DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species D and Species 3, indicating claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 15-17 in the reply filed on October 24, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2, 6, 10, 13, and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “determination unit” in claims 1-4. Generally, the data generation device 300 and control system 600 of Fig. 11 provides support for this element.
The “reception unit” in claims 7 and 16. Generally, the user interface of [0113] provides support for this element.
The “change unit” of claim 9. Generally, the data generation device 300 and control system 600 of Fig. 11 provides support for this element.
The “control unit” of claim 9. Generally, the data generation device 300 and control system 600 of Fig. 11 provides support for this element.
The “generation unit” in claim 12. Generally, the data generation device 300 and control system 600 of Fig. 11 provides support for this element.
The “substrate exchange unit” of claim 17. Paragraphs [0022]-[0025] provide support for this element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 recites a response function performed by no structural element. It is unclear what performs this function. For the purposes of examining, the response is understood to be performed by the change unit similar to the change unit as recited in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Rossing et al. [US 2003/0211297].
For claim 1, Rossing teaches an exposure apparatus (see Fig. 2) comprising:
an exposure module that includes a spatial light modulator (programmable mirror array, see [0027]) and projects pattern light generated by the spatial light modulator onto a substrate (Wx);
a determination unit (computer controller system, see [0043]) configured to, in response to that a plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on a substrate holder include a first substrate having a defect (defective substrate, see [0045]), determine a plurality of substrates to be arranged on the substrate holder from the plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on the substrate holder, based on a predetermined handling method for the first substrate (problems may be solved by different methods using administration system, see [0045]).
For claim 3, Rossing teaches the determination unit is configured to determine a substrate other than the first substrate among the plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on the substrate holder as the plurality of substrates to be arranged on the substrate holder (the defective substrate may be taken out and replaced by a dummy substrate, see [0045]).
For claim 4, Rossing teaches the determination unit is configured to determine a substrate other than the first substrate among the plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on the substrate holder and a second substrate other than the plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on the substrate holder as the plurality of substrates to be arranged on the substrate holder (the defective substrate may be taken out and replaced by a dummy substrate, see [0045]).
For claim 5, Rossing teaches the second substrate is arranged at a position where the first substrate is scheduled to be arranged on the substrate holder (the defective substrate may be taken out and replaced by a dummy substrate, see [0045]).
For claim 7, Rossing teaches a reception unit configured to receive selection of a handling method for the first substrate (user identifies in advance via the computer system, see [0043]).
For claim 15, Rossing teaches arrange the substrate other than the first substrate having the defect on the substrate holder (the defective substrate may be taken out and replaced by a dummy substrate, see [0045]).
For claim 16, Rossing teaches the reception unit is configured to select whether or not to continue exposure processing in response to that the plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on the substrate holder include the first substrate having the defect (user identifies in advance via the computer system, see [0043], the user interaction with the system allows for this functional action).
For claim 17, Rossing teaches a substrate exchange unit configured to, in response to that the plurality of substrates scheduled to be arranged on a substrate holder include the first substrate having the defect, arrange the plurality of substrates on the substrate holder based on the predetermined handling method (a handling arm or arms of the lithographic apparatus 1' can be programmed to select the appropriate substrate from a storage location in any order necessary to maintain a relationship between the holders and the substrates, see [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lous [US 2008/0304030] in view of Lin et al. [US 2015/0077731].
For claim 11, Lous teaches an exposure apparatus (see Fig. 3) comprising:
a first exposure module (ME1) that includes a first spatial light modulator (ME1) and projects pattern (patterned LB1) light generated by the first spatial light modulator onto a substrate (W); and
a control device (CU) configured to generate drawing data for causing the first spatial light modulator to generate pattern (see [0057]) to be exposed on a substrate actually arranged on a substrate holder (inherent to support the substrate W),
wherein the control device is configured to, in response to that the first spatial light modulator includes a defective element that cannot be driven in accordance with the drawing data (defective pixels DP1 of modulator ME1, see [0058]-[0060]), change the drawing data so that the first spatial light modulator including the defective element does not generate pattern light (CU prevents control of DP1, see [0064]), or control the first exposure module so that the pattern light generated by the first spatial light modulator is not projected (further configuration where the first modulator element ME1 is arranged to not receive the first light beam LB1, see [0071]).
