DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2023 and 06/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1, B1, C1, D1, and E1 (claims 1-7 and 9-20) in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a width of the active pattern in the second direction being greater than that of the bit line, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim (directional reference in figure is not consistent with claim 9, see specification paragraph 0069). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Publication 20220102352).
Regarding independent claim 10, Lee teaches a semiconductor memory device (fig. 1), comprising:
bit lines (fig. 4A, BL) extending in a first direction (D1);
active patterns (CP) arranged in the first direction on each of the bit lines, each of the active patterns including a horizontal portion (fig. 5A, HP) parallel to the bit line and vertical portions (VP1 and VP2) vertically protruding from the horizontal portion;
word lines (WL1 and WL2) crossing the bit lines and extending in a second direction (fig. 4A, D2), each of the word lines being on the active patterns arranged in the second direction (fig. 4A);
first electrode patterns connected to the vertical portions of the active patterns, respectively (paragraph 0098, “the bottom electrode may be in contact with the landing pad LP” which connects to the vertical portions, see also fig. 5A);
second electrode patterns on rows of the first electrode patterns arranged in the second direction, each of the second electrode patterns extending in the second direction and parallel to the word lines (paragraph 0098, top electrode);
and a dielectric pattern between the first electrode patterns and each of the second electrode patterns (paragraph 0098, “a capacitor dielectric layer interposed therebetween”).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Lee teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the active patterns includes polysilicon or metal oxide (paragraph 0080).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Lee teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising landing pads (fig. 4B, LP) between the first electrode patterns and the vertical portions, respectively (first electrode patterns located at bottom of DSP).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Lee teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first electrode patterns penetrate a mold insulating layer (fig. 17C, ML2) to be connected to the landing pads, respectively.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Lee teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising shielding lines (fig. 8A, SL1) extending in the first direction between the bit lines adjacent to each other in the second direction (paragraph 0106).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Lee teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 10, wherein each of the first electrode patterns (fig. 17C, PE) includes a bottom portion (see figure below) connected to a respective one of the vertical portions (connected via LP2) and a sidewall portion (see figure below) extending
from the bottom portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Jeon (US Publication 20210202508).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches a semiconductor memory device (fig. 1), comprising:
a bit line (fig. 4A, BL) extending in a first direction (D1);
an active pattern (CP) on the bit line, the active pattern including first and second vertical portions (fig. 5A, VP1 and VP2) facing each other in the first direction and a horizontal portion (HP) connecting the first and second vertical portions;
first and second word lines (WL1 and WL2) on the horizontal portion between the first and second vertical portions, the first and second word lines extending in a second direction (fig. 4A, D2) crossing the first direction;
a gate insulating pattern (Gox) between the first and second word lines and the active pattern; and
a capacitor (DSP) connected to each of the first and second vertical portions (paragraph 0097), the capacitor including:
a first electrode pattern connected to one of the first and second vertical portions (paragraph 0098, “the bottom electrode may be in contact with the landing pad LP” which connects to the vertical portions, see also fig. 5A),
a second electrode pattern on the first electrode pattern (paragraph 0098, top electrode).
Lee does not teach and a ferroelectric pattern between the first electrode pattern and the second electrode pattern.
