DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 3, 4, “in plan view” should be changed to “in a plan view”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 20 - 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (10476031).
With regard to claim 20, Saito et al. disclose a display device (for example, see fig. 9C), comprising:
a first substrate (111) having a first area (referred to as “AA” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) and a second area (referred to as “NA” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) laterally adjacent to the first area (AA);
an inorganic layer (referred to as “217A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below; wherein the inorganic portion layer 217A is a portion of the inorganic layer 217; for example, see column 8, lines 45 - 49) on the first area (AA) of the first substrate (111) and offsetting from the second area (NA) of the first substrate (111);
a first planarization layer (referred to as “218A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) on the inorganic layer (217A);
a second planarization layer (referred to as “218A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) on the second area (NA) of the first substrate (111);
a first bank (referred to as “24A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) on the first planarization layer (218A1);
a second bank (referred to as “24A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) on the second planarization layer (218A2); and
a plurality of moisture permeation suppression patterns (patterns 291, 293 of a moisture-proof film 29, made of silicon nitride and the same material as applicant’s moisture patterns, functioning as a plurality of moisture permeation suppression patterns; wherein the moisture-proof patterns 291, 293 acts as a plurality of moisture permeation suppression patterns by restricting, slowing, or completely blocking the transfer of liquid or vapor through a substrate. These patterns are inherently designed to manage moisture levels, prevent water damage, and ensure the integrity of materials in construction, packaging; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65) on the second planarization layer (218A2),
the plurality of moisture permeation suppression patterns (291, 293) spaced apart from one another.
With regard to claim 21, Saito et al. disclose the plurality of moisture permeation suppression patterns (291, 293) are spaced apart from one another in a vertical direction.
With regard to claim 22, Saito et al. disclose the plurality of moisture permeation suppression patterns (291, 293) at least partially offset (partially offset of the portions of the moisture patterns 291, 293, as shown in fig. 9C) from one another in a vertical direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 - 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (10476031) in view of Shi et al. (10109754).
With regard to claim 1, Saito et al. disclose a display device (for example, see fig. 9C), comprising:
a first substrate (111) which includes an active area (referred to as “AA” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) including a plurality of sub pixels (each of sub-pixels including light emitting device 10W; for example, see column 6, lines 7 – 16) and a non-active area (referred to as “NA” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) enclosing the active area (AA),
the first substrate (111) includes an inside portion (referred to as “A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) and an edge portion (referred to as “A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below; wherein the edge portion A2 is a small top surface edge of the small substrate area) that is outside of the inside portion (A1);
an inorganic layer (referred to as “217A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below; wherein the inorganic portion layer 217A is a portion of the inorganic layer 217; for example, see column 8, lines 45 - 49) which is disposed on the first substrate (111) and has an end (a lateral end) located at the inside portion (A1) of the first substrate (111), and the edge portion (A2) of the first substrate (111) being offset from the inorganic layer (217A);
a planarization layer (218) disposed on the inorganic layer (217A) and the first substrate (111); and
a bank (a pixel-defining insulating layer 24, as shown in fig. 9C, functioning as a bank) disposed on the planarization layer (218), wherein the planarization layer (218) includes a first planarization layer (referred to as “218A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) disposed in an area which overlaps the inorganic layer (217A) and a second planarization layer (referred to as “218A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) that covers a top surface of the edge portion of the first substrate (111), the bank (24) includes a first bank (referred to as “24A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) disposed on the first planarization layer (218A1) and a second bank (referred to as “24A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) disposed on the second planarization layer (218A2), and
a combined thickness (referred to as “T2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) of the second planarization layer and the second bank is smaller than a combined thicknesses of the first planarization layer and the first bank.
Saito et al. do not clearly disclose the substrate is formed a transparent conducting oxide.
However, Shi et al. disclose the substrate (412) is formed a transparent conducting oxide. (for example, column 14, lines 9 – 12, figs. 4 - 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Saito et al.’s device to have the substrate is formed a transparent conducting oxide as taught by Shi et al. in order to enhance a high light efficiency of the device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 2, Saito et al. disclose the first bank (24A1) and the second bank (24A2) are connected (indirectly connected).
With regard to claim 3, Saito et al. disclose the first bank (24A1) and the second bank (24A2) are spaced apart from each other.
