DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang (US20090159785A1; hereinafter Tsang785) in view of Tsang et al. (US20190305016A1; hereinafter Tsang016).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsang785 discloses a photodiode structure (optical sensing device with multiple photodiode elements, [0002]), including:
a chip (silicon substrate 21 on which first photodiode 22 and second photodiode 23 are located), FIG. 2, [0019];
an electrode group, arranged on the chip (positive and negative electrodes of photodiodes 22 and 23 on silicon substrate 21), the electrode group including a positive electrode (positive electrodes of photodiodes 22 and 23) and a negative electrode (negative electrodes of photodiodes 22 and 23), FIG. 2, [0019];
an electrode protection layer (first silicon nitride thin film layer 32), arranged on the chip and covering the electrode group (thin film layer 32 is deposited on the silicon substrate 31 on which photodiodes 22, 23 and the electrode group are located), FIG. 3 reproduced below, [0021]; and
a metal band-pass optical film (multilayer optical filter including first silver partially reflective layer 33 and second silver partially reflective layer 35), arranged on the electrode protection layer (32), the metal band-pass optical film including a plurality of layered structures (multilayer structures including first silver partially reflective layer 33 and second silver partially reflective layer 35), FIG. 3, [0022].
Tsang785: FIG. 3
Tsang785 does not disclose “a metal alloy band-pass optical film, arranged on the electrode protection layer, the metal alloy band-pass optical film including a plurality of layered structures, wherein the plurality of layered structures includes at least two metal alloy material layers.”
In a similar art, Tsang016 discloses a photodiode array 110 including a plurality of photodiodes 112a-i that are formed over a p-substrate 140, FIG. 1A reproduced below, [0054].
Tsang 016 discloses: a metal alloy band-pass optical film (multilayer optical filter including metal layers 134 and 136 formed of aluminum and silver alloy), arranged on the electrode protection layer (dielectric light-transmissive material 1010 formed over the photodiode array 910, FIG. 8, [0083]), the metal alloy band-pass optical film including a plurality of layered structures (multilayer structures including metal layers 134 and 136), wherein the plurality of layered structures includes at least two metal alloy material layers (the metal layers 134 and 136 may be formed of an alloy including aluminum and silver), FIG. 1A, [0060].
Tsang016: FIG. 1A
Tsang016 discloses that a device as taught improves manufacturability and reduces cost [0002]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsang758’s device in order to improve manufacturability and reduce cost as disclosed by Tsang016 [0002].
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 1.
Tsang758 discloses: wherein the electrode protection layer (32) has a thickness measured from a top surface of the chip (top surface of substrate 21 on which first photodiode 22 and second photodiode 23 are located) and greater than a height of the electrode group (positive and negative electrodes of photodiodes 22 and 23 on substrate 21), FIG. 3, [0019], [0021].
Tsang758 [0019] discloses the photodiodes 22 and 23 are located on the silicon substrate 21 and Tsang758 [0021] discloses the layer 32 is deposited over the photodiodes formed on the silicon substrate 31, indicating that the electrode protection layer 32 has a thickness measured from a top surface of the chip greater than a height of the electrode group.
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang 016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 1.
Tsang758 discloses: wherein the plurality of layered structures (multilayered structure 33 and 35 includes a silicon nitride thin film layer 34) further includes at least one of a silicon dioxide layer, a titanium dioxide layer, a tantalum pentoxide layer and a niobium pentoxide layer (silicon dioxide (SiO2) or oxy-nitride may be further applied to layer 34), FIG. 3, [0022].
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang 016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 1.
Tsang758 does not explicitly disclose “wherein for a light in a wavelength range between 400 nm to 600 nm, the metal alloy band-pass optical film has a light transmittance of 80% or more.”
Tsang016 discloses: wherein for a light in a wavelength range between 400 nm to 600 nm (filter 132d with transmission band 210d of wavelength 400-500nm and filter 132e with transmission band 210e of wavelength 500-600nm), the metal alloy band-pass optical film (metal layers 134 and 136 included in bandpass filters 132) has a light transmittance of 80% or more, FIG. 2, [0058].
