CTNF 18/529,716 CTNF 86224 DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of Species V (FIG. 7), encompassing claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-11, 13-15, 17, and 19-20, in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species share common non mutually exclusive features and there is no undue burden. This is not found persuasive. Firstly, the species are mutually exclusive by their structural distinction as depicted in the respective drawings. For example, Species III depicted by FIG. 5 shows a device where the backside insulating structure BIS includes a conformal etch stop layer 194 between inner backside insulating pattern 192 and outer backside insulating pattern 196, the nanosheets NSS formed directly on the inner backside insulating pattern 192 without any additional underlying insulating structure, and the backside via contact MPV comprising a symmetrical stepped portion. On the other hand, the elected Species V as depicted in FIG. 7 shows a device where the backside insulating structure BIS3 include a thick planar etch stop layer 394 between the insulating structure 128 under the nanosheets NSS and the outer backside insulating pattern 396, and wherein the backside via contact MPV3A has a asymmetrical step portion that is only present on the side facing the place holder 106. These differences are not obvious variants based on current record. Furthermore, it would be burden to search for these distinct features. For example, a search for elected Species V (FIG. 7) requires search queries directed to a planar etch stop layer and backside via contact with asymmetrical step portion that would not be required in a search for the non-elected species, e.g. Species III (FIG. 5). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. 08-05 AIA Claim s 3-4, 7-8, 12, 16, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 reciting “The backside insulating structure further comprises” should be amended to correct the capitalization of “The”. A claim should only begin with a capital letter . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 1-2, 5-6, 9-11, 13-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 reciting “the first vertical level being closest to the plurality of gate lines in the backside insulating structure” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is “closest” relative to. No specific reference has been recited that would render the relative term “closest” meaningful. Claim 5 reciting “an outer backside insulating pattern … comprises a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is the intended scope of the limitation. The recitation to “any constituent material of the etch stop pattern” can refer to one constituent material of the etch stop pattern. As such, is the different material contrasted against one constituent material of the etch stop pattern? Or is the intended scope to require the material of the outer backside insulating pattern to exclude all of the constituent material of the etch stop pattern? Claim 6 reciting “an outer backside insulating pattern … comprises a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern” renders the claim indefinite for same reasons as claim 5 above. Claim 9 reciting “the outer backside insulating pattern comprising a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern” renders the claim indefinite for same reasons as claim 5 above. Claim 11 reciting “the second film comprising a different material from any constituent material of the first film” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is the intended scope of the limitation. The recitation to “any constituent material of the first film” can refer to one constituent material of the first film. As such, is the different material contrasted against one constituent material of the first film? Or is the intended scope to require the material of the second film to exclude all of the constituent material of the first film? Claim 14 reciting “the outer backside insulating pattern comprising a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern” renders the claim indefinite for same reasons as claim 5 above. Claim 14 reciting “the first vertical level being closest to the gate lines in the backside insulating structure” renders the claim indefinite for same reasons as claim 1 above. Claim 14 reciting “the etch stop pattern … at least partly the gate line in the vertical direction” render the claim indefinite. It is unclear what structurally relationship is intended by the limitation as recited. Claim 20 reciting “the first vertical level being closest to the plurality of gate lines in the backside insulating structure” renders the claim indefinite for same reasons as claim 1 above. Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 5-6, 9-11, 13-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yu et al. US 2022/0069117 A1 (Yu) . PNG media_image1.png 860 712 media_image1.png Greyscale In re claim 1, as best understood, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) an integrated circuit device comprising: a backside insulating structure 276+278 comprising an etch stop pattern 276 (no specific etch stop claimed that would distinguish over Yu’s liner having an etch selectivity with respect to a different material layer); a plurality of gate lines 250 over the backside insulating structure and each at least partly overlapping the etch stop pattern 276 in a vertical (Z) direction; a plurality of source/drain regions 242S,242D respectively arranged one-by-one between the plurality of gate lines 250; and a backside via contact 270 (including 266 and 268, see FIG. 16A, ¶ 41) passing through the etch stop pattern 276 in the vertical (Z) direction and connected to a first source/drain region 242S selected from the plurality of source/drain regions, wherein the backside via contact 270 comprises a stepped portion (step between 270-1 and 270-2) apart from a first vertical level (e.g. vertical level at the interface of 276 and 250) in the vertical (Z) direction by as much as a first distance H1 and having a change in width in a horizontal (X) direction at a second vertical level (width W2 at height H2) that is adjacent to the etch stop pattern 276, “the first vertical level (at the interface of 276 and 250) being closest (as best understood) to the plurality of gate lines 250 in the backside insulating structure 276+278 (interface of 276 and 250 is closest to gates 250 compared more distal parts)”. In re claim 2, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) further comprising: a place holder 238 at least partly overlapping a second source/drain region 240+242D in the vertical (Z) direction, the second source/drain region 240+242D selected from the plurality of source/drain regions and apart from the first source/drain region 242S in the horizontal (X) direction, wherein the place holder 238 comprises a holder upper surface (bottom of 238 in FIG. 18-20) contacting the second source/drain region 240+242D (240 may be considered as a part of the source/drain region), a holder sidewall facing the backside via contact 270 in the horizontal (X) direction with a portion of the backside insulating structure 276+278 between, and a holder lower surface (top of 238 in FIGs. 18-20) that is opposite to the holder upper surface (bottom of 238 in FIGs. 18-20) in the vertical (Z) direction, and the holder sidewall and the holder lower surface (top in FIGs. 18-20) of the place holder 238 are in contact with the backside insulating structure 276+278. In re claim 5, as best understood, Yu discloses (FIGs. 18-20) wherein the backside insulating structure 276+278 further comprises an outer backside insulating pattern 278 apart from the plurality of gate lines 250 in the vertical (Z) direction with the etch stop pattern 276 therebetween and “comprises a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern 276” (as best understood, Yu discloses 278 include silicon nitride and 276 include silicon oxide, ¶ 42; as such, 278 comprises silicon oxide which is a different material from the nitrogen material in 276; alternatively, 278 comprises oxygen which is a different material from the silicon nitride material in 276), the etch stop pattern 276 comprises a gap-fill pattern, which fills a space between the backside via contact 270 and the place holder 238, the holder sidewall of the place holder 238 is in contact with the etch stop pattern 276, and the holder lower surface (top of 238 in FIGs. 18-20) of the place holder is in contact (e.g. thermal contact) with the outer backside insulating pattern 278. In re claim 6, as best understood, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) wherein the backside insulating structure 276+278 further comprises an outer backside insulating pattern 278 apart from the plurality of gate lines 250 in the (Z) vertical direction with the etch stop pattern 276 therebetween and “comprises a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern 276” (as best understood, Yu discloses 276 include silicon nitride and 278 include silicon oxide, ¶ 42; as such, 278 comprises silicon oxide which is a different material from the nitrogen material in 276; alternatively, 278 comprises oxygen which is a different material from the silicon nitride material in 276), and the outer backside insulating pattern 278 has a surface that is concave toward the holder lower surface (top of 238 in FIG. 18-20) of the place holder 238 (see FIG. 18A, 19 or 20). In re claim 9, as best understood, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) wherein the backside insulating structure 276+278 further comprises an outer backside insulating pattern 278 apart from the plurality of gate lines 250 in the vertical (Z) direction with the etch stop pattern 276 therebetween and is in contact with the etch stop pattern 276, the outer backside insulating pattern 278 “comprising a different material from any constituent materials of the etch stop pattern 276” (as best understood, Yu discloses 276 include silicon nitride and 278 include silicon oxide, ¶ 42; as such, 278 comprises silicon oxide which is a different material from the nitrogen material in 276; alternatively, 278 comprises oxygen which is a different material from the silicon nitride material in 276), and an interface between the etch stop pattern 276 and the outer backside insulating pattern 278 comprises a portion extending flat in the horizontal (X) direction around the stepped portion of the backside via contact 270 (a linear interface is present between 276 and 278 at the step between 270-1 and 270-2). In re claim 10, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) wherein the backside via contact 270 comprises a first contact portion 270-1, which passes through the etch stop pattern 276 (270-1 passes through the lower portion of 276 surrounding 270-1 near the gates 250), and a second contact portion 270-2, which passes through the outer backside insulating pattern 278 (270-2 passes through the upper portion of 278 surrounding 270-2), and, in the backside via contact 270, a sidewall of the second contact portion 270-2 is not in contact with the etch stop pattern 276 (dielectric barrier 264 separated between sidewall of 270-2 and 276, see FIG. 16A). In re claim 11, as best understood, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) further comprising: a place holder 238 apart from the backside via contact 270 in the horizontal (X) direction, wherein the place holder 238 is in contact with the etch stop pattern 276 and a second source/drain region 240+242D, which is selected from the plurality of source/drain regions and is apart from the first source/drain region 242S in the horizontal (X) direction, the place holder 238 comprises a first film, which is selected from a doped SiGe film, an undoped SiGe film, an aluminum oxide film, a titanium oxide film, a silicon nitride film, and a combination thereof (¶ 28), and the etch stop pattern 276 comprises a second film, which is selected from an aluminum oxide film, a titanium oxide film, a silicon nitride film, and a combination thereof (¶ 42), “the second film (silicon oxide, ¶ 42) comprising a different material from any constituent material of the first film” (doped SiGe, ¶ 28). In re claim 13, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) wherein the backside insulating structure 276+278 further comprises an outer backside insulating pattern 278, which is apart from the plurality of gate lines 250 in the vertical (Z) direction with the etch stop pattern 276 therebetween, the backside via contact 270 comprises a first contact portion 270-1, which has a sidewall contacting the etch stop pattern 276 (270-1 and 276 are in thermal contact; alternatively, lower portion of 264 may be a part of the etch stop pattern that physical contacts 270-1), and a second contact portion 270-2, which has a sidewall contacting the outer backside insulating pattern 278 (270-2 and 278 are in thermal contact; alternatively, upper portion of 264 may be a part of the outer backside insulating pattern that physical contacts 270-2), and in the horizontal (X) direction, the width W2 of the second contact portion 270-2 is greater than the width W1 of the first contact portion 270-1. In re claim 14, as best understood, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) an integrated circuit device comprising: a backside insulating structure 276+278; a plurality of channel regions 2080 over the backside insulating structure, the plurality of channel regions 2080 being arranged apart from each other in a vertical (Z) direction to at least partly overlap each other in the vertical (Z) direction; a pair of source/drain regions 242S,242D arranged over the backside insulating structure 276+278 and each contacting the plurality of channel regions 2080; a gate line 250 surrounding the plurality of channel regions 2080; and a backside via contact 270 (including 266 and 268, see FIG. 16A, ¶ 41) passing through the backside insulating structure 276+278 in the vertical (Z) direction and connected to a first source/drain region 242S selected from the pair of source/drain regions, wherein the backside insulating structure 276+278 comprises an etch stop pattern 276 and an outer backside insulating pattern 278, the etch stop pattern 276 surrounding a portion 270-1 of the backside via contact 270 and “at least partly (as best understood, overlap) the gate line 250 in the vertical (Z) direction”, and the outer backside insulating pattern 278 surrounding another portion 270-2 of the backside via contact 270 and apart from the gate line 250 in the vertical (Z) direction with the etch stop pattern 276 therebetween, “the outer backside insulating pattern 278 comprising a different material from any constituent material of the etch stop pattern 276” (as best understood, Yu discloses 276 include silicon nitride and 278 include silicon oxide, ¶ 42; as such, 278 comprises silicon oxide which is a different material from the nitrogen material in 276; alternatively, 278 comprises oxygen which is a different material from the silicon nitride material in 276), and wherein the backside via contact 270 comprises a stepped portion (step between 270-1 and 270-2) apart from a first vertical level (e.g. vertical level at the interface of 276 and 250) in the vertical (Z) direction by as much as a first distance H1 and has a change in a width of the backside via contact 270 in a horizontal (X) direction at a second vertical level (width W2 at height H2) that is adjacent to the etch stop pattern 276, “the first vertical level (at the interface of 276 and 250) being closest (as best understood) to the gate lines 250 in the backside insulating structure 276+278 (interface of 276 and 250 is closest to gates 250 compared more distal parts)”. In re claim 15, Yu discloses (FIGs. 18-20) further comprising: a place holder 238 at least partly overlapping, in the vertical (Z) direction, a second source/drain region 242D, which is selected from the pair of source/drain regions and is apart from the first source/drain region 242S in the horizontal (X) direction, wherein the place holder 238 comprises a holder upper surface (bottom of 238 in FIG. 18-20) contacting the second source/drain region 240+242D (240 may be considered as a part of the source/drain region), a holder sidewall facing the backside via contact 270 in the horizontal (X) direction with a portion of the backside insulating structure 276+278 therebetween, and a holder lower surface (top of 238 in FIGs. 18-20) that is opposite to the holder upper surface (bottom of 238 in FIGs. 18-20) in the vertical (Z) direction, and the etch stop pattern 276 is in contact with one selected from the holder sidewall and the holder lower surface (top of 238) of the place holder 238. In re claim 17, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) wherein the etch stop pattern 276 comprises a gap-fill pattern filling a space between the backside via contact 270 and the place holder 238, the holder sidewall of the place holder 238 is in contact with the etch stop pattern 276, and the holder lower surface (top of 238 in FIGs. 18-20) of the place holder is in contact (e.g. thermal contact) with the outer backside insulating pattern 278, and the outer backside insulating pattern 278 comprises a flat surface (bottom flat surface), which is in contact with the etch stop pattern 276, and a surface, which is in contact with the holder lower surface of the place holder (top of 238) and concave toward the place holder 238 (see FIGs. 18A, 19 and 20). In re claim 19, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) wherein the backside via contact 270 comprises a first contact portion 270-1, which has a sidewall contacting the etch stop pattern 276 (270-1 and 276 are in thermal contact; alternatively, lower portion of 264 may be a part of the etch stop pattern that physical contacts 270-1), and a second contact portion 270-2, which has a sidewall contacting the outer backside insulating pattern 278 (270-2 and 278 are in thermal contact; alternatively, upper portion of 264 may be a part of the outer backside insulating pattern that physical contacts 270-2), and in the horizontal (X) direction, the width W2 of the second contact portion 270-2 is greater than the width W1 of the first contact portion 270-1. In re claim 20, as best understood, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 18-20) an integrated circuit device comprising: a backside insulating structure 276+278 comprising an etch stop pattern 276 and a backside insulating pattern 278, which comprise different materials from each other (¶ 42) and at least partly overlap each other in a vertical (Z) direction; a plurality of source/drain regions 242S,242D over the backside insulating structure; a plurality of nanosheet stacks 2080, which each comprise at least one nanosheet 2080 connected to at least one source/drain region 242S,242D selected from the plurality of source/drain regions; a plurality of gate lines 250 over the backside insulating structure 276+278, each of the plurality of gate lines 250 surrounding the at least one nanosheet 2080 and at least partly overlapping the etch stop pattern 276 in the vertical (Z) direction; a backside via contact 270 (including 266 and 268, see FIG. 16A, ¶ 41) passing through the etch stop pattern 276 and the backside insulating pattern 278 in the vertical (Z) direction and connected to a first source/drain region 242S selected from the plurality of source/drain regions; and a place holder 238, which is in contact with a second source/drain region 240+242D selected from the plurality of source/drain regions and faces the backside via contact 270 in a horizontal (X) direction with the backside insulating structure 276+278 therebetween, wherein the backside via contact 270 comprises a stepped portion (step between 270-1 and 270-2) apart from a first vertical level (e.g. vertical level at the interface of 276 and 250) and having a change in a width of the backside via contact 270 in a horizontal (X) direction at a vertical level (between 270-1 and 270-2) that is adjacent to the etch stop pattern 276, “the first vertical level (at the interface of 276 and 250) being closest (as best understood) to the plurality of gate lines 250 in the backside insulating structure 276+278 (interface of 276 and 250 is closest to gates 250 compared more distal parts)”. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YU CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7881. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, WILLIAM KRAIG can be reached on 5712728660. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 YU CHEN Examiner Art Unit 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 2 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 3 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 4 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 5 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 6 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 7 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 8 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 9 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/529,716 Page 10 Art Unit: 2896