Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 5, 2023 and January 7, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 15, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-4, 10, 11, 13, & 16 have been amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 15, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been entered and fully considered but they are not persuasive. In light of the amendments, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections have been made, and applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
In response to applicant's argument, please see pages 9-15 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 1, and amended independent claims 2-3, which recite limitations similar to the limitations of amended independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), that prior art reference, Agrawal, and under U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), that prior art reference Nakayama (amended independent claims 2-3), as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually, each and every limitation of these claims, to include the amended features of the invention, “wherein the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.” and “determination on the target equipment, which corresponds to an authenticity determination or registration determination.”
A new ground of rejection is made over Kumhyr et al. (US 2010/0230597 A1, Pub. Date Sept. 16, 2010, hereinafter Kumhyr). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Agrawal, in light of new prior art reference Kumhyr, for amended independent claim 1, and Nakayama, in light of new prior art reference Kumhyr, for amended independent claims 2-3, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of these claims, to include the amended features of the invention, in particular, “wherein the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.” and “determination on the target equipment, which corresponds to an authenticity determination or registration determination.”
Agrawal, in view of Kumhyr, in amended independent claim 1, and Nakayama, in view of Kumhyr, in amended independent claims 2-3, further disclose the additional limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claims 1-3, and dependent claims (original and amended), including dependent claims 4 & 9-10, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 1, and dependent claims 5-8, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 2, are respectively maintained. Independent claim 3 does not contain any dependent claims. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
In response to applicant's argument, please see pages 9-15 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 11, which recites limitations similar to the limitations of amended independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 103, that prior art references, Agrawal, in view of Nakayama, as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, each and every limitation of these claims, to include the amended features of the invention, “wherein the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.” Further, applicant argues that prior art references, Agrawal, in view of Nakayama, do NOT establish a “prima facie case of obviousness because the references do not disclose, teach or suggest all of the limitations of amended independent claim 11.”
A new ground of rejection is made over Kumhyr. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Agrawal, in view of Nakayama, in light of new prior art reference Kumhyr, for amended independent claim 11, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of these claims, to include the amended features of the invention, in particular, “wherein the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.” and the alleged, non-establishment of “prima facie case of obviousness because the references do not disclose, teach or suggest all of the limitations of amended independent claim 11.” Agrawal, in view of Nakayama, further in view of Kumhyr, further disclose the additional limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements for a prima facie case of obviousness per the substitution rationale in MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Further, the remarks in response to obviousness rejection for a proper response do not comply with (and may be found in) 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 714.02. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claim 11, and dependent claims (original and amended), including dependent claims 12-16, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 11, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US 2003/0083831 A1, Pub. Date May 1, 2003, hereinafter Agrawal), in view of Kumhyr et al. (US 2010/0230597 A1, Pub. Date Sep. 16, 2010, hereinafter Kumhyr).
Regarding independent claim 1, Agrawal, teaches:
An individual determination device for target equipment (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0013], [0027], [0032] & [0036]: overall system for evaluation the device under test (DUT) 100, interpreted as target equipment), comprising:
a coupling circuit that is electrically connected to an interface in target equipment (Fig.2; [0013], [0034]-[0037] & [0039]-[0041]: sensor 2 (coupling circuit), current clamp (205) provides electrical connection to an interface in target equipment (100)), the coupling circuit being configured to detect a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic based on a conduction noise that is conducted to the interface in target equipment (Fig.2; [0013], [0034]-[0037] & [0039]-[0041]: sensor 2, current clamp (205) provides electrical connection to an interface in target equipment (100), conducted signal (202) interpreted as conduction noise, teaches using sensors like a “current clamp” to acquire “conductive emanations” from the DUT, mentioning the “ground conductor of the power line” as an interface), to extract an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the target equipment (Fig. 3; [0013], [0034]-[0037] & [0039]-[0043]), from the conduction noise detected thereby ([0013], [0034]-[0037] & [0039]-[0043]), and to output the electromagnetic characteristic signal [Fig. 3; [0013], [0032], [0034]-[0037] & [0039]-[0044]: Signal Acquisition, Processing and/or Analysis Module (300) extract a “message signal” or “signal component” which carries information about the DUT’s state and function (individual characteristics));
a characteristic measurement device to receive the electromagnetic characteristic signal from the coupling circuit (Figs. 4 & 6; [0013], [0041]-[0042], [0046], [0055] & [0058]: teaches the “signal acquisition, processing and/or analysis module” (Fig. 1: 103, Fig. 3: 300) receives signals from the sensors, processed them to create a “statistical characterization” of the signal and noise, referred to as the “individual characteristic data”), and to output individual characteristic data showing the individual characteristic of the target equipment on a basis of the electromagnetic characteristic signal received from the coupling circuit (Figs. 4 & 6; [0013], [0041]-[0042], [0046]-[0047], [0055] & [0058]: teaches the “signal acquisition, processing and/or analysis module” (Fig. 1: 103, Fig. 3: 300) receives signals from the sensors, processed them to create a “statistical characterization” of the signal and noise, referred to as the “individual characteristic data”, A/S array (311) and P/A Array (315) generate “statistical characterization” S(D) and N(D));
a storage device to store individual characteristic data showing an electromagnetic individual characteristic of original target equipment (Fig. 7; [0041]-[0044], [0047], [0053]-[0054] & [0057]-[0058]: signal acquisition and storage array 311 (storage device), aggregate (stored data): describes storing the collected and processed data, the “statistical characterization” (individual characteristic data) for a known original DOP (original target equipment) is stored for later use in the analysis phase); and
Agrawal, is silent in regard to:
a comparison and determination device to compare the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device and the individual characteristic data stored in the storage device, and to perform individual determination on the target equipment, wherein
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.
