DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Gorup I in the reply filed on 09/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-19 are cancelled and withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/25/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lower edge" and “the upper edge” in lines 14 and 15 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-16 are rejected at least on their dependency to indefinite claim 1.
For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the terms “the lower edge” and “the upper edge” will be understood as “a lower edge” and “an upper edge”.
Claim 2 recites “the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer comprises two-dimensional graphene nanosheets, two-dimensional molybdenum disulfide nanosheets, two- dimensional hexagonal boron nitride nanosheets, and one-dimensional silver nanowires” the listing of options for the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer followed with the “and” raises confusion on if the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer must comprise each individual option listed in order to meet the limitations of claim 2.
For the purposes of examination of the instant application, claim 2 will be understood to read as “the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer comprises two-dimensional graphene nanosheets, two-dimensional molybdenum disulfide nanosheets, two- dimensional hexagonal boron nitride nanosheets, or one-dimensional silver nanowires”
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the silicon doping concentrations" in lines 3 and 4 of claim 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the term “the silicon doping concentrations” will be understood as “silicon doping concentrations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes claim 2 as a product-by-process claim further outlined in MPEP § 2113. Specifically, the limitation of “the preparation method of the transparent conductive material layer is magnetron sputtering”. As outlined in MPEP § 2113, Examiner notes that claim 2 is not limited to the method of production, only the structure implied by the steps. Therefore, the prior art applied to claim 2 does not have to specifically disclose magnetron sputtering as long as the structure of the transparent conductive material layer is equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen) (US 20210344165 A1) in view of Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu) (CN 103489982 A).
Examiner notes an attached machine translation will be used for the claim mapping of Xu for the remainder of the instant action. See PTO-892 form.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses in Fig. 1,
A photonic crystal electrically pumped surface-emitting laser [100A] (Para. [0074]), comprising:
a lower electrode [190] (Para. [0075]);
a substrate [110] (Para. [0074]) stacked above the lower electrode [190] (Para. [0075]);
a first conductive semiconductor layer [120] (Paras. [0084,0087]) stacked above the substrate [110] (Para. [0075]);
an active emitting layer [130] (Para. [0076]) stacked above the first conductive semiconductor layer [120] (Para. [0076]);
a second conductive semiconductor layer [140] (Para. [0075]) stacked above the active emitting layer [130] (Para. [0075]), wherein the second conductive semiconductor layer [140] comprises a photonic crystal [150] (Para. [0077]) formed in alternating regions of different refractive indices [see holes 141] (Para. [0077]), and arranged in a photonic bandgap within the second conductive semiconductor layer [140] (Para. [0077]); and
an upper electrode [170,180] (Para. [0075]) stacked above the second conductive semiconductor layer [140] (Para. [0075]), wherein the upper electrode [170,180] comprises a transparent conductive material layer [170] (Para. [0080]), and a metal conductive layer [180] (Para. [0081]) stacked in sequence (Para. [0081]),
Chen fails to disclose,
a transparent conductive nanomaterial layer and
wherein the lower edge of the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer is connected to the second conductive semiconductor layer, and the upper edge of the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer is connected to the transparent conductive material layer
Xu discloses in Fig. 1,
a transparent conductive nanomaterial layer [102] (Paras. [14,17]) and
wherein a lower edge of the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer [102] (Para. [17]) is connected to a second conductive semiconductor layer [103] (Para. [17])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transparent graphene nanomaterial layer as shown in Xu above the photonic crystal layer of Chen for the purpose of low reflectance of light and desired refractive index with excellent options and mechanical strength. (Xu Paras. [11,14,15])
Examiner notes when the transparent nanomaterial layer [102] of Xu is implemented on top of the photonic crystal structure of Chen as shown in Fig. 1 of Xu, an upper edge of the transparent nanomaterial layer will be connected to the layer [170] of Chen Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Xu discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Chen.
