DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/21/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-22 is/are now pending in the application. Applicant's amendments have addressed all informalities as previously set forth in the non-final action mailed on 03/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
Independent Claim(s) 1, 12, 22 recites
receive an initial sample map of a sample,
the initial sample map includes an initial path including a set of site points,
the initial path includes a first duration and a first distance;
generate one or more adjusted sample maps including one or more adjusted paths of the set of site points of the initial sample map,
each adjusted path is generated by adjusting an order of arrival of the set of site points based on a cost function,
the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path,
the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system;
generate a final sample map of the sample based on the one or more adjusted paths,
the final sample map includes a final path generated based on the one or more adjusted order of arrivals of the set of site points;
at least one of the first duration or the first distance of the initial path are greater than at least one of the second duration or the second distance of the final path
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
In combination with Independent Claim(s) 1, 12, Claim(s) 2-11, 13-21 recite(s)
the set of site points include
a set of inspection points on the sample.
the set of site points include
a set of metrology measurement points on the sample.
the set of site points include
a set of lithography points on the sample.
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted
by
generating a zigzag initial path based on a motion characteristic of the optical sub-system.
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted
by
adjusting a location in time of a site point.
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted
by
adjusting two or more locations in time of two or more site points,
the two or more site points are arranged consecutively in the initial path of the initial sample map.
the initial path includes
a crossing area formed by two or more site points.
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted
by:
removing the crossing area from the initial path
by
adjusting a location in time of the two or more site points forming the crossing area.
generate an initial rough path by adjusting one of an x-axis or a y-axis of the initial sample map.
the cost function further
evaluates at least one of distance, accuracy, throughput, or inter-axis crosstalk error
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (i.e. a controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to: direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample; an optical sub-system; and a controller communicatively coupled to the optical sub-system, the controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to:);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) (i.e. generic data acquisition/output); or
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (i.e. direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample; an optical sub-system; and a controller communicatively coupled to the optical sub-system, the controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to: wherein the optical sub-system comprises an inspection sub-system; wherein the optical sub-system comprises a metrology sub-system; wherein the optical sub-system comprises a lithography sub-system).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)) (i.e. See Alice Corp. and cited references for evidence of additional elements (i.e., generic computer structure; an optical sub-system comprising an inspection sub-system, a metrology sub-system, or a lithography sub-system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TAKAGI ET AL. (US 20160019682 A1) (hereinafter “TAKAGI”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, 22, TAKAGI teaches an inspection method/device to reduce the amount of time it takes to collect images of defects and the BRI of:
a controller including one or more processors (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to:
receive an initial sample map of a sample, wherein the initial sample map includes an initial path including a set of site points, wherein the initial path includes a first duration and a first distance (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17);
generate one or more adjusted sample maps including one or more adjusted paths of the set of site points of the initial sample map, wherein each adjusted path is generated by adjusting an order of arrival of the set of site points based on a cost function (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17);
wherein
the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path,
the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system (See, e.g., ¶ 0045-0046, 0052; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 13 shows display contents of parameter inputs and stage-movement path operation results | teaches evaluating moving distance and time based on input parameters (e.g., imaging interval parameters (motion characteristics); path distance (d1,d2,d3)));
generate a final sample map of the sample based on the one or more adjusted paths, wherein the final sample map includes a final path generated based on the one or more adjusted order of arrivals of the set of site points (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17);
and
direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample, wherein the final path has a second duration and a second distance, wherein at least one of the first duration or the first distance of the initial path are greater than at least one of the second duration or the second distance of the final path (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 12, TAKAGI teaches an inspection method/device to reduce the amount of time it takes to collect images of defects and the BRI of:
an optical sub-system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
and
a controller communicatively coupled to the optical sub-system, the controller including one or more processors (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to:
receive an initial sample map of a sample, wherein the initial sample map includes an initial path including a set of site points, wherein the initial path of the initial sample map has a first duration and a first distance (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17);
generate one or more adjusted sample maps including one or more adjusted paths of the set of site points of the initial sample map, wherein each adjusted path is generated by adjusting an order of arrival of the set of site points based on a cost function (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17);
wherein
the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path,
the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system (See, e.g., ¶ 0045-0046, 0052; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 13 shows display contents of parameter inputs and stage-movement path operation results | teaches evaluating moving distance and time based on input parameters (e.g., imaging interval parameters (motion characteristics); path distance (d1,d2,d3)));
