EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed February 05, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 3-7, 9-25 and 27-45 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. The deficiencies of Syme are now met by Shimatani. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, 9-25 and 27-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 11-13, 18-21, 23, 27-31, 34, 37-40 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syme et al. US 2019/0162863 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Syme) in view of in view of Shimatani et al. US 2019/0051763 A1(hereinafter referred to as Shimatani).
Regarding claim 1, Syme discloses an apparatus (fig. 2B, OFET-based radiation detectors, par. [0061]) comprising: a substrate (fig. 2B, substrate 150, par. [0061]); a first electrode (fig. 2B, elm.100, par. [0061]) and a second electrode (fig. 2B, elm.110, par. [0061]); a channel layer (fig. 2B, elm 120, par. [0061]) disposed on the substrate and in electrical connection with the first electrode and the second electrode; and a charge storage layer (fig. 2B, elm.140, par. [0061]) disposed on or above the channel layer, wherein the charge storage layer (fig. 2B, elm.140 par. [0061]) comprising: an upper dielectric layer (fig. 2B, elm.140 par. [0061]) disposed on the channel layer (fig. 2B, elm 120, par. [0061]) and; a third electrode (fig. 2B, elm 130, par. [0061]) disposed on the upper dielectric layer.
Syme does not disclose wherein the one or more charges on the charge storage (fig) layer are configured to be quantified based on a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer.
Shimatani discloses wherein the one or more charges on the charge storage (fig. 1-4, contact layer 5, par. [0053]) layer are configured to be quantified based on a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 3, elm. 1, par. [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a contact layer having a polar group on the graphene layer and forming a contact region in contact with the contact layer and a non-contact region not in contact with the contact layer in the graphene layer, an electron density gradient is formed in the contact region and the non-contact region, as taught in Shimatani in modifying the apparatus of Syme. The motivation would be to increase photocurrent, and detection sensitivity increases. (see Shimatani: par. [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the dielectric layer comprises Al2O3, SiO2, Si3N4, ZrO2, HfO2, TiO2, SrTiO3, CaTiO3, SiC, GaN, TiO2, ZnO, diamond, fullerene, BN, Be3N2, AlP, AlAs, AlGaN, GaP, CdS, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnTe, Cu2O, SnO2, polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), or any combination thereof (par. [0070], [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein a thickness of the upper dielectric layer (fig. 2B, elm.140 par. [0061]) is equal to or less than about 100 nm (par. [0103]).
Regarding claim 5, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the one or more charges on the charge storage layer is configured to be removed via heat, UV light, oppositely charged ions, electron or hole tunneling, or electron beams (par. [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Syme discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge storage layer comprises a light-sensitive material, which becomes conductive in response to one or more photons being incident thereto (par. [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the third electrode (fig. 3C, elm 130, par. [0061]) is connected to a predetermined voltage (par. [0063]) is configured to be reset via a switch (fig. 3D, the second OFET, par. [0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 11, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 9, Syme discloses wherein the switch is implemented as a transistor (fig. 3D, second OFET, par. [0080]).
Regarding claim 12, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 9, Syme discloses further comprising: a reset electrode (fig. 3C, elm. 130B, par. [0077]); and a tunneling dielectric (fig. 3C, elm. 120, par. [0077]) disposed between the third electrode (fig. 3C, elm. 130A, par. [0077]) and the reset electrode, wherein the predetermined voltage is set on the reset electrode to allow the third electrode to be reset (par. [0081]).
Regarding claim 13, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the third electrode (fig. 3B, elm 130, par. [0076]) is electrically connected to an external source (fig. 7, elm. 450, par. [0095]) or collector of the one or more charges.
Regarding claim 18, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein an area of the third electrode (fig. 3B, elm 130, par. [0076]) is larger than an area of the channel layer (fig. 3B, elm 120, par. [0089]).
Regarding claim 19, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the substrate (fig. 3B, elm. 250, par. [0076]) comprises a lower dielectric layer (fig. 3B, elm. 140, par. [0076]) that is disposed under the channel layer (fig. 3B, elm. 120, par. [0076]).
