPU 21 executing the program. A function of the gateway apparatus relays the data to be relayed between the multiple communication lines 5 and 6 in accordance with a table prepared in advance”, paragraph [0039], “A function of the vehicle information collection section 26A collects the vehicle information necessary for a failure diagnosis process or the like. The function of the vehicle information collection section 26A may include a function as a vehicle information providing proxy, a diagnosis master, or the like described later”, and paragraph [0079], “In the periodic diagnosis, for example, it is determined whether the periodic information deviates from standard information prepared in advance. When the periodic information deviates from the standard information, it is determined that there is abnormality.” The system includes the vehicle information conversion section 26B corresponding to a second controller, the vehicle information conversion section 26B configured to detect abnormality of the vehicle information collection section 26A corresponding to the first unit based on collected vehicle information.),
HASEGAWA does not explicitly disclose, however, Jung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first controller is configured to start the first unit and then start the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller (See at least paragraph [0067], “When an infinite loop is generated due to a fault of another program, the watchdog task may not be executed. Accordingly, the trigger signal and the notification signal may not be transmitted to the watchdog device and the watchdog manager, respectively. The watchdog manager may be configured to execute the fault response procedure when the watchdog count continuously reaches the watchdog warning level. Further, the watchdog driver may be configured to generate the reset signal in response to the watchdog timeout and transmit the generated reset signal to the watchdog manager. In addition, the watchdog manager may be configured to execute the rebooting procedure of the controller based on the received reset signal” and paragraph [0070], “Second, the present invention may provide a method of controlling a watchdog capable of more safely preventing occurrence of repeated resets and an apparatus for the same by recording information about a program group that incurs a fault and the number of resets incurred by the program group in a non-volatile memory and excluding the program group from scheduling targets based on the number of resets during system restart when the system restart is required due to expiration of a watchdog timer.” The first controller is the watchdog manager overseeing restart sequences. The layered tasks are restarted in a staged manner, one functional unit is restarted before the other so the first controller starts the first unit (control task) and a second unit (service task) in order.); the second controller is configured to detect an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller (See at least paragraph [0066], “Referring to FIG. 10, a watchdog task of a watchdog driver may be executed at the end of another program task to respond to occurrence of a fault of another program task. The watchdog task may be configured to transmit a notification signal to a watchdog manager simultaneously (e.g., at the same time) as transmitting the trigger signal to the watchdog device. When the trigger signal is detected, the watchdog device may be configured to reset the watchdog count. In addition, when a watchdog manager notification signal is received, the internal watchdog count may be initialized” and paragraph [0067], “When an infinite loop is generated due to a fault of another program, the watchdog task may not be executed. Accordingly, the trigger signal and the notification signal may not be transmitted to the watchdog device and the watchdog manager, respectively. The watchdog manager may be configured to execute the fault response procedure when the watchdog count continuously reaches the watchdog warning level. Further, the watchdog driver may be configured to generate the reset signal in response to the watchdog timeout and transmit the generated reset signal to the watchdog manager. In addition, the watchdog manager may be configured to execute the rebooting procedure of the controller based on the received reset signal.”); the first unit is configured to detect an abnormality of the second unit (See at least paragraph [0066], “Referring to FIG. 10, a watchdog task of a watchdog driver may be executed at the end of another program task to respond to occurrence of a fault of another program task. The watchdog task may be configured to transmit a notification signal to a watchdog manager simultaneously (e.g., at the same time) as transmitting the trigger signal to the watchdog device. When the trigger signal is detected, the watchdog device may be configured to reset the watchdog count. In addition, when a watchdog manager notification signal is received, the internal watchdog count may be initialized” and paragraph [0067], “When an infinite loop is generated due to a fault of another program, the watchdog task may not be executed. Accordingly, the trigger signal and the notification signal may not be transmitted to the watchdog device and the watchdog manager, respectively. The watchdog manager may be configured to execute the fault response procedure when the watchdog count continuously reaches the watchdog warning level. Further, the watchdog driver may be configured to generate the reset signal in response to the watchdog timeout and transmit the generated reset signal to the watchdog manager. In addition, the watchdog manager may be configured to execute the rebooting procedure of the controller based on the received reset signal.” Failure of a monitored task (the second unit) to execute causes the watchdog task (first unit) to timeout, triggering fault handling. The first unit detects an abnormality based on absence of the expected behavior.), and