However, Kumhyr, further teaches:
a comparison and determination device to compare the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device and the individual characteristic data stored in the storage device (Figs. 2 & 4; [Abstract], [0016], & [0020]-[0022]: discloses the comparison of a measured profile against a stored authentic profile, authenticity module 10 (a comparison and determination device), individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device (electromagnetic profile detected at an electronic device 12), individual characteristic data stored in the storage device (electronic profiles of authentic electronic devices stored in an electromagnetic profile database 24)), and to perform individual determination on the target equipment (Figs. 2 & 4; [0015]-[0016] & [0020]-[0022]: determines the identity of the specific device or component (e.g., distinguishing a processor from a FPGA)), wherein
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0016] & [0020]-[0022]: teaches using the comparison of electromagnetic characteristics to determine if the device is authentic (genuine) or counterfeit (non-genuine)), or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination (Figs. 2-4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]) or an authentication determination (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the high-precision “conductive emanation” extraction method of Agrawal, which captures detailed signal/noise signatures via the coupling circuit/current clamp (providing the means to get the signal from the line), provides sophisticated hardware and signal processing framework to extract “ conductive emanations” (noise) from a device, as the input for the authenticity module of Kumhyr. Kumhyr further provides the application/purpose for collecting the electromagnetic profiles, method of comparing that signal to a database and determine if profiles are genuine/non-genuine, leading to authenticity verification, teaching that electromagnetic profiles are unique to genuine hardware and can distinguish them from counterfeits, thus the combination of prior art references would allow for an improved, more accurate authenticity determination, since it has been held that within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract], [0013], [0027], [0032]-[0034], [0036] & [0041]), wherein
the interface in the target equipment at which a voltage or a current is observed (Figs. 1-2; [0033]-[0034] & [0041]: teaches that a sensor array that acquires signals, including “conductive emanations”, which are signals that leak via “electrically conducting channels that are attached to the DUT”, a sensor, such as a “current clamp” is used to acquire these signals by observing the current (by extension, the associated voltage/field) on that channel), includes a power or communication cable or a terminal of a power or communication cable in the target equipment ([0032]-[0034] & [0041]: provides example of an electrically conducting channel (power line) referring more specifically to the “ground conductor of the power line” or “ground line”), or a whole or part of a case of the target equipment (Figs. 11-12; [0078] & [0082]-[0084]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0013], [0027], [0032]-[0034], [0036], & [0041]), wherein
the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device (Fig. 7; [0055] & [0057]-[0058]: generates “statistical characterizations” of signal S(D) and noise N(D) for a device operation mode (DOP), the characterizations (individual characteristic data)), which is inputted to the comparison and determination device (Fig. 7; [0055] & [0057]-[0058]: generates “statistical characterizations” of signal S(D) and noise N(D) for a device operation mode (DOP), the characterizations (individual characteristic data) are the input to the “scoring device” (comparison and determination device)), is a result of, in a data arrangement device (Figs. 3 & 7; [0041]-[0045] & [0055]-[0058]: describes a “separator” (data arrangement device) and subsequent processing steps constitute the data arrangement), arranging the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device (Fig. 7; [0055]-[0058]: combines and averages the initial statistical characteristics (N(D)s and S(D)s) to form a new statistical characterization (NP1, SP1), involves extracting the “message signals” (specific information) from the raw aggregate signals and separating out the “noise component” (eliminating noise), and the creation of the statistical characterization (e.g., the aggregate signal signature) is the act of “arranging” the extracted information) by eliminating a noise ([0055]-[0058]: averaging is a performed to reduce/eliminate noise) or extracting specific information from the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device (Fig. 7; [0055]-[0058]: extracts the specific information related to predicate P1, “of all DOPs that satisfy P1”, and involves extracting the “message signals” (specific information) from the raw aggregate signals and separating out the “noise component” (eliminating noise), and the creation of the statistical characterization (e.g., the aggregate signal signature) is the act of “arranging” the extracted information).
Claims 2-3 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US 8203347 B2, Pat. Date Jun. 19, 2012, hereinafter Nakayama), in view of Kumhyr.
Regarding independent claim 2, Nakayama, teaches:
An individual determination device for target equipment (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 16-48], [Col. 3, ll. 10-16], [Col. 11, ll. 63-65] & [Col. 12, ll. 29-40 & 44-59]: discloses a reflection element determination device 50 used to determine the state of connected elements (target equipment)), comprising:
a coupling circuit that is electrically connected to an interface in target
equipment (Figs. 1 & 6a; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 12, ll. 60-61], [Col. 13, ll. 25-51] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: taught by first signal source 10, that is electrically connected to the calibration element (target equipment) via an output terminal 19 and switch 31), the coupling circuit being configured to detect a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic based on either a reflection characteristic or an impedance characteristic, observed in the interface in the target equipment (Figs. 1 & 6a, Figs. 1, 6a, 8, & 12; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 11, ll. 55-61], [Col. 12, ll. 22-23 & 60-61], [Col. 13, ll. 25-51], [Col. 18, ll. 49-61], [Col.19, ll. 11-24] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: taught by first signal source 10, that is electrically connected to the calibration element (target equipment) via an output terminal 19 and switch 31, where the system is designed to detect signals based on reflection, where the system measures signals reflected, signal source includes bridges and mixers (14a, 14b, 16a, 16b) that detect and separate outgoing signal from the incoming reflected signal (R12/R22), where R12 is described as “a result of a measurement of the signal reflected by the reflection element” or S-parameters), to extract an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the target equipment, from the signal detected thereby, and to output the electromagnetic characteristic signal (Figs. 4 & 5; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8, 25-51 & 60-67], [Col. 14, ll. 1-5 & 10-21], [Col. 16, ll. 13-43], [Col. 17, ll. 49-67], [Col. 18, ll. 1-10] & [Col. 19, ll. 4-65]: error factor deriving unit 52, signal measurement 53, and transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 collectively perform the function of extracting the electromagnetic characteristic signal (S-parameters) from the raw detected signals and outputting it, further, the bridges (e.g., 14b) extract the reflected signal (e.g., R12) and output (output terminal 19) it to the mixers (mixer 16b) and to the determination device 50 via terminals);
a characteristic measurement device to receive the electromagnetic characteristic signal from the coupling circuit, and to output individual characteristic data showing the individual characteristic of the target equipment on a basis of the electromagnetic characteristic signal received from the coupling circuit (Fig. 4; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 12, ll. 52-62], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8] & [Col. 19, ll. 4-65]: discloses signal measurement unit 53 and the transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 is the “characteristic measurement device”, receive the signals, foundational data (Rij from the “coupling circuit” and E from the deriving unit), where its primary function is to output the “individual characteristic data,” which is the derived S parameters (Sija) of the target transmission element 44);
a storage device to store individual characteristic data showing an
electromagnetic individual characteristic of original target equipment (Fig.4; & [0188] [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 12, ll. 52-62], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8], [Col. 19, ll. 4-65] & [Col. 24, ll. 11-26]: teaches the transmission characteristic recording unit 56 is the “storage device”, that stores the known, transmission characteristics true S parameters (Sijt) of the “original target equipment” or true values (transmission element 44 in its ideal, specified state)); and
a comparison and determination device to compare the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device and the individual characteristic data stored in the storage device (Figs. 1 & 4; [Col. 13, ll. 25-49] & [Col. 19, ll. 35-67 ], [Col. 20, ll. 1-26 ] & [Col. 22, ll. 1-14]: teaches the reflection element state determination unit 58 is the “comparison and determination device”, that directly compares the measured data (Sija from the transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 or “characteristic measurement device”) with the stored reference data (Sijt from the transmission characteristic recording unit 56 or “storage device”), based on this comparison (i.e., whether they coincide/match), performs an individual determination on the “target equipment” (reflection elements), determines the state of the element)., and to perform individual determination on the target equipment (Figs. 1 & 4; [[Col. 13, ll. 25-49] & [Col. 19, ll. 35-67 ], [Col. 20, ll. 1-26 ] & [Col. 22, ll. 1-14]: determines if the elements are realizing the “predetermined reflection states” (i.e., identifying the state/identity of the target equipment)), wherein
Nakayama, is silent in regard to:
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.
