Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on April 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The applicant states that claim 1-16 are readable on Species I. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s identification of claims readable on Species I. The examiner first notes the dependent claim 9 recites “the switching material layer comprises a plurality of switching elements that are spaced apart from each other by the interlayer insulating layer in the vertical direction,” on page 26 lines 29-30. The examiner next notes that the structure recited in this limitation is not readable on the structure of Species I, Figures 1A-1C, 4C but rather is readable on the structure of Species II, Figures 2A-2C. Thus, claim 9 along with claims 10-11 that depend from claim 9 are directed toward a non-elected species and are withdrawn from consideration. Therefore, claims 9-11 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 5, 2023 was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification contains the typographical error “the switching material layer 166,” on page 6 paragraph 27. The reference character 116 is understood to refer to the switching material layer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the electrode structure is arranged in a two-dimensional array structure on a plane perpendicular to the vertical direction, and constitutes a plurality of lines extending in a first direction on the plane,” on page 25 lines 11-13. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how a single electrode structure is arranged in a two-dimensional array structure. For examination purposes, claim 1 will be treated as reciting a plurality of electrode structures.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected for containing the same limitation because claims 2-8 depend from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “an inverted ‘L’ shape or an ‘L’ shape,” on page 25 line 28. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it unclear what is meant by enclosing the letter L in quotation marks. For examination purposes, the letter L will be treated as though the letter L is not enclosed in quotation marks.
Claim 4 is also rejected for containing the same limitation because claim 4 depends from claim 3.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the trim pattern has a width overlapping two of the partition wall pillar in the second direction,” on page 26 lines 2-3. The examiner notes that claim 4 depends from claim 3 and that claim 3 recites “a trim pattern having an inverted ‘L’ shape or an ‘L’ shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines of the electrode structure at opposite sides in the first direction,” on page 25 lines 27-29. The above limitation recited in claim 4 renders claim 4 indefinite because it is unclear how the trim pattern as whole has a width overlapping two of the partition wall pillar in the second direction. For examination purposes, this limitation will be treated as though each inverted L shape portion of the trim pattern and each L shape portion of the trim pattern have a width greater than two of the partition wall pillar in the second direction.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the trim pattern on a left side in the first direction and the trim pattern on a right side in the first direction are arranged at staggered positions in the second direction with respect to each other,” on page 26 line 4. The trim pattern on a left side in the first direction and the trim pattern on a right side in the first direction lack antecedent basis because a single trim pattern is previously recited in claim 3. For examination purposes, this limitation will be treated as though each inverted L shape portion of the trim pattern and each L shape portion of the trim pattern are arranged at staggered positions in the second direction with respect to each other.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the second cylinder is arranged in a two-dimensional array structure on a plane perpendicular to the vertical direction, and constitutes a plurality of lines extending in a first direction on the plane,” on page 27 lines 26-29. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how a single second cylinder is arranged in a two-dimensional array structure. For examination purposes, claim 12 will be treated as reciting a plurality of second cylinders.
Claims 13-16 are also rejected for containing the same limitation because claims 13-16 depend from claim 12.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “an inverted ‘L’ shape or an ‘L’ shape,” on page 26 line 12. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it unclear what is meant by enclosing the letter L in quotation marks. For examination purposes, the letter L will be treated as though the letter L is not enclosed in quotation marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa et al. (US 8,299,571) in view of Hinoue et al. (US 10,950,627) further in view of Lue (US 2015/0340371).
Regarding Claim 1:
Ozawa discloses a three-dimensional (3D) vertical memory device, comprising:
a substrate (the resistance-change memory cell array of the first embodiment is formed on a substrate, See col. 6 lines 7-14);
an electrode structure (column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film, See figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6B, ref. nos. 12, 13, col. 3 lines 24-53, and col. 5 lines 54-63. The examiner notes that the vertical electrode and variable resistance film are shown extending in a vertical direction in figure 1A. The examiner also notes that the hole etched into the conductive layers and the insulating films is shown extending in the vertical direction in figure 8A.) extending in a vertical direction on the substrate, the electrode structure having a shape of a first cylinder (column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film have a shape of a cylinder, See figs. 6A-6B, 8A-8B ref. nos. 12, 13), the electrode structure comprising a first electrode (column shaped vertical electrode, See figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6B, ref. no. 12, col. 3 lines 24-53, and col. 5 lines 54-63) and a switching material layer (variable resistance film, See figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6B, ref. no. 13, col. 3 lines 60-67, and col. 4 lines 1-2); and
a gate stack structure (horizontal electrode and interelectrode insulating film, See fig. 1A, ref. no. 11, fig. 8B, ref. nos. 11, 16, and col. 3 lines 23-53) comprising a gate electrode (horizontal electrode, See figs. 1A, 8B, ref. no. 11 and col. 6 lines 6-48) and an interlayer insulating layer (interelectrode insulating film, See fig. 8B, ref. no. 16 and col. 6 lines 6-48) that are alternately stacked on the substrate along a sidewall of the electrode structure, the gate electrode is electrically connected to the switching material layer (the horizontal electrode is electrically connected to the variable resistance film because the horizontal electrode is in contact with the variable resistance film, See figs. 1A, 6A-6B, 8B, ref. nos. 11, 13),
wherein the electrode structure is arranged in a two-dimensional array structure (the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film are arranged in a 2x2 grid, See fig. 9B and col. 6 lines 49-59) on a plane perpendicular to the vertical direction, and constitutes a plurality of lines extending in a first direction on the plane (the two column shaped the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film in the top row are one line and the two column shaped the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film in the top row are one line are a bottom line, See fig. 9B).
