DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 5/12/26 have been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakisaka (US 2005/0218473) in view of Johnson et al (7,633,373 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Wakisaka discloses a resistor structure (Figure 3), comprising: a resistor sheet (Figure 3, reference 3); and two landing pads (Figure 3, reference 4) at opposite ends of the resistor sheet (Figure 3, reference 3) with sidewall spacers (Figure 3, reference 5) around each landing pad (Figure 3, reference 4).
However, Wakisaka does not disclose a resistor sheet upon a dielectric buffer layer; and a capping layer that covers the two landing pads and extends downwards between the two landing pads to contact the resistor sheet and separate the two landing pads from each other.
Johnson et al discloses a resistor sheet (Figure 23B, reference 224) upon a dielectric buffer layer (Figure 23B, reference 216); and a capping layer (Figure 23B, reference 236) that covers the two landing pads (Figure 23B, reference 226) and extends downwards between the two landing pads (Figure 23B, reference 226) to contact the resistor sheet (Figure 23B, reference 224) and separate the two landing pads (Figure 23B, reference 226) from each other.
It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Wakisaka with the teachings of Johnson et al for the purpose of stacking a resistor sheet upon a dielectric buffer layer; and a capping layer that covers the two landing pads and extends downwards between the two landing pads to contact the resistor sheet and separate the two landing pads from each other in order to protect the resistor sheet in a thin film resistor structure.
Regarding claim 16, Wakisaka discloses wherein peripheral portions of the sidewall spacers (Figure 3, reference 5) extend below the resistor sheet (Figure 3, reference 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a resistor structure, comprising: wherein each landing pad comprises a barrier metal layer upon the resistor sheet and a dielectric hard mask layer over the barrier metal layer as described in claim 17 further incorporated into the independent claim 15 and in the context of its recited apparatus, along with its depending claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14, 19 and 20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a method for forming a resistor structure, comprising: etching the spacer film layer to form sidewall spacers around the two landing pads; and etching away the exposed portion of the barrier metal layer between the two landing pads to form the resistor structure (claim 1) and a method for forming a resistor structure in a back-end-of-line process, comprising: etching to form a resistor stack from the resistor material layer, the barrier metal layer, and the hard mask layer; etching the hard mask layer to expose a portion of the barrier metal layer between two ends of the resistor stack; partially etching the exposed portion of the barrier metal layer to form two landing pads at the ends of the resistor stack ;applying a spacer film layer over the resistor stack; etching the spacer film layer to form sidewall spacers around the two landing pads; completely etching away the exposed portion of the barrier metal layer between the two landing pads to form the resistor structure; applying a capping layer over the resistor structure; forming a second dielectric layer upon the substrate and over the resistor structure; etching to form vias to the two landing pads; filling the vias with an electrically conductive material; and forming metal contacts over the vias (claim 19) as described in these independent claims and in the context of their recited processes, along with their depending claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
mdh
August 14, 2026