However, Kumhyr, further teaches:
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0016] & [0020]-[0022]: teaches using the comparison of electromagnetic characteristics to determine if the device is authentic (genuine) or counterfeit (non-genuine)), or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination (Figs. 2-4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]) or an authentication determination (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the state determination (fault checking) of Nakayama utilizing the high-precision reflection/impedance measurement and comparison apparatus, which determines if a component matches its true value characteristics, to perform the authenticity determination of Kumhyr to ensure that the components under test or target equipment are not only functional but also genuine, preventing the security and business risks disclosed by Kumhyr. Nakayama discloses the structural hardware limitations: the coupling circuit (bridges), the measurement device, storage of known characteristics, and the comparison/determination logic based on reflection characteristics (S-parameters), providing the device mechanism to detect the deviations in reflection/impedance characteristics, while Kumhyr discloses the method/functional limitation of performing authenticity determination (genuine vs. counterfeit) by comparing measured electromagnetic profiles against expected profiles, noting that counterfeit devices have different electromagnetic profiles, thus the combination of prior art references would allow for an improved, more accurate authenticity determination, since it has been held that within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 3, Nakayama, teaches:
An individual determination device for target equipment (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 16-48], [Col. 3, ll. 10-51], [Col. 5, ll. 31-63], [Col. 11, ll. 63-67], [Col. 12, ll. 29-62] & [Col. 23, ll. 47-57]), comprising:
a coupling circuit that is electrically connected to an interface in target equipment (Figs. 1, 6a, 8 & 12; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 12, ll. 29-62], [Col. 13, ll. 25-51], [Col. 18, ll. 49-54], [Co. 19, ll. 11-20] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: taught by first signal source 10, that is electrically connected to the calibration element (target equipment) via an output terminal 19/29 and switch 31), the coupling circuit being configured to detect a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic (Figs. 1, 6a, 8, & 12; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 11, ll. 54-61], [Col. 12, ll. 22-23 & 29-62], [Col. 13, ll. 25-51], [Col. 18, ll. 49-54], [Co. 19, ll. 4-65], [Col. 21, ll. 1-3], [Col. 22, ll. 59-67] & [Col. 23, ll. 1-3 & 16-25]: taught by first signal source 10, that is electrically connected to the calibration element (target equipment) via an output terminal 19 and switch 31, figures illustrate the terminals 51a, 51b, 51c, 51d of the determination device 50 being electrically connected (bridges are the coupling circuits) to the mixers 16a, 16b, 26a, 26b, which are the interfaces of the signal sources 10,20 (system under test)) based on a pass characteristic observed between two different interfaces in the target equipment (Fig. 14; [Col. 10, ll. 6-67], [Col. 11, 1-32], [Col. 16, ll. 1-43], [Col. 22, ll. 36-45 & 59-67] & [Col. 23, ll. 1-3 & 16-25]: teaches the first signal source 10 transmits a signal through the transmission element 44 to the second signal source 20, which measures the transmitted signal, both connect to two interfaces of the DUT (via terminals 19 & 29), bridges (coupling circuits) 14a/b and 24a/b detect signals (R12, R21, R22) to derive transmission characteristics (pass characteristics S12d/S21d) between the interfaces), to extract an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the target equipment (Figs. 6a, 8, & 12; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8, 25-51 & 60-67], [Col. 14, ll. 10-21], [Col. 16, ll. 1-43], [Col. 17, ll. 49-67], [Col. 18, ll. 1-10 & 49-54], [Co. 19, ll. 4-65], [Col. 21, ll. 1-3] & [Col. 23, ll. 16-25]): bridges extract the transmitted/reflected signals (Rij) which are output to the mixers and then to the determination device 50/60 to derive transmission characteristics Sija (individual characteristics)), from the signal detected thereby, and to output the electromagnetic characteristic signal (Figs. 6a, 8, & 12; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8, 25-51 & 60-67], [Col. 18, ll. 49-54], [Co. 19, ll. 4-65], [Col. 21, ll. 1-3] & [Col. 23, ll. 16-25]: taught by first signal source 10, that is electrically connected to the calibration element (target equipment) via an output terminal 19 and switch 31, figures illustrate the terminals 51a, 51b, 51c, 51d of the determination device 50 being electrically connected to the mixers 16a, 16b, 26a, 26b, which are the interfaces of the signal sources 10,20 (system under test), where the unit 52 extracts the error factors E, the electromagnetic characteristic signals, from the measured signals (R11, R12, etc.) and outputs them (e.g., to unit 54));
a characteristic measurement device to receive the electromagnetic characteristic signal from the coupling circuit, and to output individual characteristic data showing the individual characteristic of the target equipment on a basis of the electromagnetic characteristic signal received from the coupling circuit (Fig. 4; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 12, ll. 52-61], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8], [Col. 19, ll. 4-65], [Col. 20, ll. 6-13], [Col. 21, ll. 1-3], [Col. 22, ll. 36-45] & [Col. 25, ll. 49-63]: teaches the signal measurement unit 53, measurement device 60, and transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 is the “characteristic measurement device”, received the foundational data (Rij from the “coupling circuit” and E from the deriving unit), where its primary function is to derive/output the “individual characteristic data,” which is the derived S parameters (Sija) of the target transmission element 44 );
a storage device to store individual characteristic data showing an electromagnetic individual characteristic of original target equipment (Fig.4; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 12, ll. 52-61], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8], [Col. 19, ll. 4-65] & [Col. 24, ll. 11-26]: teaches the transmission characteristic recording unit 56 is the “storage device”, that stores the known, transmission characteristics true S parameters (Sijt) of the “original target equipment” (transmission element 44 in its ideal, specified state)); and
a comparison and determination device to compare the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device and the individual characteristic data stored in the storage device (Figs. 1 & 4; [Col. 8, ll. 65-67], [Col. 9, ll. 1-3], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8 & 25-51], [Col. 19, ll. 25-67], [Col. 20, ll. 1-26], [Col. 22, ll. 1-14], [Col. 24, ll. 51-67] & [Col. 25, ll. 1-23 & 49-63]: teaches the reflection element state determination unit 58 (or element state determination unit 59) is the “comparison and determination device”, that directly compares the measured data (Sija from the transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 or “characteristic measurement device”) with the stored reference data (Sijt from the transmission characteristic recording unit 56 or “storage device”), based on this comparison (i.e., whether they coincide/match), performs an individual determination on the “target equipment” (reflection elements), determines the state of the element), and to perform individual determination on the target equipment (Figs. 1 & 4; & [Col. 8, ll. 65-67], [Col. 9, ll. 1-3], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8 & 25-51], [Col. 19, ll. 25-67], [Col. 20, ll. 1-26], [Col. 22, ll. 1-14], [Col. 24, ll. 51-67] & [Col. 25, ll. 1-23 & 49-63]: determines if the transmission element/DUT is realizing the predetermined transmission state (i.e., identifying the target)), wherein
Nakayama, is silent in regard to:
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.