Ozawa does not disclose on the plane, the electrode structures of two lines adjacent to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are arranged in a zigzag manner in the first direction with an offset of a 1/2 pitch in the first direction, and a partition wall pillar having a shape of a second cylinder is arranged between the electrode structures adjacent to each other in the first direction.
Hinoue discloses on the plane, the electrode structures of two lines adjacent to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are arranged in a zigzag manner in the first direction with an offset of a 1/2 pitch in the first direction (rows of alternating memory openings and oval shaped pillar structures laterally offset by one half pitch, See fig. 15B, ref. no. 49, 242, 244, col. 29 lines 20-27, and col. 31 lines 5-14), and a partition wall pillar arranged between the electrode structures adjacent to each other in the first direction (oval shaped pillar structures with a etch stop sacrificial liner and a sacrificial fill material, See fig. 15B, ref. nos. 242, 244, and col. 29 lines 11-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-dimensional (3D) vertical memory device of Ozawa to include the electrode structures of two lines adjacent to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are arranged in a zigzag manner in the first direction with an offset of a 1/2 pitch in the first direction and a partition wall pillar arranged between the electrode structures adjacent to each other in the first direction as taught Hinoue so that the column shaped vertical electrodes and variable resistance films can be located closer together to increase memory density.
The above stated combination of Ozawa and Hinoue does not disclose a partition wall pillar having a shape of a second cylinder is arranged between the electrode structures adjacent to each other in the first direction.
Lue discloses a partition wall pillar (Isolation pillar, See figs. 2, 5B, ref. nos. 28, 29 and paragraph 45) having a shape of a second cylinder (the isolation pillars are shown in figures 2 and 5B having a shape of a cylinder, See fig. 2, 5B, ref. nos. 28, 29) is arranged between the electrode structures adjacent to each other in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-dimensional (3D) vertical memory device of Ozawa and Hinoue to include a partition wall pillar having a shape of a second cylinder is arranged between the electrode structures adjacent to each other in the first direction as taught Lue in order to isolated neighboring vertical electrodes and variable resistance films.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above stated combination of Ozawa, Hinoue, and Lue discloses the first cylinder (active pillars, See Lue, fig. 5B, ref. nos. 80-2, 80-3, and paragraph 56) and the second cylinder partially (Isolation pillar, See Lue figs. 5B, ref. no. 29 and paragraph 45) overlap each other in the first direction (See Lue fig. 5B, ref. nos. 29, 80-2, 80-3. The examiner also notes the Hinoue teaches each memory opening cuts through a segment of each etch stop sacrificial line, See Hinoue fig. 15B, ref. nos. 49, 242, and col. 29 lines 53-57); a horizontal cross section of the first cylinder has a circular shape (See Lue, fig. 5B, ref. nos. 80-2, 80-3, and paragraph 56); and a horizontal cross section of the second cylinder comprises a concave portion at opposite sides thereof in the first direction (See Lue figs. 5B, ref. no. 29).
Regarding Claim 5:
Ozawa discloses the first electrode is arranged in a central portion of the first cylinder (column shaped vertical electrode is in the center the cylinder include the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film, See figs. 6A-6B, 8A-8B ref. nos. 12, 13), the first electrode having a shape of a third cylinder having a smaller diameter than the first cylinder (See figs. 6A-6B, 8A-8B ref. no. 12); and the switching material layer (variable resistance film has a circular pipe shape extending in the vertical direction and surrounding the column shaped vertical electrode, See figs. 1A, 6A-6B, 8A-8B ref. nos. 12, 13) has a circular pipe shape extending in the vertical direction and surrounding the first electrode.
