DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/530,238 (corresponding US 2025/0194151 A1; hereinafter “Application 238”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0054390 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, Application 238 teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers (a structure having multi-dielectric layers), comprising: a conduction channel containing aluminum (a conduction channel containing aluminum); a sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a sidewall oxide dielectric structure) in contact with a side surface of the conduction channel and having a first effective permittivity; and a top oxide dielectric structure (a top oxide dielectric structure) in contact with a top surface of the conduction channel and a top surface of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and having a second effective permittivity, wherein the first effective permittivity is greater than the second effective permittivity (See Application 238, claim 1).
Claim 1 of Application 238 does not explicitly recite that a material of the top oxide dielectric structure comprises silicon. Chen teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers (130) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 14), comprising: a top oxide dielectric structure (a top portion of 138) in contact with a top surface of a conduction channel (a top surface of 132) and a top surface of a sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a top surface of a side portion of 138 laterally adjacent to 132), wherein a material of the top oxide dielectric structure comprises silicon such as silicon dioxide as a readily available dielectric material choice known in the art (Fig. 1B and paragraph 31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Application 238 in view of Chen in order to provide the dielectric structure comprising silicon such as silicon dioxide as the readily available dielectric material choice known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Application 238 teaches wherein an atomic ratio of aluminum in the conduction channel is greater than 50% (Application 238, claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Application 238 teaches wherein a metal composition of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and a metal composition of the top oxide dielectric structure are different (Application 238, claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Application 238 teaches wherein the sidewall oxide dielectric structure comprises at least one metal oxide segment, the top oxide dielectric structure comprises at least one metal oxide layer, and a sum of a segment number of the at least one metal oxide segment of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and a layer number of the at least one metal oxide layer of the top oxide dielectric structure is equal to or greater than three (Application 238, claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Application 238 teaches wherein the material of the top oxide dielectric structure further comprises rare earth metal (Application 238, claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Application 238 teaches wherein the material of the top oxide dielectric structure further comprises at least one of hafnium, tantalum, zirconium, titanium, and tungsten (Application 238, claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Application 238 teaches wherein the material of the top oxide dielectric structure further comprises aluminum, magnesium, strontium, magnesium, calcium strontium, or scandium (Application 238, claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Application 238 teaches wherein a thickness of a combination of the conduction channel and the top oxide dielectric structure is smaller than 10 μm (Application 238, claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Application 238 teaches wherein a thickness of the conduction channel is equal to or greater than 1/10 of a thickness of a combination of the conduction channel and the top oxide dielectric structure (Application 238, claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, Application 238 teaches further comprising a conductive pattern crossing the conduction channel through the top oxide dielectric structure (Application 238, claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, Application 238 teaches wherein the top surface of the conduction channel has a covered section covered by the top oxide dielectric structure and two uncovered sections exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure (Application 238, claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, Application 238 teaches wherein the top surface of the conduction channel has a covered section covered by the top oxide dielectric structure and at least one uncovered section exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure (Application 238, claim 12).
Regarding claim 13, Application 238 teaches further comprising: a semiconductor layer covering the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure; a source electrode covering the semiconductor layer; and a drain electrode covering the semiconductor layer and spaced apart from the source electrode by a gap, wherein the gap is right above the conduction channel (Application 238, claim 13).
Regarding claim 14, Application 238 teaches further comprising: a semiconductor layer covering the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure; and a metal pattern covering the semiconductor layer and comprising an anodic oxide segment and two conductive segments electrically isolated from each other by the anodic oxide segment, wherein the anodic oxide segment is right above the conduction channel (Application 238, claim 14).
Regarding claim 15, Application 238 teaches further comprising: a semiconductor layer covering the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure; an etching stopper disposed on the semiconductor layer and right above the conduction channel; a source electrode covering the semiconductor layer and the etching stopper; and a drain electrode covering the semiconductor layer and the etching stopper and spaced apart from the source electrode by a gap on the etching stopper (Application 238, claim 15).
Regarding claim 16, Application 238 teaches wherein the conduction channel is a multilayer structure (Application 238, claim 16).
Regarding claim 17, Application 238 teaches wherein the top oxide dielectric structure comprises a plurality of metal oxide layers, and a layer number of the metal oxide layers is equal to or greater than two (Application 238, claim 17).
Regarding claim 18, Application 238 teaches further comprising: a conductor layer covering on the top oxide dielectric structure and forming a capacitor with the conduction channel (Application 238, claim 18).
