DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for the limitation “wherein the luminance levels of the at least two pixels of the first dot are different from luminance levels of at least two corresponding pixels of the third dot” is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of Claim 2.
The rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for the limitation “when the text has black color and the background has white color, the first pixel and the second pixel, have lower luminance levels than the third pixel” is withdrawn in light of the amendment of Claim 4.
The rejection of Claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for the limitation “wherein, when the text has white color and the background has black color, the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel of the first dot have sequentially rising luminance levels” is withdrawn in light of the amendment of Claim 5.
The rejection of Claims 11 – 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for the limitation “wherein the luminance levels of the at least two pixels of the first dot are based on same grayscale values” is withdrawn in light of the amendment of Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 9, 11 – 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaasila et a. (PG Pub 2003/0137522) in view of Miller et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2005/0270444).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaasila et al. teach a display device comprising a pixel unit comprising:
a plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), each of the plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) comprising a first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), a second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), and a third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762),
wherein:
the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) is located in the first direction (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.) from the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762),
the plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) comprise a first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), a second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) adjacent to the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) in the first direction (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.), and a third dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 5th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) adjacent to the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) in a direction opposite to (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.) the first direction (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.); and
based on a determination that the first (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) and second (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) dots display a portion of a text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) and the third dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 5th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) displays a portion of a background (Seen in Figures 168) surrounding the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760), luminance levels of the first (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) and second (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) pixels of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) are equal to one another (Seen in Figure 170) and are different from (Seen in Figure 170) a luminance level of the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) and different from (Seen in Figure 170) the pixels of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) and that the luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760), the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760), and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) are equal to one another (Seen in Figure 170), and
wherein the luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) are different from luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) of the third dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 5th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756).
Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to the first pixel is located in a second direction from the second pixel, and wherein the first pixel and second pixel have a first height in the second direction and a first width, the third pixel has a second height in the second direction and a second width in the first direction, and wherein the second height is more than twice the first height and the first width is greater than the second width.
Miller et al. teach the third pixel (Figure 12, Element 122W. Paragraph 47) is located in a first direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the right direction.) from the first pixel (Figure 12, Element 122G. Paragraph 47) and the second pixel (Figure 12, Element 122R. Paragraph 47), the first pixel (Figure 12, Element 122G. Paragraph 47) is located in a second direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the up direction.) from the second pixel (Figure 12, Element 122R. Paragraph 47), and wherein the first pixel (Figure 12, Element 122G. Paragraph 47) and second pixel (Figure 12, Element 122R. Paragraph 47) have a first height (Seen in Figures 6, 10 – 12, and 20) in the second direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the up direction.) and a first width (Seen in Figures 6, 10 – 12, and 20) in the first direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the right direction.), the third pixel (Figure 12, Element 122W. Paragraph 47) has a second height (Seen in Figures 6, 10 – 12, and 20) in the second direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the up direction.) and a second width (Seen in Figures 6, 10 – 12, and 20) in the first direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the right direction.), and wherein the second height is more than twice the first height (Seen in Figures 6, 10 – 12, and 20) and the first width is greater than the second width (Seen in Figures 6, 10 – 12, and 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. with the pixel circuit of Miller et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. with the teachings of Miller et al. is to provide a color display with improved image quality with reduced jagged lines and banding, as taught by Miller et al. (Paragraph 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 1 (See Above), wherein the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) have sequentially rising (Seen in Figure 170) or falling luminance levels.
Regarding Claim 4, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 3 (See Above), wherein, when the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) has black color (Seen in Figure 170) and the background (Seen in Figures 168) has white color (Seen in Figure 170), the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), have higher (Seen in Figure 170. Paragraph 359. Kaasila et al. discloses that the luminance can be inverse in a bicolor display.) luminance levels than (Seen in Figure 170) the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756).
Regarding Claim 5, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 3 (See Above), wherein, when the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) has white color (Paragraph 321) and the background (Seen in Figures 168) has black color (Paragraph 321), luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) are lower than luminance levels (Seen in Figure 170) of the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756).
Regarding Claim 6, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 3 (See Above), wherein the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) have same luminance levels (Seen in Figure 170).
Regarding Claim 7, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 1 (See Above), further comprising a data driver (Element not shown, but is the driver of the voltages. Paragraph 261) configured to supply data voltages to the plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) based on grayscale values,
wherein the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) have sequentially rising (Seen in Figure 170) or falling grayscale values.
