DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-19, filed 09/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 59-78 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejection of the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wolfe et al. (US 2016/0056785 A1), Nishimori et al. (US 10684210 B2) and Maslaney et al. (US 4726676). The reasoning outlined below is provided in support of Wolfe due to the relevance of the reference in the rejection presented in the new Office Action.
Applicant argues on Pages 7-11 that the cited references failed to teach or suggest determining responsivity of a photodiode where “responsivity” is used to refer to “the ratio of the generated photocurrent by the photodiode as a function of the light power of the incident light”. Applicant argues that the cited portions (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13, [0064], last 18 lines, [0069], lines 1-8]) fails to disclose the claim element relating to determining the responsivity of a photodiode at least because “Wolfe is concerned with gain calibration techniques to characterize differences in the actual capacitance of an integrator capacitor with the nominal capacitance of an integrator capacitor”. Applicant notes that though Wolfe references “photodetector responsivity” in paragraph [0066], the reference is “merely a broad statement about generic photodetector characteristics such as signal to noise, and the like, that does not specifically describe Wolfe’s technique”. Applicant further notes that the reference to “responsivity” in paragraph [0066] states that the photodetector responsivity depends on voltage across a photodetector and therefore does not disclose determining responsivity over a plurality of wavelengths. Similarly, Applicant argues on Pages 11-15 that the cited references failed to teach or suggest “determining responsivity of the photodiode over a plurality of wavelengths of light from the light source” where the argument presented above applies. Further, it is noted that Wofle presents an embodiment that does not explicitly consider a light source irradiating the detector for such calibration, instead relying on a test current source to produce a plurality of input current or voltage values as a way of determining the actual capacitance of integrator 204 (see Fig. 2) over a range of voltages. Lastly, on Page 18, Applicant argues that Wolfe discloses biasing elements presented as resistance networks 206, 209 and 210 electrically connected to the test current source 203a but fails to disclose an integrator which includes a feedback resistor and therefore does not disclose determining feedback resistance as recited in amended claims 64 and 65.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner acknowledges that Wolfe is concerned with gain calibration techniques to characterize differences in the actual capacitance of an integrator capacitor with the nominal capacitance of an integrator capacitor. However, it remains that such characterization is within the context of a calibration method with the purpose of acquiring photodetector response uniformity, which the Examiner is interpreting as implying determining the responsivity, as defined above, of one or more photodiodes. Further, the citation [0064], lines 1-18 discloses modifying gain factors to increase photodetector response uniformity where it is acknowledged that different levels of radiation, interpreted as including different intensities and/or wavelengths, generate different levels of response and Wolfe provides the calibration system and method to compensate for such changes. Specifically, Wolfe discloses an imaging system comprising a circuit where one embodiment includes a photodetector (203) and integrator (204) comprising an operational amplifier (211), integrator capacitor (201), and an integrator time control (202) in feedback (Fig. 2; [0062]-[0063]). However, the Examiner agrees that Wolfe does not explicitly disclose determining responsivity of a photodiode over a plurality of wavelengths of light from a light source. The Examiner also acknowledges the distinction made by the Applicant regarding the feedback resistor and the biasing elements used by Wolfe mentioned above, however, it remains that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider using a common modified version of a known integrator circuit which includes a feedback resistor which would provide the advantage of DC gain control to what is understood to be an AC OP-Amp integrator. For the reasons outlined above, a new ground of rejection is made and further reasoning may be found in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59-66, 69-74, 76-78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe et al. (US 2016/0056785 A1) in view of Nishimori et al. (US 10684210 B2) further in view of Maslaney et al. (US 4726676).
Regarding claim 59, Wolfe discloses a system comprising:
a light detection system (Fig. 3A-3C) comprising a photodiode (203) and an amplifier (211) ([0066]; [0067], lines 1-5; [0068], lines 1-5; [0069], lines 1-8); and
a processor (215) comprising memory operably coupled to the processor wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon (Fig. 3C; [0035], lines 1-12; [0069], lines 1-8), which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine responsivity of the photodiode ([0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8); and
adjust one or more parameters of the amplifier in response to the responsivity of the photodiode ([0067]; [0068], lines 1-5 – where signals from the individual photodetectors are interpreted as input parameters to the amplifier).
Wolfe uses a test current source to produce a plurality of input current or voltage values but does not explicitly disclose a light source for irradiating the detector in implementing the calibration method.
However, Nishimori, which relates to methods and systems used for monitoring a particle analysis apparatus, discloses a light source (OP11) used for irradiating a sample and calibrating (or adjusting) the gain of a light-reception signal in a flow cytometry apparatus (Col. 4, lines 35-46; Col. 6, lines 38-58; Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wolfe with a light source which would be necessary for calibrating the photodetectors, and could act as an alternative to the test current source used in Wolfe (Wolfe: [0011]).