However, Kumhyr, further teaches:
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0016] & [0020]-[0022]: teaches using the comparison of electromagnetic characteristics to determine if the device is authentic (genuine) or counterfeit (non-genuine)), or a registration determination of whether the target equipment is registered according to an individual identification determination (Figs. 2-4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]) or an authentication determination (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the transmission measurement capabilities that verify if a transmission element matches true value characteristics, the state determination (fault checking) of Nakayama utilizing the high-precision reflection/impedance measurement and comparison apparatus, to perform the authenticity determination, particularly for devices where signal propagation through the device (pass characteristic) is critical for verifying the identity, of Kumhyr, to ensure that the components under test or target equipment are not only functional but also genuine, preventing security and business risks. Nakayama discloses the structural hardware to connect to two interfaces of a target device (DUT) and measure pass characteristics (transmission characteristics S12d/S21d) between them and storing original/known characteristics and comparing them to measured values, while Kumhyr discloses the method/functional limitation of performing authenticity determination (genuine vs. counterfeit) by comparing measured electromagnetic profiles against expected profiles, noting that counterfeit devices have different electromagnetic profiles, if a counterfeit chip (e.g., a processor mimicking an FPGA) is placed in the target equipment, its internal impedance and signal propagation delays (pass characteristics) would differ from the original authentic equipment, and Nakayama’s device would detect the difference, thus the combination of prior art references would allow for an improved, more accurate authenticity determination, since it has been held that within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Nakayama, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 2 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 2, ll. 16-48], [Col. 3, ll. 10-16], [Col. 11, ll. 63-67, & [Col. 12, ll. 29-59]), wherein in a case where the signal showing the electromagnetic characteristic, detected by the coupling circuit ([Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 12, ll. 52-61], [Col. 13, ll. 25-51] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: measures reflection characteristics (S-parameters or “electromagnetic characteristics”), states the signals R11 (non-reflected wave) and R12 (reflected wave) are detected by the mixers 16a/16b, 26a/26b, and bridges 14a/14b/24a/24b, which are part of the signal source system that functions as the “coupling circuit” to detect signals showing reflection characteristics (e.g., R12, R22)) is a signal showing the reflection characteristic ([Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 10, ll. 6-42], [Col. 12, ll. 52-61], [Col. 13, ll. 25-51] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: states the signals R11 (non-reflected wave) and R12 (reflected wave) are detected by the mixers 16a/16b, which are part of the signal source system that functions as the “coupling circuit”, the relationship between R12 and R11 (or R22 and R21 for the second source) is the signal showing the reflection characteristic), the individual characteristic data includes reflection amount versus frequency (Fig. 18; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 10, ll. 6-27], [Col. 13, ll. 34-51], [Col. 14, ll. 48-54], [Col. 16, ll. 1-12] & [Col. 19, ll. 4-65]: where the entire calibration and verification process of the reference is performed as a function of frequency, states the purpose is to acquire S parameters and frequency characteristics, where the S parameters describe reflection and transmission amounts as a function of frequency, and the system corrects for errors in “frequency tracking.” The measurements (R11, R12, etc.) are taken across a range of frequencies, and the derived error factor and S parameters are frequency-dependent quantities, the states are the reference data, system operates by measuring the actual reflection amount (e.g., R12/R11) versus frequency and, after processing, comparing to known-frequency dependent models of reflection (the “individual characteristic data”) to determine if the element is function correctly, and Fig. 18 predetermined reflection states S16, is based on a frequency-point-by-frequency-point comparison of the measured reflection response against the stored ideal response).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama, in view of Furse et al. (US 9476932 B2, Pat. Date Oct. 25, 2016, hereinafter Furse), and further in view of Kumhyr.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Nakayama, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 2 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll.17-21, 31-41, & 52-54], [Col. 3, ll. 10-16], [Col. 11, ll. 63-65], & [Col. 12, ll. 44-51]), wherein
in a case where the signal showing the electromagnetic characteristic, detected by the coupling circuit ([Col. 13, ll. 34-51]: measures reflection characteristics (S-parameters or “electromagnetic characteristics”), states the signals R11 (non-reflected wave) and R12 (reflected wave) are detected by the mixers 16a/16b, 26a/26b, and bridges 14a/14b/24a/24b, which are part of the signal source system that functions as the “coupling circuit” to detect signals showing reflection characteristics (e.g., R12, R22)), is a signal showing the reflection characteristic ([Col. 13, ll. 34-51]: states the signals R11 (non-reflected wave) and R12 (reflected wave) are detected by the mixers 16a/16b, which are part of the signal source system that functions as the “coupling circuit”, the relationship between R12 and R11 (or R22 and R21 for the second source) is the signal showing the reflection characteristic), the individual characteristic data ([Col. 13, ll. 19-24], [Col. 14, ll. 22-33], [Col. 19, ll. 50-57], & [Col. 20, ll. 42-50]: teaches the derived error factors (ED1, ES1, Ei1-E01, etc.) and the derived S-parameters (Sija), the individual characteristic data identifies these elements, and the impulse or step response derived from the reflected signal, where the data also identifies the type, value and location of components)
Nakayama, is silent in regard to:
includes reflection amount versus time.
However, Furse, further teaches:
includes reflection amount versus time ([Col. 1, ll. 21-44], [Col. 4, ll. 50-65], [Col. 5, ll. 27-40], [Col. 14, ll. 64-67], [Col. 15, ll. 1-5, 10-28, & 30-42]: describes processing the reflection time into a time-domain impulse or step response, which is the plot of reflection amplitude versus time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate reflection amount versus time, of Furse to Nakayama, in order to attain and improve, by combination, the calibration element identification system taught by Nakayama and the well-established data processing techniques of Furse, that processes the reflected signal to obtain its impulse or step response to identify and characterize components, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Nakayama, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 2 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll.17-21, 31-41, & 52-54], [Col. 3, ll. 10-16], [Col. 11, ll. 63-65], & [Col. 12, ll. 44-51]), wherein
in a case where the signal showing the electromagnetic characteristic, detected by the coupling circuit ([Col. 13, ll. 34-51]: measures reflection characteristics (S-parameters or “electromagnetic characteristics”), states the signals R11 (non-reflected wave) and R12 (reflected wave) are detected by the mixers 16a/16b, 26a/26b, and bridges 14a/14b/24a/24b, which are part of the signal source system that functions as the “coupling circuit” to detect signals showing reflection characteristics (e.g., R12, R22))
Nakayama, is silent in regard to:
is a signal showing the impedance characteristic, the individual characteristic data includes impedance versus frequency.