the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected, and restart the first unit (See at least paragraph [0066], “Referring to FIG. 10, a watchdog task of a watchdog driver may be executed at the end of another program task to respond to occurrence of a fault of another program task. The watchdog task may be configured to transmit a notification signal to a watchdog manager simultaneously (e.g., at the same time) as transmitting the trigger signal to the watchdog device. When the trigger signal is detected, the watchdog device may be configured to reset the watchdog count. In addition, when a watchdog manager notification signal is received, the internal watchdog count may be initialized”, paragraph [0067], “When an infinite loop is generated due to a fault of another program, the watchdog task may not be executed. Accordingly, the trigger signal and the notification signal may not be transmitted to the watchdog device and the watchdog manager, respectively. The watchdog manager may be configured to execute the fault response procedure when the watchdog count continuously reaches the watchdog warning level. Further, the watchdog driver may be configured to generate the reset signal in response to the watchdog timeout and transmit the generated reset signal to the watchdog manager. In addition, the watchdog manager may be configured to execute the rebooting procedure of the controller based on the received reset signal,” and paragraph [0070], “Second, the present invention may provide a method of controlling a watchdog capable of more safely preventing occurrence of repeated resets and an apparatus for the same by recording information about a program group that incurs a fault and the number of resets incurred by the program group in a non-volatile memory and excluding the program group from scheduling targets based on the number of resets during system restart when the system restart is required due to expiration of a watchdog timer.”), the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected (See at least paragraph [0070], “Second, the present invention may provide a method of controlling a watchdog capable of more safely preventing occurrence of repeated resets and an apparatus for the same by recording information about a program group that incurs a fault and the number of resets incurred by the program group in a non-volatile memory and excluding the program group from scheduling targets based on the number of resets during system restart when the system restart is required due to expiration of a watchdog timer.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].).
With respect to claim 12, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1, which is commensurate in scope to claim 12, with claim 1 being drawn to a system for a vehicle and claim 12 being drawn to a corresponding method.
With respect to claim 13, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1, which is commensurate in scope to claim 12, with claim 1 being drawn to a system for a vehicle and claim 13 being drawn to a corresponding system including computer-executable instructions.
Claim(s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASEGAWA (US 20200005829 A1) in view of Jung (US 20160132378 A1) and AHMED (US 20160328254 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, AHMED, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, the first unit includes a first operating system, the second unit includes a second operating system, and the at least one physical core is configured to execute firmware to start the first operating system and then start the second operating system when the first controller is started by the second controller (See at least paragraph [0069], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, while sharing the same display (cluster display 426) and sharing much of the same hardware (e.g., a system-on-a-chip), the architecture of FIG. 4 provides for partitioning between domains. The architecture shown in FIG. 4 provides a computer system for integration with a vehicle user interface (e.g., input devices, display 426). In some embodiments, multi-core processing environment 400 includes a multi-core processor. Multi-core processing environment 400 may be configured to provide virtualization for a first guest operating system (e.g., QNX OS 416) in a first core (e.g., Core 0) or cores of the multi-core processor. Multi-core processing environment 400 may be configured to provide virtualization for at least a second guest operating system (e.g., Linux OS 418) in a second and different core (e.g., Core 1) or cores of the multi-core processor. The first guest operating system (e.g., “real time” QNX OS 416) may be configured for high reliability operation. The dedication of an operating system to its own core using asymmetric multi-processing (AMP) to provide the virtualization advantageously helps to prevent operations of the second guest operating system (e.g., Linux OS 418) from disrupting the high reliability operation of the first guest operating system (e.g., QNX OS 416).” The multi-core processing environment includes a first guest OS (QNX) and a second guest OS (LINUX) assigned to separate cores using AMP. QNX is a high-reliability real-time OS and is initialized first via firmware, followed by Linux, to ensure reliability.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and AHMED such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the first unit including a first operating system, the second unit including a second operating system, and the at least one physical core is configured to execute firmware to start the first operating system and then start the second operating system when the first controller is started by the second controller, as taught by AHMED (See paragraph [0069].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be preventing operations of the second operating system from disrupting the high reliability operation of the first operating system, as taught by AHMED (See paragraph [0003].).