Regarding claim 19, Application 238 teaches wherein the top oxide dielectric structure comprises an amorphous phase layer (Application 238, claim 19).
Regarding claim 20, Application 238 teaches wherein the top oxide dielectric structure is a multilayer structure, and the amorphous phase layer is a topmost layer of the top oxide dielectric structure (Application 238, claim 20).
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 26 of copending Application No. 18/530,212 (corresponding US 2025/0191922 A1; hereinafter “Application 212”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0054390 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, Application 212 teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers (an electrode with multi-dielectric layers), comprising: a conduction channel (a metal pattern); a sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a sidewall oxide dielectric structure) in contact with a side surface of the conduction channel and having a first effective permittivity; and a top oxide dielectric structure (a top oxide dielectric structure) in contact with a top surface of the conduction channel and a top surface of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and having a second effective permittivity, a material of the top oxide dielectric structure comprises silicon (the top oxide dielectric structure contains silicon oxide), wherein the first effective permittivity is greater than the second effective permittivity (See Application 212, claim 26, which depends from claim 25, which depends from claim 1).
Claim 26 of Application 212 does not explicitly recite that the conduction channel contains aluminum. Chen teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers (130) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 14), comprising: a conduction channel containing aluminum (an electrode 132 formed of aluminum) as a readily available conductive material choice known in the art (Fig. 1B and paragraph 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Application 212 in view of Chen in order to provide the conductive structure comprising aluminum as the readily available conductive material choice known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2017/0054390 A1; hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers, comprising: a conduction channel containing aluminum (132 formed of aluminum) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 28); a sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a side portion of 138) in contact with a side surface of the conduction channel (a side surface of 132) (See an annotated Fig. 1B below and paragraph 31); and a top oxide dielectric structure (a top portion of 138) in contact with a top surface of the conduction channel (a top surface of 132) and a top surface of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a top surface of the side portion of 138), a material of the top oxide dielectric structure comprises silicon (the top portion of 138 formed of silicon dioxide) (See the annotated Fig. 1B below and paragraph 31).
Chen teaches each and every limitation of claim 1 directed to the structure having multi-dielectric layers structurally and compositionally identical to claim 1 as discussed above. Furthermore, claim 1 does not recite any additional feature to distinguish over Chen teaching the identical structure structurally and compositionally. As such, since Chen teaches the structure having multi-dielectric layers structurally and compositionally identical to claim 1 and since claim 1 does not further recite any distinct feature to distinguish over Chen teaching the identical structure, claimed property or characteristics (i.e., “a sidewall oxide dielectric structure…having a first effective permittivity…a top oxide dielectric structure…having a second effective permittivity…wherein the first effective permittivity is greater than the second effective permittivity”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches wherein an atomic ratio of aluminum in the conduction channel is greater than 50% (paragraph 28, 132 formed of aluminum is substantially 100% aluminum).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches wherein the sidewall oxide dielectric structure comprises at least one metal oxide segment (for example, the side portion of 138 is further horizontally divided into two portions), the top oxide dielectric structure comprises at least one metal oxide layer, and a sum of a segment number of the at least one metal oxide segment of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and a layer number of the at least one metal oxide layer of the top oxide dielectric structure is equal to or greater than three (a sum of the two portions of the side portion of 138 and the top portion of 138 is equal to three) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches wherein the material of the top oxide dielectric structure further comprises at least one of hafnium, tantalum, zirconium, titanium, and tungsten (138 formed of a combination of hafnium dioxide and silicon dioxide) (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the material of the top oxide dielectric structure further comprises aluminum, magnesium, strontium, magnesium, calcium strontium, or scandium (138 formed of a combination of aluminum oxide and silicon dioxide) (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches wherein the conduction channel is a multilayer structure (132 including plural conductive layers) (paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches wherein the top oxide dielectric structure comprises a plurality of metal oxide layers, and a layer number of the metal oxide layers is equal to or greater than two (the top portion of 138 is further horizontally divided into two portions) (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches wherein the top oxide dielectric structure comprises an amorphous phase layer (for example, the top portion of 138 formed of silicon oxide is substantially amorphous) (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches wherein the top oxide dielectric structure is a multilayer structure (the top portion of 138 is further horizontally divided into two portions), and the amorphous phase layer is a topmost layer of the top oxide dielectric structure (for example, the top portion of 138 formed of silicon oxide is substantially amorphous) (paragraph 31).
