Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In re Claim 13, Kuo et al. (U.S. 2023/0045432 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuo) teaches a method of manufacturing a thermal image sensor (see Kuo, Figs.6-13 and ¶ [0002]), the method comprising:
forming a row electrode, a column electrode, and an insulation layer (silicon oxide material (SiOx) not shown) on a substrate (10) (see Kuo, Figs.6-13 and ¶ [0030]);
sequentially stacking a sacrificial layer (50) and a first absorption layer (321) on the insulation layer (silicon oxide material (SiOx) not shown) (see Kuo, Figs.6-13 and ¶ [0030]);
forming trenches (510) in the sacrificial layer (50) (see Kuo, Figs.6-13);
forming a temperature sensor (323/324) and a second absorption layer (322) on the first absorption layer (321) (see Kuo, Figs.6-13); and
removing the sacrificial layer (50) (see Kuo, Figs.6-13).
The prior arts of record do not anticipate and do not render obvious such limitations of Claim 13 as: "forming via holes that expose the row electrode and the column electrode in the sacrificial layer and the first absorption layer, and forming legs in the via holes;
forming conductive layers corresponding to supporting arms on the trenches and connecting the conductive layers to the legs.”
Claims 14-20 are allowed for the same reasons as claim 13, from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (U.S. 2023/0045432 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuo).
Regarding Claim 1: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a substrate (10) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above);
a row electrode on the substrate (10) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above);
a multi-layer stack (321/322/323/324) comprising an absorption layer (321/322) and a temperature sensor (323/324) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above);
supporting arms that extend from diagonal corners of the multi-layer stack (321/322/323/324) and that are spaced apart from both sides of the multi-layer stack (321/322/323/324)), wherein the supporting arms have a concave-convex shape comprising a plurality of concave portions and a plurality of convex portions (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above); and
legs (310) protruding from the row electrode and the column electrode, wherein the legs (310) are connected to extended ends of the supporting arms to allow the multi-layer stack (321/322/323/324) to float above the substrate (10) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above),
wherein the supporting arms comprise a conductive layer (325) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above and ¶ [0033]), and
wherein the absorption layer (321/322) is on the conductive layer (325) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 2: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein the conductive layer (325) is electrically connected to a leg (310) from among the legs (310), and has an undulating shape comprising a plurality of valley portions and a plurality of peak portions, wherein the plurality of valley portions are closer to the substrate (10) than the plurality of peak portions (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above and ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 3: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 2 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein the conductive layer (325) comprises a material having a thermal conductance determined based on at least one from among a size, shape, and a number of the plurality of valley portions and the plurality of peak portions (see Kuo, Fig.4 as shown above, Fig.10, and ¶ [0033]).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 4: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 2 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein a height of the plurality of peak portions is greater than or equal to a height of the legs (see Kuo, Fig.4 as shown above, Fig.10, and ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 5: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 2 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein the plurality of valley portions are partially exposed from the absorption layer (321/322) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above and Fig.10).
Regarding Claim 6: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 2 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein the plurality of valley portions comprise a hole (see Kuo, Fig.4 as shown above and Fig.10).
Regarding Claim 7: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 6 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein thermal isolation holes are patterned in the absorption layer of the multi-layer stack (322) (see Kuo, Fig.4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein the supporting arms are equal to half of a length of the multi-layer stack (321/322/323/324) (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Kuo discloses a thermal image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. Kuo further teaches wherein the temperature sensor (323/324) comprises a thermal resistance layer (see Kuo, Figs.1-5 as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (U.S. 2023/0045432 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuo) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2023/0213390 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim).
Regarding Claims 8, 9, and 11: Kuo as modified teaches a discloses a thermal image sensor as applied to claims 1 and 2 above. The combination of Kuo is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the supporting arms comprise an additional temperature sensor (as claimed in claim 8);
wherein the additional temperature sensor comprises Magnetic Tunnel Junctions (MTJ) elements, wherein the MTJ elements are on the plurality of peak portions of the conductive layer (as claimed in claim 9);
wherein the temperature sensor comprises an MTJ element array comprising the MTJ elements connected to each other (as claimed in claim 11).
For support see Kim, which teaches wherein the supporting arms (126) comprise an additional temperature sensor (LM/UM) (see Kim, Fig.17 and ¶ [0005]) (as claimed in claim 8);
wherein the additional temperature sensor comprises Magnetic Tunnel Junctions (MTJ) elements (LM/UM), wherein the MTJ elements (LM/UM) are on the plurality of peak portions of the conductive layer (126) (see Kim, Fig.17 and ¶ [0005]) (as claimed in claim 9);
wherein the temperature sensor comprises an MTJ element array (LM/UM) comprising the MTJ elements (LM/UM) connected to each other (see Kim, Fig.17 and ¶ [0005]) (as claimed in claim 11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuo and Kim to enable the supporting arms of the combination of Kuo’s to comprise an additional temperature sensor, wherein the additional temperature sensor comprises Magnetic Tunnel Junctions (MTJ) elements, wherein the MTJ elements are on the plurality of peak portions of the conductive layer as taught by Kim in order to obtain a long wavelength infrared sensor in which heat is effectively transferred to magnetoresistive elements having an antiparallel state.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812