generate a final sample map of the sample based on the one or more adjusted paths, wherein the final sample map includes a final path generated based on the one or more adjusted order of arrivals of the set of site points (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17);
and
direct the optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample, wherein the final path has a second duration and a second distance, wherein at least one of the first duration or the first distance of the initial path are greater than at least one of the second duration or the second distance of the final path (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 13, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the optical sub-system comprises
an inspection sub-system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
wherein
the set of site points include
a set of inspection points on the sample (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 14, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the optical sub-system comprises
a metrology sub-system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
wherein
the set of site points include
a set of metrology measurement points on the sample (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 15, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the optical sub-system comprises
a lithography sub-system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
wherein
the set of site points include a set of lithography points on the sample (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted by generating a zigzag initial path based on a motion characteristic of the optical sub-system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 16, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted by adjusting a location in time of a site point (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, 17, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted by adjusting two or more locations in time of two or more site points, (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17)
wherein
the two or more site points are arranged consecutively in the initial path of the initial sample map (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 8, 18, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the initial path includes a crossing area formed by two or more site points (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, 19, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted by: removing the crossing area from the initial path by adjusting a location in time of the two or more site points forming the crossing area (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4, 6-9, 11-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 10, 20, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the program instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to:
generate an initial rough path by adjusting one of an x-axis or a y-axis of the initial sample map (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3).
With respect to Claim(s) 11, 21, TAKAGI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TAKAGI further teaches the BRI of:
the cost function further
evaluates at least one of distance, accuracy, throughput, or inter-axis crosstalk error (See, e.g., ¶ 0045-0046, 0052; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 13 shows display contents of parameter inputs and stage-movement path operation results | teaches evaluating moving distance and time based on input parameters (e.g., imaging interval parameters (motion characteristics); path distance (d1,d2,d3))).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 09/21/2026, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the applicant’s amendments changing the scope of the claimed invention, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn or updated. However, upon further consideration, a new or updated ground(s) of rejection(s) have been made, and applicant's argument(s)/remark(s) pertaining to the amended language have been rendered moot.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 8-15, filed 09/21/2026, with respect to the 101 rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention on is allegedly directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
The Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Patent Office and submits all of Applicant's claims are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
The Patent Office stated that the path-receiving, order-adjustment, final- map-generation, and duration-and-distance-comparison limitations of independent claims 1, 12, and 22 constitute mathematical concepts and/or mental processes. Office Action, pages 3-4. The Patent Office further stated that the alleged judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and characterized the controller and optical-sub-system limitations as merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea or generally linking the alleged exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Office Action, pages 4-5.
The Applicant respectfully disagrees. Under Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo framework, the claims must be considered as a whole rather than reduced to selected calculations considered in isolation. MPEP § 2106.04(d) explains that Step 2A, Prong Two evaluates whether the claim as a whole applies, relies on, or uses a judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the exception. The limitations containing the alleged exception and the additional elements must be evaluated together, including the manner in which the limitations interact with and affect one another. Further, an improvement to another technology or technical field may demonstrate that a claim integrates an alleged exception into a practical application. MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a).”.
-Applicant states
“Step 2A, Prong One
The claims, considered as a whole, are not directed merely to a mathematical concept or mental process. Independent claims 1, 12, and 22 do not end with calculating, identifying, displaying, or storing a path. Instead, the claims require the generated final path to be used in directing an optical sub-system to perform operations on a sample.
For example, claim 1 recites:
generate one or more adjusted sample maps including one or more adjusted paths of the set of site points of the initial sample map, wherein each adjusted path is generated by adjusting an order of arrival of the set of site points based on a cost function;
generate a final sample map of the sample based on the one or more adjusted paths, wherein the final sample map includes a final path generated based on the one or more adjusted order of arrivals of the set of site points; and
direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub- system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample.
Claim 12 similarly recites:
direct the optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub- system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample.
Claim 22 likewise recites:
directing an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample.
