DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike [US 5746841].
Claim 1: Koike teaches a method for forming a passivating film onto a surface for use in a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus [abstract], wherein the method includes introducing an oxidizing gas into the chamber containing stainless steel [col 4, ln 45-50]; forming a passivation film on the inner surface of said chamber by means of said oxidizing gas [col 4, ln 55-60]. Although Koik does not explicitly teach the chamber is a heat treatment apparatus, since Koike teaches the chamber is for semiconductor manufacturing apparatus [col 4, ln 49], and performing a step of heating [col 6, ln 55-65] it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the apparatus capable of performing the heating step would meet the limitation of a heat treatment apparatus.
Claim 2: Koike teaches stopping gas supply into the gas and exhaust from said chamber to seal the oxidizing gas in said chamber for a predetermined waiting time period after introducing the oxidizing gas into the chamber [col 6, ln 50-63].
Claim 3: although Koike does not explicitly teach the waiting time period is not greater than half life of the oxidizing gas, since Koike teaches the treatment time is result effective of the thickness of the passivation film [col 6, ln 65-col 7, ln 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of waiting time such as to exceed the half life of the oxidizing gas as a result effective variable to control the thickness of the passivation film.
Claim 4: Koike teaches the heat source heats the oxidizing gas sealed in the chamber during the step [col 6, ln 45-60].
Claim 8: Koike teaches the pressure in said chamber is reduced before step (a) [col 6, ln 45-55].
Claim 9: Koike teaches the oxidizing gas is ozone [col 6, ln 51].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohmi [US 6612898].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the heat source heats an atmosphere between 100 degrees to 300 degrees. Ohmi is provided.
Claim 5: Ohmi teaches forming an oxidation-passive layer [abstract], where mixed gas atmosphere comprises ozone and can be heated from 20-300 degrees C [abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the treatment at the claimed range as suggested by Ohmi so as to improve the resistance of the passivation layer [col 5, ln 40-60].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Izumi [JP 2009084602].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 6. Izumi is provided
Claim 6: Izumi teaches that concentration, temperature, pressure and treatment time are correlated to forming the passive film [pg 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize and determine the time period based upon all these dependent conditions in order to achieve the desired film results.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishimura [US 9067789] and Hishiya [US 7208428].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 7. Nishimura and Hishiya are provided.
Claim 7: Nishimura teaches abnormality of the ozone gas supply can be alerted to the operator for further steps [col 13, ln 15-30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have abnormality detection as taught by Nishimura so as to improve process control management. However, the prior art does not appear to teach supplying nitrogen gas to the chamber to discharge the oxidizing gas. Hishiya is provided.
Hishiya teaches supplying nitrogen to discharge the oxidizing gas [col 5, ln 20-33]. It would have been obvious tone of ordinary skill in the art to use nitrogen to purge or discharge the ozone from the chamber as taught by Hishiya to improve process controls [col 2, ln 65 to col 3, ln 10].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Omori [US 20200075344].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 10. Omori is provided.
Claim 10: Omori teaches the heating of the wafer performed using halogen lamps and flash lamps [abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use both of these types of lamps to heat the substrate since Omori teaches this a known technique.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718