DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: TOUCH SENSING UNIT HAVING TOUCH METAL LAYER WITH INCLINED SURFACE OF LOW REFLECTION LAYER AND PASSIVATION LAYER AND DISPLAY DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The content of a patent abstract should be such as to enable the reader thereof, regardless of his or her degree of familiarity with patent documents, to determine quickly from a cursory inspection of the abstract the nature and gist of the technical disclosure and that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. It should not copy the claims. Correction is required. See MPEP §608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0336227 A1) in view of Moon et al. (US 2019/0115404 A1).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a touch sensing unit (Kim, FIGS. 5-7, [0074], “as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, each of the first sensing electrodes SP1 may be formed in a conductive layer CTL”) comprising:
a substrate (Kim, FIGS. 5-7, [0082], “substrate 100”) comprising an emission area (Kim, FIGS. 5-7, [0102], “emission area EA”) and a non-emission area (Kim, FIGS. 5-7, [0102], outer area of “emission area EA”);
a light emitting element (Kim, FIGS. 5-7, [0109], “OLED” comprising “pixel electrode 221”, “emission layer 222” and “opposite electrode 223”) positioned on the substrate (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0082], “substrate 100”) and overlapping the emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], “emission area EA”);
a thin film encapsulation layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0097], “organic encapsulation layer 320”) on the light emitting element (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0109], “OLED” comprising “pixel electrode 221”, “emission layer 222” and “opposite electrode 223”) and overlapping the emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], “emission area EA”) and the non-emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], outer area of “emission area EA”); and
a touch sensor layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0100], “functional layer 400”) on the thin film encapsulation layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0097], “organic encapsulation layer 320”), wherein the touch sensor layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0100], “functional layer 400”) comprises:
a touch insulating layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0115], “second inorganic encapsulation layer 330”) on the thin film encapsulation layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0097], “organic encapsulation layer 320”) and overlapping the emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], “emission area EA”) and the non-emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], outer area of “emission area EA”);
a touch metal layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0080], “conductive layer CTL” comprising “first sub-conductive layer CTL1” and “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”) on the touch insulating layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0115], “second inorganic encapsulation layer 330”) and overlapping the non-emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], outer area of “emission area EA”);
an insulating layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0109], “first insulating layer 420”; “Light “L” emitted from the OLED may be reflected from the side surface 420S of the first insulating layer 420 for improved light emission efficiency”) on the touch metal layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “conductive layer CTL” comprising “first sub-conductive layer CTL1” and “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”);
a touch protection layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0108], “second insulating layer 440” that “may protect the above-mentioned conductive layer by covering the conductive layer included in the functional layer 400”) on the touch insulating layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0115], “second inorganic encapsulation layer 330”) and overlapping the emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], “emission area EA”) and the non-emission area (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0102], outer area of “emission area EA”),
wherein the touch metal layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “conductive layer CTL” comprising “first sub-conductive layer CTL1” and “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”) comprises:
a first conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “first sub-conductive layer CTL1”) on the touch insulating layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0115], “second inorganic encapsulation layer 330”); and
a second conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”) on the first conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “first sub-conductive layer CTL1”),
wherein the second conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”) comprises a first surface (Kim, see FIG. 7, bottom surface of “CTL2”) in contact with the first conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “first sub-conductive layer CTL1”), a second surface (Kim, see FIG. 7, top surface of “CTL2”) opposite to the first surface (Kim, see FIG. 7, bottom surface of “CTL2”).
Kim does not teach “a passivation layer on the low reflection layer” so that “a first inclined surface connects the first surface to the second surface”; and “wherein the passivation layer is positioned on the first inclined surface of the second conductive layer, wherein the low reflection layer is positioned between the first inclined surface of the second conductive layer and the passivation layer, and comprising a third surface positioned to face the touch protection layer, and wherein the second surface of the second conductive layer and the third surface of the low reflection layer are aligned in a first direction and are positioned on the same plane”.
However, Moon teaches the concepts of a passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”) on the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”);
the concepts that the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”) is positioned on the first inclined surface of the second conductive layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], inclined surface of “second low refractive index portion 322”), wherein the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”) is positioned between the first inclined surface of the second conductive layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], inclined surface of “second low refractive index portion 322”) and the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”), and comprising a third surface (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], top surface of “second reflection layer 332”) positioned to face the touch protection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0104], “second substrate 211”); and
wherein the second surface (Kim, see FIG. 7, top surface of “CTL2”) of the second conductive layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”) and the third surface (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], top surface of “second reflection layer 332”) of the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”) are aligned in a first direction and are positioned on the same plane (Moon, see FIG. 8, flat on the same plane defined by “second substrate 211”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to (1) substitute the “first insulating layer 420” taught by Kim with the inclined light blocking structure of the “second low refractive index portion 322” and the “second reflection layer 332” taught by Moon; and (2) fill the inside the inclined structure with the “first sub-conductive layer CTL1” and the “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”, as taught by Moon, so that a first inclined surface connects the first surface to the second surface (Moon, e.g., see FIG. 8), in order to address the problem that “light emitted by the OLED is emitted not only toward the front side but also toward the lateral side of the display device. Accordingly, light emission efficiency of the display device is lowered, and power consumption of the display device may increase” (Moon, [0004]).