Regarding Claim 8, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 7 (See Above), wherein, when the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) has black color (Seen in Figure 170) and the background (Seen in Figures 168) has white color (Seen in Figure 170), the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) have sequentially falling (Seen in Figure 170. Paragraph 359. Kaasila et al. discloses that the luminance can be inverse in a bicolor display.) grayscale values.
Regarding Claim 9, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 7 (See Above), wherein, when the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) has white color (Paragraph 321) and the background (Seen in Figures 168) has black color (Paragraph 321), the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) have sequentially rising (Seen in Figure 170) grayscale values.
Regarding Claim 11, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 1 (See Above), further comprising a data driver (Element not shown, but is the driver of the voltages. Paragraph 261) configured to supply data voltages to the plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) based on grayscale values,
wherein luminance levels of at least two pixels (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost and the center subpixels in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) are based on same grayscale values (Seen in Figure 170).
Regarding Claim 12, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 11 (See Above), wherein the at least two pixels (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost and the center subpixels in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) are the first (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) and second (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) pixels of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756).
Regarding Claim 21, Kaasila et al. teach an electronic device comprising:
a processor providing grayscale values of a text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) applied with anti-aliasing (Paragraph 1003);
a grayscale correction unit (Figure 182. Paragraphs 771 - 773) correcting the grayscale values; and
a pixel unit comprising a plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), each of the plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) comprising a first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), a second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), and a third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762), wherein the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) is located in the first direction (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.) from the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762),
wherein the plurality of dots (Figures 168 - 171, Element not labeled, but are groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) comprise a first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756), a second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) adjacent to the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) in the first direction (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.), and a third dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 5th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) adjacent to the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) in a direction opposite to the first direction (Figure 171, Element not labeled, but is to the right.),
wherein, based on a determination that the first (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) and second (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) dots display a portion of the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760) and the third dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 5th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) displays a portion of a background (Seen in Figures 168) surrounding the text (Figure 171. Element Character. Paragraphs 759 - 760), the grayscale correction unit (Figure 182. Paragraphs 771 - 773) corrects the grayscale values so that luminance levels of the first (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) and second (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) pixels of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) are equal to one another (Seen in Figure 170) and are different from a luminance level of the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) and different from the pixels of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) and that the luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760), the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760), and the third pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled but is the rightmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraph 760) of the second dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the right most grouping (7th grouping from the left) in the second row. Paragraph 756) are equal to one another (Seen in Figure 170), and
wherein the luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) of the first dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 6th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756) are different from luminance levels of the first pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) and the second pixel (Figures 170 - 171, Element not labeled, but is the center subpixel in the groupings of subpixels (shown as the thicker lines). Paragraphs 752 - 762) of the third dot (Figure 170, Element not labeled, but is the 5th grouping from the left in the second row. Paragraph 756).
Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to the first pixel is located in a second direction from the second pixel.
Miller et al. teach the third pixel (Figure 12, Element 122W. Paragraph 47) is located in a first direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the right direction.) from the first pixel (Figure 12, Element 122G. Paragraph 47) and the second pixel (Figure 12, Element 122R. Paragraph 47), the first pixel (Figure 12, Element 122G. Paragraph 47) is located in a second direction (Figure 12, Element not labeled, but is the up direction.) from the second pixel (Figure 12, Element 122R. Paragraph 47),.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. with the pixel circuit of Miller et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. with the teachings of Miller et al. is to provide a color display with improved image quality with reduced jagged lines and banding, as taught by Miller et al. (Paragraph 11).
Claims 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaasila et a. (PG Pub 2003/0137522) in view of Miller et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2005/0270444) in view of Kitagawa et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0194249).
Regarding Claim 15, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 12 (See Above). Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first pixel of the third dot, the first pixel of the first dot, and the first pixel of the second dot have sequentially rising or falling luminance levels.
Kitagawa et al. teach wherein the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the third dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the three leftmost pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the first dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth through sixth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), and the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the second dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh through ninth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) have sequentially rising (Figure 4B. Paragraph 160) or falling (Figure 4A. Paragraph 160) luminance levels.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. and the pixel circuit of Miller et al. with the edge correction of Kitagawa et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. and Miller et al. with the teachings of Kitagawa et al. is to reduce reverse tilt domain, as taught by Kitagawa et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 15 (See Above). Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to wherein, when the text has black color and the background has white color, the first pixel of the third dot, the first pixel of the first dot, and the first pixel of the second dot have sequentially falling luminance levels.
