Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on June 23rd, 2026. Claims 1-6, 8-19, and 21-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23rd, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pgs. 10-12, “Remarks”) that the combination of Feezell and Huang does not teach the limitations presented in amended Claim 19. Specifically, the do not tach “the dielectric layer extending laterally between the plurality of LED apertures”.
While the examiner agrees that the dielectric layer of Feezell does not extend entirely between the apertures, there is a portion of the SiO2 dielectric layer that extends laterally as seen in fig. 4H and exists in the region between the LED apertures.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate that the corresponding limitations are addressed with a secondary reference/embodiment in an obviousness analysis.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feezell et al. (2021/0273412 A1; hereinafter Feezell) in view of Huang et al. (2024/0222552 A1; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding Claim 19, Feezell (figs. 4A-L) teaches a semiconductor device ([0035], VCSEL) comprising:
a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) ([0036], NP-DBR) comprising a plurality of pairs of alternating adjacent layers ([0035], alternating layers of UID-GaN and N+GaN), each pair of alternating adjacent layers comprising:
a silicon doped layer comprising gallium nitride (GaN) and silicon (Si) ([0035], N+GaN with Si-doping); and
an un-doped layer comprising gallium nitride (GaN) ([0035], unintentionally doped GaN) and having a lower silicon content than the silicon doped layer (the unintentionally doped GaN is not listed as having a silicon concentration compared to the highly doped N+GaN at a silicon concentration of 1x1019 cm-3);
an n-GaN layer ([0036], N-GaN) positioned above the DBR (NP-DBR);
a dielectric layer ([0036], SiO2, see fig. 4E) positioned above the n-GaN layer (N-GaN), defining a plurality of LED apertures (LED aperture, see annotated fig. 4H) each extending between an upper surface (upper surface, see annotated fig. 4H) and a lower surface (lower surface, see annotated fig. 4H) of the dielectric layer (SiO2), the dielectric layer (SiO2) extending laterally between the plurality of LED apertures (LED aperture); and
positioned within each LED aperture (LED aperture): a micro light emitting diode (microLED) ([0035]-[0036], six-pair InGaN/GaN active region creating multiple quantum wells, or MQW) comprising a superlattice structure comprising a plurality of quantum well layers ([0035]-[0036], six-pair InGaN/GaN active region creating multiple quantum wells), thereby defining a plurality of microLEDs (MQW) of the semiconductor device (VCSEL);
a p-GaN layer ([0036], P-GaN) positioned above the microLED (MQW); and
a conductive mirror positioned above the p-GaN layer, wherein:
at least one aperture ([0036], trench formed after mesa 1, mesa 2, and trench mesa are etched, see figs. 4B, 4D, and 4F) is defined through the plurality of pairs of alternating adjacent layers (trench mesa exposes the entire thickness of NP-DBR, see fig. 4F), the n-GaN layer (N-GaN), and the dielectric layer (SiO2); and
at least one silicon doped layer of the DBR (NP-DBR) comprises a nanoporous structure ([0037], selectively porosify the highly doped N+GaN and form nanoporous DBRs).
Feezell doesn’t teach a conductive mirror positioned above the p-GaN layer.
However, Huang (fig. 1) teaches a conductive mirror ([0035], 150 may be a DBR of metals) positioned above the p-GaN layer ([0033], P-GaN). Huang also teaches an upper DBR made of metal with high reflectivity helps increase the brightness of the light output ([0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the semiconductor device of Feezell to include the conductive mirror of Huang to increase the brightness of the light output.
Annotated Figure 4H
Claims 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feezell and Huang as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Lopez Julia et al. (2023/0122492 A1; hereinafter Lopez Julia).
Regarding Claim 21, Feezell doesn’t teach the semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein: the plurality of LED apertures comprises a red LED aperture, a green LED aperture, and a blue LED aperture; and the plurality of microLEDs comprises: a red microLED in the red LED aperture; a green microLED in the green LED aperture; and a blue microLED in the blue LED aperture.
However, Lopez Julia (fig. 3B) teaches the plurality of LED apertures ([0028], plurality of 300b) comprises a red LED aperture ([0018], [0023], may be red), a green LED aperture ([0018], [0023], may be green), and a blue LED aperture ([0018], [0023], may be blue); and the plurality of microLEDs ([0023], plurality of 302) comprises: a red microLED ([0023], 302 may be tuned to emit red) in the red LED aperture; a green microLED ([0023], 302 may be tuned to emit green) in the green LED aperture; and a blue microLED ([0023], 302 may be tuned to emit blue) in the blue LED aperture. Lopez Julia also teaches there is a higher degree of reflectivity if the microLED emits the color corresponding to the DBR ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the semiconductor device of Feezell to include the color emissions of Lopez Julia to increase reflectivity between the DBR and microLED.
Regarding Claim 22, Feezell doesn’t teach the semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein: the plurality of DBR layers comprise: a first plurality of DBR layers forming a red-light DBR configured to reflect light at a wavelength of light emitted by the red microLED; a second plurality of DBR layers forming a green-light DBR configured to reflect light at a wavelength of light emitted by the green microLED; and a third plurality of DBR layers forming a blue-light DBR configured to reflect light at a wavelength of light emitted by the blue microLED.
However, Lopez Julia (fig. 3B) teaches the plurality of DBR layers ([0028], plurality of 330) comprise: a first plurality of DBR layers forming a red-light DBR ([0032], 330 may be tailored to the wavelength emitted by 302) configured to reflect light at a wavelength of light emitted by the red microLED ([0023], 302 may be tuned to emit red); a second plurality of DBR layers forming a green-light DBR ([0032], 330 may be tailored to the wavelength emitted by 302) configured to reflect light at a wavelength of light emitted by the green microLED ([0023], 302 may be tuned to emit green); and a third plurality of DBR layers forming a blue-light DBR ([0032], 330 may be tailored to the wavelength emitted by 302) configured to reflect light at a wavelength of light emitted by the blue microLED ([0023], 302 may be tuned to emit blue). Lopez Julia also teaches there is a higher degree of reflectivity if the microLED emits the color corresponding to the DBR ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the semiconductor device of Feezell to include the color emissions of Lopez Julia to increase reflectivity between the DBR and microLED.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 8-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. None of the cited references, either singly or in combination, teach or render obvious the limitations presented in Claim 1 wherein “after depositing the plurality of DBR layers: forming an n-GaN layer above the DBR; forming a dielectric layer above the n-GaN layer; forming at least one light emitting diode (LED) aperture extending between an upper surface and a lower surface of the dielectric layer; and depositing, into the at least one LED aperture: at least one microLED comprising a superlattice structure comprising a plurality of quantum well layers; and at least one p-GaN layer above the at least one microLED; after depositing the at least one p-GaN layer above the at least one microLED, forming at least one aperture extending through the plurality of DBR layers to expose each DBR layer”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martin (2019/0123033 A1) teaches a microLED with color specific DBR layers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817