As to claim 2, Kim in view of Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 1, wherein the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”) further comprises a fourth surface (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], top surface of “second reflection layer 332”) positioned to face the touch protection layer (Kim, FIG. 7, [0108], “second insulating layer 440”), and
wherein the second surface of the second conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], top surface of “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”), the third surface of the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], top surface of “second low refractive index portion 322”), and the fourth surface of the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], top surface of “second reflection layer 332”) are aligned in the first direction and positioned on the same plane (Kim, see FIG. 7). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 3, Kim in view of Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 2, wherein the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”) and the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”) are disposed on the touch insulating layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0115], “second inorganic encapsulation layer 330”) in partial contact therewith (Moon, see FIG. 8), wherein the second conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”) is not in contact with the touch insulating layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0115], “second inorganic encapsulation layer 330”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 4, Kim in view of Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 3, wherein the first conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “first sub-conductive layer CTL1”) further comprises a second inclined surface extending from the first inclined surface of the second conductive layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], inclined surface of “second low refractive index portion 322”), and wherein the second inclined surface is in contact with the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 5, Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 3, wherein a first inclination angle formed by one surface of the first conductive layer in contact with the second conductive layer and the first inclined surface of the second conductive layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], inclined surface of “second low refractive index portion 322”) ranges from about 60° to about 90° (Moon, FIG. 8, [0132], “first angle θ1 of the first inclined portion 321a may be about 45 degrees or more”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 7, Kim in view of Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “first sub-conductive layer CTL1”) and the second conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”) are formed in a mesh shape (Kim, e.g., see FIGS. 4-6), and the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”) and the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”) are formed in a mesh shape to surround side surfaces of (Kim, e.g., see FIG. 4-6) the first conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “first sub-conductive layer CTL1”) and the second conductive layer (Kim, see FIG. 7, [0080], “second sub-conductive layer CTL2”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 8, Kim in view of Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 7, further comprising an opening (Moon, FIGS. 6-7, [0120], “opening OP”) formed by the passivation layer (Moon, FIGS. 6-8, [0120], “second reflection layer 332”) and the low reflection layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second low refractive index portion 322”), wherein the opening (Moon, FIGS. 6-7, [0120], “opening OP”) overlaps the emission area (Moon, FIGS. 6-8, [0101], “light extraction area LEA1 of the OLED 170”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 19, it differs from claim 1 only in that it is the same touch sensing unit, reciting “a touch signal line” instead of “a touch metal layer”, which are fundamentally the same. It recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and Kim in view of Moon teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1. Please see claim 1 for detailed analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-14 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, Moon teaches the touch sensing unit of claim 4, wherein the passivation layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0119], “second reflection layer 332”) comprises an inorganic layer (Moon, FIG. 8, [0131], “second reflection layer 332 may include a metal material having high reflectance”).
However, the closest known prior art, i.e., Kim et al. (US 2021/0336227 A1), Moon et al. (US 2019/0115404 A1), Shim et al. (US 2023/0023671 A1) and Yoo et al. (US 2023/0229270 A1), alone or in reasonable combination, fails to teach limitations in consideration of the claims as a whole, specifically with respect to the limitations “wherein a thickness of the low reflection layer in the first direction is smaller than a thickness of the passivation layer, a thickness of the low reflection layer in the first direction ranges from about 100 Å to about 200 Å, the low reflection layer contains amorphous silicon (a-Si) and silicon carbonite (SiC)”.
As to claim 9, the closest known prior art indicated above, alone or in reasonable combination, fails to teach limitations in consideration of the claims as a whole, specifically with respect to the limitations “wherein the touch metal layer further comprises a third conductive layer disposed on the second conductive layer, one surface of the third conductive layer facing the second conductive layer is in partial contact with the third surface, and a first side surface of the third conductive layer and a second side surface of the low reflection layer are aligned on the same plane in a direction perpendicular to the first direction”.
As to claims 10-12, they directly or indirectly depend from claim 9, and are allowable at least for the same reason above.
As to claim 13, the closest known prior art indicated above, alone or in reasonable combination, fails to teach limitations in consideration of the claims as a whole, specifically with respect to the limitations “a connection electrode overlapping the non-emission area and positioned between the thin film encapsulation layer and the touch insulating layer; and a touch contact hole passing through a center of the touch insulating layer, wherein the connection electrode and the touch metal layer are electrically connected by the touch contact hole”.
As to claim 14, it depends from claim 14, and is allowable at least for the reason above.
As to claim 20, the closest known prior art indicated above, alone or in reasonable combination, fails to teach limitations in consideration of the claims as a whole, specifically with respect to the limitations “a third conductive layer disposed on the second conductive layer, wherein one surface of the third conductive layer is disposed in partial contact with the third surface, and wherein a side surface of the third conductive layer and a side surface of the low reflection layer are aligned in a direction perpendicular to the first direction”.
Claims 15-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 15, it differs from claim 1 only in that it is the same touch sensing unit of claim 1, further comprising “a third conductive layer covering the first inclined surface and the second surface wherein the first side surface located at both ends of the first conductive layer in the first direction and the second side surface located at both ends of the third conductive layer in the first direction are aligned on the same plane”. It recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and Kim in view of Moon teaches them.
However, he closest known prior art indicated above, alone or in reasonable combination, fails to teach limitations in consideration of the claims as a whole, specifically with respect to the limitations “a third conductive layer covering the first inclined surface and the second surface wherein the first side surface located at both ends of the first conductive layer in the first direction and the second side surface located at both ends of the third conductive layer in the first direction are aligned on the same plane”.
As to claims 16-18, they directly or indirectly depend from claim 15, and are allowed at least for the reason above.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Shim et al. (US 2023/0023671 A1) teaches the concept of a inclined structure comprising sensing electrode with black matrix (FIG. 22); and Yoo et al. (US 2023/0229270 A1) teaches the concept of “light blocking dummy patterns” (Abs.).
Mar. 6, 2026
/RICHARD J HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
***