DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) filed on 03/26/2026 and withdrawn Group II (claims 9-20) has been acknowledged and considered. Applicants have the right to file a divisional application covering the subject matter of the non-elected claims (claims 9-20).
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
3. The oath/declaration filed on 12/05/2023 is acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/05/2023 and 04/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., hereafter “Chen” (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0276654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a phase-change memory device, comprising:
a heater electrode (220) having an uppermost surface (212);
a phase-change layer (230) having a lowermost surface in direct contact with the uppermost surface (212) of the heater electrode (220) at a first location (at any point 212 between phase-change layer (230) and heater electrode (220)); and
an outer electrode contact arm (240) in direct contact with the phase-change layer (230) at a second location (at any point 237 between phase-change layer (230) and outer electrode contact arm (240)) that is spaced apart from the first location such that current flows through the phase-change layer (230) from the first location (at point 212) to the second location (at point 237) (by a path 280 (para [0068]),
the outer electrode contact arm (240) having a lowermost surface (212) that is coplanar with the lowermost surface (212) of the phase-change layer (230) (Fig. 2A and para [0058]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein: the lowermost surface of the outer electrode contact arm (240) is in direct contact with dielectric material (210, para [0058]) (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein: the second location (at any point 237 between phase-change layer (230) and outer electrode contact arm (240)) is on a side surface of the phase-change layer (230) that is not coplanar with the lowermost surface of the phase-change layer (230) (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses wherein: the side surface of the phase-change layer (230) is perpendicular to the lowermost surface (212) of the phase-change layer (230) (Fig. 2A).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Chang (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0006374 A1) discloses a phase-change memory device, comprising:
a heater electrode (24) having an uppermost surface;
a phase-change layer (28) having a lowermost surface in direct contact with the uppermost surface of the heater electrode (24) at a first location (at any point between phase-change layer (28) and heater electrode (24)) (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897