DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 11, and 18 have been amended, Claim 20 has been cancelled, and Claim 21 has been added as pe the amendment filed on 2/19/2026.
Currently Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh et al., US Patent Publication 2021/02161016
Regarding Claim 1, Soh discloses a display device (Abstract; a foldable display device ) comprising:
a display panel including a first area, a folding area, and a second area arranged in a first direction, the folding area being foldable about a folding axis parallel to a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figures 3, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a display module 106 comprising of a panel part PN has a “first area”, a “folding area”, and a “second area arrange din a first direction”, the “folding area” being foldable about a folding axis parallel to a second direction intersecting the first direction);
a first plate disposed on a rear surface of the display panel in the first area (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a first supporting member 10a on a rear surface of the panel part PN in the “first area”);
a second plate disposed on the rear surface of the display panel in the second area and spaced apart from the first plate in the first direction (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a second supporting member 10b on a rear surface of the panel part PN in the “second area” and spaced a part from the first supporting member 10a);
a flexible thin-film layer disposed on the rear surface of the display panel (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a shielding member 31) and including:
a first portion covering at least an area of the first plate; a second portion covering at least an area of the second plate; and a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion and disposed on the folding area (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a “first portion” covers an area of the “first plate”, a “second portion” covers an area of the “second plate”, and a “third portion” connecting the “first portion” and the “second portion” and disposed in the “folding area”); and
a guide that covers the second portion of the flexible thin-film layer and at least an area of the second plate (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0061-0065]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a receiving guide member 32 that covers the “second portion” of the shielding member 31, and at least “an area” of the second supporting member 10b),
wherein in case that the display panel is converted between a folded state and an unfolded state, the first portion of the flexible thin-film layer is attached to the first plate, and the second portion of the flexible thin-film layer slides between the guide and the second plate (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0061-0066]; [0071]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; when the folded display device is in a folded state, as seen in Figure 9, the “first portion” of the shielding layer 31 is attached to the first supporting member 10a via first adhesive member 33a, and the second portion of the shielding layer 31 slides between the second supporting member 10b and the receiving guide member 32).
However, Soh does not disclose the flexible thin-film layer has an asymmetrical shape about the folding axis when the display device is in an unfolded state.’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Soh such that the shielding layer 31 has an asymmetrical shape about a folding axis when it is in an unfolded state, and also has a symmetrical shape about an axis that intersects the folding axis because Soh teaches that specific shapes, configurations, and characteristics of an exemplary embodiment may be used or implemented in another exemplary embodiment without departing from the inventive concepts ([0034];) and that embodiments disclosed therein should not necessarily be limited to the particular illustrated shapes of regions ([0041];).
Regarding Claim 2, Soh teaches further comprising: a first adhesive element disposed between the first plate and the first portion of the flexible thin-film layer, wherein the first portion of the flexible thin-film layer is attached to an area of the first plate by the first adhesive element (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0061-0066]; [0071]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; the “first portion” of the shielding layer 31 is attached to the first supporting member 10a via first adhesive member 33a).
Regarding Claim 3, Soh teaches wherein the second portion of the flexible thin-film layer protrudes from the third portion in the first direction, and a shape of the flexible thin-film layer is symmetrical about an axis intersecting the folding axis (Figure 4; [0050-0071]; the shielding member 31 is considered by the examiner to have the “second portion” protrude from the “third portion” in the first direction, where the shape is symmetrical about an axis intersecting the folding axis, as seen in figure 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Soh teaches wherein the guide extends in the second direction, and opposite ends of the guide are attached to at least an area of the second plate (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0061-0065]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; the receiving guide member 32 extends in the second direction, and an opposite end is attached to an area of the second supporting member 10b via second adhesive member 33b).
Regarding Claim 5, Soh teaches further comprising: at least one second adhesive element disposed between the second plate and the guide, wherein the guide is attached to at least an area of the second plate by the at least one second adhesive element (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0061-0065]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; the receiving guide member 32 extends in the second direction, and an opposite end is attached to an area of the second supporting member 10b via second adhesive member 33b).
Regarding Claim 12, Soh teaches wherein the second portion and the third portion of the flexible thin-film layer are not attached to the second plate nor the folding area of the display panel (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; a shielding member 31 is not attached to the “second plate” or the “folding area” as seen in the Figures ).