However, Furse, further teaches:
is a signal showing the impedance characteristic (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 21-44], & [Col. 4, ll. 50-67]: teaches using reflected signals to determine the impedance (Z) of circuit components, the “TX/RX” block 111 in the figure illustrates the coupling circuit.), the individual characteristic data includes impedance versus frequency (Fig. 2; [Col. 1, ll. 21-44], [Col. 8, ll. 49-56], [Col. 11, ll. 40-45 & 48-52], [Col. 14, ll. 64-67] & [Col. 15, ll. 1-5 & 10-28]: the SSTDR signal is analyzed in the frequency domain to extract the impedance, “This signature is then converted to the frequency domain using the Fourier transform”, “Both the S and ABCD approaches fully capture the frequency-dependent complex impedances (magnitude and phase)…”, teaches deriving impedance versus frequency data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a signal showing the impedance characteristic where data includes impedance versus frequency, of Furse to Nakayama, in order to attain and improve, by combination, knowing that reflection characteristics (S-parameters) and impedance characteristics (Z-parameters) are two standard, mathematically equivalent ways of describing the same electrical network, the conversion between them is a routine calculation in the field, therefore would be obvious to convert the measured S-parameter data of Nakayama into the fundamental property of impedance for the purpose of comparison as taught by Furse, to represent the measured data in a different but equivalent format that may be more intuitive for characterizing the state of certain components, using impedance versus frequency as the individual characteristic data, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Nakayama, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 2 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll.17-21, 31-41, & 52-54], [Col. 3, ll. 10-16], [Col. 11, ll. 63-65], & [Col. 12, ll. 44-51]), wherein
in a case where the signal showing the electromagnetic characteristic, detected by the coupling circuit ([Col. 13, ll. 34-51]: measures reflection characteristics (S-parameters or “electromagnetic characteristics”), states the signals R11 (non-reflected wave) and R12 (reflected wave) are detected by the mixers 16a/16b, 26a/26b, and bridges 14a/14b/24a/24b, which are part of the signal source system that functions as the “coupling circuit” to detect signals showing reflection characteristics (e.g., R12, R22))
Nakayama, is silent in regard to:
is a signal showing the impedance characteristic, the individual characteristic data includes impedance versus time.
However, Furse, further teaches:
is a signal showing the impedance characteristic (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 21-44], & [Col. 4, ll. 50-67]: teaches using reflected signals to determine the impedance (Z) of circuit components, the “TX/RX” block 111 in the figure illustrates the coupling circuit.), the individual characteristic data includes impedance versus time (Fig. 2; [Col. 1, ll. 21-44] & [Col. 10, ll. 40-47]: teaches analyzing a “pulse response as a function of time” to find the impedance causing a reflection, and the core functionality of SSTDR is to measure a characteristic (e.g., impedance) by analyzing reflections over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a signal showing the impedance characteristic where data includes impedance versus time, of Furse to Nakayama, in order to attain and improve, by combination, where Furse teaches that impedance-versus-time data provides a detailed characteristic signature of a component or circuit, integrating this known measurement method into Nakayama, would improve and provide a more detailed dataset (impedance vs. time), rather than a single value to create a unique identifier for equipment, with the application of the SSTDR technique to the problem of equipment identification, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal, in view of Tsuneki et al. (US 2020/0089175 A1, Pub. Date Mar. 19, 2020, hereinafter Tsuneki), and further in view of Kumhyr.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual identification device for target equipment according to claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0008], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0032]-[0034], [0036], [0041] & [Claim 1]), wherein
the individual characteristic data stored in the storage device ([0041]-[0045] & [0055]-[0058]: “The reconstructed message signals are then passed to a signal acquisition and storage array 311. The purpose of this unit is to sample the signals and store them…obtain a statistical characterization” the statistical characterization of signal for the DOP, where S(D) is the individual characteristic data), and
when the comparison between the individual characteristic data from the characteristic measurement device and the individual characteristic data in the original individual characteristic data stored in the storage device shows a match (Fig. 7; [0055]-[0062]: teaches a “statistical discriminator for predicates P1, P2,…, PN is determined” and used to “determine information leakage relating to predicates”, comparing between the individual characteristic data from the measurement device and the individual characteristic data in the original characteristic data stored in the storage device to find a match),
Agrawal, is silent in regard to:
is stored as original individual characteristic data to which identification information shown by a model name or a serial number of the original target equipment is linked, the comparison and determination device outputs the identification information about the original target equipment in the original individual characteristic data
However, Tsuneki, further teaches:
is stored as original individual characteristic data to which identification information shown by a model name, a serial number, or the like of the original target equipment is linked (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008], [0050], [0052], [0056], [0060]-[0066] & [Claim 1]: teaches comparing a target machine (original target equipment) to a “plurality of other machines” requiring linking to stored data to each machine’s identity (parameters that could be associated with for example serial number, model) for the system to be functional), the comparison and determination device outputs the identification information about the original target equipment in the original individual characteristic data (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0050], [0052]-[0053], & [0056]: “outputs characteristic information that is unique to the target machine”, the “characteristic information” is derived from the comparison and can be a “deviation from a statistic” or a judgment on whether the machine is “normal or abnormal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the statistical engine for determining if a device’s characteristics match a normal distribution (original data) of Tsuneki, to the method for collected high-fidelity electromagnetic signatures (characteristics) of Agrawal, in order to attain and improve, by combination, applying the data-linking and output architecture of Tsuneki, where the comparison and determination device outputs the original individual characteristic data, of Tsuneki to Agrawal, to the specific electromagnetic emanation-based characteristic data taught by Agrawal, to identify a specific device based on its unique electromagnetic signature, creating a system that stores a signature linked to a device’s model or serial number or other parameters and outputs that identification information where matching/comparing information is successful, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Claims 11-12 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Agrawal, in view of Nakayama, and further in view of Kumhyr.