Tsang016 FIG. 2 discloses filters 132d and 132e approaching 100% transmissivity between wavelengths 400-600nm, indicating for a light in a wavelength range between 400nm to 600nm, the metal alloy band-pass optical film has a light transmittance of 80% or more.
Tsang016 discloses that a device as taught improves optical performance and reduces cost [0002]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsang758’s device in order to improve optical performance and reduces cost as disclosed by Tsang016 [0002].
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 10.
Tsang758 does not explicitly disclose “wherein for a light in a wavelength range between 300 nm to 399 nm, the metal alloy band-pass optical film has a light transmittance of 1% or less.”
Tsang016 discloses: wherein for a light in a wavelength range between 300 nm to 399 nm (filters 132a, 132b, 132c with transmission bands 210a (300-330nm), 210b (340-370nm), 210c (370-400nm) respectively), the metal alloy band-pass optical film (metal layers 134 and 136 included in bandpass filters 132) has a light transmittance of 1% or less, FIG. 2, [0058].
Tsang016 FIG. 2 discloses filters 132a, 132b, and 132c approaching 0% transmissivity between wavelengths 300 – 399nm, indicating for a light in a wavelength range between 300 nm to 399 nm, the metal alloy band-pass optical film has a light transmittance of 1% or less.
Tsang016 discloses that a device as taught improves optical performance and reduces cost [0002]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsang758’s device in order to improve optical performance and reduces cost as disclosed by Tsang016 [0002].
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 photodiode structure of claim 1.
Tsang758 does not explicitly disclose “further including a plurality of electric wires, and each of the electric wires penetrates the metal alloy band-pass optical film and the electrode protection layer and is connected to the electrode group.”
Tsang016 discloses: further including a plurality of electric wires (3 metal layer or 4 metal layer back end of line BEOL technologies, [0056]), and each of the electric wires penetrates the metal alloy band-pass optical film and the electrode protection layer (BEOL wiring penetrates metal layers 134, 136 of band-pass optical film and electrode protection layer 1010 through trenches, [0084]) and is connected to the electrode group (n+ region 915 and p region 919 of photodiode array 910, [0082]).
Tsang016 discloses the implementation of CMOS back end of line BEOL wiring [0056] and formation of trenches through the light transmissive layer using CMOS BEOL process [0084], indicating the plurality of electric wires formed by BEOL process penetrate the band-pass optical film and electrode protection layer to electrically connect to the electrode group.
Tsang016 discloses that a device as taught enables efficient manufacturing and reduces cost [0002]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsang758’s device in order to enable efficient manufacturing and reduces cost as disclosed by Tsang016 [0002].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang785 in view of Tsang016, further in view of Nee (US20050042406A1; hereinafter Nee).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 1.
The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 does not disclose “wherein each of the metal alloy material layers is made of a silver platinum alloy material.”
In an analogous art, Nee discloses reflective layers or semi-reflective layers used in optical storage media [0002].
Nee [0036] discloses semi-reflective layers that includes silver (Ag) and platinum (Pt). The relationship between the amounts of Ag and Pt in the metal alloy is defined by AgxPtz where 0.95<x<0.999 and 0.001<z<0.05, corresponding to a silver platinum alloy with a composition of 95 – 99.9% silver and 0.1 to 5% platinum.
The combination of Tsang016 and Nee disclose: wherein each of the metal alloy material layers (Tsang016: metal layers 134, 136) is made of a silver platinum alloy material, (Nee: silver platinum alloy with a composition of 95 – 99.9% silver and 0.1 to 5% platinum, [0036]).
Nee discloses that a device as taught provides sufficient reflectivity with improved and corrosion resistance and reduced cost [0080]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in order to provide sufficient reflectivity with improved corrosion resistance and reduced cost as disclosed by Nee [0080].
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Tsang758, Tsang016, and Nee disclose the photodiode structure of claim 7.