With regard to claim 4, Saito et al. disclose a first moisture permeation suppression layer (a first layer 291 of a moisture-proof film 29, made of silicon nitride and the same material as applicant’s moisture layer, functioning as a first moisture permeation suppression layer; wherein the moisture-proof layer 291 acts as a moisture permeation suppression layer by restricting, slowing, or completely blocking the transfer of liquid or vapor through a substrate. This layer is inherently designed to manage moisture levels, prevent water damage, and ensure the integrity of materials in construction, packaging; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65), which is disposed on the second planarization layer (218A2) and includes an inorganic material (silicon nitride; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65); and
a second moisture permeation suppression layer (a first layer 293 of a moisture-proof film 29, made of silicon nitride and the same material as applicant’s moisture layer functioning as a second moisture permeation suppression layer; wherein the moisture-proof layer 293 acts as a moisture permeation suppression layer by restricting, slowing, or completely blocking the transfer of liquid or vapor through a substrate. This layer is inherently designed to manage moisture levels, prevent water damage, and ensure the integrity of materials in construction, packaging; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65) which is disposed on the second bank (24A2) and includes an inorganic material (silicon nitride; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65).
With regard to claim 5, Saito et al. disclose a plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns (portion layers 291A1 as annotated in fig. 9C of a moisture-proof film 29, made of silicon nitride and the same material as applicant’s moisture patterns, functioning as a plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns; wherein the moisture-proof layers 291A1 acts as the moisture permeation suppression patterns by restricting, slowing, or completely blocking the transfer of liquid or vapor through a substrate. These layers are inherently designed to manage moisture levels, prevent water damage, and ensure the integrity of materials in construction, packaging; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65) which are disposed on the second planarization layer (218A2) and include an inorganic material (for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65); and a plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns (portion layers 293A1 as annotated in fig. 9C of a moisture-proof film 29, made of silicon nitride and the same material as applicant’s moisture patterns, functioning as a plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns; wherein the moisture-proof layers 293A1 acts as the moisture permeation suppression patterns by restricting, slowing, or completely blocking the transfer of liquid or vapor through a substrate. These layers are inherently designed to manage moisture levels, prevent water damage, and ensure the integrity of materials in construction, packaging; for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65) which are disposed on the second bank (24A2) and include an inorganic material (for example, column 18, lines 61 – 65).
With regard to claim 6, Saito et al. disclose the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns (291A1) and the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns (293A2) are spaced apart from each other and the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns (293A2) each overlap a space (referred to as “S1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) among the first moisture permeation suppression patterns (291A1) of the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns (291A1).
With regard to claim 7, Saito et al. disclose the space (S1) includes a dimension that is larger than a width (referred to as “X1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9C below) of a second moisture permeation suppression pattern (293A2) of the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns (293A2).
With regard to claim 8, Saito et al. disclose the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns (291A1) and the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns (293A2) are spaced apart from each other and the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns (293A2) each partially overlaps a first moisture permeation suppression pattern (291A1) of the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns (291A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 9 - 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9 - 10 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as the second planarization layer includes a plurality of patterns which are spaced apart from each other, the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns are disposed on the plurality of patterns and the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns each overlaps a space among patterns of the plurality of patterns as recited in claim 9.
Claims 11 - 12 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as a plurality of first metal patterns each disposed in a space among first moisture permeation suppression patterns of the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns; and a plurality of second metal patterns each disposed in a space among second moisture permeation suppression patterns of the plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns as recited in claim 11.
10. Claims 13 – 15, 19 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as a plurality of first moisture permeation suppression patterns disposed on the second planarization layer; a second bank disposed on the plurality of first moisture permeation suppression pattern; and a plurality of second moisture permeation suppression patterns disposed on the second bank, wherein the non-active area includes a first non-active area in which a gate driver is disposed, a second non-active area in an area connected to the plurality of flexible films, and a third non-active area which is in an area opposite to the area connected to the plurality of flexible films, first moisture permeation suppression patterns and second moisture permeation suppression patterns disposed in the first non-active area are different from first moisture permeation suppression patterns and second moisture permeation suppression patterns disposed in the second non-active area and the third non-active area as recited in claim 13.
11. Claims 16 - 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812