DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action based on the 18530512 application filed 12/06/23
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5 are pending and claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5 have been fully considered
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 5 has the phrase, “the vapor portion,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language;
Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element
Though one or more of the claim(s) are indefinite, for the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner has done his best to ascertain their meaning for the following Double Patenting, 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103 rejection(s)
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1,2,3,5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1,3,4,5 of copending Application No. 18530527 (US 20250189221) MILLER (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the method for removing entrained liquid droplets from a gas as recited in the co-pending application claims clearly envisages the method for removing entrained liquid droplets from a gas of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1,3,4,5 of copending Application No. 18530527 (US 20250189221) MILLER (reference application) in view of US 20190233177 (herein known as HAN).
With regard to claim 4, MILLER does not specifically teach a vacuum insulated volume
But, HAN sufficiently teaches a vacuum insulated volume, especially at claim 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide MILLER with a vacuum insulated volume of HAN for the benefit of temperature control, as determined as needed
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 8551225 (herein known as Gray) in view of US 20160187890 (herein known as Borkowski) and US 3630496 (herein known as HURST)
With regard to claim 1, Gray sufficiently teaches a method for removing entrained liquid from a gas, comprising:, especially at fig 3, c4ln54-67, abstract
a) introducing a gas with entrained liquid into a cyclone separator, thereby producing a gaseous portion 63 and a liquid portion 65, especially at fig 3, c4ln54-c5ln8, abstract
Gray does not specifically teach entrained liquid droplets
But, HURST sufficiently teaches entrained liquid droplets, especially at c1ln8-24
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide Gray with entrained liquid droplets of HURST, as determined as needed
Gray sufficiently teaches wherein the gaseous portion exits the cyclone separator at 63, especially at fig 3, c4ln54-c5ln8, abstract
wherein the liquid portion is restricted by a liquid control valve 69 and collected in a reservoir volume in the cyclone separator, especially at fig 3, c4ln54-c5ln8, abstract
b) opening the liquid control valve, the liquid portion thereby exiting the cyclone separator, especially at fig 3, c4ln54-c5ln8, abstract
Gray does not specifically teach opening the liquid control valve upon receiving a signal from a liquid level sensor located in the reservoir volume, the liquid portion thereby exiting
But, Borkowski sufficiently teaches opening the liquid control valve 10 upon receiving a signal from a liquid level sensor 14 located in the reservoir volume, the liquid portion thereby exiting, especially at fig 2, para 16
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to substitute Gray with opening the liquid control valve 10 upon receiving a signal from a liquid level sensor 14 located in the reservoir volume, the liquid portion thereby exiting of Borkowski because the substitution of one type of valve for another that are both used for the same purpose (i.e. draining) would be well within the scope of the skilled artisan. (See MPEP 2141 III,B)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 8551225 (herein known as Gray) in view of US 20160187890 (herein known as Borkowski), US 3630496 (herein known as HURST), and US 20190233177 (herein known as HAN)
With regard to claim 4, Gray does not specifically teach a vacuum insulated volume
But, HAN sufficiently teaches a vacuum insulated volume, especially at claim 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide Gray -Borkowski -HURST with a vacuum insulated volume of HAN for the benefit of temperature control, as determined as needed
Conclusion
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776