DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of the remark, applicant argued: “Likewise, dispatching a job to an accelerator engine is not the same as causing an integrated-circuit interconnect to provide the claimed communication paths. Bass describes queue- based dispatching of jobs to hardware accelerators. In contrast, amended claim 1 recites circuitry that causes an interconnect to provide different communication paths for data associated with a request between the same first functional block and either a second functional block or a third functional block, depending on information associated with the request indicating different performance levels.” Applicant’s arguments focus on new claim amendments. See new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
ineligible.
As per claim 6, see rejection on claim 1. “generate a mapping . . . “ These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
“convey . . . “ amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g); this limitation is also a mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
As per claim 13, see rejection on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bass et al (US 2013/0152099) (hereinafter Bass) .
As per claim 1, Bass teaches:
An integrated circuit comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive a request (Bass, [0025]);
cause an interconnect of the integrated circuit to route data associated with the request between a first functional block of the integrated circuit and a second functional block of the integrated circuits (Bass, [0024], [0025]—data is routed from 705, 706 + DMA to AES), responsive to information associated with the request indicating a first performance level (Bass, [0024, 0025); and
cause the interconnect to route data associated with the request between the first functional block and a third functional block of the integrated circuit (Bass, [0024], [0025]—data is routed between DMA and AMF) , responsive to information associated with the request indicating a second performance level different from the first performance level (Bass, [0024], [0025]), responsive to information associated with the request(Bass, [0024], [0025]).
As per claim 3, Bass teaches:
The integrated circuit as recited in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1), wherein the performance level of the request is based at least in part on endpoint features specified in the request (Bass, [0025]).
As per claim 8, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 10, see rejection on claim 3.
As per claim 15, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 17, see rejection on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bass et al in view of ChoFleming et al ( US 2023/0367640) (hereinafter ChoFleming).
As per claim 2, Bass teaches:
The integrated circuit as recited in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
Bass does not expressly teach:
further comprising a plurality of semiconductor dies, wherein the second functional block and the third functional block are located on different semiconductor dies of the plurality of semiconductor dies.
However, ChoFleming discloses:
further comprising a plurality of semiconductor dies, wherein the second functional block and the third functional block are located on different semiconductor dies of the plurality of semiconductor dies (ChoFelming, [0093]).
Both ChoFleming and Bass pertain to the art of integrated circuits.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ChoFleming’s method to use multiple dies because it is well-known in the art that multi-die packaging (chiplets/System-in-Package) enhances semiconductor design by increasing yield, reducing costs, and enabling heterogeneous integration.
As per claim 9, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 16, see rejection on claim 2.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bass in view of Zeng et al (US 2019/0146842) (hereinafter Zeng).
As per claim 4, Bass teaches:
The integrated circuit as recited in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
Bass does not expressly teach:
wherein the integrated circuit comprises stored information associated with one or more of the second functional block or the third functional block, and wherein the stored information indicates one or more of a performance bin, a maximum operating clock frequency, or voltage-frequency scaling data;
However, Zeng discloses:
wherein the integrated circuit comprises stored information associated with one or more of the second functional block or the third functional block (Zeng, [0029]), and wherein the stored information indicates one or more of a performance bin, a maximum operating clock frequency, or voltage-frequency scaling data (Zeng, [0029]);
Both Zeng and Bass pertain to the art of integrated circuits.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zeng’s method to stored performance information because it is well-known in the art that performance information is an important decision variable associated with selection of functional blocks
As per claim 11, see rejection on claim 4.
As per claim 18, see rejection on claim 4.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bass in view of Narvaez et al (US 2014/0189704) (hereinafter Narvaez).
As per claim 5, Bass teaches:
The integrated circuit as recited in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
Bass does not expressly teach:
wherein each of the second functional block and the third functional block comprise circuitry configured to perform a same function.
However, Narvaez discloses:
wherein each of the second functional block and the third functional block comprise circuitry configured to perform a same function (Narvaez, [0095]—under BRI, performing same function can be performing threads).
Both Narvaez and Bass pertain to the art of integrated circuits.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Narvaez’s method to use multiple cores performing same function because it is well-known in the art that independent processing units on a single chip that can execute tasks in parallel, thus improving performance and throughput.
As per claim 12, see rejection on claim 5.
As per claim 19, see rejection on claim 5
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bass in view of Watanabe et al (US 8881200) (hereinafter Watanabe).
As per claim 7, Bass teaches:
The integrated circuit as recited in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
Bass does not expressly teach:
the second functional block and the third functional block are instantiated copies of a frontend circuit that processes rendered video data; and the first functional block is a backend circuit that processes data generated by the frontend circuit.
However, Watanabe discloses: the second functional block and the third functional block are instantiated copies of a frontend circuit that processes rendered video data (Watanabe, col 8, ll 15-17); and the first functional block is a backend circuit that processes data generated by the frontend circuit (Watanabe, col 8 ll 22-25).
Both Watanabe and Bass pertain to the art of integrated circuits.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Watanabe’s method to use decode and scale video because it is well-known in the art that video decoders and scalers are essential processing tools. Decoders decompress streaming data into viewable formats, while scalers adjust resolution to fit screens properly. Together, they optimize bandwidth, guarantee display compatibility, and prevent buffering for a flawless viewing experience across all devices
As per claim 20, see rejection on claim 7.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bass applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Mital et al (US 2023/0118325) (hereinafter Mital) .
As per claim 14, Bass teaches:
The method as recited in claim 8 (see rejection on claim 8).
Bass does not expressly teach:
each of the second functional block and the third functional block is an are instantiated copies of same circuitry.
However, Mital discloses:
each of the second functional block and the third functional block is an are instantiated copies of same circuitry (Mital, [0029]).
Both Mital and Bass pertain to the art of integrated circuits.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mital’s method to instantiate same circuits because it is well-known in the art that instantiable circuits provide a structured method to isolate electrical power, allowing specific high-draw appliances or sensitive equipment to operate independently. This modularity prevents systemic overloads, mitigates fire hazards, and guarantees each device receives its required power rating for optimal performance
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198