DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed December 5, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6 and 17 are independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 received on January 8, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on December 5, 2023. This IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. 2018/0012867; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim discloses a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a buffer die (Fig. 2: 150) comprising a first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) and a second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152) configured to communicate with an external device (Fig. 2: MC), wherein the first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) is configured to activate responsive to a first selection signal (see page 4, par. 0048), and the second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152) is configured to activate responsive to a second selection signal (see page 4, par. 0048); and
a memory die stack (Fig. 2: 110-140) mounted on the buffer die (Fig. 2: 150) and including a plurality of memory dies (see page 3, par. 0033), wherein the plurality of memory dies are electrically connected to the first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) and the second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152),
wherein the first selection signal and the second selection signal are received from a memory controller external to the memory device (Fig. 2: MC, see also pages 4-5, par. 0048-0050).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Kim’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “process, in parallel, data transmitted to and received from the plurality of memory dies.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Kim’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the limitations with respect to claim 2.
Furthermore, Kim discloses wherein, after the data is processed in parallel, the memory device is configured to transmit, to the memory controller, first interface circuit data or second interface circuit data based on the first selection signal and the second selection signal (see page 4-5, par. 0048-0050).
Regarding independent claim 6, Kim discloses a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a buffer die (Fig. 2: 150) comprising a first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) and a second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152) configured to communicate with an external device (Fig. 2: MC), wherein the first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) is configured to activate responsive to a first selection signal (see page 4, par. 0048), and the second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152) is configured to activate responsive to a second selection signal (see page 4, par. 0048); and
a memory die stack (Fig. 2: 110-140) mounted on the buffer die (Fig. 2: 150) and including a plurality of memory dies (see page 3, par. 0033), wherein the plurality of memory dies are electrically connected to the first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) and the second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152).
As discussed above, Kim’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein, which of the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit is activated to communicate with an external memory controller is based on whether the first selection signal is fixed to a first voltage level or a second voltage level different from the first voltage level and whether the second selection signal is fixed to the first voltage level or the second voltage level.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Kim’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the limitations with respect to claim 6.
Furthermore, Kim discloses a redistribution layer of the buffer die (see page 5, par. 0056).
As discussed above, Kim’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “provide the first voltage level or the second voltage level of the first selection signal and the second selection signal.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Kim’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the limitations with respect to claim 6.
Furthermore, Kim discloses an interposer of a semiconductor package comprising the memory device (see page 7, par. 0075).
As discussed above, Kim’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “provide the first voltage level or the second voltage level of the first selection signal and the second selection signal.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Kim’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the limitations with respect to claim 6.
As discussed above, Kim’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “process, in parallel, data transmitted to and received from the plurality of memory dies.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Kim’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding independent claim 17, Kim discloses a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a buffer die (Fig. 2: 150) comprising a first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) and a second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152) configured to communicate with an external device (Fig. 2: MC), wherein the first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) is configured to activate responsive to a first selection signal (see page 4, par. 0048), and the second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152) is configured to activate responsive to a second selection signal (see page 4, par. 0048); and
a memory die stack (Fig. 2: 110-140) mounted on the buffer die (Fig. 2: 150) and including a plurality of memory dies (see page 3, par. 0033), wherein the plurality of memory dies are electrically connected to the first interface circuit (Fig. 2: 151) and the second interface circuit (Fig. 2: 152),
wherein the first selection signal and the second selection signal are generated inside the memory device responsive to an interface selection signal received from a memory controller external to the memory device (Fig. 2: MC, see also pages 4-5, par. 0048-0050).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses wherein the buffer die further comprises a decoder circuit configured to receive the interface selection signal and to generate the first selection signal and the second selection signal (see page 3, par. 0035).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the limitations with respect to claim 17.
As discussed above, Kim’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “process, in parallel, data transmitted to and received from the plurality of memory dies.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Kim’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 10-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited buffer die further comprises a mode register configured to store an interface mode parameter code indicating a single interface mode or a multi interface mode to set the signal interface mode or the multi interface mode for the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit, in the single interface mode, communication is performed with the memory controller by using the first interface circuit or the second interface circuit, and in the multi interface mode, communication is performed with the memory controller by using both the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit.
With respect to claim 10, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited buffer die comprises a mode register configured to store an interface mode parameter code indicating a single interface mode or multi interface mode to set the single interface mode or the multi interface mode for the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit, in the single interface mode, communication is performed with the memory controller by using the first interface circuit or the second interface circuit, and in the multi interface mode, communication is performed with the memory controller by using both the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit.
With respect to claim 20, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited buffer die further comprises a mode register configured to store an interface mode parameter code indicating a single interface mode or a multi interface mode to set the single interface mode or the multi interface mode for the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit, in the single interface mode, communication is performed with the memory controller by using the first interface circuit or the second interface circuit, and, in the multi interface mode, communication is performed with the memory controller by using both the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825