Wolfe in view of Nishimori does not explicitly disclose a light detection system configured with steps to determine responsivity of the photodiode over a plurality of wavelengths of light; and
adjust one or more parameters of the amplifier in response to the responsivity of the photodiode over the plurality of wavelengths of light.
However, Maslaney, which relates to optical signal power measurement systems and methods including calibration processes, discloses a system configured with steps to determine responsivity of a photodiode over a plurality of wavelengths of light (Col. 7, lines 24-42); and
adjust one or more parameters of an amplifier in response to the responsivity of the photodiode over the plurality of wavelengths of light (Col. 7, lines 24-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wolfe in view of Nishimori with a system which is able to calibrate photodetectors over a plurality of wavelengths, providing a more uniform response across the detector and improving the measurement accuracy of the light detection system.
Regarding claim 60, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 59, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine the responsivity of the photodiode over a spectrum of wavelengths of the light (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 61, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 60, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the spectrum comprises 200 or more wavelengths of light (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8 – where “the spectral region of interest, such as infrared and/or visible light” references a continuous band of wavelengths in the visible and infrared region).
Regarding claim 62, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 59, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine the responsivity of the photodiode over wavelengths of light of from 400 nm to 1100 nm (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8 – where “the spectral region of interest, such as infrared and/or visible light” references a continuous band of wavelengths in the visible and infrared region).
Regarding claim 63, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 59, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine an average gain of the photodiode over the plurality of wavelengths (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8 – where determining “calibrated gain factors” is interpreted as determining the average gain of the photodetectors).
Regarding claim 64, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 63, as outlined above, and further discloses a calibration process which involves the measurement and tailoring of the resistance values of resistor networks for calibrating the individual photodetectors (Wolfe: [0075]; [0078], lines 1-11).
Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney does not explicitly disclose wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to calculate a feedback resistance of the amplifier based on the determined responsivity and average gain of the photodiode over the plurality of wavelengths of light. However, it remains that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider using a common modified version of a known integrator circuit which includes a feedback resistor which would provide the advantage of DC gain control to what is understood to be an AC OP-Amp integrator, providing improved stability and performance of the electronic circuit.
Regarding claim 65, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 64, as outlined above, and further presents a method that appears related to the present claimed invention which measures and adjusts resistance networks to control the bias voltages applied to individual and/or an array of photodetectors. Uniquely setting an operating bias for each photodetector allows for adjusting each photodetector’s responsivity to radiation, signal to noise and overall gain across the photodetector array.
Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney does not explicitly disclose wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to calculate the feedback resistance according to:
Rf X R(λ) = Gt
wherein Rf is feedback resistance of the amplifier;
R(λ) is the responsivity of the photodiode at each wavelength; and
Gt is the average gain of the photodiode over the plurality of wavelengths of light.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney with a technique for calibrating a photodetector array where parameters including the resistance, responsivity, and gain, which are known to characterize similar transimpedance amplifiers, are tailored to provide the desired output signal. Further, using a common modified version of a known integrator circuit which includes a feedback resistor would not on its own be considered inventive where the modification would provide the advantage of DC gain control to what is understood to be an AC OP-Amp integrator, improving the overall stability and performance of the electronic circuit.
Regarding claim 66, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the particle analyzer according to claim 64, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to adjust capacitance of the amplifier based on the calculated resistance (Wolfe: [0078], lines 1-11; [0080] – where implied in the calibration process is the measurement and tailoring of the resistance values of resistor networks for calibrating the individual photodetectors).
Regarding claim 69, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 59, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the amplifier is a transimpedence amplifier (Wolfe: [0063]).
Regarding claim 70, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 59, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the light detection system comprises:
a photodiode array (102) (Wolfe: Fig. 1A-1B; [0062], lines 8-17) comprising
a plurality of photodiodes (203); and a plurality of amplifiers (211) (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-17),
wherein each photodiode is in electrical communication with an amplifier (Wolfe: Fig. 2; [0067], lines 1-5; [0062], lines 8-17).
Regarding claim 71, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 70, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine responsivity of each photodiode in the photodiode array over the plurality of wavelengths of light (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8).
.
Regarding claim 72, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 71, wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to independently determine responsivity of two or more of the photodiodes in the photodiode array over the plurality of wavelengths of light (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 73, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 70, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine an average gain of each photodiode in the photodiode array over the plurality of wavelengths (Wolfe: [0062], lines 8-13; [0064], last 18 lines; [0069], lines 1-8 – where determining “calibrated gain factors” is interpreted as determining the average gain of the photodiode).