Regarding Claim 3, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, AHMED, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first unit includes a first operating system, the second unit includes a second operating system, and the first operating system is configured to start the second operating system when the first controller is started by the second controller (See at least paragraph [0069], “As illustrated in FIG. 4, while sharing the same display (cluster display 426) and sharing much of the same hardware (e.g., a system-on-a-chip), the architecture of FIG. 4 provides for partitioning between domains. The architecture shown in FIG. 4 provides a computer system for integration with a vehicle user interface (e.g., input devices, display 426). In some embodiments, multi-core processing environment 400 includes a multi-core processor. Multi-core processing environment 400 may be configured to provide virtualization for a first guest operating system (e.g., QNX OS 416) in a first core (e.g., Core 0) or cores of the multi-core processor. Multi-core processing environment 400 may be configured to provide virtualization for at least a second guest operating system (e.g., Linux OS 418) in a second and different core (e.g., Core 1) or cores of the multi-core processor. The first guest operating system (e.g., “real time” QNX OS 416) may be configured for high reliability operation. The dedication of an operating system to its own core using asymmetric multi-processing (AMP) to provide the virtualization advantageously helps to prevent operations of the second guest operating system (e.g., Linux OS 418) from disrupting the high reliability operation of the first guest operating system (e.g., QNX OS 416).” The multi-core processing environment includes a first guest OS (QNX) and a second guest OS (LINUX) assigned to separate cores using AMP. QNX is a high-reliability real-time OS and is initialized first, and starts the LINUX OS, enabling reliable control over the startup sequence.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and AHMED such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the first unit including a first operating system, the second unit including a second operating system, and the first operating system is configured to start the second operating system when the first controller is started by the second controller, as taught by AHMED (See paragraph [0069].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be preventing operations of the second operating system from disrupting the high reliability operation of the first operating system, as taught by AHMED (See paragraph [0003].).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASEGAWA (US 20200005829 A1) in view of Jung (US 20160132378 A1) and TOSA (US 20160234654 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, TOSA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the start trigger includes at least receiving of a starting instruction from the cloud by the communication unit (See at least paragraph [0095], “Furthermore, according to the present embodiment 1, the cloud communication unit 11 receives from the cloud server 2 the communication establishment information necessary for establishing the intervehicle communication between the intervehicle communication unit 13 and the onboard apparatus of the other vehicle before the area that enables the intervehicle communication of the intervehicle communication unit 13 comes into contact with the area that enables the intervehicle communication of the onboard apparatus of the other vehicle. Thus, it can establish the intervehicle communication at the same time that its own vehicle and the other vehicle enter the area that enables the intervehicle communication.” The communication unit (cloud communication unit 11) receives communication from a cloud server (server 2) which initiates intervehicle communication, corresponding to the start trigger by receiving a starting instruction from the cloud by the communication unit.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and TOSA such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the start trigger including at least receiving of a starting instruction from the cloud by the communication unit, as taught by TOSA (See paragraph [0095].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be reducing real communication time for exchanging required information for vehicle control and driving support, as taught by TOSA (See paragraph [0009].).
Regarding Claim 14, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA does not explicitly disclose, however, Jung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first unit is restarted and then the second unit is restarted during the restart of the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected, and the second controller is restarted, the first unit is restarted and then the second unit is restarted during the restart of the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected (See at least paragraph [0066], “Referring to FIG. 10, a watchdog task of a watchdog driver may be executed at the end of another program task to respond to occurrence of a fault of another program task. The watchdog task may be configured to transmit a notification signal to a watchdog manager simultaneously (e.g., at the same time) as transmitting the trigger signal to the watchdog device. When the trigger signal is detected, the watchdog device may be configured to reset the watchdog count. In addition, when a watchdog manager notification signal is received, the internal watchdog count may be initialized”, paragraph [0067], “When an infinite loop is generated due to a fault of another program, the watchdog task may not be executed. Accordingly, the trigger signal and the notification signal may not be transmitted to the watchdog device and the watchdog manager, respectively. The watchdog manager may be configured to execute the fault response procedure when the watchdog count continuously reaches the watchdog warning level. Further, the watchdog driver may be configured to generate the reset signal in response to the watchdog timeout and transmit the generated reset signal to the watchdog manager. In addition, the watchdog manager may be configured to execute the rebooting procedure of the controller based on the received reset signal,” and paragraph [0070], “Second, the present invention may provide a method of controlling a watchdog capable of more safely preventing occurrence of repeated resets and an apparatus for the same by recording information about a program group that incurs a fault and the number of resets incurred by the program group in a non-volatile memory and excluding the program group from scheduling targets based on the number of resets during system restart when the system restart is required due to expiration of a watchdog timer.” The system detects abnormality of processing and executes a recovery procedure in which controlled processing is restarted, and when abnormality of supervisory processing is detected, the system executes a reboot procedure followed by restarting of controlled processing.).
HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, ANDO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first unit executes processing with real-time responsiveness and having a lower load and higher reliability than processing in the second unit, the second controller executes processing with real-time responsiveness and having a lower load and higher reliability than the processing in the first unit (See at least paragraph [0111], “Thus, on the conditions that the communication band of the intervehicle communication unit 13 has leeway and the processing loads of the onboard apparatuses 1A and 1B have a margin, the controller 12 maximizes the communication band used by the intervehicle communication unit 13 and the processing loads of the onboard apparatus 1A and 1B to increase the intervehicle communication traffic so as to transmit the content information ahead of time.” The system executes real-time processing with controlled processing load and reliability margin relative to service processing, and executes real-time supervisory processing with lower processing load and higher reliability, as taught by managing processing load to maintain margin for reliable operation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and TOSA such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected; and the first unit is restarted and then the second unit is restarted during the restart of the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected, and the second controller is restarted, the first unit is restarted and then the second unit is restarted during the restart of the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the first unit executes processing with real-time responsiveness and having a lower load and higher reliability than processing in the second unit, the second controller executes processing with real-time responsiveness and having a lower load and higher reliability than the processing in the first unit, as taught by TOSA (See paragraph [0095].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be reducing real communication time for exchanging required information for vehicle control and driving support, as taught by TOSA (See paragraph [0009].).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASEGAWA (US 20200005829 A1) in view of Jung (US 20160132378 A1) and ANDO (US 20200377055 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, ANDO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein operation modes of the in-vehicle device include at least a service execution mode in which the first unit and the second unit are operable and the second controller operates, a low power mode in which the first unit and the second unit are stopped and at least one of functions of the second controller operates, and a stop mode in which the first unit, the second unit and the second controller are stopped, the second controller is configured to operate to implement the low power mode when the first unit and the second unit are stopped due to a driving stopping operation of the vehicle during the service execution mode, the second controller is configured to operate to implement the service execution mode when the first unit and the second unit are started in response to occurrence of the start trigger during the low power mode, and the second controller is configured to stop operating to implement the stop mode when a voltage of a power supply to the in-vehicle device decreases during the low power mode (See at least paragraph [0088], “S1 in FIG. 5 represents transition from the sleep mode M1 to the wake mode M2. For example, S1 occurs in a case where an electric power mode request for a switch to the wake mode M2 is received by the vehicle control interface 300 when the electric power mode is the sleep mode M1 or in a case where a signal (unlocking signal) for unlocking a door is received from the portable machine of the user when the electric power mode is the sleep mode M1. Hereinafter, the electric power mode request for a switch to the wake mode M2 may be referred to as a wake request. The wake request corresponds to the activation signal as described above. An electric power mode request is a control instruction for a switch between the electric power modes, which is sent from the low-voltage ECU 102 of the vehicle platform 100 or the autonomous driving ECU 201 of the autonomous driving platform 200. For example, when the autonomous driving controller 2012 of the autonomous driving platform 200 receives a signal instructing that the vehicle be moved from the center server or the terminal carried by the user via the communication unit 203, the autonomous driving controller 2012 of the autonomous driving platform 200 generates a wake request and transmits the wake request to the vehicle control interface 300. When the activation processing unit 3013 receives the signal, the vehicle control interface 300 is activated by the activation processing unit 3013. In addition, the activation processing unit 3013 transmits the wake request to the vehicle platform 100. When the low-voltage ECU 102 receives the wake request, the low-voltage ECU 102 is activated”, paragraph [0090], “S2 in FIG. 5 represents transition from the wake mode M2 to the sleep mode M1. For example, S2 occurs in a case where an electric power mode request for a switch to the sleep mode M1 is received by the vehicle control interface 300 when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2. Hereinafter, the electric power mode request for a switch to the sleep mode M1 may be referred to as a sleep request. The sleep request corresponds to the shutdown signal as described above. For example, in a case where traveling of the vehicle in accordance with an operation instruction is finished, the autonomous driving controller 2012 of the autonomous driving platform 200 generates a sleep request for shutdown of the vehicle and transmits the sleep request to the vehicle control interface 300. The activation processing unit 3013 of the vehicle control interface 300 receiving the sleep request transmits the sleep request to the vehicle platform 100. Accordingly, the low-voltage ECU 102 of the vehicle platform 100 is shut down. In addition, the activation processing unit 3013 shuts down the vehicle control interface 300”, paragraph [0091], “S3 in FIG. 5 represents transition from the wake mode M2 to the driving mode M3. For example, S3 occurs in a case where an electric power mode request for a switch to the driving mode M3 is received by the vehicle control interface 300 when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2 