wherein the active emitting layer [130] has a quantum well structure [131] (Para. [0088]) repeated 1-5 times (“at least a layer” disclosed in Para. [0088] of Chen).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Xu discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above and further discloses in Chen,
wherein the active emitting layer [130] comprises sequentially stacked layers [131] (Pars. [0088,0089]), including a quantum lower barrier layer (Para. [0089]), a quantum well layer (Para. [0089]) and a quantum upper barrier layer (Para. [0089])
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Xu as applied to claim 5 above further discloses in Chen,
wherein the material of the quantum well structure of the active emitting layer [Chen 130] is selected from a group consisting of: indium phosphide arsenide, gallium nitride (Chen Para. [0181]), indium gallium arsenide phosphide, indium gallium nitride, indium gallium phosphide, aluminum gallium arsenide indium, aluminum gallium indium phosphide, indium phosphide arsenide phosphide, and combination thereof (Chen Para. [0181]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Xu as applied to claim 5 above further discloses in Chen,
wherein the quantum well structure of the active emitting layer [Chen 130] comprises quantum dots (Chen Para. [0088]) of which the material is selected from a group consisting of: indium phosphide arsenide, gallium nitride (Chen Para. [0181]), indium gallium arsenide phosphide, indium gallium nitride, indium gallium phosphide, aluminum gallium arsenide indium, aluminum gallium indium phosphide, and indium phosphide arsenide phosphide, and combination thereof (Chen Para. [0181])
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Noda et al. (hereinafter Noda) (US 20230275398 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Xu discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses,
wherein: the transparent conductive nanomaterial layer [Xu 102 Fig. 1] comprises two-dimensional graphene nanosheets (Xu Para. [14]), two-dimensional molybdenum disulfide nanosheets, two- dimensional hexagonal boron nitride nanosheets, and one-dimensional silver nanowires; the transparent conductive material layer [Chen 170 Fig. 1] is made of indium tin oxide material (Chen Para. [0080]), and the preparation method of the transparent conductive material layer [Chen 170 Fig. 1] is magnetron sputtering (Para. [0080]); and the lower electrode [Chen 190 Fig. 1] conductive material of the metal conductive layer is AuGeNi or Ti or Au (Chen Para. [0082]).
Chen in view of Xu fails to disclose,
the material of the upper electrode conductive material being Ag
Noda discloses in Fig. 10,
an upper electrode conductive material comprising Ag (Para. [0126]) reflecting light toward a substrate [11] (Para. [0034]) side of a photonic crystal device (Paras. [0134,0135]) through an opening in a lower electrode [20A] (Para. [0044]) formed on a bottom emission side of the substrate [11] (Para. [0044])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Ag material reflecting the light and lower electrode structure for substrate emission as shown in Noda in the modified device of Chen for the purpose of allowing efficient reflection of light from the electrode to the substrate side which contributes to higher efficiency. (Noda Para. [0134])
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Xu and Noda discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 2 above and further discloses,
wherein the second conductive semiconductor layer [Chen 170 Fig. 1] (Chen Para. [0080]) allows for a photonic crystal resonance to the light emitted from the active emitting layer [Chen 130 Fig. 1] (Chen Para. [0080]), and the metal conductive layer reflects the light of the photonic crystal resonance to the lower electrode [Noda Ag layer Fig. 10] (Noda Paras. [0126,0134]).
Claims 8,9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokuda et al. (hereinafter Tokuda) (US 20230096932 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Xu discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Chen Fig. 5A,
wherein the first conductive semiconductor layer [120] (Para. [0084]) comprises a lower cladding layer [CL1] (Para. [0084]) stacked on the substrate [110 Fig. 1] (Para. [0075]), and a lower waveguide layer [S1] (Para. [0084]) stacked on the lower cladding layer [Cl1] (Para. [0084]).
Chen in view of Xu fails to disclose,
wherein the first conductive semiconductor layer comprises a lower contact layer stacked on the substrate,
the lower cladding layer stacked on the lower contact layer
Tokuda discloses in Fig. 1,
a carbon doped lower contact layer [22] (Paras. [0022,0023]) stacked on a substrate [10] (Para. [0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the contact layer and p-type doping of the layers on the substrate side of the active layer as shown in Tokuda in the modified device of Chen for the purpose of spreading current. (Tokuda Paras. [0017,0020])
Examiner notes that Chen discloses that the invention of Fig. 1 of Chen is not limited to the doping N-type and P-type doping configuration as stated in Para. [0075] of Chen.
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Xu and Tokuda discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 8 above and further discloses in Chen,
wherein the first conductive semiconductor layer [120] is made of one or more materials selected from AlGaInP, InP, or AlxGa(1-x)As (Para. [0084]), where 0 < x< 1.
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Xu and Tokuda discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 8 above and further discloses,
comprising a first gradient layer [Chen G1 Fig. 5A] (Chen Para. [0084]) arranged between the lower contact layer [Tokuda 22 Fig. 1] and the substrate [Chen 110 Fig. 1] (Chen Para. [0084]), wherein the material composition of the first gradient layer [Chen G1 Fig. 5A] gradually changes from that of the substrate material [Chen 110 Fig. 1] to the lower contact layer [AlGaAs material] (Chen Para. [0084]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xu and Tokuda as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ohgoh (US 20060220002 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Xu and Tokuda discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 9 above and further discloses,
wherein: the first conductive semiconductor layer is doped with carbon (Tokuda Para. [0023]), and the carbon doping concentration in the lower contact layer [Tokuda 22 Fig. 1] (Tokuda Paras. [0022,0023]) is higher than that in the lower cladding layer [Chen CL1 Fig. 5A] (Chen Para. [0087]);
Chen in view of Xu and Tokuda fails to disclose,
the carbon doping concentration in the lower cladding layer is higher than that in the lower waveguide layer.
