DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sizov et al (US Publication 20200343230).
Regarding claim 6, Sizov teaches a display device, comprising:
a circuit substrate (Fig. 7, 400); and
at least one light emitting diode packaging structure, electrically connected to the circuit substrate (Fig. 7, plurality of 175 electrically connected to 400), wherein each of the at least one light emitting diode packaging structure comprises:
a plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 7, plurality of 175), respectively comprising a first electrode (Fig. 7, 180), a semiconductor stack structure (Fig. 7, 104, 106, and 108) and a second electrode (Fig. 3B, n-contact, para 64) stacked with each other;
a plurality of transparent packaging structures, respectively surrounding the light emitting diodes (Fig. 3A, 134, para 58-59);
a molding layer, surrounding the transparent packaging structures (Fig. 7, 170, para 61-62);
a redistribution structure, located on a first side of the molding layer (Fig. 7, 400), and comprising a conductive layer and an insulating layer (Fig. 7, conductive layer 410 and insulating layer 400, para 63),
wherein the conductive layer comprises a plurality of first conductive structures respectively filled in a plurality of first openings of the insulating layer (Fig. 7, 410 closest to 180 - Furthermore, the present claim is drawn to a device, thus the claiming of a passive method step of having filled a plurality of first openings on the insulating layer to form first conductive structures does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from that of the invention of Sizov - which as described above disclosed a filled final structure. It should be noted that a "product by process claim" is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in " product by process" claims or not. Note that applicant has the burden of proof in such cases, as the above caselaw makes clear. See also MPEP 2113 [R-1]); and
wherein the first conductive structures are electrically connected to the first electrodes of the light emitting diodes (Fig. 7, 410 electrically connected to 180); and
a common electrode, located on a second side of the molding layer, and electrically connected to the second electrodes of the light emitting diodes (Fig. 3B, 190).
Regarding claim 7, Sizov teaches the limitations of claim 6 upon which claim 7 depends.
Sizov teaches a plurality of reflective structures, respectively located on the transparent packaging structures, wherein the reflective structures are located between the molding layer and the transparent packaging structures (Fig. 3A/B, 140, para 60).
Regarding claim 8, Sizov teaches the limitations of claim 6 upon which claim 8 depends.
Sizov teaches a plurality of lens structures, located above the common electrode, wherein the lens structures respectively overlap with the light emitting diodes (Fig. 12A, lens 508 LED 175).
Regarding claim 9, Sizov teaches the limitations of claim 6 upon which claim 9 depends.
Sizov teaches wherein each of the at least one transparent double-sided display panel has a plurality of through holes (Fig. 3B and 7, through hole for 420).
Regarding claim 10, Sizov teaches the limitations of claim 6 upon which claim 10 depends.
Sizov teaches a plurality of first conductive terminals, respectively located on the first conductive structures; and at least one second conductive terminal, located on the at least one second conductive structure (Fig. 3B and 7, 182 and 420 respectively).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach or render obvious " wherein the transparent packaging structures contact the first adhering layer" and “forming a molding layer…to contact the first adhering layer” and in the combination as claimed.
Claims 2-5 further limit allowable claim 1 therefore are allowable for the same reasons as above
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 6, applicant argues that Sizov fails to disclose “wherein the conductive layer comprises a plurality of first conductive structures respectively filled in a plurality of first openings of the insulating layer, and wherein the first conductive structures are electrically connected to the first electrodes of the light emitting diodes respectively”. As noted in the rejection of claim 6, the method of forming the first conductive structures does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from that of the invention of Sizov. Also, Sizov discloses the further amended limitations of: wherein the first conductive structures are electrically connected to the first electrodes of the light emitting diodes (Fig. 7, 410 electrically connected to 180);
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818