or in a case where the activation button 110 is pressed by an occupant or the like when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2. Hereinafter, the electric power mode request for a switch to the driving mode M3 may be referred to as a driving request. In a case where the activation button 110 is pressed when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2, the low-voltage ECU 102 transmits a signal for activation of the DC-to-DC converter 503 to the DC-to-DC converter 503, generates a driving request, and transmits the driving request to the high-voltage ECU 101. When the high-voltage ECU 101 receives the driving request, the high-voltage ECU 101 is activated. In addition, in a case where a driving request is issued from the autonomous driving platform 200 as a first control instruction when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2, the driving request is converted into a second control instruction by the vehicle control interface 300 and the second control instruction is transmitted to the low-voltage ECU 102. The low-voltage ECU 102 receiving the second control instruction transmits a signal for activation of the DC-to-DC converter 503 to the DC-to-DC converter 503, generates a driving request, and transmits the driving request to the high-voltage ECU 101. When the high-voltage ECU 101 receives the driving request, the high-voltage ECU 101 is activated”, paragraph [0100], “In step S104, the low-voltage ECU 102 transmits an activation signal to the vehicle control interface 300. In addition, the low-voltage ECU 102 activates the DC-to-DC converter 503 and the high-voltage ECU 101 to achieve a state where electric power can be supplied from the high-voltage battery 501. When the vehicle control interface 300 is activated, the low-voltage ECU 102 performs authentication of the autonomous driving platform 200 separately. Meanwhile, in a case where the result of the determination in step S103 is negative, the low-voltage ECU 102 terminates the present routine with the electric power mode maintained at the sleep mode M1”, and paragraph [0113], “In step S305, the low-voltage ECU 102 causes the electric power mode to transition to the sleep mode M1. The low-voltage ECU 102 generates a shutdown signal and transmits the shutdown signal to the vehicle control interface 300. The activation processing unit 3013 receiving the shutdown signal shuts down the vehicle control interface 300. In addition, the low-voltage ECU 102 shuts down the vehicle platform 100 by shutting down the high-voltage ECU 101, the DC-to-DC converter 503, and the low-voltage ECU 102 sequentially.” The system has three distinct operation modes: sleep mode M1, wake mode M2, and driving mode M3 that correspond to stop mode, low power mode, and service execution mode. The second controller (low-voltage ECU 102) manages the transitions based on vehicle state changes and executes shutdown logic.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and ANDO such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and operation modes of the in-vehicle device include at least a service execution mode in which the first unit and the second unit are operable and the second controller operates, a low power mode in which the first unit and the second unit are stopped and at least one of functions of the second controller operates, and a stop mode in which the first unit, the second unit and the second controller are stopped, the second controller is configured to operate to implement the low power mode when the first unit and the second unit are stopped due to a driving stopping operation of the vehicle during the service execution mode, the second controller is configured to operate to implement the service execution mode when the first unit and the second unit are started in response to occurrence of the start trigger during the low power mode, and the second controller is configured to stop operating to implement the stop mode when a voltage of a power supply to the in-vehicle device decreases during the low power mode, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0088], [0090], [0091], [0100], [0113].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing operation of the device when the vehicle cannot travel, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 6, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 5, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, ANDO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second controller is configured to start operating and start the first controller to implement the service execution mode when the voltage of the power supply exceeds a predetermined threshold value and a driving start operation of the vehicle is received during the stop mode (See at least paragraph [0095], “S5 in FIG. 5 represents transition from the sleep mode M1 to the driving mode M3. S5 occurs in a case where the activation button 110 is pressed by an occupant or the like when the electric power mode is the sleep mode M1, for example. Note that, when the electric power mode is the sleep mode M1, authentication of the autonomous driving platform 200 has not been performed yet and thus the autonomous driving platform 200 cannot issue an instruction to transition from the sleep mode M1 to the driving mode M3 directly (even when autonomous driving platform 200 issues such instruction, vehicle platform 100 ignores instruction). In a case where the activation button 110 is pressed when the electric power mode is the sleep mode M1, the high-voltage ECU 101 and the low-voltage ECU 102 are activated. In this case, the low-voltage ECU 102 is activated first and then the low-voltage ECU 102 transmits a signal for activation of the DC-to-DC converter 503 to the DC-to-DC converter 503. Then, the low-voltage ECU 102 activates the high-voltage ECU 101 after the DC-to-DC converter 503 is activated. In addition, the low-voltage ECU 102 transmits an activation signal to the vehicle control interface 300. When the activation processing unit 3013 receives the signal, the vehicle control interface 300 is activated by the activation processing unit 3013. At the time of transition from the sleep mode M1 to the driving mode M3 also, the low-voltage ECU 102 may defer activation of the DC-to-DC converter 503 until authentication of the autonomous driving platform 200 succeeds.” The system has three distinct operation modes: sleep mode M1, wake mode M2, and driving mode M3 that correspond to stop mode, low power mode, and service execution mode. The second controller (low-voltage ECU 102) manages the transitions based on vehicle state changes and executes shutdown logic. When power supply voltage increases and the ignition switch is turned ON, the controller starts operating and transitions from sleep mode (M1) back to driving mode (M3), the condition of voltage exceeds a threshold and driving start operation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and ANDO such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the second controller is configured to start operating and start the first controller to implement the service execution mode when the voltage of the power supply exceeds a predetermined threshold value and a driving start operation of the vehicle is received during the stop mode, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0095].