Regarding claim 20, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 19, Syme discloses wherein the substrate (fig. 3B, elm. 250, par. [0076]) further comprises a conductive or semiconductive layer (fig. 3B, elm. 260, par. [0076]) disposed under the lower dielectric layer (fig. 3B, elm. 140, par. [0076]).
Regarding claim 21, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the conductive or semiconductive layer (fig. 3B, elm. 260, par. [0076]) is subject to a predetermined voltage (par. [0061]).
Regarding claim 23, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses further comprising: a dielectric encapsulation layer (fig. 3c, elm.140, par. [0077]) disposed over the first electrode (fig. 3c, elm.100, par. [0077]) and the second electrode (fig. 3c, elm.110, par. [0077]) to insulate them from the one or more charges.
Regarding claim 27, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein a constant or time-varying voltage (par. [0063],[0065], [0095]) is applied across the first electrode (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0065]) and the second electrode (fig. 2, elm. 110, par. [0065]), and wherein a resulting current (par. [0061], [0065]) is measured across the first electrode and the second electrode.
Shimatani discloses detect a change in the resistance or impedance (fig. 3, elm. 1, par. [0053], [0070]). of the channel layer (fig. 3, elm. 1, par. [0053], [0070]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 28, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 27,
Shimatani discloses quantified based on the change in the resistance or impedance (threshold voltage, par. [0062]) of the channel layer (fig. 2, elm. 120, par. [0062]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein a constant or time-varying current (par. [0063],[0065], [0095]) is applied across the (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0065]) and the second electrode (fig. 2, elm. 110, par. [0065]), and wherein a resulting voltage is measured across the first electrode and the second electrode.
Shimatani discloses detect a change in the resistance or impedance (par. [0070]) of the channel layer (fig. 3, elm. 1, par. [0053], [0070]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 29, Shimatani discloses wherein the one or more charges introduced on the charge storage layer are quantified based on the change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 3, elm. 1, par. [0053], [0070]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the channel layer is formed of a metallic, semi-metallic, or semiconductor material (par. [0061]).
Regarding claim 34, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses wherein the one or more charges occur due to addition or removal of an electron, a positive ion, a negative ion, a photon, or any combination thereof; or due to a radioactive, nuclear, chemical, electrochemical, photochemical, and/or photoelectrochemical process resulting in charged particles (par. [0061]).
Regarding claim 37, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme discloses further comprising: a charge collector (radiation sensing layer, par. [0058]) that is in electrical connection with the charge storage layer(fig. 2, elm. 140, par. [0061]) to receive the one or more charges (trapped charges, par. [0061]) and transmit the charges to the charge storage layer, wherein the charge collector is provided separately from the substrate (fig. 2B, substrate 150, par. [0061]) while being in electrical connection with the charge storage layer.
Regarding claim 38, Syme discloses an electrometer (par. [0062]) comprising the apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claim 39, Syme discloses a memory device (fig. 7, elm. 470, par. [0095]) comprising the apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claim 40, Syme discloses a time-tracking device (fig. 7, elm. 460, par. [0097]) comprising the apparatus of claim 1.
Claim(s) 7, 14-17, 32-33 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syme in view of Shimatani as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Colli et al. US 2021/0381894 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Colli).
Regarding claim 7, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 6, Syme and Shimatani disclose do not disclose wherein the light-sensitive material includes SiC, TiO2, ZnO, GaO, P3HT, MEH-PPV, semiconducting polymers, diamond, fullerene, BN, AlP, AlAs, GaN, AlGaN, InGaN, InAlGaN, InN, InP, InO, InSb, GaP, CdS, CdSe, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnTe, Cu2O, SnO2, InGaAs, GaAs, InAs, Ge, InGaAs, PbS, PbTe, PbSe, Ge, Si, or any combination thereof.