Regarding Claim 6:
Ozawa discloses the switching material layer comprises a bottom surface that covers a lower surface of the third cylinder (The examiner notes the fabrication process for forming the variable resistance layer deposits material for forming the variable resistance layer at the bottom of the hole and this material will cover the bottom surface of the vertical electrode, See figs. 8A, 8B and col. 22-48).
Regarding Claim 12:
Ozawa discloses a three-dimensional (3D) vertical memory device, comprising:
a substrate (the resistance-change memory cell array of the first embodiment is formed on a substrate, See col. 6 lines 7-14);
a first electrode (column shaped vertical electrode, See figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6B, ref. nos. 12, col. 3 lines 24-53, and col. 5 lines 54-63. The examiner notes that the vertical electrode is shown extending in a vertical direction in figure 1A. The examiner also notes that the hole etched into the conductive layers and the insulating films is shown extending in the vertical direction in figure 8A.) on the substrate, the first electrode extending in a vertical direction and having a shape of a first cylinder (the column shaped vertical electrode has a shape of a first cylinder, See figs. 6A-6B, 8A-8B, ref. no. 12);
a switching material layer (variable resistance film, See figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6B, ref. nos. 12, 13, col. 3 lines 24-53, and col. 5 lines 54-63. The examiner notes that the variable resistance film is shown extending in a vertical direction in figure 1A. The examiner also notes that the hole etched into the conductive layers and the insulating films is shown extending in the vertical direction in figure 8A.) having a circular pipe shape extending in the vertical direction and surrounding the first electrode (the variable resistance film has a circular pipe shape extending in the vertical direction and surrounding the column shaped vertical electrode, See figs. 1A, 6A-6B, 8A-8B, ref. nos. 12, 13); and
a gate stack structure (horizontal electrode and interelectrode insulating film, See fig. 1A, ref. no. 11, fig. 8B, ref. nos. 11, 16, and col. 3 lines 23-53) comprising a gate electrode (horizontal electrode, See figs. 1A, 8B, ref. no. 11 and col. 6 lines 6-48) and an interlayer insulating layer (interelectrode insulating film, See fig. 8B, ref. no. 16 and col. 6 lines 6-48) that are alternately stacked on the substrate along a sidewall of the switching material layer, the gate electrode is electrically connected to the switching material layer (the horizontal electrode is electrically connected to the variable resistance film because the horizontal electrode is in contact with the variable resistance film, See figs. 1A, 6A-6B, 8B, ref. nos. 11, 13),
wherein the first electrode and the switching material layer together have a shape of a second cylinder (column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film have a shape of a cylinder, See figs. 6A-6B, 8A-8B ref. nos. 12, 13), wherein the second cylinder is arranged in a two-dimensional array structure (the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film are arranged in a 2x2 grid, See fig. 9B and col. 6 lines 49-59) on a plane perpendicular to the vertical direction, and constitutes a plurality of lines extending in a first direction on the plane (the two column shaped the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film in the top row are one line and the two column shaped the column shaped vertical electrode and variable resistance film in the top row are one line are a bottom line, See fig. 9B).
Ozawa does not disclose on the plane, the second cylinders of two lines adjacent to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are arranged in a zigzag manner in the first direction with an offset of a 1/2 pitch in the first direction, and a partition wall pillar having a shape of a third cylinder is arranged between the second cylinders adjacent to each other in the first direction.
Hinoue discloses on the plane, the second cylinders of two lines adjacent to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are arranged in a zigzag manner in the first direction with an offset of a 1/2 pitch in the first direction (rows of alternating memory openings and oval shaped pillar structures laterally offset by one half pitch, See fig. 15B, ref. no. 49, 242, 244, col. 29 lines 20-27, and col. 31 lines 5-14), and a partition wall pillar arranged between the second cylinders adjacent to each other in the first direction (oval shaped pillar structures with a etch stop sacrificial liner and a sacrificial fill material, See fig. 15B, ref. nos. 242, 244, and col. 29 lines 11-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-dimensional (3D) vertical memory device of Ozawa to include the second cylinders of two lines adjacent to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are arranged in a zigzag manner in the first direction with an offset of a 1/2 pitch in the first direction and a partition wall pillar arranged between the second cylinders adjacent to each other in the first direction as taught Hinoue so that the column shaped vertical electrodes and variable resistance films can be located closer together to increase memory density.
The above stated combination of Ozawa and Hinoue does not disclose a partition wall pillar having a shape of a third cylinder is arranged between the second cylinders adjacent to each other in the first direction.