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing operation of the device when the vehicle cannot travel, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 7, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, ANDO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first unit includes at least a process for collecting information relating to the vehicle and/or information detected via a sensor mounted on the vehicle, and the second unit includes at least an image recognition process (See at least paragraph [0054], “Next, the autonomous driving platform 200 will be described. The autonomous driving platform 200 is a device that senses the vicinity of the vehicle, generates a plan about a traveling operation based on the result of a sensing operation, and issues an instruction with respect to the vehicle platform 100 according to the plan. The autonomous driving platform 200 may be developed by a maker or a vendor different from that of the vehicle platform 100. The autonomous driving platform 200 is configured to include an autonomous driving ECU 201, a sensor group 202, and a communication unit 203. The autonomous driving ECU 201 is an example of the third controller”, paragraph [0056], “The situation recognition unit 2011 detects a surrounding environment around the vehicle based on data acquired by a sensor included in the sensor group 202, which will be described later. Examples of a target to be detected include the number of lanes or the positions of lanes, the number of vehicles present in the vicinity of a host vehicle or the positions of the other vehicles, the number of obstacles (for example, pedestrian, bicycle, structure, and building) present in the vicinity of the host vehicle or the positions of the obstacles, the structure of a road, and a traffic sign. However, the target to be detected is not limited thereto. The target to be detected may be any type of target that needs to be detected for autonomous travel. Data about the environment detected by the situation recognition unit 2011 (hereinafter, referred to as environment data) is transmitted to the autonomous driving controller 2012, which will be described later”, and paragraph [0067], “The sensor group 202 is means for sensing the vicinity of the vehicle, and is typically configured to include a monocular camera, a stereo camera, a radar, a LIDAR, a laser scanner, and the like. The sensor group 202 may include means (GPS module or like) for acquiring the current position of the vehicle in addition to means for sensing the vicinity of the vehicle. Information acquired by a sensor included in the sensor group 202 is transmitted to the autonomous driving ECU 201 (situation recognition unit 2011) as needed.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and ANDO such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the first unit including at least a process for collecting information relating to the vehicle and/or information detected via a sensor mounted on the vehicle, and the second unit includes at least an image recognition process, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0054], [0056], [0067].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing operation of the device when the vehicle cannot travel, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 8, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, ANDO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second controller is configured to transmit a stop instruction to the first controller to stop in response to receiving a driving stop operation of the vehicle during a service execution mode in which the first unit and the second unit are operable and the second controller operates, and the first controller is configured to stop the second unit and then stop the first unit when receiving the stop instruction from the second controller during the service execution mode (See at least paragraph [0113], “In step S305, the low-voltage ECU 102 causes the electric power mode to transition to the sleep mode M1. The low-voltage ECU 102 generates a shutdown signal and transmits the shutdown signal to the vehicle control interface 300. The activation processing unit 3013 receiving the shutdown signal shuts down the vehicle control interface 300. In addition, the low-voltage ECU 102 shuts down the vehicle platform 100 by shutting down the high-voltage ECU 101, the DC-to-DC converter 503, and the low-voltage ECU 102 sequentially”, paragraph [0116], “FIG. 10 is a flowchart showing the flow of control that is performed in the vehicle control interface 300 when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2 or the driving mode M3. Processing as in the present flowchart is repeatedly performed by the activation processing unit 3013 for each time a predetermined time elapses when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2 or the driving mode M3. In step S501, the activation processing unit 3013 determines whether or not a shutdown signal has been received. The shutdown signal is sent from the low-voltage ECU 102 of the vehicle platform 100 or the autonomous driving ECU 201 of the autonomous driving platform 200. In a case where the result of the determination in step S501 is positive, the process proceeds to step S502 and in a case where the result of the determination in step S501 is negative, the present routine is terminated with the electric power mode maintained at the wake mode M2 or the driving mode M3”, and paragraph [0117], “FIG. 10 is a flowchart showing the flow of control that is performed in the vehicle control interface 300 when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2 or the driving mode M3. Processing as in the present flowchart is repeatedly performed by the activation processing unit 3013 for each time a predetermined time elapses when the electric power mode is the wake mode M2 or the driving mode M3. In step S501, the activation processing unit 3013 determines whether or not a shutdown signal has been received. The shutdown signal is sent from the low-voltage ECU 102 of the vehicle platform 100 or the autonomous driving ECU 201 of the autonomous driving platform 200. In a case where the result of the determination in step S501 is positive, the process proceeds to step S502 and in a case where the result of the determination in step S501 is negative, the present routine is terminated with the electric power mode maintained at the wake mode M2 or the driving mode M3.