Lous fails to teach respective patterns to be exposed on a plurality of substrates actually arranged on a substrate holder.
Lin teaches the first spatial light modulator to generate respective patterns to be exposed on a plurality of substrates actually arranged on a substrate holder (pattern generation on PG 106 for each of the column assemblies for the plurality of wafer 402 on stage 504, see [0017]-[0021], [0051], and Figs. 1A, 5A, and 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of substrates actually arranged on a substrate holder as taught by Lin the exposure apparatus as taught by Lous in order increase the throughput of the apparatus by exposing a plurality of substrate simultaneously.
For claim 12, Lous teaches second exposure module (ME2, see Fig. 3) including a second spatial light modulator (ME2), a generation unit (CU) configured to, in response to that the first spatial light modulator includes the defective element, change the drawing data into a changed drawing data so that the second exposure module different from the first exposure module generates pattern light that is scheduled to be generated by the first exposure module (the second modulator element ME2 such that this corresponding pixel contributes a portion of the second light beam LB2 instead of the portion of the first light beam LB1, see [0064]), the pattern light generated by the second exposure module is projected onto a first substrate onto which the pattern light is scheduled to be projected by the first exposure module (see [0064] and [0071]).
Lous fails to teach a control unit configured to control a position of the substrate holder.
Lin teaches a control unit (120, see Fig. 1A) configured to control a position of the substrate holder (114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control od the substrate position as taught by Lin the projection of second exposure module as taught by Lous in order to provide for positioning of the substrate relative the projection system and perform a step and scan operation in order to project multiple dies on the substrate.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossing in view of Lous.
For claims 8 and 9, Rossing teaches a control unit configured to control a position of the substrate holder (controller for holders WT1 and WT2, see [0041]).
Rossing fails to teach in response to that the spatial light modulator includes a defective element that cannot be driven in accordance with drawing data, the drawing data is changed so that the spatial light modulator including the defective element does not generate pattern light, or the exposure module is controlled so that pattern light generated by the spatial light modulator including the defective element is not projected, wherein the exposure module is provided in a plurality, and the plural exposure modules include a first exposure module and a second exposure module different from the first exposure module, and wherein the exposure apparatus further comprises: a change unit configured to, in response to that the spatial light modulator of the first exposure module includes a defective element that cannot be driven in accordance with drawing data, change the drawing data so that the second exposure module generates pattern light that is scheduled to be generated by the first exposure module; and that the pattern light generated by the second exposure module is projected onto a substrate onto which the pattern light is scheduled to be projected by the first exposure module.
Lous teaches a control device (CU, see Fig. 3) is configured to, in response to that the first spatial light modulator includes a defective element that cannot be driven in accordance with the drawing data (defective pixels DP1 of modulator ME1, see [0058]-[0060]), the drawing data is changed so that the first spatial light modulator including the defective element does not generate pattern light (CU prevents control of DP1, see [0064]), or control the first exposure module so that the pattern light generated by the first spatial light modulator is not projected (further configuration where the first modulator element ME1 is arranged to not receive the first light beam LB1, see [0071]), wherein the exposure module is provided in a plurality, and the plural exposure modules include a first exposure module (ME1) and a second exposure module (ME2) different from the first exposure module, including a second spatial light modulator (ME2), and wherein the exposure apparatus further comprises: a change unit (CU) configured to, in response to that the spatial light modulator of the first exposure module includes a defective element that cannot be driven in accordance with drawing data, change the drawing data so that the second exposure module generates pattern light that is scheduled to be generated by the first exposure module (the second modulator element ME2 such that this corresponding pixel contributes a portion of the second light beam LB2 instead of the portion of the first light beam LB1, see [0064]); and that the pattern light generated by the second exposure module is projected onto a substrate onto which the pattern light is scheduled to be projected by the first exposure module (see [0064] and [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of exposure modules with control as taught by Lous in the exposure apparatus as taught by Rossing in order to perform exposure by correcting for malfunctioning patterning devices and maintaining throughput.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kruijswijk et al. [US 2005/0206868] teaches in Figs. 5-9 rearrangement of a group of wafers based on identified faulty wafers.
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759