Regarding independent claim 11, Agrawal, teaches:
An individual determination method for target equipment (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0010], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0043]-[0044] & [0047]: discloses a method for evaluating/determining information about an electronic device (target equipment)) comprising: an acquisition procedure of acquiring individual characteristic data about target equipment (Figs. 4 & 5; [0046]-[0053]: teaches the “collection methodology” for acquiring electromagnetic emanation data (signatures) from the DUT), the acquisition procedure including: acquiring a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic (Fig. 2; [0034] & [0039]-[0041]: using sensors (e.g., current clamp 205/ coupling circuit) connected to lines (interface) to acquire electromagnetic emanations (conduction noises) from the DUT), in which a coupling circuit electrically connected to an interface in target equipment detects a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic (Fig.2; [0033]-[0034] & [0039]-[0043]: sensor 2 (coupling circuit), current clamp (205) provides electrical connection to an interface in target equipment (100), using sensors for conductive emanations, which are detected via physical connection to conducting channels (e.g., power lines, interfaces) of the DUT) based on a conduction noise that is conducted to the interface in target equipment (Fig. 2; [0033]-[0034] & [0039]-[0043]: teaches the detection of conductive noise as a source of information, where “Conductive emanations refers to the leakage of modulated signals via electrically conducting channels that are attached to the DUT”), and acquiring individual characteristic data about the target equipment, in which a characteristic measurement device acquires and outputs individual characteristic data showing an electromagnetic individual characteristic of the target equipment (Figs. 1, 3, & 6; [0036], [0041]-[0044], [0046]-0047], [0054]-[0055] & [0058]: teaches the Signal Acquisition, Processing, and/or Analysis Module (Fig. 1: 103; Fig. 3: 300 (measurement device)) receives signals from sensors, processed them to create a “statistical characterization” of the signal and noise, referred to as “individual characteristic data”, where the “characteristic measurement device”, outputs processed data (S(D) and N(D)), which are the statistical characterizations (individual characteristic data)) on a basis of the electromagnetic characteristic signal from the coupling circuit (Figs. 2 & 3; [0036], [0041]-[0044], [0046]-[0047], [0054]-[0055] & [0058]: the system uses signals from the various sensors (including conductive sensors) as the basis for all further processing and analysis, where the outputs of the sensors 207, 208, and 209 are then fed to the signal acquisition, processing and/or analysis module); and
an individual determination procedure of, in a comparison and determination device, comparing the individual characteristic data about the target equipment acquired in the acquisition procedure with individual characteristic data about original target equipment stored in a storage device (Fig. 7; [0041]-[0044], [0047] & [0053]-[0054], & [0057]-[0058]: teaches the analysis phase involves comparing the extracted statistical signatures (e.g., S(D)) against references to determine information leakage or device properties, storing a reference signature or “original target equipment” and describes storing the collected and processed data, the “statistical characterization” (individual characteristic data) for a known original DOP (original target equipment) stored for later use in the analysis/comparison phase, where signal acquisition and storage array 311 (storage device), aggregate (stored data)), and performing individual determination on the target equipment (Fig. 7; [0057]-[0059] & [0061]: describes a “scoring device that uses a “likelihood discriminator” to compare statistical characterizations (stored data vs. new data), comparing signals to stored predicates, to compute a “measure of confidence” that a specific operation (or state) is being performed (individual determination), and determine information leakage),
Agrawal, is silent in regard to:
either a reflection characteristic, or an impedance characteristic, or a pass characteristic, observed in the interface in the target equipment, extracts an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the target equipment from the signal detected thereby, and outputs the electromagnetic characteristic signal,
However, Nakayama, further teaches:
either a reflection characteristic, or an impedance characteristic, or a pass characteristic, observed in the interface in the target equipment ((Fig. 6a; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 14-16, 21-23, & 26-27], [Col. 11, ll. 55-61], [Col. 12, ll. 22-23], [Col. 13, ll. 25-28 & 41-51] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: measures reflection characteristics (measuring a reflected signal R12) and pass characteristics (measuring a transmitted/transmission signal R22 through a transmission element 44, the device then compares these measured characteristics against known, stored characteristics to determine the state of the component), extracts an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the target equipment from the signal detected thereby, and outputs the electromagnetic characteristic signal (Figs. 4 & 5; [Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8], [Col. 16, ll. 13-35], [Col. 17, ll. 49-67], [Col. 18, ll. 1-10], & [Col. 19, ll. 4-6, 11-20, & 25-49]: error factor deriving unit 52, signal measurement 53, and transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 collectively perform the function of extracting the electromagnetic characteristic signal (S-parameters) from the raw detected signals, deriving transmission characteristics Sija from measured signals Rij and error factors E, and outputting derived Sija to a determination unit),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reflection, or an impedance, or a pass characteristic, observed in the interface in target equipment, extracts an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the target equipment from the signal detected, and outputs the electromagnetic characteristic signal, of Nakayama to Agrawal, in order to attain and improve, by combination, the EM analysis techniques of Nakayama to obtain a signature and compare it to a known reference signature, providing a detailed characteristic signature of a component or circuit, would improve and provide a more detailed dataset, rather than a single value to create a unique identifier for equipment, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Agrawal, and Nakayama in combination, are silent in regard to:
wherein
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine, or a registration determination of whether the target is registered according to an individual identification determination or an authentication determination.
However, Kumhyr, further teaches:
wherein
the individual determination on the target equipment corresponds to an authenticity determination of whether the target equipment is genuine or non-genuine (Figs. 2 & 4; [0009], [0015]-[0016] & [0020]-[0022]: teaches using the comparison of electromagnetic characteristics to determine if the device is authentic (genuine) or counterfeit (non-genuine)), or a registration determination of whether the target is registered according to an individual identification determination (Figs. 2-4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]) or an authentication determination (Figs. 2-4; [0009], [0015]-[0018] & [0020]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate, adapt, and combine the electromagnetic signal acquisition of Agrawal to perform the authenticity determination taught by Kumhyr, and to utilize the standard network characteristics (reflection/transmission) as taught by Nakayama, serving as the precise individual characteristic data for that determination, Agrawal further discloses the method of acquiring electromagnetic signals (conductive emanations) from target equipment using coupling circuits (sensors/clamps), processing the signals to extract characteristics (signatures), and comparing them to determine information about the device, Nakayama provides the technical means of characterizing electronic elements via reflection characteristics (S-parameters) or transmission (pass) characteristics, that can be incorporated into the electromagnetic profile described by Agrawal and Kumhyr to ensure accurate identification, and Kumhyr provides the motivation to apply electromagnetic profiling for the purpose of authenticity determination (genuine vs. counterfeit), thus the combination or prior art references, would allow for an improved, more accurate authenticity determination method for verifying that target equipment is genuine, since it has been held that within the general skill of a worked in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual determination method for target equipment according to claim 11 (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [Abstract], [0010], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0043]-[0044] & [0047]), wherein