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and ANDO such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the second controller transmitting a stop instruction to the first controller to stop in response to receiving a driving stop operation of the vehicle during a service execution mode in which the first unit and the second unit are operable and the second controller operates, and the first controller is configured to stop the second unit and then stop the first unit when receiving the stop instruction from the second controller during the service execution mode, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0113], [0116], [0117].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing operation of the device when the vehicle cannot travel, as taught by ANDO (See paragraph [0005].).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASEGAWA (US 20200005829 A1) in view of Jung (US 20160132378 A1) and SIMONCINI (US 20210354704 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, SIMONCINI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second unit includes at least one application that has been virtualized via container-based virtualization and an operating system that operates the at least one application, and the at least one application is configured to execute processing using a software resource provided in the operating system (See at least paragraph [0073], “The resource management component 504 includes a virtualization application (e.g., executing on hardware, such as computing hardware 503) capable of virtualizing computing hardware 503 to start (e.g., create or spin up), stop (e.g., delete or tear down), and/or manage one or more virtual computing systems 506. Such virtualization may include operating system virtualization, shared kernel virtualization (e.g., container-based virtualization), kernel level virtualization, hypervisor virtualization, paravirtualization, full virtualization, hardware virtualization, and/or the like. The resource management component 504 may control access to and/or use of computing hardware 503 and/or software executing on computing hardware 503. Additionally, or alternatively, the resource management component 504 may perform binary rewriting to scan instructions received from a virtual computing system 506 and replace any privileged instructions with safe emulations of those instructions. The resource management component 504 may include a hypervisor or a virtual machine monitor, such as when the virtual computing systems 506 are virtual machines 511. Additionally, or alternatively, the resource management component 504 may include a container manager, such as when the virtual computing systems 506 are containers 512.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and SIMONCINI such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the second unit including at least one application that has been virtualized via container-based virtualization and an operating system that operates the at least one application, and the at least one application is configured to execute processing using a software resource provided in the operating system, as taught by SIMONCINI (See paragraph [0073].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be decreasing wear-and-tear on the vehicles and components thus reducing maintenance costs, as taught by SIMONCINI (See paragraph [0015].).
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASEGAWA (US 20200005829 A1) in view of Jung (US 20160132378 A1) and Yamane (US 20200290649 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, Yamane, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first unit includes at least one first application, the second unit comprises at least one second application, the second controller is configured to start the first controller in response to occurrence of one of multiple start triggers, the first unit is configured to start a first application corresponding to a start trigger that has occurred, when the first unit is started by the first controller, and the second unit is configured to start a second application corresponding to a start trigger that has occurred, when the second unit is started by the first controller (See at least paragraph [0084], “The trigger information 182 is generated in association with, for example, a trigger and a start time designated in advance by the occupant P. For example, the occupant P designates a trigger and a start time at which an autonomous parking event related to a return is started with a trigger by using a vehicle cooperation application for designating a boarding event using the autonomous parking event applied to the return in the terminal device 500 as the start trigger. In this case, the terminal device 500 is an example of a “receiver”, paragraph [0085], “The automated driving control device 100 may execute the application and the HMI 30 may receive an operation by the occupant P designating a trigger and a start time at which an autonomous parking event related to a return starts by the trigger. In this case, the HMI 30 is an example of a “receiver”, and paragraph [0086], “In FIG. 6, a trigger TG1 acquired from the terminal device 500 in response to settlement with electronic money performed in a convenience store and “the time of acquisition of trigger” which is a start time of the autonomous parking event related to the return are associated with each other. A trigger TG2 which is a first trigger and is acquired from the personal computer PC which has been turned off, a trigger TG3 which is a second trigger and is acquired from the exit gate GT recognizing exit of the occupant P, and “the time of acquisition of the second trigger” which is a start time are associated with each other. A trigger TG4 which is the first trigger and is acquired from the terminal device 500 in response to settlement with electronic money performed in a hospital, a trigger TG5 which is the second trigger and is acquired from the terminal device 500 in response to settlement with electronic money performed in a pharmacy, and “after 10 minutes from the acquisition of the second trigger” which is a start time are associated with each other. A trigger TG6 which is the first trigger and is acquired from the illumination switching device SW that has turned off an illumination in a room on the second floor, a trigger TG7 which is the second trigger and is acquired from the illumination switching device SW that has turned off an illumination of a room on the first floor, and “the time of acquisition of the second trigger” which is a start time are associated with each other.” Multiple start triggers (TG1-TG7) are each associated with different events or actions, including autonomous parking initiated via user-designated triggers. The triggers execute specific applications, starting applications correspond to the trigger.