The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 does not disclose “wherein a ratio of silver to platinum in the silver-platinum alloy material is 95:5.”
Nee discloses: wherein a ratio of silver to platinum in the silver-platinum alloy material is 95:5, [0036].
Nee [0036] discloses semi-reflective layers that includes silver (Ag) and platinum (Pt). The relationship between the amounts of Ag and Pt in the metal alloy is defined by AgxPtz where 0.95<x<0.999 and 0.001<z<0.05, corresponding to a silver platinum alloy with a composition of 95 – 99.9% silver and 0.1 to 5% platinum, indicating the ratio of silver to platinum in the silver platinum alloy material can be 95:5.
Nee discloses that a device as taught provides sufficient reflectivity with improved and corrosion resistance and reduced cost [0080]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in order to provide sufficient reflectivity with improved corrosion resistance and reduced cost as disclosed by Nee [0080].
Claims 2, 3, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang785 in view of Tsang016, further in view of Rantala et al. (US20100136798A1; hereinafter Rantala).
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 1.
The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 does not disclose “wherein the electrode protection layer is made of an optical transparent glue or an optical transparent photoresist.”
In a similar art, Rantala discloses a method of forming a polymer for semiconductor optoelectronics devices [0003].
Rantala discloses: wherein the electrode protection layer (200) is made of an optical transparent glue or an optical transparent photoresist (siloxane polymer), FIG. 1, [0141]. Rantala [0141] discloses a stack of substrate 10, photodiodes 20, metal lines 30 (functions as electrodes), color filter layer 40, and the planarization and passivation layer 200 (electrode protection layer) made of siloxane polymer, which is an optically transparent photoresist.
Rantala discloses that a device as taught enhances device performance without increasing cost [0147]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsang758 and Tsang016’s device in order to enhance device performance without increasing cost as disclosed by Rantala [0147].
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Tsang758, Tsang016, and Rantala disclose the photodiode structure of claim 2.
The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 does not disclose “wherein the optical transparent glue comprises siloxanes, polysiloxanes, acrylics, or epoxy resins.”
Rantala discloses: wherein the optical transparent glue comprises siloxanes, polysiloxanes, acrylics, or epoxy resins, (siloxane polymer, [0141]). Rantala [0141] discloses the planarization and passivation layer 200 (electrode protection layer) is made of siloxane polymer which is an optically transparent glue.
Rantala discloses that a device as taught enhances device performance without increasing cost [0147]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in order to enhance device performance without increasing cost as disclosed by Rantala [0147].
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Tsang758, Tsang016, and Rantala disclose the photodiode structure of claim 2.
The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 does not disclose “wherein the optical transparent photoresist comprises siloxanes or acrylics.”
Rantala discloses: wherein the optical transparent photoresist comprises siloxanes or acrylics, (siloxane polymer, [0141]). Rantala [0141] discloses the planarization and passivation layer 200 (electrode protection layer) is made of siloxane polymer which is an optically transparent photoresist.
Rantala discloses that a device as taught enhances device performance without increasing cost [0147]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in order to enhance device performance without increasing cost as disclosed by Rantala [0147].
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 disclose the photodiode structure of claim 1.
The combination of Tsang758 and Tsang016 does not disclose “wherein the electrode protection layer has a refractive index ranging between 1.45 and 1.6.”
Rantala discloses: wherein the electrode protection layer (200) has a refractive index ranging between 1.45 and 1.6, [0095]. Rantala [0095] discloses the organosiloxane material can have a refractive index of 1.6 or less, indicating the electrode protection layer (200) can have a refractive index ranging between 1.45 and 1.6.
Rantala discloses that a device as taught enhances device performance without increasing cost [0147]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsang758 and Tsang016’s device in order to enhance device performance without increasing cost as disclosed by Rantala [0147].
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Krishna Palaniswamy whose telephone number is
(571)272-6239. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30AM - 5PM
EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached on 408-918-7532. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -
center for more information about Patent Center and ttps://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx
for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN
USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Krishna J. Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899