Colli discloses wherein the light-sensitive material includes SiC, TiO2, ZnO, GaO, P3HT, MEH-PPV, semiconducting polymers, diamond, fullerene, BN, AlP, AlAs, GaN, AlGaN, InGaN, InAlGaN, InN, InP, InO, InSb, GaP, CdS, CdSe, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnTe, Cu2O, SnO2, InGaAs, GaAs, InAs, Ge, InGaAs, PbS, PbTe, PbSe, Ge, Si, or any combination thereof (par. [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide photoactive semiconducting layer material, as taught in Colli in modifying the apparatus of Syme and Shimatani. The motivation would be to provide photodetector arrays with at least one sensor for detecting long-wavelength infrared radiation, and at least one sensor for detecting radiation at shorter wavelengths. (see Colli: abs.).
Regarding claim 14, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose wherein the upper dielectric layer is sensitive to ultraviolet (UV) light.
Colli discloses the upper dielectric layer is sensitive to ultraviolet (UV) light (par. [0032]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 14, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose wherein the upper dielectric layer comprises SiC, TiO2, ZnO, GaO, P3HT, MEH-PPV, semiconducting polymers, diamond, fullerene, BN, AlP, AlAs, GaN, AlGaN, InGaN, InAlGaN, GaP, CdS, CdSe, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnTe, Cu2O, or any combination thereof.
Colli discloses wherein the upper dielectric layer comprises SiC, TiO2, ZnO, GaO, P3HT, MEH-PPV, semiconducting polymers, diamond, fullerene, BN, AlP, AlAs, GaN, AlGaN, InGaN, InAlGaN, GaP, CdS, CdSe, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnTe, Cu2O, or any combination thereof (par. [0049]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 8, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose wherein the upper dielectric layer is sensitive to infrared (IR) light.
Colli discloses the upper dielectric layer is sensitive to infrared (IR) light (par. [0027]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 16, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose wherein the upper dielectric layer comprises InN, InP, InO, InSb, SnO2, InGaAs, GaAs, InAs, Ge, InGaAs, PbS, PbTe, PbSe, Ge, Si, or any combination thereof (par. [0073]).
Colli discloses wherein the upper dielectric layer comprises InN, InP, InO, InSb, SnO2, InGaAs, GaAs, InAs, Ge, InGaAs, PbS, PbTe, PbSe, Ge, Si, or any combination thereof (par. [0049]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 32, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 31, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose wherein the channel layer is formed of a nanomaterial.
Colli discloses wherein the channel layer is formed of a nanomaterial (par. [0049]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 33, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 31, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose wherein the nanomaterial includes graphene, single-walled carbon nanotube (SWNT), semiconductor SWNT, metallic SWNT, mixed SWNT, multi-walled carbon nanotube (MWNT), semiconductor MWNT, metallic MWNT, mixed MWNT, semiconductor nanowires, Si, graphdiyne, borophene, silicene, MoS2, WS2, MoSe2, WSe2, MoTe2, MXene, or any combination thereof.
Colli discloses wherein the nanomaterial includes graphene, single-walled carbon nanotube (SWNT), semiconductor SWNT, metallic SWNT, mixed SWNT, multi-walled carbon nanotube (MWNT), semiconductor MWNT, metallic MWNT, mixed MWNT, semiconductor nanowires, Si, graphdiyne, borophene, silicene, MoS2, WS2, MoSe2, WSe2, MoTe2, MXene, or any combination thereof (par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 41, Syme and Shimatani does not disclose a UV-C detection device comprising the apparatus of claim 1.
Colli discloses a UV-C detection device (fig. 8, quantum photodetector, par. [0093])
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 45, Syme discloses an apparatus (fig. 2B, OFET-based radiation detectors, par. [0061]) comprising: a substrate (fig. 2B, substrate 150, par. [0061]); a lower dielectric layer (fig. 2B, elm.140, par. [0061]) disposed on the substrate; a channel layer (fig. 2B, elm.120, par. [0061]) disposed on the lower dielectric layer; a first electrode (fig. 2B, elm.100, par. [0061]) and a second electrode (fig. 2B, elm.110, par. [0061]) that are in electrical connection with both ends of the channel layer; and a back electrode (fig. 2B, elm.100, par. [0061) disposed between the substrate and the lower dielectric layer, wherein the back electrode is electrically connected to an external source of one or more charges (fig. 7, elm.440, par. [0095]), wherein the one or more charges introduced on the back electrode.
Syme does not explicitly disclose to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer, wherein the one or more charges on the back electrode are configured to be quantified based on a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer.