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and Yamane such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the first unit including at least one first application, the second unit comprises at least one second application, the second controller is configured to start the first controller in response to occurrence of one of multiple start triggers, the first unit is configured to start a first application corresponding to a start trigger that has occurred, when the first unit is started by the first controller, and the second unit is configured to start a second application corresponding to a start trigger that has occurred, when the second unit is started by the first controller, as taught by Yamane (See paragraph [0084], [0085], [0086].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing convenience for the user, as taught by Yamane (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 11, HASEGAWA and Jung teach The in-vehicle device according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. HASEGAWA and Jung do not explicitly disclose, however, Yamane, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second controller is configured to start the first controller in response to occurrence of one of multiple start triggers, and the first controller is configured to start the first unit and the second unit depending on the start trigger that has occurred (See at least paragraph [0084], “The trigger information 182 is generated in association with, for example, a trigger and a start time designated in advance by the occupant P. For example, the occupant P designates a trigger and a start time at which an autonomous parking event related to a return is started with a trigger by using a vehicle cooperation application for designating a boarding event using the autonomous parking event applied to the return in the terminal device 500 as the start trigger. In this case, the terminal device 500 is an example of a “receiver”, paragraph [0085], “The automated driving control device 100 may execute the application and the HMI 30 may receive an operation by the occupant P designating a trigger and a start time at which an autonomous parking event related to a return starts by the trigger. In this case, the HMI 30 is an example of a “receiver”, and paragraph [0086], “In FIG. 6, a trigger TG1 acquired from the terminal device 500 in response to settlement with electronic money performed in a convenience store and “the time of acquisition of trigger” which is a start time of the autonomous parking event related to the return are associated with each other. A trigger TG2 which is a first trigger and is acquired from the personal computer PC which has been turned off, a trigger TG3 which is a second trigger and is acquired from the exit gate GT recognizing exit of the occupant P, and “the time of acquisition of the second trigger” which is a start time are associated with each other. A trigger TG4 which is the first trigger and is acquired from the terminal device 500 in response to settlement with electronic money performed in a hospital, a trigger TG5 which is the second trigger and is acquired from the terminal device 500 in response to settlement with electronic money performed in a pharmacy, and “after 10 minutes from the acquisition of the second trigger” which is a start time are associated with each other. A trigger TG6 which is the first trigger and is acquired from the illumination switching device SW that has turned off an illumination in a room on the second floor, a trigger TG7 which is the second trigger and is acquired from the illumination switching device SW that has turned off an illumination of a room on the first floor, and “the time of acquisition of the second trigger” which is a start time are associated with each other.” Multiple start triggers (TG1-TG7) are each associated with different events or actions, including autonomous parking initiated via user-designated triggers. The system behavior varies depending on the trigger, with different units or functions starting based on the specific trigger.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of HASEGAWA with the teachings of Jung and Yamane such that the vehicle record control system of HASEGAWA is further configured to utilize the first controller starting the first unit and then starting the second unit when the first controller is started by the second controller; the second controller detecting an abnormality of the first unit and an abnormality of the second controller; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the first unit detecting an abnormality of the second unit; the second controller is configured to restart the first unit and the second unit when the abnormality of the first unit or the abnormality of the second unit is detected; and restarting the first unit, the second unit and the second controller when the abnormality of the second controller is detected, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0066], [0067], [0070].), and the second controller starts the first controller in response to occurrence of one of multiple start triggers, and the first controller is configured to start the first unit and the second unit depending on the start trigger that has occurred, as taught by Yamane (See paragraph [0084], [0085], [0086].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be preventing occurrence of repeated resets from the same clause within the controller, as taught by Jung (See paragraph [0007].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing convenience for the user, as taught by Yamane (See paragraph [0005].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666