Lue discloses a partition wall pillar (Isolation pillar, See figs. 2, 5B, ref. nos. 28, 29 and paragraph 45) having a shape of a third cylinder (the isolation pillars are shown in figures 2 and 5B having a shape of a cylinder, See fig. 2, 5B, ref. nos. 28, 29) is arranged between the second cylinders adjacent to each other in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-dimensional (3D) vertical memory device of Ozawa and Hinoue to a partition wall pillar having a shape of a third cylinder is arranged between the second cylinders adjacent to each other in the first direction as taught Lue in order to isolated neighboring vertical electrodes and variable resistance films.
Regarding Claim 13:
The above stated combination of Ozawa, Hinoue, and Lue discloses the second cylinder (active pillars, See Lue, fig. 5B, ref. nos. 80-2, 80-3, and paragraph 56) and the third cylinder partially (Isolation pillar, See Lue figs. 5B, ref. no. 29 and paragraph 45) overlap each other in the first direction (See Lue fig. 5B, ref. nos. 29, 80-2, 80-3. The examiner also notes the Hinoue teaches each memory opening cuts through a segment of each etch stop sacrificial line, See Hinoue fig. 15B, ref. nos. 49, 242, and col. 29 lines 53-57); a horizontal cross section of the second cylinder has a circular shape (See Lue, fig. 5B, ref. nos. 80-2, 80-3, and paragraph 56); and a horizontal cross section of the third cylinder comprises a concave portion at opposite sides thereof in the first direction (See Lue figs. 5B, ref. no. 29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-8, and 14-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 3-4, the disclosures and illustrations of Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue as discussed above fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 3-4 because Ozawa does not disclose on the plane, a trim pattern having an inverted "L" shape or an "L" shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines of the electrode structure at opposite sides in the first direction, the trim pattern is composed of a same material as the partition wall pillar. Additionally, Hinoue does not disclose on the plane, a trim pattern having an inverted "L" shape or an "L" shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines of the electrode structure at opposite sides in the first direction, the trim pattern is composed of a same material as the partition wall pillar. Further, Lue does not disclose on the plane, a trim pattern having an inverted "L" shape or an "L" shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines of the electrode structure at opposite sides in the first direction, the trim pattern is composed of a same material as the partition wall pillar. Additionally, the prior art also fails to provide other relevant disclosures which are properly combinable with Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 3-4. Therefore, claims 3-4 include allowable subject matter.
With respect to claims 7-8, the disclosures and illustrations of Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue as discussed above fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 7-8 because Ozawa does not disclose a first carbon layer arranged between the first electrode and the switching material layer and a second carbon layer arranged between the gate electrode and the switching material layer. Additionally, Hinoue does not disclose a first carbon layer arranged between the first electrode and the switching material layer and a second carbon layer arranged between the gate electrode and the switching material layer. Further, Lue does not disclose a first carbon layer arranged between the first electrode and the switching material layer and a second carbon layer arranged between the gate electrode and the switching material layer. Additionally, the prior art also fails to provide other relevant disclosures which are properly combinable with Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 7-8. Therefore, claims 7-8 include allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 14, the disclosures and illustrations of Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue as discussed above fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 14 because Ozawa does not on the plane, a trim pattern having an inverted "L" shape or an "L" shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines at opposite sides in the first direction, the trim pattern is composed of a same material as the partition wall pillar. Additionally, Hinoue does not disclose on the plane, a trim pattern having an inverted "L" shape or an "L" shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines at opposite sides in the first direction, the trim pattern is composed of a same material as the partition wall pillar. Further Lue does not disclose on the plane, a trim pattern having an inverted "L" shape or an "L" shape is arranged at edges of the plurality of lines at opposite sides in the first direction, the trim pattern is composed of a same material as the partition wall pillar. Additionally, the prior art also fails to provide other relevant disclosures which are properly combinable with Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 14. Therefore, claim 14 includes allowable subject matter.
With respect to claims 15-16, the disclosures and illustrations of Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue as discussed above fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 15-16 because Ozawa does not disclose a first carbon layer arranged between the first electrode and the switching material layer and a second carbon layer arranged between the gate electrode and the switching material layer. Additionally, Hinoue does not disclose a first carbon layer arranged between the first electrode and the switching material layer and a second carbon layer arranged between the gate electrode and the switching material layer. Further, Lue does not disclose a first carbon layer arranged between the first electrode and the switching material layer and a second carbon layer arranged between the gate electrode and the switching material layer. Additionally, the prior art also fails to provide other relevant disclosures which are properly combinable with Ozawa, Hinoue, and/or Lue to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 15-16. Therefore, claims 15-16 includes allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899