Ohgoh discloses in Fig. 1,
a doping concentration of a cladding layer [20] (Para. [0046]) that is higher than a doping concentration of a waveguide layer [31] (Para, [0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the relative doping levels of the cladding and waveguide layers as shown in Ohgoh in the modified device of Chen for the purpose of high reliability of the laser device. (Ohgoh Para. [0054])
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Michiue et al. (hereinafter Michiue) (US 20230352909 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Xu discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Chen,
wherein the second conductive semiconductor layer [140 Fig. 1] (Para. [0086]) comprises an upper waveguide layer [S2 Fig. 6] (Para. [0086]) stacked on the active emitting layer [130 Fig. 1] (Para. [0086]), an upper cladding layer [CL2 Fig. 6] (Para. [0086]) stacked on the upper waveguide layer [S1 Fig. 6] (Para. [0086]), and an upper contact layer [C Fig. 1] (Para. [0086]) stacked on the upper cladding layer [CL2 Fig. 6] (Para. [0086]), and wherein the upper contact layer [C Fig. 1] comprises a first upper contact layer [C Fig. 1].
Chen in view of Xu fails to disclose,
wherein the upper contact layer comprises a first upper contact layer and a second upper contact layer stacked on top of the first upper contact layer
Michiue discloses in Fig. 1A,
a highly doped semiconductor layer [30] (Para. [0052]) with a first layer [31] (Para. [0052]) and a second layer [32] (Para. [0052]) stacked on top of the first layer [31] (Para. [0052])
wherein a doping concentration of the first layer [31] is higher than a doping concentration of the second layer [32] (Paras. [0052,0053])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the two-layer structure with the doping relationship as disclosed in Michiue in the modified device of Chen for the purpose of allowing easier current diffusion. (Michiue Para. [0052])
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Xu and Michiue discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above and further discloses in Chen,
wherein the second conductive semiconductor layer [140] is made of one or more materials selected from AlGaInP, InP, or AlxGa(1-x)As (Para. [0084]), where 0 < x < 1.
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Xu and Michiue discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 13 above and further discloses,
wherein the second conductive semiconductor layer is doped with silicon (Michiue Para. [0053]), the upper contact layer [Chen C Fig. 1] is made of GaAs material (Chen Para. [0178]), and the silicon doping concentration in the first upper contact layer is higher than that in the second upper contact layer [doping level of 31 higher than level of 32 Michiue Paras. [0052,0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Xu and Michiue discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above and further discloses in Chen,
comprising a second gradient layer [G2 Fig. 6] (Para. [0086]) arranged between the upper cladding layer [CL2 Fig. 6] and the upper contact layer [C Fig. 1] (Para. [0086]), wherein the material composition of the second gradient layer [G2 Fig. 6] gradually changes from the upper contact layer [C] to the upper cladding layer [CL2] (Para. [0086]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xu and Michiue as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Ikedo et al. (hereinafter Ikedo) (US 20190131770 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Xu and Michiue discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above but fails to disclose,
wherein: the upper cladding layer comprises a first upper cladding layer, a second upper cladding layer, and a third upper cladding layer, in a sequential arrangement; and the silicon doping concentrations in the first upper cladding layer, the second upper cladding layer and the third upper cladding layer gradually decrease.
Ikedo discloses in Fig 1,
an n-type cladding layer [110] (Para. [0119]) comprising a first cladding layer [111] (Para. [0119]), a second cladding layer [112] (Para. [0119]), and a third cladding layer [113] (Para. [0119]) in a sequential arrangement; and silicon doping concentrations (silicon doping for n-impurity Para. [0262]) in the first cladding layer [111], the second cladding layer [112], and the third cladding layer [113] gradually decrease (Para. [0209])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the three-layer cladding structure with decreasing impurity concentrations as shown in Ikedo in the modified device of Chen for the purpose of achieving an optical confinement structure and decrease in free carrier absorption. (Ikedo Para. [0209])
Examiner notes that Chen discloses that the invention of Fig. 1 of Chen is not limited to the doping N-type and P-type doping configuration as stated in Para. [0075] of Chen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner particularly notes (US 20190252855 A1) which discloses a surface emitting photonic crystal laser with a transparent conductive layer overlying the photonic crystal structure. Examiner further notes (US 20120327966 A1) which discloses a photonic crystal structure with a multi-layer photonic crystal cladding structure. See PTO-892 form.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828