DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5055358 to Livingston in view US 5846649 to Knapp in view of US 5225057 to LeFebvre.
Regarding claims 1-10, 13: Livingston teaches a method for manufacturing an optical product comprising the following (abstract, Col. 3-4, Examples):
Base material /chromium metal layer / chromium oxide surface layer portion (passivated) / SiO2 layer
wherein the base material is transparent glass or plastic (1:21-22).
In terms of thickness, the thickness of the chromium metal layer can vary between 1-100 nm and the chromium oxide layer can vary between 2.5-150 nm both depending on the desired transmittance and reflectance properties (3:1-25). The selection of the thicknesses and the ratio of thicknesses would have been obvious through routine optimization of these result effective variables.
Livingston does not teach a step for passivating the surface of the chromium to form the chromium oxide surface layer portion.
However, LeFebvre teaches a method for depositing optical films on glass and plastic eyeglass lenses (5:39-45), where a metal layer is deposited in a normal manner and then subjected to oxidation by ion gun (7:34).
Additionally, Knapp teaches a method for forming a substantially similar coating stack applied to lenses (abstract) wherein a multilayer coating that can include a metal layer of chromium on a base material of plastic such as polycarbonates, etc., further includes a SiO2 layer on the base material, between the base and chromium metal layer as an adhesion layer (see Col. 2, lines 11-13, 18-20, Col. 2, lines 50-51, Col. 8, lines 57-60, Col. 13 lines 30-45 and especially Col. 20, lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Livingston on an eyeglass lens substrate and further include a silica adhesion layer between the base material and chromium metal layer and form the chromium oxide layer by oxidation with an ion gun. Livingston is open to glass and plastic optical products, such as the eyeglass lenses of Knapp and LeFebvre, the addition of a silica adhesion layer boosts the adhesion of the superposed layers, and oxidation with ion gun is suitable in the optical field.
The resulting stack taught by the combination is:
Base material / SiO2 layer / chromium metal layer / chromium oxide surface layer portion (passivated) / SiO2 layer (metal oxide layer)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/35 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues LeFebvre does not teach partial oxidation, only full oxidation of the layer. However, LeFebvre does teach partial oxidation of the layer at (10:38-21) and (16:48-67). It is additionally noted that Livingston does teach controlling the thickness of the chromium layer and the thickness of the chromium oxide layer in order to achieve the desired transmittance and reflectance properties.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759