Jeon teaches and a ferroelectric pattern (fig. 1, 13) between the first electrode pattern (11) and the second electrode pattern (15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor memory device of Lee and the ferroelectric pattern of Jeon to generate oxygen vacancies (Jeon paragraph 0016).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first electrode pattern (fig. 17C, PE) includes a bottom portion connected to the one of the first and second vertical portions (connected via LP2) and a side wall portion extending from the bottom portion (see marked figure corresponding to claim 16).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second electrode pattern includes:
a line portion extending in the second direction (fig. 17C); and
a filler portion filling a space defined by the bottom portion and the side wall portion of the first electrode pattern (fig. 17C).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the ferroelectric pattern covers the bottom portion and the side wall portion of the first electrode pattern with a uniform thickness (fig. 17C, CIL corresponds to ferroelectric pattern of Jeon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor memory device of Lee and the ferroelectric pattern material of Jeon per the reason(s) stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Jeon further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ferroelectric pattern includes HfO2, HfSiO2, HfAlO2, HfSiON, HfZnO, HfZrO2, ZrO2, ZrSiO2, HfZrSiO2, ZrSiON, LaAlO, HfDyO2, or HfScO2 (paragraph 0012, “may include hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO), hafnium titanium oxide, or hafnium silicon oxide”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor memory device of Lee and the ferroelectric pattern material of Jeon per the reason(s) stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the active pattern includes polysilicon or metal oxide (paragraph 0080).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a landing pad (fig. 5A, LP) between the first electrode pattern and one of the first and second vertical portions.
Lee does not explicitly teach a bottom surface of the landing pad being at a level lower than an upper surface of the gate insulating pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 1, wherein: the bit line has a first width (fig. 4A, W1) in the second direction, and the active pattern has a second width (W2) greater than the first width in the second direction.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Lee teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 10.
Lee does not teach wherein the dielectric pattern includes a ferroelectric material, an antiferroelectric material, a paraelectric material, or a combination thereof.
Jeon teaches wherein the dielectric pattern (fig. 1, 13) includes a ferroelectric material, an antiferroelectric material, a paraelectric material, or a combination thereof (paragraph 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor memory device of Lee and the ferroelectric pattern of Jeon to generate oxygen vacancies (Jeon paragraph 0016).
Regarding independent claim 17, Lee teaches a semiconductor memory device (fig. 2), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (100);
a peripheral circuit structure (PS) including peripheral circuits (fig. 4B, SA) on the semiconductor substrate and a lower insulating layer (110) covering the peripheral circuits (paragraph 0066);
bit lines (fig. 4A, BL) extending in a first direction (D1) on the peripheral circuit structure;
active patterns (CP) arranged in the first direction on each of the bit lines, each of the active patterns including a horizontal portion (fig. 5A, HP) parallel to the bit line and vertical portion (VP1 and VP2) vertically protruding from the horizontal portion;
word lines (fig. 4B, WL1 and WL2) crossing the bit lines and extending in a second direction (fig. 4A, D2), each of the word lines being on the active patterns arranged in the second direction (fig. 4B);
first electrode patterns (fig. 17C, PE) connected to the vertical portions of the active patterns (connected via LP, see also paragraph 0167), each of the first electrode patterns including a bottom portion connected to a respective one of the vertical portions (fig. 17C, connected via LP) and a side wall portion extending from the bottom portion (fig. 17C);
second electrode patterns (BE) on rows of the first electrode patterns arranged in the second direction, each of the second electrode patterns including a line portion extending in the second direction and a filler portion filling a space defined by the bottom portion and the side wall portion of the first electrode pattern (fig. 17C).
Lee does not teach and a ferroelectric pattern between the first electrode patterns and each of the second electrode patterns.
Jeon teaches and a ferroelectric pattern (fig. 1, 13) between the first electrode pattern (11) and the second electrode pattern (15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor memory device of Lee and the ferroelectric pattern of Jeon to generate oxygen vacancies (Jeon paragraph 0016).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 17, further comprising landing pads (fig. 17C, LP2) between the first electrode patterns and the vertical portions of the active patterns, respectively.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 17, wherein the vertical portions include first (fig. 5A, VP1) and second vertical portions (VP2) on each of the active patterns, the first and second vertical portions facing each other in the first direction and are commonly connected to the horizontal portion (fig. 5A).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Lee further teaches the semiconductor memory device as claimed in claim 17, further comprising first insulating patterns (fig. 4A, 115) extending in the second direction across the bit lines, each of the first insulating patterns being between the active patterns adjacent to each other in the first direction (fig. 4A).
Conclusion
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897