Regarding Claim 13, Soh teaches further comprising: a step difference compensator disposed between the folding area of the display panel and the third portion of the flexible thin-film layer (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; an impact-absorbing member CU is disposed between the “folding area” of the display panel” and the “third portion” of the shielding member 31).
Regarding Claim 15, Soh teaches wherein in case that the display panel is in the folded state, a distance between the first plate and the first portion of the flexible thin-film layer is less than a distance between the second plate and the second portion of the flexible thin-film layer (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; as seen in Figure 9, because the first portion of the shielding member 31 is adhered to the first supporting member 10a, it has a distance between the shielding member and the first supporting member that is less than a distance between the “second portion” of the shielding member 31 and the second supporting member 10b).
Regarding Claim 16, Soh teaches wherein in case that the display panel is in the folded state, a space is formed between the display panel and the third portion of the flexible thin-film layer Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; as seen in Figure 9, because the first portion of the shielding member 31 is adhered to the first supporting member 10a, it has a distance between the shielding member and the first supporting member that is less than a distance between the “second portion” of the shielding member 31 and the second supporting member 10b
Regarding Claim 17, Soh teaches the display panel comprises a curved surface having a first curvature in case that the display panel is in the folded state, and the flexible thin-film layer comprises a curved surface having a second curvature larger than the first curvature (Figures 5, 7-9; [0051-0057]; [0073-0084]; [0089]; as seen in Figure 9, the panel part PN has a first curvature in a folded state, and the shielding member 31 has a curved surface with a second curvature that is larger than the first curvature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh et al., US Patent Publication 2021/02161016, in further view of Noh et al., US Patent Publication 2020/0267293.
Regarding Claim 6, Soh doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein each of the first adhesive element and the at least one second adhesive element comprises at least one of a double-sided tape, a general adhesive, a thermo-responsive adhesive, and an optical clear adhesive (OCA).
However, Noh et al., US Patent Publication 2020/0267293, teaches an adhesive layer 420 may include, for example, and without limitation, an optical clear adhesive (OCA), a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA), a thermally reactive adhesive, a general adhesive, a double-sided tape, or the like ([0052];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Soh to further include the teachings of Noh in order to provide wherein each of the first adhesive element and the at least one second adhesive element comprises at least one of a double-sided tape, a general adhesive, a thermo-responsive adhesive, and an optical clear adhesive (OCA). The motivation to combine these arts is because Noh teaches examples of the adhesive (Noh: [0052];)
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Soh and Noh doesn’t explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the at least one second adhesive element and a thickness of the flexible thin-film layer are same in a thickness direction of the display panel.
However, since the applicant has failed to disclose that having the thickness of the at least one second adhesive element be the same as the thickness of the flexible thin-film layer provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second adhesive thickness equal a thickness of the shielding member in order to provide wherein a thickness of the at least one second adhesive element and a thickness of the flexible thin-film layer are same in a thickness direction of the display panel.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Soh and Noh doesn’t explicitly teach wherein in case that the display panel is in the unfolded state, the at least one second adhesive element and the flexible thin-film layer are disposed on a same plane.
However, since the applicant has failed to disclose that having the at least one second adhesive element in the same plane as the flexible thin-film layer while the display panel is in an unfolded state provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second adhesive be in the same plan as the shielding member in order to provide wherein in case that the display panel is in the unfolded state, the at least one second adhesive element and the flexible thin-film layer are disposed on a same plane.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh et al., US Patent Publication 2021/02161016, in further view of Noh et al., US Patent Publication 2020/0267293, and in further view of Park et al., US Patent Publication 2020/0266368.
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Soh and Noh doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the at least one second adhesive element comprises a plurality of second adhesive elements, and the second portion of the flexible thin-film layer is disposed between the plurality of second adhesive elements.
However, Park et al., US Patent Publication 2020/0266368, teaches wherein a bonding member may include or be formed of a single adhesive layer, a plurality of laminated adhesive layer, or adhesive layers on various surfaces of a base layer or member ([0080];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Soh and Noh to further include the teachings of Park in order to provide wherein the at least one second adhesive element comprises a plurality of second adhesive elements, and the second portion of the flexible thin-film layer is disposed between the plurality of second adhesive elements. The motivation to combine these arts is because Park teaches different examples that comprise of a bonding member (adhesive member) (Park: [0080];)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18, 19, and 21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
None of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests the features present in independent claims 18 and 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699