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (US 2010/0025676 A1; hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers, comprising: a conduction channel containing aluminum (101 formed of aluminum) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 91); a sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a side portion of 102 laterally/horizontally adjacent to 101) in contact with a side surface of the conduction channel (a side surface of 101) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 96); and a top oxide dielectric structure (a top portion of 102) in contact with a top surface of the conduction channel (a top surface of 101) and a top surface of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure (a top surface of the side portion of 102), a material of the top oxide dielectric structure comprises silicon (the top portion of 102 formed of silicon oxynitride) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 96).
Yamazaki teaches each and every limitation of claim 1 directed to the structure having multi-dielectric layers structurally and compositionally identical to claim 1 as discussed above. Furthermore, claim 1 does not recite any additional feature to distinguish over Yamazaki teaching the identical structure structurally and compositionally. As such, since Yamazaki teaches the structure having multi-dielectric layers structurally and compositionally identical to claim 1 and since claim 1 does not further recite any distinct feature to distinguish over Yamazaki teaching the identical structure, claimed property or characteristics (i.e., “a sidewall oxide dielectric structure…having a first effective permittivity…a top oxide dielectric structure…having a second effective permittivity…wherein the first effective permittivity is greater than the second effective permittivity”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki teaches wherein a metal composition of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and a metal composition of the top oxide dielectric structure are different (considering the side portion of 102 only including 102a and the top portion of 102 including a combination of 102a and 102b, metal compositions are different) (Fig. 1B and paragraphs 96-99).
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki teaches wherein the material of the top oxide dielectric structure further comprises rare earth metal (102b of 102 including yttrium oxide) (paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki teaches wherein a thickness of a combination of the conduction channel and the top oxide dielectric structure is smaller than 10 μm (a combined thickness of 101 having 150 nm and each of 102a and 102b having 150 nm is less than 10 μm) (paragraphs 92 and 96).
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki teaches wherein a thickness of the conduction channel is equal to or greater than 1/10 of a thickness of a combination of the conduction channel and the top oxide dielectric structure (a thickness of 101 having 150 nm is greater than 1/10 of a combined thickness of 101 having 150 nm and each of 102a and 102b having 150 nm) (paragraphs 92 and 96).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki teaches further comprising a conductive pattern (105a and 105b) crossing the conduction channel through the top oxide dielectric structure (Fig. 1A and paragraph 84).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazaki teaches wherein the top surface of the conduction channel has a covered section covered by the top oxide dielectric structure and two uncovered sections exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure (top and bottom exposed portions of 101) (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki teaches wherein the top surface of the conduction channel has a covered section covered by the top oxide dielectric structure and at least one uncovered section exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure (top exposed portion of 101 connected to a gate line) (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Yamazaki teaches further comprising: a semiconductor layer (103) covering the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure; a source electrode (105a) covering the semiconductor layer; and a drain electrode (105b) covering the semiconductor layer and spaced apart from the source electrode by a gap (a gap between 10a and 105b), wherein the gap is right above the conduction channel (Fig. 1B and paragraph 84).
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki teaches further comprising: a semiconductor layer (103) covering the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure; and a metal pattern (104a and 104b) covering the semiconductor layer and comprising an anodic oxide segment (106) and two conductive segments (105a and 105b) electrically isolated from each other by the anodic oxide segment, wherein the anodic oxide segment is right above the conduction channel (Fig. 1B and paragraphs 84-86).
Regarding claim 15, Yamazaki teaches further comprising: a semiconductor layer (103) covering the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure; an etching stopper (106) disposed on the semiconductor layer and right above the conduction channel (paragraph 142); a source electrode (105a) covering the semiconductor layer and the etching stopper; and a drain electrode (105b) covering the semiconductor layer and the etching stopper and spaced apart from the source electrode by a gap (a gap between 105a and 105b) on the etching stopper (Fig. 1B and paragraph 84).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsushita et al. (US 2002/0105048 A1; hereinafter “Matsushita”).
Regarding claim 18, Chen does not explicitly teach further comprising: a conductor layer covering on the top oxide dielectric structure and forming a capacitor with the conduction channel. Matsushita teaches a structure having multi-dielectric layers, further comprising: a conductor layer (23 as an upper electrode) covering on a top oxide dielectric structure (a top portion of 22) and forming a capacitor with a conduction channel (a combination of 20 and 21 as a bottom electrode) in order to provide a capacitor element by utilizing additional conductor layer over the conduction channel (Fig. 1 and paragraph 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chen with that of Matsushita in order to provide the capacitor element by utilizing additional conductor layer over the conduction channel.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893