The claims do not merely produce information for human evaluation. The claimed steps result in a final path that is used in directing an optical sub-system to perform operations on a sample. The recited optical-sub-system operation cannot be performed solely in the human mind. Moreover, the specification explains that the final path is a final order of points on the sample after adjustments have occurred and that the optical sub-system performs one or more operations based on that final path. See Specification, paragraph [0027]. The claims therefore concern the application of the generated final path in optical-sub-system operations on a sample, rather than a mathematical result or mental evaluation in isolation.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Examiner’s BRI of the claimed inventions is generic computer structure being used as a tool to generically acquire data, generate a map utilizing the acquired data, generically output instructions to ‘direct’ a generic/conventional/broad ‘optical sub-system’ to perform a generic/conventional/broad function based on the generated map.
When examining step 2A Prong 1, Examiner determines if there is an abstract idea present. One skilled in the art can at least perform the identified abstract idea utilizing Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation. One skilled in the art can at least perform the identified abstract idea utilizing Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The arguments, in light of the specification, fail to convince the Examiner that utilizing Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes does not fit within the scope of the identified abstract limitations.
-Applicant states
“Step 2A, Prong Two - Integration into a Practical Application
Even assuming, without conceding, that the order-adjustment and path- generation limitations recite a mathematical concept or mental process, the claims integrate any such alleged exception into a practical application.
The Patent Office stated that the limitation requiring the optical sub-system to perform operations by following the final path amounts to "mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer," "merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea," or generally links the alleged exception to a field of use. Office Action, pages 4-5. This characterization does not give full effect to the interaction among the claim limitations.
Claim 1 does not merely recite a controller followed by an unrelated optical environment. Claim 1 expressly requires the controller to:
generate a final sample map of the sample based on the one or more adjusted paths, wherein the final sample map includes a final path generated based on the one or more adjusted order of arrivals of the set of site points; and
direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub- system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample.
The same functional relationship is expressly required by claims 12 and 22. The adjusted orders of arrival are used to generate the final path, and the optical sub-system then performs operations on the sample based on the final sample map "by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample." The final path is therefore not merely displayed, reported, or stored for possible later consideration. Rather, the claims require that the final path be used in directing the performance of optical-sub-system operations on the sample.
The specification confirms this interaction. The specification discloses an embodiment in which the generated final path includes a duration-based sample path used by an inspection, metrology, or lithography optical sub-system to perform one or more operations. See Specification, paragraph [0026]. The specification further explains that the optical sub-system performs one or more operations by following the final path and defines the final path as a final order of points or sites on the sample after adjustments have occurred. See Specification, paragraph [0027]. The specification also discloses that the final sample map may be provided to the optical sub-system and that the controller may direct the optical sub-system to perform operations on the sample based on the stored final sample map. See Specification, paragraph [0060]. Those operations may include inspection operations, metrology operations, or lithography operations. See Specification, paragraphs [0061]-[0063].
Accordingly, the "directing" limitation is not insignificant post-solution activity. It supplies the practical use of the preceding path-adjustment and final- map-generation operations. Nor do the claims merely append the words "apply it" to an abstract idea. The claims specify both what is applied (the final path generated based on the adjusted orders of arrival) and how it is applied (the optical sub-system performs operations on the sample by following that final path). The claimed optical-sub-system operation is therefore meaningfully connected to, and dependent upon, the result of the preceding path-generation steps.
The Patent Office also referred to "generic data acquisition/output" as insignificant extra-solution activity. Office Action, page 4. However, the claims do not merely output the final sample map as information. Claim 1 expressly requires the controller to "direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map," and further requires that "the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample." Claims 12 and 22 recite the same substantive relationship. The use of the final path in performing optical-sub-system operations is part of the claimed process itself, not an incidental transmission or display of calculated information.”.
-Applicant states
“Improvement to Optical Sample-Processing Technology
The claims also reflect an improvement to optical sample-processing technology. MPEP § 2106.05(a) recognizes that an improvement to another technology or technical field, and not merely an improvement to computer functionality, may support patent eligibility. The specification must explain the asserted technological improvement, and the claims must reflect the components or steps that provide that improvement. MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a).
The specification explains that the disclosed duration-based sample-path technique may select a final path having the shortest duration or shortest path, may reduce the largest stroke to help improve navigation accuracy, and may use deterministic path algorithms that enable additional optimization. Specification, paragraph [0023]. The specification further discloses that a cost function may be based on a duration associated with performing operations according to a respective path, that path distance may be converted to duration based on actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system, and that actual duration may be calculated using system motion parameters. Specification, paragraph [0036].