the acquisition procedure includes arranging the individual characteristic data about the target equipment (Fig. 4; [0054]-[0056]: teaches the Analysis Methodology is dedicating to “arranging” the raw collected data, involves processing the raw “message samples” to extract refined characteristics), which arranges the individual characteristic data about the target equipment from the characteristic measurement device by eliminating a noise (Fig. 6; [Abstract], [0055], & [0058]: teaches the derived signal is separated into a signal component (desired information) and noise component (unwanted noise) and works to eliminate the noise by averaging, figure further illustrates “Perform Signal Extraction” operation, obtain N(D), statistical characterization of noise for the DOP) or extracting specific information from the individual characteristic data (Figs. 6-7; [Abstract], [0055], & [0058]: teaches the process of signal extraction is the direct counterpart to noise elimination, extracting the specific, desired information (“signal component”) from the raw data aggregate that contains both signal and noise, figure further illustrates “Perform Signal Extraction” operation, obtain S(D), statistical characterization of signal for the DOP) about the target equipment outputted by the characteristic measurement device (Fig. 3; [0041]-[0044] & [0053]-[0054]: teaches the raw “message samples” outputted by Signal Acquisition and Storage array (312, 313, 314) are the inputs to the signal/noise extraction process and teaches combining data for all device operations that satisfy a specific predicate), and outputs the arranged individual characteristic data to the comparison and determination device (Fig. 7; [0042], [0046]-[0047], [0055], [0057]-[0059], & [0061]: teaches the refined, predicate-specific data (NP1, SP1) is used by the statistical discriminator, comparing for the final determination, where the results of the signal and noise extraction processes, the aggregate signal signature (S(D)) and aggregate noise signature (N(D)) are the “arranged data” that are output for use in the next stage, the determination process (scoring device) compares them).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual determination method for target equipment according to claim 11 (Figs. 2 & 5; [Abstract], [0010], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0043]-[0044] & [0047]), wherein
the interface in the target equipment at which a voltage, or a current is observed ([0033]-[0034] & [0041]), includes a power or communication cable or a terminal of a power or communication cable in the target equipment ([0032]-[0034], [0041]), or a whole or part of a case of the target equipment (Figs. 11-12; [0078], [0082]-[0084]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Agrawal, in view of Nakayama, in view of Tsuneki, and further in view of Kumhyr.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual determination method for target equipment according to claim 11 (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0010]-[0011], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0043]-[0044] & [0047]), wherein
the individual determination method further includes: a storage procedure of storing original individual characteristic data about the original target equipment in the storage device (Figs. 3 & 7; [0041]-[0044], [0047], [0052]-[0054], & [0057]-[0058]: signal acquisition and storage array 311 (storage device), whose purposes is to “sample signals and store them”, aggregate (stored data): describes storing the collected and processed data, the “statistical characterization” (individual characteristic data) for a known original DOP (original target equipment) is stored for later use in the analysis phase), the storage procedure including:
acquiring a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic (Figs. 2 & 5; [0032], [0034]-[0035] & [0039]-[0043]: using sensors (e.g., current clamp 205/coupling circuit) to acquire electromagnetic emanations (conduction noises) from the DUT), in which the coupling circuit detects a signal showing an electromagnetic characteristic (Figs. 2 & 5; [0032], [0034]-[0035] & [0039]-[0043]: sensor 2 (coupling circuit), current clamp (205) provides electrical connection to an interface (power/ground lines) in target equipment (100), using sensors for conductive emanations, which are detected via physical connection to conducting channels (e.g., power lines, interfaces) of the DUT, sensor array includes a current clamp 205, which is the specific sensor for acquiring conductive emanations) based on a conduction noise that is conducted to the interface in target equipment (Figs. 2 & 5; [0013], [0032], [0034]-[0035] & [0039]-[0044]: teaches the detection of conductive noise as a source of information, where “Conductive emanations refers to the leakage of modulated signals via electrically conducting channels that are attached to the DUT”, sensor array includes a current clamp 205, which is the specific sensor for acquiring conductive emanations), extracts an electromagnetic characteristic signal showing an individual characteristic of the original target equipment (Figs. 3 & 6; [0013], [0028], [0034], [0041]-[0046] & [0055]: Fig. 6 illustrates “Perform Signal Extraction operation on A” to obtain S(D), the statistical characterization of signal for the DOP, and “in step 620 the message signal (also referred to as the signal component) is refined and extracted from N(D) aggregate message signals by a separated. For example, this can be done by averaging”, this is the extraction of the individual characteristic signature from the raw signal) from the signal detected thereby ([0013], [0034], [0041]-[0046] & [0055]), and outputs the electromagnetic characteristic signal (Fig. 7; [0042], [0046]-[0047], [0055], [0057]-[0059], & [0061]: teaches the refined, predicate-specific data (NP1, SP1) is used by the statistical discriminator, comparing for the final determination, where the results of the signal and noise extraction processes, the aggregate signal signature (S(D)) and aggregate noise signature (N(D)) are the “arranged data” that are output for use in the next stage, the determination process (scoring device) compares them);
acquiring the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment (Figs. 4 & 5; [0013], [0036] & [0046]-[0053]: teaches the “collection methodology” for acquiring electromagnetic emanation data from the DUT, obtain S(D), the statistical characterization of signal for the DOP, this is acquired individual characteristic data, which is output for use in further analysis (Fig. 7)), in which the characteristic measurement device acquires the individual characteristic data showing an electromagnetic individual characteristic of the original target equipment (Figs. 1, 3, & 6; [0013], [0036], [0041]-[0042], [0046]-0047], [0055] & [0058]: teaches the Signal Acquisition, Processing, and/or Analysis Module (Fig. 1: 103; Fig. 3: 300) receives signals from sensors, processed them to create a “statistical characterization” of the signal and noise, referred to as “individual characteristic data”, where the “characteristic measurement device”, outputs processed data (S(D) and N(D)), which are the statistical characterizations (individual characteristic data)) on a basis of the electromagnetic characteristic signal of the original target equipment, from the coupling circuit (Figs. 2 & 3; [0013], [0036], [0041]-[0042], [0046]-[0047], [0055] & [0058]: the system uses signals from the various sensors (including conductive sensors) as the basis for all further processing and analysis, where the outputs of the sensors 207, 208, and 209 are then fed to the signal acquisition, processing and/or analysis module),
storing the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment stored in the storage device, as original individual characteristic data (Fig. 7; [0041]-[0044], [0047]. [0053]-[0054] & [0057]-[0058]: teaches the analysis phase involves comparing the extracted statistical signatures (e.g., S(D)) against references to determine information leakage or device properties, storing a reference signature or “original target equipment” and describes storing the collected and processed data, the “statistical characterization” (individual characteristic data) for a known original DOP (original target equipment) stored for later use in the analysis/comparison phase, where signal acquisition and storage array 311 (storage device), aggregate (stored data)),
Agrawal, is silent in regard to:
either a reflection characteristic or an impedance characteristic, or a pass characteristic, observed in the interface in the target equipment, and outputting the individual characteristic data; and with the individual characteristic data being linked to identification information shown by a model name, a serial number, or the like of the original target equipment.
However, Nakayama, further teaches:
either a reflection characteristic or an impedance characteristic, or a pass characteristic, observed in the interface in the target equipment (Fig. 6a, [Col. 1, ll. 31-36], [Col. 10, ll. 14-16, 21-23, & 26-27], [Col. 11, ll. 55-61], [Col. 12, ll. 22-23], [Col. 13, ll. 25-28 & 41-51], [Col. 19, ll. 4-49] & [Col. 21, ll. 1-3]: taught by first signal source 10, that is electrically connected to the calibration element (target equipment) via an output terminal 19 and switch 31, where the system is designed to detect signals based on reflection, where the system measures signals reflected, signal source includes bridges and mixers (14a, 14b, 16a, 16b) that separate outgoing signal from the incoming reflected signal (R12), where R12 is described as “a result of a measurement of the signal reflected by the reflection element”), and outputting the individual characteristic data ([Col. 1, ll. 17-21 & 31-41], [Col. 13, ll. 7-8] & [Col. 19, ll. 4-49]: teaches the transmission characteristic deriving unit 54 is the “characteristic measurement device”, received the foundational data (Rij from the “coupling circuit” and E from the deriving unit), where its primary function is to output the “individual characteristic data,” which is the derived S parameters (Sija) of the target transmission element 44); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reflection, or an impedance, or a pass characteristic, observed in the interface in target equipment, and outputs the individual characteristic signal, of Nakayama to Agrawal, in order to attain and improve, by combination, the EM analysis techniques of Nakayama to obtain a signature and compare it to a known reference signature, providing a detailed characteristic signature of a component or circuit, that would improve and provide a more detailed dataset, rather than a single value to create a unique identifier for equipment, yielding predictable results (KSR).