Regarding claim 74, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 73, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to independently calculate resistance of each amplifier based on the determined responsivity and average gain of each photodiode over the plurality of wavelengths of light (Wolfe: [0075]; [0078], lines 1-11 – where implied in the calibration process is the measurement and tailoring of the resistance values of resistor networks for calibrating the individual photodetectors).
Regarding claim 76, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 59, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the system is a flow cytometer (100) (Nishimori: Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 77, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 76, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the flow cytometer comprises a flow cell (110) for propagating particles in a flow stream (Nishimori: Fig. 1 and 6; Col. 4, lines 24-32 and 36-39).
Regarding claim 78, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 77, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the photodiode (OP14) is positioned to detect light from particles in the flow stream (Nishimori: Fig. 1 and 6; Col. 4, lines 36-46).
Claim(s) 67-68 and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe et al. (US 2016/0056785 A1) in view of Nishimori et al. (US 10684210 B2) in view of Maslaney et al. (US 4726676) further in view of Frasch et al. (US 2019/0044489 A1).
Regarding claim 67, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 66, as outlined above, and further discloses a method that appears related to the present claimed invention which measures and adjusts resistance networks to control the bias voltages and/or integration times of an integrator (which is understood to be the time between closing and opening the integrator switch) applied to individual and/or an array of photodetectors (Wolfe: [0075]-[0076]; [0078], lines 1-11; [0080]). Uniquely setting an operating bias, or controlling the integration time, for each photodetector allows for adjusting each photodetector’s responsivity to radiation, signal to noise and overall gain across each photodetector by adjusting for differences between the nominal capacitance and the actual capacitance (Wolfe: [0066]-[0067]). Wolfe in view of Nishimori does not explicitly disclose tuning the capacitance of the amplifier to control the bandwidth of each photodetector.
However, Frasch, in the same field of endeavor of methods and systems for calibrating transimpedance amplifiers, discloses a system including a programmable compensation capacitor which can be used for adjusting the bandwidth of transimpedance amplifiers, which is in electrical communication with photodetectors (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney with an additional means for calibrating the detector array by directly tuning the capacitance, improving the overall efficiency and accuracy of the detection system.
Regarding claim 68, Wolfe in view of Nishimori, Maslaney and Frasch discloses the system according to claim 67, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to adjust the capacitance of the amplifier according to:
1/2πRfCf =BW
wherein BW is bandwidth; and
Cf is capacitance of the amplifier.
Wolfe discloses a method that appears related to the present claimed invention which measures and adjusts resistance networks to control the bias voltages and/or integration times of an integrator (which is understood to be the time between closing and opening the integrator switch) applied to individual and/or an array of photodetectors ([0075]-[0076]; [0078], lines 1-11; [0080] – where the relationships between resistance, capacitance, gain and integration time are known). Uniquely setting an operating bias for each photodetector allows for adjusting each photodetector’s responsivity to radiation, signal to noise and overall gain across the photodetector array ([0066]-[0067]). However, Wolfe does not explicitly disclose tuning the capacitance of the amplifier to control the bandwidth of each photodetector.
However, Frasch, discloses a system including a programmable compensation capacitor which can be used for adjusting the bandwidth of a transimpedance amplifiers, which is in electrical communication with the photodetector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wolfe in view of Nishimori, Maslaney and Frasch with an additional means for calibrating the detector array by directly tuning the capacitance, improving the overall efficiency and accuracy of the detection system.
Regarding claim 75, Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney discloses the system according to claim 74, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to adjusts resistance networks to control the bias voltages and/or integration times of an integrator (which is understood to be the time between closing and opening the integrator switch) applied to individual and/or an array of photodetectors (Wolfe: [0075]-[0076]; [0078], lines 1-11; [0080]). Uniquely setting an operating bias, or controlling the integration time, for each photodetector allows for adjusting each photodetector’s responsivity to radiation, signal to noise and overall gain across each photodetector by adjusting for differences between the nominal capacitance and the actual capacitance (Wolfe: [0066]-[0067]). Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney does not explicitly disclose adjusting the capacitance of each amplifier based on the calculated resistance.
However, Frasch, in the same field of endeavor of methods and systems for calibrating transimpedance amplifiers, discloses a system including a programmable compensation capacitor which can be used for adjusting the bandwidth of a transimpedance amplifiers, which is in electrical communication with the photodetector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wolfe in view of Nishimori and Maslaney with an additional means for calibrating the detector array by directly tuning the capacitance, improving the overall efficiency and accuracy of the detection system.
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877