DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/237296 A1 (Royal) in view of US 2018/0039117 A1 (Ikeda)
Royal discloses a laser system comprising: a laser; and a scanner configured to irradiate laser beams, which are outputted from the femtosecond laser on fabric ([0051]), according to a graphene pattern (220), wherein an electronic textile with graphene patterned on the fabric is manufactured by the laser beams (200, [0052]). Royal does not specifically disclose that the laser is a femtosecond laser [claim 1]. However, such lasers are well known in the art as evidenced by Ikeda ([0252]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use a femtosecond laser in the invention of Royal as is known in the art and evidenced by Ikeda. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known device with precise pulse timing.
Additionally, the modified invention of Royal teaches wherein the graphene pattern and a structure of the fabric are differently determined depending on applications of the electronic textile ([0052]-[0053]) [claim 2], wherein the fabric is a non-woven fabric (Royal [0004]) when the application of the electronic textile is an energy storage device (Royal [0003]) [claim 3], wherein the fabric is a non-woven fabric (Royal [0004]) when the application of the electronic textile is a temperature sensor (Royal [0008]) [claim 4], wherein the fabric is a knit fabric (Royal [0060]) when the application of the electronic textile is a strain sensor [claim 5], wherein the graphene is patterned on the knit fabric in a pre-strain state in which the knit fabric is stretched within a predetermined range (Royal [0002]) [claim 6], wherein the fabric is a woven fabric when the application of the electronic textile is a bending sensor (Royal [0063]) [claim 7].
Similarly, Royal discloses a method of manufacturing a laser-induced graphene-based electronic textile (200, [0052]), the method comprising: receiving a graphene pattern (220); and manufacturing an electronic textile with patterned graphene by irradiating directly laser beams of a laser on a fabric according to a graphene pattern by using a computer-programmable scanner ([0034]). Royal does not specifically disclose that the laser is a femtosecond laser [claim 9]. However, such lasers are well known in the art as evidenced by Ikeda ([0252]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use a femtosecond laser in the invention of Royal as is known in the art and evidenced by Ikeda. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known device with precise pulse timing.
Furthermore, the modified invention of Royal teaches wherein the graphene pattern and a structure of the fabric are differently determined depending on applications of the electronic textile (Royal [0051]-[0054]) [claim 10], wherein the manufacturing the electronic textile comprises manufacturing an energy storage device (Royal [0003]) by irradiating directly the laser beams on a non-woven fabric (Royal [0004]) when the application of the electronic textile is the energy storage device [claiom 11], wherein the manufacturing the electronic textile comprises manufacturing a temperature sensor (Royal [0008]) by irradiating directly the laser beams on a non-woven fabric (Royal [0004]) when the application of the electronic textile is the temperature sensor [claim 12], wherein the manufacturing the electronic textile comprises manufacturing a strain sensor (Royal [0008]) by irradiating directly the laser beams on a knit fabric (Royal [0063]) when the application of the electronic textile is the strain sensor [claim 13], wherein the manufacturing the electronic textile comprises patterning graphene by irradiating directly the laser beams on the knit fabric in a pre-strain state (Royal [0002]) in which the knit fabric is stretched within a predetermined range [claim 14], wherein the manufacturing the electronic textile comprises manufacturing a bending sensor (Royal [0008]) by irradiating directly the laser beams on a woven fabric when the application of the electronic textile is the bending sensor [claim 15].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 8 states the limitation “wherein the bending sensor is used as a voice recognition sensor that distinguishes between voices by detecting voice vibration by means of a woven structure including weft and warp of the woven fabric.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 15 states the limitation “wherein the bending sensor is used as a voice recognition sensor that distinguishes between voices by detecting voice vibration by means of a woven structure including weft and warp of the woven fabric.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847