Shimatani discloses to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 1-4, elm. 1, par. [0070]), wherein the one or more charges on the back electrode (fig. 1-4, elm. 3, par. [0071]) are configured to be quantified based on a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 1-4, elm. 1, par. [0070]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 10, 22 and 24- 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syme in view of Shimatani as applied to claim 8/21/24 above, and further in view of Sugizaki US 2022/0082520 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Syme and Shimatani discloses the apparatus of claim 9, Syme and Shimatani do not disclose the wherein the predetermined voltage is a ground voltage.
Sugizaki discloses the wherein the predetermined voltage is a ground voltage (par. [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sensor element capable of detecting a target substance contained in an atmosphere, as taught in Sugizaki in modifying the apparatus of Syme and Shimatani. The motivation would be fluctuation in the source/drain current from the optimal range caused by external disturbance noises is avoided an adjustable gate voltage. (see Sugizaki: par. [0120]).
Regarding claim 22, Syme discloses the apparatus of claim 21, Syme does not disclose wherein the predetermined voltage is a ground potential.
Sugizaki discloses the wherein the predetermined voltage is a ground voltage (par. [0118]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, Syme discloses the apparatus of claim 23, Syme does not disclose wherein the dielectric encapsulation layer does not cover the charge storage layer.
Sugizaki discloses the dielectric encapsulation layer (fig. 1, elm. 19, par [0026]) does not cover the charge storage layer (fig. 1, elm. 14, par [0060]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 25, Syme discloses the apparatus of claim 24, Syme does not disclose further comprising: a conductive layer disposed on the dielectric encapsulation layer to provide electrical grounding.
Sugizaki discloses the wherein the predetermined voltage is a ground voltage (par. [0118]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 10.
Claim(s) 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syme in view of Shimatani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kontaras et al. US 2019/0362932 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kontaras).
Regarding claim 35, Syme does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: an anode and a cathode, wherein, in response to one or more photons being incident to the apparatus, the cathode is positively charged and liberated electrons are captured by the anode, and wherein the cathode or the anode is electrically connected to the charge storage layer to allow the charge storage layer to become positively or negatively charged, which is quantified based on a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer.
Shimatani discloses a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 3, elm. 1, par. [0053], [0070]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Kontaras discloses an anode and a cathode (fig. 1, anode 16, cathode 19, par. [0047]), wherein, in response to one or more photons being incident to the apparatus, the cathode is positively charged and liberated electrons are captured by the anode, and wherein the cathode or the anode (par. [0047]) is electrically connected to the charge storage layer (fig. 1, 2, fet 203, par. [0049]) to allow the charge storage layer to become positively or negatively charged.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a method includes irradiating a sample with a X-ray, detecting emission from the sample in response to such irradiation, as taught in Kontaras in modifying the apparatus of Syme. The motivation would be avoid noise contributions stemming from low-frequency noise. (see Kontaras: par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 36, Syme, Shimatani and Kontaras discloses the apparatus of claim 35, Kontaras discloses wherein the anode and the cathode are provided separately from the substrate while being in electrical connection with the charge storage layer (fig. 2, par. [0053]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 35.
Claim(s) 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syme in view of Shimatani in view of Fonash et al. US 2016/0374585 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fonash).
Regarding claim 42, Syme discloses an apparatus (fig. 2B, OFET-based radiation detectors, par. [0061]) comprising a first electrode fig. 2B, elm.100, par. [0061]) a second electrode (fig. 2B, elm. 110, par. [0061]), a channel layer (fig. 2B, elm 120, par. [0061]) electrically connected between the first electrode and the second electrode, a dielectric layer (fig. 2B, elm.140 par. [0061]) disposed on the channel layer, and a third electrode (fig. 2B, elm 130, par. [0061]) disposed on the dielectric layer,
Syme does not disclose the method comprising: allowing one or more charges to be introduced on the third electrode due to the ion flux, wherein the one or more charges introduced on the third electrode are configured to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer; applying a voltage or a current between the first electrode and the second electrode; and measuring a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer, thereby quantifying the ion flux; quantifying ion flux and one or more charges on the charge storage layer thereby quantifying the ion flux.