The independent claims reflect the disclosed improvement through their particular ordered combination. Claim 1 recites:
"receive an initial sample map of a sample, wherein the initial sample map includes an initial path including a set of site points, wherein the initial path includes a first duration and a first distance";
"generate one or more adjusted sample maps including one or more adjusted paths of the set of site points of the initial sample map, wherein each adjusted path is generated by adjusting an order of arrival of the set of site points based on a cost function";
"generate a final sample map of the sample based on the one or more adjusted paths, wherein the final sample map includes a final path generated based on the one or more adjusted order of arrivals of the set of site points"; and
"direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub- system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample."
Claim 1 further requires:
"wherein the final path has a second duration and a second distance, wherein at least one of the first duration or the first distance of the initial path are greater than at least one of the second duration or the second distance of the final path."
Claims 12 and 22 recite the same duration-and-distance relationship and likewise require the optical sub-system to perform operations on the sample by following the final path. Thus, the claims do not merely recite the desired result of finding a favorable path. They recite an ordered process in which an initial path is received, adjusted paths are generated by changing the order of arrival based on a cost function, a final path is generated based on the adjusted orders of arrival, and the final path is used in directing optical-sub-system operations on the sample.
The Patent Office stated that "[t]here is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology." Office Action, page 5. Applicant respectfully disagrees. The relevant technology is optical sample-processing technology. The claims require that the generated final path be used in directing an optical sub-system to perform operations on a sample, and the specification explains how duration-based path adjustment may reduce the largest stroke, improve navigation accuracy, and enable additional optimization. Specification, paragraph [0023]. The claimed ordered combination therefore applies the path adjustment to the operation of optical sample-processing equipment rather than merely improving a mathematical calculation in the abstract.
The Patent Office further stated that the additional elements merely append "well-understood, routine, conventional activities" to the alleged judicial exception. Office Action, page 5. However, whether an individual controller or optical sub- system may be conventional does not resolve Step 2A, Prong Two. Under MPEP § 2106.04(d), the additional elements must be considered individually and in combination with the alleged exception. Conventionality is not the test for determining whether the claim integrates an alleged exception into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two.
Here, the pertinent question is how the elements interact in the claim as a whole. The claims require that adjusted orders of arrival be used to generate a final path and that the optical sub-system perform operations on the sample "by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample." This ordered combination meaningfully limits the alleged mathematical concept and applies the generated path in optical-sub-system operations on a sample.
Accordingly, even if the claims are considered to recite a mathematical concept or mental process under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims as a whole integrate any such concept into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two. The claims therefore are not directed to a judicial exception, and analysis under Step 2B is unnecessary.
Claims 2-11 and 13-21 are eligible for at least the same reasons as their respective independent claims. The dependent claims further limit the optical sub- system, the site points, or the path-adjustment operations. For example, claim 5 recites "wherein the order of arrival of the set of site points of the initial path is adjusted by generating a zigzag initial path based on a motion characteristic of the optical sub-system." Claim 11 recites "wherein the cost function is based duration." Claims 13-15 further require that the optical sub-system comprise an inspection, metrology, or lithography sub-system, and claims 16-21 further limit the claimed path-adjustment operations. These additional limitations reinforce that the claimed subject matter concerns application of the generated final path in optical sample- processing technology.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of Claims 1-22 under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
In addition, the Applicant has amended the independent claims to include the recitation of "wherein the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path, the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system." Notwithstanding the arguments above, the Applicant further notes that Claims 1, 12, and 22 are also patent eligible in light of the current amendments to Claims 1, 12 ,and 22.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
When examining step 2A Prong 2, Examiner examines the additional elements to determine if the identified abstract idea has been practically applied in a particular way in a particular technology. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application: Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The additional elements, when viewed individually and in combination with the identified abstract idea, do not add anything beyond mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, adding generic ‘apply it’ language, and generically linking the identified abstract idea to a technological environment or field of use.
Examiner interprets the limitation ‘direct an optical sub-system to perform one or more operations on the sample based on the final sample map, wherein the optical sub-system performs the one or more operations by following the final path of the set of site points on the sample’ to be insignificant post solution activity of outputting generic instructions corresponding to generic ‘apply it’ language and generically linking the identified abstract idea to a technological environment or field of use. The claim language fails to provide specific/narrowing real-world functional language utilizing a specific/narrowing device/component based on the result of the identified abstract idea.
Amending the language to perform specific/narrowing real-world function(s) utilizing a specific/narrowing device(s)/component(s) would practically apply the identified abstract idea.