The combination of Agrawal and Nakayama, are silent in regard to:
with the individual characteristic data being linked to identification information shown by a model name or a serial number of the original target equipment
However, Tsuneki, further teaches:
with the individual characteristic data being linked to identification information shown by a model name or a serial number of the original target equipment (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008], [0024], [0050], [0056], [0067] & [Claim 1]: teaches comparing a target machine (original target equipment) to a “plurality of other machines” requiring linking to stored data linked to each machine’s identity (parameters that could be associated with for example serial number, model name) for the system to be functional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the individual characteristic data linked to identification information shown by a model name, a serial number, or the like of the original target equipment, of Tsuneki to modify Agrawal, in order to attain and improve, by combination, applying the data-linking and output architecture of Tsuneki to the specific electromagnetic emanation-based characteristic data taught by Agrawal, to identify a specific device based on its unique electromagnetic signature, creating a system that stores a signature linked to a device’s model/serial number or other parameters and outputs that identification information where matching information is successful, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual determination method for target equipment according to claim 13 (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0010]-[0011], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0043]-[0044] & [0047]), wherein
the acquisition procedure includes arranging the individual characteristic data about the target equipment (Figs. 4 & 5; [0046]-[0055]: teaches the “collection methodology” for acquiring electromagnetic emanation data from the DUT, and teaches processing (“arranging”) signals by performing signal and noise extraction operations to obtain a “statistical characterization”), which arranges the individual characteristic data about the target equipment from the characteristic measurement device by eliminating a noise or extracting specific information from the individual characteristic data about the target equipment (Figs. 1, 3, & 6; [0041]-[0042], [0046]-0055] & [0058]: teaches the Signal Acquisition, Processing, and/or Analysis Module (Fig. 1: 103; Fig. 3: 300) receives signals from sensors, processed them to create a “statistical characterization” of the signal and noise, referred to as “individual characteristic data”, where the “characteristic measurement device”, outputs processed data (S(D) and N(D)), which are the statistical characterizations (individual characteristic data), and teaches a separator “extracts noise signal (also known as the noise component)” and “the message signal (also referred to as the signal component) is refined and extracted”, eliminating noise and extracting information) outputted by the characteristic measurement device (Fig. 3; [0041]-[0044] & [0053]-[0054]), and outputs the arranged individual characteristic data to the comparison and determination device (Fig. 3; [0042], [0046]-[0047], [0055], [0057]-[0059] & [0061]: teaches the refined, predicate-specific data (NP1, SP1) is used by the statistical discriminator, comparing for the final determination, where the results of the signal and noise extraction processes, the aggregate signal signature (S(D)) and aggregate noise signature (N(D)) are the “arranged data” that are output for use in the next stage, the determination process (scoring device) compares them, the combination uses stored, arranged data), and
the storage procedure includes arranging the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment (Figs. 3 & 7; [0041]-[0044], [0047], [0052]-[0055] & [0057]-[0058]: signal acquisition and storage array 311 (storage device), whose purposes is to “sample signals and store them”, aggregate (stored data): describes storing the collected and processed data (“arranging”), the “statistical characterization” (individual characteristic data) for a known original DOP (original target equipment) is stored for later use in the analysis phase), which arranges the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment from the characteristic measurement device by eliminating a noise (Fig. 7; [0055]-[0058] & [0071]: combines and averages the initial statistical characteristics (N(D)s and S(D)s) to form a new statistical characterization (NP1, SP1), involves extracting the “message signals” (specific information) from the raw aggregate signals and separating out the “noise component” (eliminating noise), and the creation of the statistical characterization (e.g., the aggregate signal signature) is the act of “arranging” the extracted information, averaging is performed to reduce/eliminate noise) or extracting specific information from the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment outputted by the characteristic measurement device (Fig. 7; [0013], [0055]-[0058] & [0071]: extracts the specific information related to predicate P1, “of all DOPs that satisfy P1”, and involves extracting the “message signals” (specific information) from the raw aggregate signals and separating out the “noise component” (eliminating noise), and the creation of the statistical characterization (e.g., the aggregate signal signature) is the act of “arranging” the extracted information), the stored signature is derived from the signal component (extracted specific information) and is used for later comparison, and “combines statistical characteristics N(D) and S(D) for all DOPs which satisfy a given predicate”, combinations uses stored, arranged data), and outputs the arranged individual characteristic data to the storage device ([0055]-[0058] & [0071]: the entire process of statistical characterization is for the purpose of comparison and analysis).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Agrawal, teaches:
The individual determination method for target equipment according to claim 13 (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0010]-[0011], [0013], [0027]-[0028], [0043]-[0044] & [0047]), wherein
the individual determination procedure (Figs. 4 & 7; [0049], [0055] & [0057]: teaches a methodology for determining information about a device (DUT) by analyzing its electromagnetic emanations, describes procedure of extracting “…the signal and noise components obtained for a setting of the collection equipment are aggregated to obtain a statistical characterization of signal and noise…”)
Agrawal, is silent in regard to:
includes outputting the identification information in the original individual characteristic data about the original target equipment when there is a match between the individual characteristic data about the target equipment acquired in the acquisition procedure and the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment stored in the storage device.
However, Nakayama, further teaches:
includes outputting the identification information in the original individual characteristic data about the original target equipment ([Col. 20, ll. 6-26] & [Col. 22, ll. 1-14]: teaches making a determination and outputting the result of the comparison (i.e., whether the elements are good or faulty) interpreted as the “identification information” about the state of the original target equipment) when there is a match between the individual characteristic data about the target equipment acquired in the acquisition procedure (Fig. 4; [Col. 19, ll. 11-67]: reflection element state determination unit 58, teaches comparing acquired data (Sija) to stored data (Sjit) to determine a “match” (coincidence)) and the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment stored in the storage device (Fig. 4; [Col. 19, ll. 11-67]: reflection element state determination unit 58, recording unit 56, teaches comparing acquired data (Sija) to stored data (Sjit) to determine a “match” (coincidence), where the storage unit holds known reference data (“individual characteristic data” about the “original target equipment”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate outputting the identification information in the original characteristic data about the original target equipment for a match between the characteristic about the target equipment acquired in the acquisition procedure and the individual characteristic data about the original target equipment stored in the storage device, of Nakayama to Agrawal, in order to attain and improve, by combination, applying the comparison and output techniques of Nakayama to the data acquisition and signature generation system of Agrawal, to attain the comparison of measured and stored signatures not just for general analysis, but also to verify equipment identity or state and outputting a result, to include outputting identification information when a match is found between acquired and stored individual characteristic, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takashi et al. (IN201747043594A) discloses an authenticity determination device, authenticity determination system, and authenticity determination method. Seguin et al. (US2009/0216498A1) discloses electromagnetic emissions stimulation and detection system. Morena et al. (US2022/0341990A1) discloses a method and apparatus for detection of counterfeit parts, compromised or tampered components or devices, tampered systems such as local communication networks, and for secure identification of components. Ikeda et al. (US20230239182A1 and US12119964B2) disclose electronic control device and determination method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 02/09/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/10/2026