Shimatani discloses allowing one or more charges to be introduced on the third electrode (fig. 4, elm. 22, par. [0054], [0073]) due to the ion flux, wherein the one or more charges introduced on the third electrode are configured to induce charges in the channel layer (fig. 1-4, elm. 2, par. [0054], [0073]) and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 4, elm. 22, par. [0053], [0070]); applying a voltage or a current between the first electrode and the second electrode (par. [0070]- [0071]); and measuring a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer (par. [0070]- [0071]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Fonash discloses method of quantifying ion flux (par. [0006]) and one or more charges on the charge storage layer (fig. 2, elm 8, par. [0031]) thereby quantifying the ion flux (par. [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure ion flux or electrical signals using FETs, as taught in Fonash in modifying the apparatus of Syme. The motivation would be FETs able sense by detecting gate charge variations without the need for particle current exchange with media such as cellular medium or body fluids.(see Fonash: par.[0006]).
Regarding claim 43, Syme discloses an apparatus (fig. 2B, OFET-based radiation detectors, par. [0061]) comprising a first electrode (fig. 2B, elm.100, par. [0061]), a second electrode (fig. 2B, elm. 110, par. [0061]), a channel layer (fig. 2B, elm 120, par. [0061]), electrically connected between the first electrode, dielectric layer (fig. 2B, elm.140 par. [0061]) disposed on the channel layer, and a third electrode (fig. 2B, elm 130, par. [0061]) disposed on the dielectric layer, the method comprising: allowing one or more charges (trapped charges, par. [0061]), to be introduced on the third electrode due to the electron flux, wherein the one or more charges introduced on the third electrode (fig. 2B, elm 130, par. [0061]).
Syme does not disclose configured to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer; applying a voltage or a current between the first electrode and the second electrode; and measuring a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer, thereby quantifying the electron flux, a method of quantifying electron flux using an apparatus and thereby quantifying the electron flux.
Shimatani discloses configured to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer (fig. 1-4, elm. 1, par. [0053], [0070]); applying a voltage or a current between the first electrode and the second electrode; and measuring a change in the resistance or impedance of the channel layer (par. [0070]-[0071]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Fonash discloses a method of quantifying electron flux (par. [0006]) using an apparatus (fig. 2, par. [0031]) and thereby quantifying the electron flux (par. [0006]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 42.
Regarding claim 44, Syme discloses an apparatus (fig. 2B, OFET-based radiation detectors, par. [0061]) comprising a first electrode (fig. 2B, elm.100, par. [0061]), a second electrode (fig. 2B, elm.110, par. [0061]), and channel layer (fig. 2B, elm 120, par. [0061]) electrically connected between the first electrode and the second electrode, a dielectric layer (fig. 2B, elm.140 par. [0061]) disposed on the channel layer, and a third electrode (fig. 2B, elm 130, par. [0061]) disposed on the dielectric layer, the method comprising: allowing one or more charges( par. [0061]) to be introduced on the third electrode due to electrons ejected by photoelectric effect caused by the photon flux (par. [0066]) quantifying the one or more charges (measure suitable voltages, currents or changes in voltages or currents, par. [0095]).
Syme does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more charges introduced on the third electrode are configured to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer; applying a voltage or a current between the first electrode and the second electrode; measuring a change in resistance or impedance of the channel layer; a method of quantifying photon flux using an apparatus, thereby quantifying the one or more charges; and quantifying the photon flux based on photoelectric quantum yield.
Shimatani discloses wherein the one or more charges introduced on the third electrode (fig. 1-4, elm. 22, par. [0073]) are configured to induce charges in the channel layer and alter resistance or impedance of the channel layer (par. [0070]); applying a voltage or a current between the first electrode (fig. 1-4, elm. 2, par. [0048]) and the second electrode (par. [0070]); measuring a change in resistance or impedance of the channel layer of the channel layer (par. [0053], [0070]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Fonash discloses a method of quantifying photon flux (par. [0006]) using an apparatus (fig. 2, par. [0031]); and quantifying the photon flux based on photoelectric quantum yield (par. [0006]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 42.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 6/10/2026