Kitagawa et al. teach wherein, when the text has black color (Seen in Figure 18A) and the background has white color (Seen in Figure 18A), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the third dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the three leftmost pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the first dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth through sixth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), and the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the second dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh through ninth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) have sequentially falling (Figure 4A. Paragraph 160) luminance levels.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. and the pixel circuit of Miller et al. with the edge correction of Kitagawa et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. and Miller et al. with the teachings of Kitagawa et al. is to reduce reverse tilt domain, as taught by Kitagawa et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 15 (See Above). Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to wherein, when the text has white color and the background has black color, the first pixel of the third dot, the first pixel of the first dot, and the first pixel of the second dot have sequentially rising luminance levels.
Kitagawa et al. teach wherein, when the text has white color (Seen in Figure 18A. Paragraph 84) and the background has black color (Seen in Figure 18A. Paragraph 84), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the third dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the three leftmost pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the first dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth through sixth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), and the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the second dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh through ninth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) have sequentially rising (Figure 4B. Paragraph 160) luminance levels.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. and the pixel circuit of Miller et al. with the edge correction of Kitagawa et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. and Miller et al. with the teachings of Kitagawa et al. is to reduce reverse tilt domain, as taught by Kitagawa et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 18, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 12 (See Above). Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first pixel of the third dot, the first pixel of the first dot, and the first pixel of the second dot have sequentially rising or falling grayscale values.
Kitagawa et al. teach wherein the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the third dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the three leftmost pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the first dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth through sixth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), and the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the second dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh through ninth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) have sequentially rising (Figure 4B. Paragraph 160) or falling (Figure 4A. Paragraph 160) grayscale values.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. and the pixel circuit of Miller et al. with the edge correction of Kitagawa et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. and Miller et al. with the teachings of Kitagawa et al. is to reduce reverse tilt domain, as taught by Kitagawa et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 19, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 18 (See Above). Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to wherein, when the text has black color and the background has white color, the first pixel of the third dot, the first pixel of the first dot, and the first pixel of the second dot have sequentially falling grayscale values.
Kitagawa et al. teach wherein, when the text has black color (Seen in Figure 18A) and the background has white color (Seen in Figure 18A), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the third dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the three leftmost pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the first dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth through sixth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), and the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the second dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh through ninth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) have sequentially falling (Figure 4A. Paragraph 160) grayscale values.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. and the pixel circuit of Miller et al. with the edge correction of Kitagawa et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. and Miller et al. with the teachings of Kitagawa et al. is to reduce reverse tilt domain, as taught by Kitagawa et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Kaasila et al. in view of Miller et al. teach the display device of claim 18 (See Above). Kaasila et al. is silent with regards to wherein, when the text has white color and the background has black color, the first pixel of the third dot, the first pixel of the first dot, and the first pixel of the second dot have sequentially rising grayscale values.
Kitagawa et al. teach wherein, when the text has white color (Seen in Figure 18A. Paragraph 84) and the background has black color (Seen in Figure 18A. Paragraph 84), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the leftmost pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the third dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the three leftmost pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the first dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the fourth through sixth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178), and the first pixel (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh pixel in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) of the second dot (Figure 18A, Element not labeled, but is the seventh through ninth pixels in the 6th row. Paragraphs 177 – 178) have sequentially rising (Figure 4B. Paragraph 160) grayscale values.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the liquid crystal display device of Kaasila et al. and the pixel circuit of Miller et al. with the edge correction of Kitagawa et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kaasila et al. and Miller et al. with the teachings of Kitagawa et al. is to reduce reverse tilt domain, as taught by Kitagawa et al. (Paragraph 6).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that the prior art of record, specifically Kaasila et al., fail to teach at least “wherein the luminance levels of the first pixel and the second pixel of the first dot are different from luminance levels of the first pixel and the second pixel of the third dot.” The examiner notes that the third dot, first dot, and second dot are now being mapped to pixels 5, 6, and 7 respectively of the second row of the shown display. Pixels 5, 6, and 7 of the second row meet both the previous and newly added limitations of at least Claim 1. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s argument and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection presented above, necessitated by the applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brown Elliott (U.S. PG Pub 2014/0035971) discloses different sub-pixel rendering techniques, similar to the instant invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625