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea.
When examining step 2B, Examiner examines the additional elements to determine if they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The only additional element(s) is/are the generic computer structure being used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 15-19, filed 09/21/2026, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TAKAGI ET AL. (US 20160019682 A1) (hereinafter "TAKAGI").
Applicant respectfully traverses each rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102. A prima facie case of anticipation under 35 U.S.C. § 102 must be based on fact and supported by evidence or scientific reasoning (see In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 128 U.S.P.Q.2d 1429, (Fed. Cir. 1997) and Ex Parte Whalen //, BPAI 2007- 4423, (2008) (Precedential)). (See also In re Robert Skvorecz, 580 F.3d 1262 (Fed. Cir. 2009). In W.L. Gore &Assoc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983) cert. denied, 469 US 851 (1984), the court stated "[a]nticipation requires the disclosure in a single prior art reference of each element of the claim under consideration." "It is by now well settled that the burden of establishing a prima facie case of anticipation resides with the Patent and Trademark Office." Ex parte Skinner, 2 USPQ2d 1788, 1788-89 (B.P.A.I. 1986). The court stated in In re Oetiker, "the examiner bears the initial burden, on review of the prior art or on any other ground, of presenting a prima facie case of unpatentability." 977 F.2d 1443, 1445, 24 USPQ2d 1443, 1444 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Failure of the Patent Office to meet this burden entitles an applicant to a patent. See Id. ("[i]f examination at the initial stage does not produce a prima facie case of unpatentability, then without more the applicant is entitled to grant of the patent.").
In an effort to expedite prosecution, Applicant has amended independent Claims 1, 12, and 22. Support for the amendments is found, for example, in Specification, paragraph [0036]. Applicant respectfully submits that amended Claims 1, 12, and 22 recite subject matter not disclosed by Takagi.
For example, amended Claims 1, 12, and 22 recite:
"wherein the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path, the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system."
The Patent Office relied generally on Takagi Figures 4, 6-9, and 11-17 for the cost-function and path-generation limitations of Claims 1, 12, and 22. Office Action, pp. 6-8. However, the cited portions of Takagi do not disclose the newly recited limitation.
Rather, Takagi focuses on generating paths according to geometric distance. In particular, Takagi states that "a path of shortest distance, through which path all the defects are imaged only once, is generated." Takagi, paragraph [0037]. Takagi then selects, from among candidate reference positions, "a reference position (n(k)) closest to the defect position (n(k-1))." Takagi, paragraph [0038]. Other embodiments similarly determine a minimum-distance path and select stage positions according to the shortest distance or the smallest sum of distances. Takagi, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; Takagi, paragraphs [0063]-[0064].
Takagi's discussion of moving time does not disclose "wherein the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path, the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system," as recited in amended claims 1, 12, and 22. Takagi describes displaying "a result of simulation of a moving time, which is calculated on the basis of stage control parameters," so that the moving distance and moving time can be confirmed and input parameters can be adjusted. Takagi, paragraph [0046]. Thus, at most, Takagi describes calculating and displaying a simulated moving time after generating a stage-movement path. Takagi does not disclose that the cost function used to adjust the order of arrival "evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path." Nor does Takagi disclose that "the actual duration [is] calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system," as recited in amended Claims 1, 12, and 22.
This distinction is substantive. The Applicant notes that selecting a path according to shortest geometric distance and subsequently simulating its moving time is not equivalent to "wherein the cost function evaluates an actual duration of the respective adjusted path, the actual duration being calculated by converting a path distance of the respective adjusted path according to actual motion characteristics of the optical sub-system and motion parameters of the system," as recited in amended Claims 1, 12, and 22. According to amended Claims 1, 12, and 22, the cost function evaluates actual duration in generating each adjusted path and thereby adjusting the order of arrival of the site points. Takagi instead determines the order and stage positions according to shortest-distance criteria. Its later calculation or display of simulated moving time is not equivalent to the claimed duration-evaluating cost function or the claimed conversion used by that cost function.
Therefore, Takagi does not disclose each element of amended Claims 1, 12, and 22 arranged as claimed.
For at least these reasons, the Applicant submits Claims 1, 12, and 22 are allowable over Takagi.
All pending dependent claims are allowable due to their dependence from an allowable base claim.”.
The underlined argument(s)/remark(s) are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the previous rejected limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit